Opinion

Bowlin, Nicole D. v. Servall, LLC

  • 2020 TN WC App. 39
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Nov 25, 2020
Status
Published
On the bench
David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner, Pele I. Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 14.6%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Nicole D. Bowlin ) Docket No. 2017-07-0224

)

v. ) State File No. 76010-2016

)

Servall, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims, )

Allen Phillips, Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final

This appeal involves a claim for attorney’s fees pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-226(a)(1). Following an expedited hearing, the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims ordered the employer to pay the medical expenses for the

employee’s treatment but denied the employee’s request for attorney’s fees for a

“wrongfully” denied claim pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

226(d)(1)(B). The court did, however, award attorney’s fees pursuant to section 50-6-

226(a)(1) based on the amount of unpaid medical bills that the court ordered the employer

to pay. In an appeal of that order, we determined it was premature, under the circumstances

presented, for the trial court to award attorney’s fees at the expedited hearing stage of the

case, vacated the part of the court’s order awarding attorney’s fees, and remanded the case.

The parties subsequently settled the employee’s claim but advised the trial court the

employer did not agree to pay an attorney’s fee based on a percentage of the medical bills

it had paid as previously ordered by the court. Following a compensation hearing in which

the parties stipulated that the employer had paid the contested medical bills under the

medical fee schedule, the trial court found the settlement provided the employee

substantially the benefits to which she was entitled and approved the settlement, but it

declined to order the employer to pay an attorney’s fee on the disputed medical benefits

based upon the language in section 50-6-226(a)(1). The employee has appealed. We affirm

and certify as final the trial court’s order approving the settlement of the employee’s claim

and denying the employee’s request for attorney’s fees on the contested medical benefits.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

Monica R. Rejaei, Memphis, Tennessee, for the employee-appellant, Nicole D. Bowlin

1

Gordon Aulgur, Lansing, Michigan, for the employer-appellee, Servall, LLC

Factual and Procedural Background

A recitation of the full history of the litigation is not necessary to address the present

appeal, but we have, for context, set out portions of the factual and procedural background

from our earlier decision following the employer’s appeal of a September 2017 expedited

hearing order of the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims.

Nicole Bowlin (“Employee”) suffered injuries in a motor vehicle accident on

September 29, 2016, while in the course and scope of her employment with

Servall, LLC (“Employer”), a pest control company. Employee, a pest

control technician, was travelling to a customer’s home when she rear-ended

a vehicle stopped at an intersection. She was transported by ambulance to

Volunteer General Hospital in Martin, Tennessee, where she was diagnosed

with a fracture of her cervical spine. Due to the nature of her injuries, she

was airlifted to Regional Medical Center in Memphis.

A drug screen performed after the accident revealed the presence of

THC, a metabolite of marijuana. Employer denied Employee’s claim for

workers’ compensation benefits based on the drug screen. Employer took

the position that its status as a participant in Tennessee’s Drug-Free

Workplace Program (“the Program”) in years prior to Employee’s accident

entitled it to a presumption that Employee’s drug use was the proximate

cause of her injuries as provided for in Tennessee Code Annotated section

50-6-110(c)(1). . . .

....

The trial court found Employer was not a member of the Program

when Employee was injured and thus was not entitled to the presumption in

section 50-6-110(c)(1). The court also concluded that Employer otherwise

failed to prove Employee’s marijuana use was the proximate cause of the

accident and ordered Employer to provide medical benefits and to pay

Employee’s medical expenses. The trial court awarded attorney’s fees based

on the amount of outstanding medical bills pursuant to Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-226(a)(1), but declined to award attorney’s fees for

a purported wrongful denial of the claim under Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-226(d)(1)(B). . . .

Bowlin v. Servall, LLC, No. 2017-07-0224, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at

*2-4 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Feb. 8, 2018) (footnotes omitted).

2

We affirmed the trial court’s decision regarding Employer’s failure to prove

participation in the Drug-Free Workplace Program for the relevant time period, but we

vacated the award of attorney’s fees under section 50-6-226(a)(1), finding “it was

premature for the trial court to award attorney’s fees at [the expedited hearing] stage of the

case.” Bowlin, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. Lexis 6, at *15.

Following our remand of the case, the parties reached a settlement agreement as to

all issues except for attorney’s fees and informed the trial court that Employer did not agree

to pay attorney’s fees based on a percentage of the medical expenses the court had earlier

ordered Employer to pay. The Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims held a

compensation hearing to consider the terms of the parties’ settlement agreement and to

resolve the attorney’s fee issue. At the hearing, the parties agreed that Employee incurred

medical expenses totaling $89,377.37, and that Employer had paid a total of $24,382.08

under Tennessee’s medical fee schedule to satisfy the medical expenses the court had

ordered Employer to pay. 1 In the pre-hearing brief filed by Employee and during the

hearing, counsel for Employee did not request an attorney’s fee for Employer’s allegedly

wrongful denial of medical benefits as provided in section 50-6-226(d)(1)(B), “but instead,

[sought] only a claim for fees pursuant to [section] 50-6-226(a)(1) based upon the award

of medical benefits at the Expedited Hearing.” (Emphasis in original.) Employee

contended the court should order Employer to pay a 20% attorney’s fee on the “full unpaid

medical expenses [of $89,337.37] presented at the Expedited Hearing.” Following the

hearing, the court found the settlement provided Employee substantially the benefits to

which she was entitled and approved the settlement, including a 20% attorney’s fee to her

counsel from the permanent partial disability benefits the parties agreed Employee would

receive. However, the court denied Employee’s request for attorney’s fees on the contested

medical benefits based on the language in section 50-6-226(a)(1), stating:

Though [Employer] paid the medical bills only after a Court order, and her

attorney is entitled to a fee for obtaining that recovery, the Court cannot

compel [Employer] to pay the fee. Under section 50-6-226(a), any fees on

contested medicals must be paid by the party employing the attorney out of

her recovery.

Employee has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the court’s

factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. See

1

Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204, the Administrator of the Bureau of Workers’

Compensation adopted rules to establish a comprehensive medical fee schedule. See Tenn. Comp. R. &

Regs. 0800-02-17-.01 (2019).

3

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2019). The interpretation and application of statutes

and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption of

correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone N.

Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our obligation

to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in accordance with

basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor either the

employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2019).

Analysis

Employee raises a single issue on appeal, stated in her brief as “whether the trial

court erred in failing to order Employer to pay Employee’s . . . attorney’s fees based on the

unpaid medical expenses of $89,377.37 ordered to be paid per the Expedited Hearing

Order.” Here, as in the trial court, Employee contends Employer should pay attorney’s

fees “in accordance with [section] 50-6-226(a)(1),” which provides as follows:

The fees of attorneys for services to employees under this chapter, shall be

subject to the approval of the workers’ compensation judge before which the

matter is pending, as appropriate; provided, that no attorney’s fees to be

charged employees shall be in excess of twenty percent (20%) of the amount

of the recovery or award to be paid by the party employing the attorney.

Initially, we return to the 2017 expedited hearing to provide additional context to

the current appeal. In the 2017 expedited hearing, Employee sought medical and temporary

disability benefits as well as attorney’s fees for Employer’s alleged wrongful denial of

Employee’s claim pursuant to section 50-6-226(d)(1)(B). The trial court denied

Employee’s request for attorney’s fees under section 50-6-226(d)(1)(B), stating that the

statute “allows [attorney’s fees] when an attorney pursues a ‘wrongfully’ denied claim.”

Citing our decision in Andrews v. Yates Services, LLC, No. 2016-05-0854, 2017 TN Wrk.

Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 35, at *7-8 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 23, 2017), the

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims concluded there was “no reason to deviate from

[the Andrews] standard at this interlocutory stage but reserve[d] consideration of any

further application until after final resolution of the case.” (Emphasis added.) However,

in the September 2017 expedited hearing order, the court ordered Employer to pay certain

bills Employee incurred for treatment of her work injury, adding that “[Employee’s]

counsel is entitled to a twenty percent attorney[’s] fee on the award of medical benefits

under Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-226(a)(1).” The order did not address who

would be responsible for paying the attorney’s fees authorized by section 50-6-226(a)(1).

Employer appealed the 2017 decision and, in its brief, asserted the trial court erred

“when it ordered [Employer] to pay [Employee’s] counsel an attorney fee based [on]

unpaid medical bills because the issue was not ripe at the interlocutory stage.” (Emphasis

added.) Notwithstanding that the trial court did not order Employer to pay the attorney’s

4

fee but awarded Employee’s counsel a twenty percent fee in accordance with section 50-

6-226(a)(1), Employer argued the court erred in prematurely awarding an attorney’s fee.

We vacated the attorney’s fee award, concluding “it was premature for the trial court to

award attorney’s fees at this stage of the case.”

Following our remand of the case, Employee filed a motion to enforce payment of

the medical benefits previously ordered by the trial court, requesting additionally that the

court award attorney’s fees pursuant to section 50-6-226(d)(1)(A) for Employer’s alleged

failure to provide the medical benefits the court had previously ordered in the expedited

hearing. 2 The trial court granted Employee’s motion and ordered Employer to “pay

attorney’s fees to [Employee’s] counsel, under Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

226(d)(1)(A) in the amount of $750.” At a subsequent status hearing, the parties informed

the court they had settled the case but had a dispute as to the payment of attorney’s fees.

In an order setting a compensation hearing, the trial court stated that “an issue remained

regarding attorney’s fees for recovery of contested medical bills.” The court’s order noted

that the court “awarded [Employee’s] counsel a twenty percent attorney’s fee on the

contested medical bills, but the Appeals Board vacated the award on grounds that an award

of fees was inappropriate at the interlocutory stage of the case.”

As noted above, the parties agreed on the amount of medical expenses Employee

incurred and agreed on the amount Employer paid under the medical fee schedule to satisfy

the medical expenses the court ordered Employer to pay. We emphasize that, in the

compensation hearing, Employee did not request attorney’s fees for Employer’s alleged

wrongful denial of Employee’s claim. Rather, Employee’s request for attorney’s fees was

limited to fees recoverable pursuant to section 50-6-226(a)(1) and based upon the award of

medical benefits included in the 2017 expedited hearing order.

Employee contended in the compensation hearing that Employer should pay a 20%

attorney’s fee on the “full unpaid medical expenses [of $89,337.37] presented at the

Expedited Hearing.” The trial court concluded that the parties’ settlement agreement

provided Employee substantially the benefits to which she was entitled, and the court

approved the settlement, including a 20% attorney’s fee for Employee’s counsel based on

the permanent partial disability benefits the parties agreed Employee would receive.

However, the court declined to order Employer to pay attorney’s fees on the medical

benefits previously recovered by Employee based on the statutory language of section 50-

6-226(a)(1), which, as previously quoted, states that “no attorney’s fees to be charged

employees shall be in excess of twenty percent (20%) of the amount of the recovery or

award to be paid by the party employing the attorney.”

2

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-226(d)(1)(A) authorizes the Court of Workers’ Compensation

Claims to award reasonable attorney’s fees when an employer “[f]ails to furnish appropriate medical,

surgical, and dental treatment or care . . . to an employee provided for in a settlement, expedited hearing

order, compensation hearing order, or judgment . . . .”

5

In her brief, Employee correctly notes that the Tennessee Supreme Court long ago

held that contested medical expenses are part of the “recovery or award” upon which

attorney’s fees may be awarded. See Langford v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Co., 854 S.W.2d 100,

102 (Tenn. 1993). Although the 2013 Workers’ Compensation Reform Act modified

section 50-6-226(a), the changes did not vitiate or impair the precedent Langford

established. The determinative issue in this appeal is whether the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims may order an employer to pay attorney’s fees on contested medical

expenses recovered by or awarded to an employee pursuant to section 50-6-226(a)(1). 3

Employee asserts that “case law supports Employer’s liability” to pay attorney’s

fees recovered or awarded pursuant to section 50-6-226(a)(1). After analyzing several

cases addressing the issue, Employee asserts the instant case is most similar to Reatherford

v. Lincoln Brass Works, No. 01S01-9707-CV-00145, 1998 Tenn. LEXIS 33 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 26, 1998) and Moore v. Town of Collierville, 124 S.W.3d 93

(Tenn. 2004). Employee contends these cases support her assertion that “Employer is

liable to pay Employee’s counsel the attorney’s fee on the contested medical bills” that

Employee recovered. Our review of the case law does not support Employee’s position.

As noted above, in 1993 the Tennessee Supreme Court, in a case of first impression,

held that medical expenses awarded by a trial court are part of the “recovery or award”

under section 50-6-226(a) and are, therefore, subject to attorney’s fees. In Langford, the

employer denied the employee’s claim, and, after a trial, the court found the claim to be

compensable and awarded benefits, including $17,939.51 in medical expenses the

employee had incurred. The trial court ordered the employer to pay the medical expenses

directly to the employee who, in turn, was responsible for paying the medical providers.

The trial court’s order also provided that an attorney’s fee in the amount of 20% was proper

“upon ‘the total recovery herein.’” Langford, 854 S.W.2d at 100. A dispute arose

thereafter as to whether attorney’s fees were assessable against the funds held for payment

to the medical providers, and the trial court resolved the dispute by holding the medical

expenses were not subject to attorney’s fees. The Supreme Court reversed, concluding that

“contested medical expenses are a part of the ‘recovery or award’ specified in [section] 50-

6-226(a) on which attorneys’ fees may be assessed.” Id. at 102. The Court stated that

“attorneys’ fees in the amount of 20 percent shall be awarded out of the medical expenses

recovered in the judgment in the amount of $17,939.51.” Id. (emphasis added). The

defendant employer had been dismissed from the appeal and did not take a position in the

appeal.

3

Were we to answer this question affirmatively, we would have to address whether the trial court erred in

failing to order Employer to pay attorney’s fees under the circumstances presented and, if so, whether the

attorney’s fees are based on the amount of the expenses charged by the providers or the amounts paid by

Employer under the medical fee schedule. Our conclusion that section 50-6-226(a)(1) does not authorize

the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims to order an employer to pay attorney’s fees on disputed

medical expenses pretermits these issues.

6

The Supreme Court addressed section 50-6-226(a) again three years later in Wilkes

v. The Resource Authority of Sumner County, 932 S.W.2d 458 (Tenn. 1996), where the

employee’s recovery or award included the expenses of reconstructive surgery. An issue

arose “concerning the propriety of awarding attorney’s fees against medical expenses

associated with the reconstructive surgery,” and the trial court refused to award attorney’s

fees assessed against the medical expenses. However, the precise issue in the instant case

was not presented in Wilkes. The issue there was whether the employee’s attorney was

entitled to an award of fees from the expenses related to the reconstructive surgery. The

issue did not concern whether the employer could or would be responsible for such fees.

The Supreme Court held the employee’s attorney was entitled to an award of fees from the

expenses related to the surgery and noted “the practical impact of this holding is that the

employee will not receive one hundred percent of the cost of the surgery.” The Court stated

that “[a]lthough this result is not attractive, we are not at liberty to rewrite Tennessee Code

Annotated Section 50-6-226(a) to provide for attorney’s fees in addition to the ‘amount of

the recovery or award.’ Such a change would require legislative action.” Id. at 464. In

the twenty-four years since Wilkes was decided, the legislature has not rewritten the statute

to provide for a different result.

In Reatherford, cited by Employee as being “more akin” to the case presently before

us, the employee’s recovery included “all medical expenses,” which was comprised of

$11,438 for treatment provided by the Veterans’ Administration (“VA”). Following an

appeal in which the Supreme Court affirmed the trial court’s judgment, the employee filed

a motion in the trial court in which the employee sought “judicial coercion” of the employer

to pay the benefits that were awarded, including interest. Reatherford, 1998 Tenn. LEXIS

33, at *2. The employer responded by stating that the interest had been paid and that, with

respect to the medical expenses, it had received a letter from the VA prior to trial asserting

a subrogation interest of $11,438 and requesting payment for its interest. Further, the

employer’s response stated that, after the case was concluded, the VA agreed to accept

$7,625 in settlement of its claim for medical expenses. Id. Against that background, the

trial court ruled that the VA had a subrogation interest in the amount of $11,438 for the

medical treatment it provided, and the court awarded the employee’s attorney a twenty

percent fee for representing the VA’s interest “with such payment to be made by the

[employer].” Id. at *3. The employer appealed, questioning the award of attorney’s fees.

The Supreme Court Special Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel affirmed the trial

court’s order, noting that the initial judgment directed the employer to pay “‘all medical

expenses,’ as contrasted to specific amounts to named providers.” Id. at *4. The Panel

affirmed the trial court’s order that the employer pay an attorney’s fee based on the

employee’s attorney’s representation of the VA’s subrogation interest, stating “[w]e know

of no authority, and none has been cited to us, for the proposition that under the

circumstances of this case the [employer] should be allowed to defeat the attorney fee in

the manner fashioned.” Id. at *5. The critical distinction in Reatherford is that the

employer was ordered to pay an attorney’s fee based on an attorney’s representation of a

third party in the recovery of its subrogation lien and not based on the attorney’s

7

representation of the employee. The facts, procedure, and issue regarding the claim for

attorney’s fees in Reatherford differ significantly from the instant case, and the Panel’s

holding does not support the assertion that section 50-6-226(a)(1) authorizes the Court of

Workers’ Compensation Claims to order an employer to pay attorney’s fees on the amount

of disputed medical expenses that an employee recovers.

Finally, in Moore, also relied on by Employee, the issue presented to the Supreme

Court was “whether an employer is liable to a health insurer who paid medical expenses

incurred by an employee as a result of a work-related injury but did not intervene in the

workers’ compensation suit to seek reimbursement.” Moore, 124 S.W.3d at 97. The

Supreme Court did not address section 50-6-226(a) in Moore but, instead, focused on an

employer’s liability for unauthorized medical expenses paid by a third-party insurer and

whether that insurer must intervene in the workers’ compensation case to secure

reimbursement from the employer. The Moore Court concluded that an employer “is liable

for all medical expenses deemed reasonable and necessary as a result of the workplace

injury and shall be required to reimburse the employee’s health insurer who has paid those

expenses without the necessity of the insurer intervening in the workers’ compensation

claim.” Id. at 100. The Court remanded the case to the trial court to determine whether

and to what extent the employee’s health insurer paid medical expenses that were

reasonable, necessary, and on account of the work-related injuries. In addition, the Court

stated that “[t]he employee’s attorney shall be entitled to the statutory attorney’s fee based

on these additional recovered medical expenses.” Id. However, the Court did not address

whether the employer was responsible for paying the statutory attorney’s fees or whether

such fees would be deducted from the amounts recovered. Thus, Moore is clearly

distinguishable from the instant case and, like Reatherford and Wilkes, does not support

the assertion that section 50-6-226(a)(1) authorizes the Court of Workers’ Compensation

Claims to order an employer to pay attorney’s fees on contested medical expenses that are

recovered or awarded to an employee.

In summary, case law has clearly established precedent for awarding attorney’s fees

on medical expenses recovered or awarded to an employee. However, Employee has not

cited, nor have we located, a case holding that an employer may be liable for the attorney’s

fees authorized in section 50-6-226(a)(1). Moreover, a plain reading of section 50-6-

226(a)(1) indicates that the attorney’s fees are to be “paid by the party employing the

attorney.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-226(a)(1). This language has been part of the workers’

compensation law since its 1919 inception. See Acts 1919, ch. 123, § 33.

Conclusion

We affirm and certify as final the trial court’s July 16, 2020 order approving the

settlement of Employee’s claim and denying Employee’s request for attorney’s fees on the

contested medical benefits. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employee.

8

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Nicole D. Bowlin ) Docket No. 2017-07-0224

)

v. ) State File No. 76010-2016

)

Servall, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Allen Phillips, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 25th day

of November, 2020.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Monica R. Rejaei X mrejaei@nstlaw.com

Gordon C. Aulgur X gordona@accidentfund.com

Allen Phillips, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.