Opinion

Gibbs, Doris v. Express Services, Inc.

  • 2021 TN WC App. 46
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Feb 12, 2021
Status
Published
On the bench
David F. Hensley, Pele I. Godkin, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 14.9%

The opinion

FILED

Feb 12, 2021

02:05 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Doris Gibbs ) Docket No. 2020-03-0219

)

v. ) State File No. 118452-2019

)

Express Services, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Pamela B. Johnson, Judge )

Reversed and Remanded

The employee alleged she injured her right leg at work and filed a petition for benefits.

The Tennessee Subsequent Injury and Vocational Recovery Fund (“SIF”) was added as a

party. Following the employee’s filing of a request for additional temporary disability and

medical benefits, the trial court set a status conference to select the dates for an expedited

hearing and the parties’ filing deadlines. The employer and SIF subsequently filed a joint

motion for summary judgment asserting they had negated causation, an essential element

of the employee’s claim. In their reply to the employee’s response, they additionally

asserted the employee’s evidence was insufficient to establish causation. The trial court

heard arguments on the summary judgment motion on the day set for the status conference

and granted the motion, concluding the employer and SIF had negated causation and

demonstrated that the employee’s evidence was insufficient to establish causation. The

employee has appealed. We conclude the employer and SIF did not meet their summary

judgment burdens, and we reverse the trial court’s grant of summary judgment and remand

the case.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

Doris Gibbs, Claxton, Georgia, employee-appellant, pro se

Garett P. Franklyn, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Express Services,

Inc.

Allison Lowry, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the appellee, Subsequent Injury and Vocational

Recovery Fund

1

Factual and Procedural Background

On December 12, 2019, Doris Gibbs (“Employee”) struck her right leg on storage

containers while in the course of her work for Express Services, Inc. (“Employer”).

Employer provided some temporary disability benefits and authorized medical care with

Dr. Christine Seaworth. 1 On February 10, 2020, Employee filed a petition seeking

additional temporary disability and medical benefits. Following unsuccessful mediation in

which Employer, Employee, and SIF participated, Employee sought an in-person

evidentiary hearing to address her requests for additional benefits.

Employee later requested the court to allow her to participate in the expedited

hearing by telephone. On June 18, 2020, the trial court entered an order granting

Employee’s request to participate telephonically and setting a July 1 deadline for Employee

to file documents she wanted the court to consider in the expedited hearing. The June 18

order allowed Employer and SIF until July 1 to file any discovery motions they deemed

appropriate.

Employee had been self-represented in her claim for benefits until July 1. On that

date, an attorney filed a notice of appearance on her behalf. Later the same day, Employer

and SIF filed a joint motion to compel Employee to supplement her responses to discovery

requests that had previously been served. An agreed order was entered on July 10 allowing

Employee through August 10 to submit additional responses to Employer’s and SIF’s

discovery requests.

On August 13, the court entered an order setting a status conference for October 1.

The order stated that “[t]he parties advised that they are awaiting receipt of additional

medical records and a causation opinion from the treating physicians. As such, the parties

agreed to set a Status Conference in forty-five days to set the Expedited Hearing date and

each party’s filing deadlines.”

Two weeks later, on August 25, Employer and SIF jointly filed a motion for

summary judgment and requested that Employee’s claim be dismissed. The motion did

not include a statement as to the date the motion would be heard by the court as mandated

by Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.18(1)(b) (2019). It was accompanied by a

statement of facts that were asserted to be undisputed, a memorandum in support of the

motion, and Dr. Seaworth’s affidavit.

Dr. Seaworth’s affidavit stated that she had provided treatment to Employee

beginning in January 2020. It further stated that she had reviewed medical records for

1

The parties dispute whether Dr. Seaworth was selected from a panel of physicians as contemplated in

Tennessee Code Annotated Section 50-6-204(a)(3) and whether her causation opinion is entitled to a

presumption of correctness as provided in section 50-6-102(14)(E). Our resolution of this appeal does not

require that we address these issues, and we accordingly express no opinion as to these issues.

2

Employee’s “complaints and symptoms of and treatment to her lumbar spine and right

lower extremity prior to her date of injury,” and that she had reviewed medical records for

Employee’s “complaints and symptoms of and treatment to her right lower extremity after

her date of injury.” (Emphasis added.) In addition, the affidavit stated that, to a reasonable

degree of medical certainty, and considering all causes, it was her opinion that Employee’s

“complaints and symptoms related to her right lower extremity are at least 50% related to

her pre-existing complaints and symptoms.” (Emphasis added.) The memorandum in

support of Employer’s and SIF’s motion asserted “Dr. Seaworth’s opinion is determinative

as to causation,” and that Employer and SIF had negated an essential element of

Employee’s claim. 2

On September 24, two pleadings were filed. The first was Employee’s response in

opposition to the summary judgment motion in which Employee asserted Employer and

SIF were not entitled to judgment as a matter of law “because their motion is premature[,]

and the record contains genuine issues of material fact.” Employee disputed many of the

facts asserted to support the summary judgment motion and filed separate statements of

allegedly undisputed facts. One of those statements asserted the trial court had issued the

August 13 order setting an October 1 status conference and noted the August 13 order

provided that “the parties seek additional medical records and causation opinions, and that

the parties agree to a status conference to set each party’s filing deadlines.” Employee’s

statement of undisputed facts also asserted that “[o]n September 2, 2020, [the trial court]

issued a Notice of Summary Judgment Motion modifying the status hearing set for October

1, 2020 to permit a hearing on Defendants’ summary judgment motion.” 3 The only

additional information in the record indicating why the summary judgment motion was

heard on the date of the previously scheduled status conference comes from representations

included in filings by Employer and SIF in which they assert Employee agreed to October

1 as the date to hear the motion for summary judgment.

The second pleading filed on September 24 was a motion in which Employee’s

counsel requested to withdraw his representation of Employee and an order “[s]taying these

proceedings and tolling all applicable deadlines for a time of thirty (30) days to provide

Employee ample time in which to secure replacement counsel.” Employee’s attorney filed

an affidavit with this motion in which he stated he had advised Employee of his intent to

withdraw on September 21. On September 28, Employer and SIF filed a response to

Employee’s motion stating they “do not oppose Employee’s attorney withdrawing,” but

2

Notably, the joint motion and memorandum did not address the second alleged basis for summary

judgment; specifically, neither the motion nor the memorandum addressed whether Employee’s proof was

insufficient as a matter of law. In their reply to Employee’s response objecting to the motion for summary

judgment, Employer and SIF asserted they had negated an essential element of Employee’s claim and

Employee’s proof was insufficient to establish causation.

3

The record on appeal does not contain a notice or order addressing the scheduling of a hearing on the

motion for summary judgment.

3

“oppose the timing of the withdrawal insofar as it potentially seeks to delay the hearing on

summary judgment.” Employer and SIF also filed a reply to Employee’s response to the

motion for summary judgment on September 28 in which they asserted that, “by providing

Dr. Seaworth’s opinion,” they had both negated an essential element of Employee’s claim

and demonstrated Employee’s evidence was insufficient to establish an essential element

of her claim.

Following the October 1 hearing, the trial court entered an order granting summary

judgment. The court found Employee’s argument that the summary judgment motion was

premature to be unpersuasive, noting that Tennessee Rule of Civil Procedure 56.07

provides a mechanism to guard against premature grants of summary judgment and that

Employee did not file a motion for a continuance or an affidavit stating her reason for a

continuance. The court stated that Dr. Seaworth provided the only expert opinion on

causation and that the doctor concluded Employee’s right leg “complaints and symptoms”

were at least 50% related to her pre-existing condition. Noting that Employee “offered no

other evidence,” the court concluded that Employer and SIF “negated an essential element

of [Employee’s] claim and demonstrated that her evidence is insufficient to establish the

causal relationship between her injury and her employment.”

On the same date the court granted summary judgment, the court entered a second

order allowing Employee’s attorney to withdraw and denying the motion to stay the

proceedings. This order stated that the court heard arguments on the summary judgment

motion on October 1, “followed by a hearing on the motion to withdraw.” The court

granted Employee’s counsel permission to withdraw but denied the motion to stay

proceedings and to toll all applicable deadlines “as moot,” stating that, “by separate order,

the Court granted summary judgment to [Employer and SIF] as a matter of law and

dismissed [Employee’s] claim with prejudice.” Employee timely filed a notice of appeal

of the order granting summary judgment.

Standard of Review

The interpretation and application of statutes and regulations are questions of law

that we review de novo with no presumption that the trial court’s conclusions are correct.

See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn.

2013). The grant or denial of a motion for summary judgment likewise is a question of

law that we review de novo with no presumption that the trial court’s conclusions are

correct. See Rye v. Women’s Care Ctr. of Memphis, MPLLC, 477 S.W.3d 235, 250 (Tenn.

2015). As such, we “make a fresh determination of whether the requirements of Rule 56

of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure have been satisfied.” Id. We are also mindful

of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and

in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not

favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2020).

4

Analysis

As the parties moving for summary judgment who do not bear the burden of proof

at trial, Employer and SIF may satisfy their burden of production “either (1) by

affirmatively negating an essential element of the nonmoving party’s claim or (2) by

demonstrating that the nonmoving party’s evidence at the summary judgment stage is

insufficient to establish the nonmoving party’s claim or defense.” Rye, 477 S.W.3d at 264.

The trial court concluded that Employer and SIF both negated an essential element of

Employee’s claim and demonstrated that Employee’s evidence is insufficient to establish

the causal relationship between her injury and her employment. We address these

conclusions separately.

Whether an Essential Element of Employee’s Claim was Negated

As pertinent here, Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(14) defines “injury”

to mean “an injury by accident . . . arising primarily out of . . . employment, that

causes . . . disablement or the need for medical treatment of the employee.” Thus,

establishing an injury arising primarily out of the employment that causes disablement

and/or a need for medical treatment is an essential element of Employee’s claim for

workers’ compensation benefits. The definition of injury provides in section 50-6-

102(14)(B) that “[a]n injury ‘arises primarily out of . . . employment’ only if it has been

shown by a preponderance of the evidence that the employment contributed more than fifty

percent (50%) in causing the injury, considering all causes.” Further, section 50-6-

102(14)(C) states that “[a]n injury causes . . . disablement or the need for medical treatment

only if it has been shown to a reasonable degree of medical certainty that it contributed

more than fifty percent (50%) in causing the . . . disablement or need for medical treatment,

considering all causes.”

Employer and SIF bear the initial burden of establishing the basis of their motion

and identifying those portions of the “pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,

and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,” which they believe demonstrate

the absence of a genuine issue of material fact. They filed a statement of the material facts

they claim supported their position that there was no genuine issue for trial, which consisted

of eight separate paragraphs, only two of which are material: (1) “The Employee alleges a

date of injury on December 12, 2019 to her right lower extremity after striking her right

lower extremity on two storage totes”; and (2) “On July 28, 2020, the authorized treating

physician, Dr. Seaworth, opined that the Employee’s complaints and symptoms related to

her right lower extremity are at least 50% related to her pre-existing complaints and

symptoms.” As pertinent here, Dr. Seaworth’s affidavit stated the following:

(1) I have reviewed certain medical records from Methodist Medical Center,

Putnam County Medical Center, and Southeast Spine and Pain

5

Associates, for [Employee’s] complaints and symptoms of and treatment

to her lumbar spine and right lower extremity prior to her date of injury.

(2) I have also reviewed certain medical records from MCC of Oak Ridge for

her complaints and symptoms of and treatment to her right lower

extremity after her date of injury.

(3) Based on the foregoing, it is my opinion, within a reasonable degree of

medical certainty, and considering all causes, that [Employee’s]

complaints and symptoms related to her right lower extremity are at least

50% related to her pre-existing complaints and symptoms.

Dr. Seaworth reviewed medical records of Employee’s “complaints and symptoms”

both “prior to” and “after” Employee’s date of injury. However, Dr. Seaworth does not

address whether Employee’s injury arose primarily out of her employment, whether

Employee’s injury resulted in any disablement, whether Employee needed additional

medical treatment for her injury, or whether Employee’s need for additional medical

treatment, if any, was caused by the injury. Rather, she offers the opinion that Employee’s

“complaints and symptoms related to her right lower extremity are at least 50% related to

her pre-existing complaints and symptoms.” Whether Employee’s right leg complaints

and symptoms are related to her pre-existing condition may be relevant to the issue of

causation, but the opinion does not address whether the incident at work was the primary

cause of any disablement or need for additional medical treatment. Thus, Employer and

SIF did not meet their burden of negating an essential element of Employee’s claim and

did not shift the burden to Employee to respond to Employer’s and SIF’s allegation that an

essential element of her claim had been negated.

Whether Employer and SIF Demonstrated that Employee’s Evidence was Insufficient

As stated above, we are required to “make a fresh determination of whether the

requirements of Rule 56 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure have been satisfied.”

Rye, 477 S.W.3d at 250. The trial court stated that “[t]hrough Dr. Seaworth’s affidavit,

the Court holds that [Employer and SIF] negated an essential element of [Employee’s]

claim and demonstrated that her evidence is insufficient to establish the causal relationship

between her injury and her employment.” (Emphasis added.) We have concluded,

however, that Dr. Seaworth’s affidavit did not negate an essential element of Employee’s

claim and did not shift the burden to Employee to respond to Employer’s and SIF’s

allegation that an essential element of her claim had been negated. Similarly, we conclude

Dr. Seaworth’s affidavit does not “demonstrate that [Employee’s] evidence is insufficient

to establish the causal relationship between her injury and her employment.” However,

that does not end our inquiry.

6

What is required for a party pursuing summary judgment on the basis that the

nonmoving party’s evidence is insufficient as a matter of law requires a more complex

analysis. In Rye, the Tennessee Supreme Court reviewed the history of summary judgment

in Tennessee and, in doing so, addressed “The Celotex Trilogy,” stating that the Court

“adopted and applied the summary judgment standards articulated in the Celotex trilogy

and in Tennessee Rule 56.” Rye, 477 S.W.3d at 273. As stated in Rye,

[A] moving party seeking summary judgment by attacking the nonmoving

party’s evidence must do more than make a conclusory assertion that

summary judgment is appropriate on this basis. Rather, Tennessee Rule

56.03 requires the moving party to support its motion with “a separate

concise statement of the material facts as to which the moving party contends

there is no genuine issue for trial.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.03. “Each fact is to

be set forth in a separate, numbered paragraph and supported by a specific

citation to the record.” Id.

Rye at 264-65.

In this case, the statement of material facts set forth by Employer and SIF did not

address Employee’s evidence or the lack thereof. It did not affirmatively show the absence

of evidence in the record to establish Employee’s claim. The statement of material facts

did not address Employer’s and SIF’s efforts to establish the inadequacy of the

documentary evidence, and it did not address or review for the court any admissions,

interrogatories, or other exchanges between the parties to support their position that

Employee’s evidence was insufficient. Rather, the motion relied on Dr. Seaworth’s

opinion to establish the insufficiency of Employee’s proof of causation. Our review of the

requirements of Rule 56 leads us to conclude Employer and SIF did not meet their summary

judgment burden. Their motion failed to properly support their assertion that Employee’s

evidence was insufficient as a matter of law. In addition to the motion failing to comply

with Rule 0800-02-21-.18(1), the motion failed to set forth statements of undisputed facts

addressing whether discovery efforts demonstrated that admissions, interrogatories, or

other exchanges between the parties established Employee’s proof was insufficient.

Employer and SIF did not meet their burden of demonstrating that Employee’s evidence is

insufficient to establish her claim, and the burden never shifted to Employee to respond to

Employer’s and SIF’s allegation that her evidence was insufficient.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we conclude the trial court’s grant of summary judgment

was in error, and we reverse the Compensation Order Granting Summary Judgment and

remand the case. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer.

7

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Doris Gibbs ) Docket No. 2020-03-0219

)

v. ) State File No. 118452-2019

)

Express Services, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Pamela B. Johnson, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 12th day

of February, 2021.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Doris Gibbs X dgibbs28@yahoo.com

Garett Franklyn X gpfranklyn@mijs.com

Stephanie Joseph sljoseph@mijs.com

Allison Lowry, Attorney, Subsequent X allison.lowry@tn.gov

Injury and Vocational Recovery Fund

Pamela B. Johnson, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.