Opinion

F. Vernic DBA SF Rehabitat v. Lincoln General Ins. Co., in Liquidation

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Dec 3, 2020
Status
Published
On the bench
Cohn Jubelirer, J.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 14.5%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Franjo Vernic DBA SF Rehabitat, :

Objector :

:

v. : No. 4 LIN 2017

: Argued: September 17, 2020

Lincoln General Insurance Company, :

In Liquidation, :

Respondent :

:

(Ancillary matter to In Re: Lincoln :

General Insurance Company In :

Liquidation No. 1 LIN 2015) :

BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE CHRISTINE FIZZANO CANNON, Judge

OPINION BY

JUDGE COHN JUBELIRER FILED: December 3, 2020

Presently before the Court is the question of what priority level should be

assigned to the claim of Franjo Vernic, d/b/a SF Rehabitat or San Francisco

Rehabitat (Vernic), arising out of proceedings surrounding the Notice of

Determination (NOD) issued by the Insurance Commissioner in her capacity as

Liquidator of Lincoln General Insurance Company (Lincoln). The Court granted

reargument at the Liquidator’s request on this specific issue following a single-

judge opinion sustaining Vernic’s exceptions to the Referee’s Report and

Recommendation (Report) on Vernic’s objections to the NOD.1 Vernic v. Lincoln

Gen. Ins. Co. (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 4 LIN 2017, filed Dec. 5, 2019) (Vernic I).

1

The Liquidator had sought reargument on other issues, which the Court denied.

Therein, the Court sustained Vernic’s exceptions on the basis that he did not

irrevocably assign his claim against Lincoln and his claim should be valued at the

total amount of the judgment against Vernic and the attorney’s fees he incurred as

a result of Lincoln’s breach of its duty to defend in California. The Court had also

affirmed the Referee’s decision assigning the claim to class (b) under the order of

distribution provision found in Section 544 of The Insurance Department Act of

19212 (Act), as the Liquidator had initially found. The Liquidator subsequently

asked to assign Vernic’s claim to class (e) as a general creditor claim. Under

California law, the Liquidator asserts that recovery of a judgment resulting from a

wrongful failure to defend is the equivalent to recovery resulting from a bad faith

tort claim, and bad faith tort claims are entitled to no more than class (e) priority.

Vernic first argues the Liquidator waived the ability to challenge the priority level

by failing to file exceptions like he did to the Report. Assuming the issue was

preserved, Vernic argues that the claim should be assigned to class (b) as a

“claim[] under policies for losses wherever incurred,” 40 P.S. § 221.44(b), as the

Liquidator originally found, and the Referee held.

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

A. The Policy and Underlying California Litigation

The relevant facts were previously set forth by this Court in Vernic I, as

follows:

Lincoln issued a commercial general liability policy to Vernic, a

general contractor in California, effective from February 15, 2008[,]

to February 15, 2009 (Policy). The Policy stated in pertinent part:

2

Act of May 17, 1921, P.L. 789, as amended, 40 P.S. § 221.44. Section 544 was added

by Section 2 of the Act of December 14, 1977, P.L. 280.

2

We will pay those sums that the insured becomes legally

obligated to pay as damages because of “bodily injury”

or “property damage” to which this insurance applies.

We will have the right and duty to defend the insured

against any “suit” seeking those damages.

(Policy at 1.) The Policy also contained a subcontractor exclusion,

which permitted Lincoln to disclaim coverage for damages caused by

a subcontractor [that] failed to satisfy four specific conditions as set

forth in the Policy.

During the Policy’s coverage period, Vernic entered into a contract

with Edwin A. Hardy (Hardy) to complete remodeling work,

including architectural services, at Hardy’s single-family residence

(Property). Vernic then entered into a contract with Gerald J.

Veverka, d/b/a Veverka Architects[] (Veverka), wherein Veverka

agreed to provide architectural services at the Property. The contract

between Vernic and Veverka included an indemnification provision

requiring Vernic to indemnify Veverka for any and all claims arising

out of Veverka’s architectural services. While Vernic was performing

work at the Property and while the Policy was in effect, the Property

sustained significant damage due to water infiltration. On November

2, 2011, Hardy filed a civil complaint against Vernic in the San

Francisco County Superior Court (trial court), docketed at Edwin A.

Hardy v. Franjo Vernic dba San Francisco Rehabitat, No. CGC-11-

515611, asserting several causes of action arising from Vernic’s

allegedly defective work and the resulting damages to Hardy’s

residence.

It is undisputed that both before and after the complaint was filed,

Vernic and Hardy each notified Lincoln of the claims of damage

allegedly caused by Vernic. On June 14, 2011, Lincoln commenced

an investigation into the claims through an independent adjusting

company, Sams & Associates (Sams). While Sams authored three

reports, the last of which was dated September 29, 2011, its adjuster

admitted to being unable to reach a conclusion regarding whether

Drummond Masonry, a subcontractor whose defective stone work was

believed to be the cause of all or some of the damage to the Property,

was hired by Vernic or Hardy. The last report indicated that Sams

was unable to complete its claim analysis at that time and would

follow up with Vernic to review requested documents from his sub-

contractors.

3

Despite these facts and the questionable applicability of the Policy’s

subcontractor exclusion, Lincoln formally denied coverage in letters

to Vernic dated October 21, 2011[,] and December 14, 2011. . . .

Because Lincoln denied Vernic representation and Vernic could not

afford to hire a private attorney at that time, Vernic filed a pro se

response to Hardy’s complaint.

On or about February 28, 2013, Hardy filed an amended complaint

adding Veverka as a defendant.[] Veverka tendered the defense of the

amended complaint to Vernic and Lincoln, and Lincoln denied the

tender and refused to defend Veverka. Thereafter, Veverka served a

cross-complaint on Vernic for express indemnity. Vernic claims he

was financially unable to file a response to either Hardy’s amended

complaint or Veverka’s cross-complaint. While Vernic did have

private counsel for a period of time during the parties’ subsequent

mediation, he was unable to afford trial counsel, and the case

proceeded to an uncontested bench trial. The trial court subsequently

entered judgment in favor of Hardy and against Vernic in the amount

of $846,779.09 . . . , and entered judgment in favor of Veverka and

against Vernic in the amount of $180,178 . . . , for a total judgment of

$1,026,957.09[,] (California judgment).

Vernic I, slip op. at 2-4 (footnotes omitted).

While the litigation was pending, the parties also entered into various

“agreements.” The first was a “Stipulation re Consent to Judgment and

Uncontested Trial” (Stipulation), which was not signed by any of the parties, but

indicated that Vernic could not afford counsel to defend against the claims and,

therefore, he agreed not to contest the claims and assigned Hardy and Veverka all

rights, claims, interest, and title in relevant insurance policies. Id. at 4-5. The

parties also entered into a Settlement Agreement and Mutual Release (Agreement)

signed by the relevant parties, which provided in relevant part that Vernic would

stipulate to a judgment and covenant not to execute against him or Lincoln and

Vernic would “seek recovery from his liability insurer . . . [with] any recovery

4

from Lincoln . . . apportioned as between [Hardy], [] Veverka, and Mr. Vernic.”

Id. at 6 (alterations in original) (emphasis omitted).

B. Liquidation Proceedings

In 2015, “upon the petition for review in the nature of a complaint for order

of liquidation of Lincoln filed by the Insurance Commissioner, . . . this Court

ordered that Lincoln be liquidated pursuant to Article V of the [Act],” the

Liquidator was appointed, and claims against Lincoln were ordered to be filed. Id.

at 7. “Vernic filed a timely proof of claim on June 13, 2016, demanding

$1,092,250.09 under the Policy . . . .” Id. The Liquidator issued the NOD,

assigning a priority level (b) classification and valuing Vernic’s proof of claim at

zero dollars, explaining that Vernic assigned any and all claims he had against

Lincoln to Hardy and Veverka. (NOD at 1.)

Following issuance of the NOD,

Vernic filed timely objections to the NOD arguing that (1) he did not

effectively assign his claims against Lincoln to other parties,

(2) payment of the judgment against him is not a prerequisite to the

allowance of a claim under the law, and (3) Lincoln improperly

denied him indemnification and a legal defense. The Liquidator filed

a response denying the material allegations in Vernic’s objections, and

asserting that (1) its denial of coverage was justified by the terms of

the Policy, (2) Vernic assigned his rights against Lincoln to Hardy and

Veverka, neither of whom filed a proof of claim, and (3) the

California judgment is unenforceable against Lincoln’s estate because

it was obtained through collusion.

Vernic I, slip op. at 8. At the parties’ request, this Court appointed a Referee, and

the parties agreed to use a summary judgment procedure before the Referee.

Before the Referee, the Liquidator asserted in response to Vernic’s claims that,

5

even if Vernic had not assigned his claim, his claim should be assigned class (e)

priority. Based upon the parties’ submissions, the Referee then issued his Report.

Specifically, the Referee recommended that the NOD be affirmed

with respect to the priority level (b) classification of Vernic’s claim,

but reversed as to the value of the claim. The Referee concluded that

Lincoln had a duty to defend Vernic in the California litigation

because Hardy’s complaint and amended complaint contained

allegations of property damage “actually or potentially within the

coverage of the [P]olicy.” (Report at 9 (emphasis in original).)

However, relying on the Stipulation rather than the Agreement, the

Referee concluded that “Vernic assigned any and all rights to recover

indemnity benefits from Lincoln to Hardy and Veverka[] . . . .” (Id. at

11.) Therefore, Vernic could not recover on the California litigation.

The Referee went on to conclude that Vernic did not and could not

assign his right to a defense, as that right is personal to the insured.

As such, the Referee recommended that Vernic’s claim be valued at

$44,131.69, the uncontested amount he personally paid for private

counsel as a result of Lincoln’s breach [of its duty] to defend. Given

his decision, the Referee also determined that challenges to the

procedure by which Hardy obtained the California judgment, which

would include the Liquidator’s allegation of collusion, were moot.

On February 8, 2019, Vernic filed . . . exceptions to the Report

claiming as follows:

1. The Referee erred in determining that the sole

damages flowing from the breach of the duty to defend

were defense fees and costs, as the judgment entered

against Vernic also flows directly from the failure to

defend; and

2. The Referee erred in determining that Vernic lacks

standing to pursue indemnity claims, because this finding

is based upon an erroneous determination that Vernic

irrevocably assigned his claims against Lincoln, a finding

which is not supported by, and is contravened by, the

great weight of the evidence.

Vernic I, slip op. at 8-9 (alterations in original).

6

Vernic contended that although the Referee was correct that Lincoln

breached its duty to defend Vernic, the Referee incorrectly concluded that the only

damages recoverable were legal fees and costs because California law provides

that an insurance company is liable for the entire judgment entered against the

insured when the insurer breaches the duty to defend or wrongfully denies

coverage. Vernic further asserted that he had standing because the evidence did

not support a determination that he irrevocably assigned his right to recover

damages from Lincoln. (See Vernic’s Memorandum of Law in Support of

Exceptions to the Referee’s Report at 4.) Vernic argued that the Stipulation was

not a final agreement but contemplated an assignment of rights that would be

effective upon the date such an assignment was executed; however, no such

assignment was ever executed. The Liquidator disputed both of these points and,

with respect to the value of the claim, asserted that under California law, refusal to

defend is a breach of the duty of good faith and fair dealing for which the measure

of damages is the insured’s legal fees. (See Memorandum of Law in Support of

Response of Lincoln at 12.) Vernic filed a response, emphasizing that the damages

resulting from Lincoln’s failure to defend include both defense costs and the

amount of the California judgment and maintaining no assignment of Vernic’s

claim. The Liquidator responded in a sur-reply memorandum of law, arguing that

given the Referee’s correct conclusion that Vernic assigned his claim for the

amount of the judgment, only the unassignable legal fees were recoverable.

Moreover, the Liquidator asserted that the Referee never addressed the issue of

whether the value of the California judgment would carry a different priority level

because it flowed from a bad faith refusal to defend. Therefore, if the Referee was

reversed with regard to the question of the assignment of the claim, the Liquidator

7

requested that this Court remand for the Referee to decide the priority issue, which

was fully briefed but not addressed by the Referee. (See Sur-Reply Memorandum

of Law in Support of Lincoln at 4-5.)

C. Vernic I and the Application for Reargument

After argument, the Court sustained Vernic’s exceptions. With regard to the

question of standing, the Court disagreed with the Referee that the documentary

evidence and conduct of the parties demonstrated that Vernic intended to assign his

claims. To be effective, an assignment must manifest the intention “to transfer the

right, without further action. . . .” Vernic I, slip op. at 11 (emphasis omitted). The

Court found that the Stipulation did not meet that requirement, and referred to

another document, “the related assignment,” which was never executed. Id. at 12.

In contrast, the Agreement, which did not contain an assignment, “show[ed]

marked indicia of finality.” Id. The Court also found that the conduct of the

parties did not support the finding of an assignment. Noting that during the

extensive history of litigation in federal and state courts, the parties had “vacillated

on the issue of whether an assignment was made,” the Court concluded that “one

thing remains clear – Vernic is the only party who filed a proof of claim during

Lincoln’s liquidation,” even though Veverka and Hardy were notified of the claim

period as well. Id. at 13. In summary, given that “the entire transaction, the

language of the documents, and the conduct of the parties [did] not clearly show

that their intent was to assign Vernic’s right to recover from Lincoln,” the Court

sustained Vernic’s exception to the Referee’s conclusion that he irrevocably

assigned his claims against Lincoln and so lacked standing. Id.

With regard to damages, the Court reiterated that the Referee determined

Lincoln had a duty to defend Vernic, which it breached, and the Liquidator did not

8

dispute that determination or file an exception to the Report, but instead argued

that the Court should adopt the Referee’s conclusion that Vernic’s award did not

include the amount of the California judgment. Because the Court agreed with the

Referee that Hardy’s claims against Vernic included allegations of property

damage that may be within the Policy’s coverage, the Court reviewed what

damages Vernic could recover. The Referee’s determination that the only

recoverable damages were litigation costs or attorney’s fees was premised upon the

determination that Vernic assigned his right to recover under the Policy, with

which the Court disagreed; therefore, the Court reviewed California law governing

an insurer’s denial of coverage or refusal to defend, which the parties do not

dispute controls here. The Court explained that “when ‘a liability insurer

wrongfully denie[s] coverage or refuses to provide a defense, then the insured is

free to negotiate the best possible settlement consistent with his or her interests,

including a stipulated judgment accompanied by a covenant not to execute.’” Id. at

14 (quoting Pruyn v. Agric. Ins. Co., 42 Cal. Rptr. 2d 295, 299 (Cal. Ct. App.

1995)). This was what had occurred in the present case, the Court concluded, as

Vernic was unable to afford an attorney and, thus, had to appear pro se to

participate in mediation and negotiate a settlement to the best of his abilities.

Lincoln did not take the steps to seek declaratory judgment as to coverage under

the Policy or defend under a reservation of rights, and because it did not, the Court

determined, “[u]nder these circumstances, the verdict is a proximate result of

Lincoln’s breach of its duty to defend.” Vernic I, slip op. at 15 (citing Amato v.

Mercury Cas. Co., 61 Cal. Rptr. 2d 909, 913, 915 (Cal. Ct. App. 1997)

(Amato II)3).

3

Amato II was issued after the California Court of Appeals remanded the case for the

(Footnote continued on next page…)

9

An insurance company that fails to provide a defense “is bound by the

judgment against its insured as to all issues which were litigated in the action

against the insured,” regardless of whether it derives from a good faith settlement,

a default judgment, or a judgment without opposition, the Court explained. Vernic

I, slip op. at 15 (quoting Amato II, 61 Cal. Rptr. 2d at 917). Here, because Lincoln

was aware of facts bringing the claims within possible coverage of the Policy and

it still refused to defend, the Court concluded Lincoln could not “now challenge

the judgment by claiming it was the product of collusion or by demanding a trial

within a trial.” Id. Further, the Court found there was sufficient judicial oversight

of the trial court to mitigate the risk of a collusive or fraudulent settlement and no

remand was necessary to consider the Liquidator’s allegation of collusion. Id.

Accordingly, the Court sustained Vernic’s exceptions to the Report, valued

Vernic’s claim as the total amount of the California judgment, plus the attorney’s

fees he personally incurred as a result of Lincoln’s breach of its duty to defend, and

directed the Liquidator to amend the NOD accordingly. Id. at 15-16.

The Liquidator timely filed an Application for Reargument, asserting

various bases why the Court should exercise its discretion for reargument,

including that the Court should address Lincoln’s argument as to which priority

level applies to Vernic’s claim. Because the Court determined the judgment was

the proximate result of Lincoln’s breach of the duty to defend, the Liquidator

_____________________________

(continued…)

trial court to conduct further proceedings in Amato v. Mercury Casualty Company, 23 Cal. Rptr.

2d 73 (Cal. Ct. App. 1993) (Amato I). On appeal after remand, the California Court of Appeals

issued its decision in Amato v. Mercury Casualty Company, 58 Cal. Rptr. 2d 784 (Cal. Ct. App.

1996). The California Court of Appeals then granted reargument and issued Amato II, which

reiterated the conclusions of the 1996 opinion and addressed the new arguments raised for

reargument.

10

asserted that Vernic’s claim for the amount of the entire judgment was a tort

remedy for the failure to defend, rather than a contractual breach, which constitutes

a general creditor claim subject to priority (e) classification. The Court granted

reargument “limited solely to the issue of what priority level(s) should be assigned

to [Vernic’s] claim.”4 (January 6, 2020 Order.)

II. DISCUSSION

A. Waiver

1. Parties’ Arguments

Before reaching the merits of the priority argument, the Court first considers

a threshold issue raised by Vernic: whether the Liquidator waived the ability to

challenge the priority level. Specifically, Vernic argues that the Liquidator failed

to file exceptions to the Referee’s Report within 30 days, as required by

Pennsylvania Rule of Appellate Procedure 3781(f), Pa.R.A.P. 3781(f). As a result,

Vernic argues the Liquidator is now foreclosed from challenging the class (b)

priority level assigned by the Referee. Vernic also points out that the class (b)

priority level assigned by the Referee is the same priority that the Liquidator

initially assigned the claim.

The Liquidator responds that the Liquidator did not waive the priority issue;

rather, Vernic did by trying to “refashion” his claim.5,6 (Liquidator’s Brief (Br.) at

4

The Court first granted reargument by Order dated January 3, 2020, and denied the

Application for Reargument to the extent that it requested a remand to the Referee. By Order

dated January 6, 2020, this Court clarified its prior order granting reargument by limiting the

issue to solely that of the priority level.

5

The Liquidator’s arguments concerning waiver have been reordered for ease of

discussion.

6

The Liquidator contends Vernic violated the Court’s order granting reargument by

raising an issue for which reargument was not granted and asks the Court, if necessary, to strike

(Footnote continued on next page…)

11

16.) According to the Liquidator, Vernic requested extra-contractual relief in his

proof of claim and, in his objections to the NOD, he asserted that his claim

sounded in tort, but before this Court, Vernic asserts his claim is contractually

based upon the Policy. It was at this time that the Liquidator asserted, at the first

opportunity, that Vernic’s claim warranted class (e) priority, a position the

Liquidator has continually argued since. The Liquidator further argues that

because the Referee found Vernic assigned his claim, the Referee did not decide

the priority issue and, as a result, the Liquidator could not have filed an exception

to the Report challenging priority because the Liquidator was not aggrieved and,

therefore, lacked standing. Moreover, the Liquidator argues waiver, generally, is

“incompatible” with liquidation proceedings and the Liquidator’s statutory duty to

protect the interests of Lincoln’s insureds by seeking “‘equitable apportionment of

any unavoidable loss’ caused by [] [Lincoln’s] failure.” (Id. at 11 (quoting Section

501(c)(iv) of the Act, 40 P.S. § 221.1(c)(iv)).) Further, the Liquidator argues

nothing in the Act precludes the Liquidator from changing the initial priority

assignment “as the facts develop,” (id. at 12), and the Court has the “ultimate

power to decide the correct priority assignment for every claim,” (id. at 13 (citing

40 P.S. § 221.44)).

2. Analysis

Although the Liquidator did not file a formal exception to the Referee’s

Report challenging the priority level, the Liquidator has consistently raised the

_____________________________

(continued…)

the portion of Vernic’s brief related thereto. However, because Vernic argued the Liquidator

waived the priority issue in his answer to the request for reargument, we will consider it.

12

issue, at a minimum, as an alternative argument throughout the proceedings.

Specifically, before the Referee, the Liquidator contended that even if Vernic had

not assigned his claim and had a claim for failure to defend, that claim would

warrant no more than (e) priority level. (See Liquidator’s Response to Vernic’s

Motion for Summary Judgment at 8-12.) Before this Court, addressing Vernic’s

exceptions to the Referee’s Report, the Liquidator contended that, should the Court

determine that Vernic did not assign his claims, this matter should be remanded

because “if the entire judgment were recoverable at all by anyone, it would carry a

class [(e)] priority rather than a class [(b)] priority because it flowed from a bad

faith cause of action.” (Sur-Reply Memorandum of Law at 5.)

Before the Referee, the Liquidator prevailed on its argument that Vernic

assigned his claim. As a result, the Liquidator was not aggrieved by the Report.

Rule 3781(f) of the Pennsylvania Rules of Appellate Procedure, Pa.R.A.P. 3781(f),

governs the filing of exceptions to a referee’s recommended decision.7 It provides

in pertinent part:

(1) Time for filing. Any party may file with the Court exceptions to

the Referee’s recommended decision no later than thirty (30) days

after the filing date of the recommended decision. The exception shall

be served on any other party and the referee.

....

(6) Final order. Upon completion of its review of exceptions, the

Court will enter a final order sustaining or overruling exceptions in

whole or in part. . . .

7

The Liquidator cites Rule 501 of the Pennsylvania Rules of Appellate Procedure,

Pa.R.A.P. 501, which provides that “any party who is aggrieved by an appealable order . . . may

appeal therefrom,” in support of its argument, but Rule 3781 governs the entire claim procedure

in liquidation proceedings from the filing of a claim through to issuance of a final order.

13

(7) When no exceptions filed. Any party may apply to the Court for,

or the Court on its own initiative may issue, an order either adopting

the recommended decision or stating that in the absence of exceptions,

the referee’s proposed order is entered as the order of the Court.

....

(9) Waiver. Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, failure to file

timely exceptions to a referee’s recommended decision shall be

deemed a waiver of further appeal if the Court approves the

recommended decision without modification.

Pa.R.A.P. 3781(f)(1), (6), (7), (9).

Because this Court did not adopt the Referee’s Report “without

modification” but instead sustained Vernic’s exceptions, the waiver in Rule

3781(f)(9) resulting from “failure to file timely exceptions to a referee’s

recommended decision” would not be implicated. Pa.R.A.P. 3781(f)(9). The

Liquidator’s argument regarding priority level was not implicated until the Court

sustained Vernic’s exceptions in Vernic I. In summary, because the Liquidator

raised priority throughout the proceedings, the Referee found in the Liquidator’s

favor on the assignment issue and did not specifically address the arguments

regarding the priority level, and this Court did not adopt the Referee’s Report

without modification, the Liquidator did not waive the issue of which priority level

applies.8 Accordingly, we turn to what priority level is appropriate for Vernic’s

claim.

8

Because the Court finds the Liquidator did not waive its argument related to priority, it

is unnecessary to address the Liquidator’s policy arguments.

14

B. Priority Level

1. Parties’ Arguments

The Liquidator’s argument that Vernic’s claim belongs in a class (e) priority

rather than class (b) priority is twofold: (1) the judgment for defective construction

work was not covered under the Policy; and (2) even if Lincoln wrongly denied

Vernic a defense under the Policy, that claim is tort-based, which falls in class (e).

First, with regard to whether the judgment was covered under the Policy, the

Liquidator argues as follows. To be entitled to class (b) priority, Vernic must be

seeking to recover a benefit to which he was entitled under the Policy. Lincoln

issued Vernic the Policy, which covered bodily injury or property damage due to

Vernic’s accidental conduct, but the Policy did not cover damage to, or defects in,

Vernic’s own work. Hardy alleged in his complaint that he experienced water

damage in the new home Vernic built as a result of Vernic’s defective

construction. Therefore, this damage did not fall within the coverage of the Policy.

California law supports this conclusion; the District Court for the Northern District

of California (Northern District Court) recently concluded that “a policy virtually

identical to Lincoln’s did not apply to defective construction claims against a

general contractor and specialty contractor on a hotel project” because defective

workmanship is not property damage and, even if it was, there was no coverage

given the policy’s exclusions. (Liquidator’s Br. at 18-19 (citing Webcor Constr.,

LP v. Zurich Am. Ins. Co., 372 F. Supp. 3d 1061 (N.D. Cal. 2019), aff’d, 801 F.

App’x 577 (9th Cir. 2020)).) The Policy in the present case “did not cover

Vernic’s contractual assumption of liability for [] Veverka,” nor did Veverka

allege property damage under the Policy, thereby “eliminating any coverage for

Veverka’s cross-claim.” (Id. at 20.) The Referee “did not apply either the

15

[P]olicy’s language or the California coverage principles . . .” but nonetheless

concluded there was an obligation to defend without addressing “whether Hardy’s

claimed damages even qualified as ‘property damage’” or whether other exclusions

apply. (Id. at 21.)

Second, regardless of whether the claim which Vernic seeks to recover is

covered under the Policy, the Liquidator argues the claim warrants only class (e)

priority “because it sounds in tort.” (Id.) In support thereof, the Liquidator argues

that the California Court of Appeals held in Amato II that “[b]reach of an insurer’s

duty to defend violates a contractual obligation and, where unreasonable, also

violates the covenant of good faith and fair dealing, for which tort remedies are

appropriate.” (Id. at 22 (alteration in original) (quoting Amato II, 61 Cal. Rptr. 2d

at 912).) “Vernic based his claim in the Lincoln estate on Amato [II],” arguing that

when he objected to the NOD, the insurer can be liable for the judgments resulting

from third-party litigation where the insurer tortiously does not tender a defense.

(Id. at 23.) Vernic now claims to be seeking only contractual recovery, but as set

forth in Amato II, typical contract damages are the costs of defense while tort

damages include reimbursement for the judgment, even if it is not covered by an

insurance policy. Therefore, even if this Court agrees that Vernic’s claim is purely

contractual and entitled to priority (b) assignment, Vernic can only recover the

amount of his contract damages, the costs of defense, which is $44,131.69 in

counsel fees. Although Vernic contends that insureds, such as he, have always

been able to recover extra-contractual judgments, the California Court of Appeals

would not have had “to resort to tort law” in Amato II to award the amount of the

judgment if that was the case. (Id. at 25.) Additionally, the cases upon which

Vernic rely preceded Amato II, were mostly “decided in materially different

16

circumstances,” and only reiterate the principle that an insurer’s breach of its duty

to defend may allow the insured to recover the amount of a settlement or judgment.

(Id.) These cases do not address under what theory, tort or contract, the insured

may recover. Finally, this Court is required to treat similar claims consistently,

and this Court has already assigned claims like Vernic’s to class (e) priority, such

as in Cohen v. Reliance Insurance Company (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 2 REL 2006, filed

January 7, 2013), and Ario v. Reliance Insurance Company (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 269

M.D. 2001, filed July 2, 2009). Accordingly, the Liquidator asks this Court to

assign Vernic’s claim a priority level (e).

Vernic asserts that the class (b) priority is the correct classification, arguing

as follows. His claim is “for recovery of losses payable under [the P]olicy,” as he

seeks to recover amounts awarded against him within the $1,000,000 Policy limit

and the defense costs allowed under the Policy. (Vernic’s Br. at 20.) This claim

for “amounts payable under [the Policy]” falls within priority (b) as do “all claims

under policies for losses wherever incurred.” (Id. at 21 (quoting 40 P.S. § 221.44)

(emphasis omitted).) Moreover, the Liquidator’s argument otherwise is contrary to

California law. Even if the facts surrounding Lincoln’s denial of benefits may

support a bad faith claim if asserted in a California court, there has been no claim

for insurance bad faith in the present case. Vernic seeks only the amounts payable

under the Policy. While California law may permit an award of tort damages, in

addition to benefits under the Policy where there is a finding of bad faith, Vernic’s

claim is only for amounts owed under the Policy. If this Court accepted the

Liquidator’s argument, “losses to the insured flowing from Lincoln’s breach of its

duty to defend would be assigned an unfavorable priority position simply because

the insurer’s conduct not only breached the contract but was in ‘bad faith.’” (Id.)

17

It would be “patently unfair” to follow such logic as it would reward insurers for

“engaging in bad faith conduct by potentially having policy-based claims

extinguished along with ‘bad faith’ claims assigned a lower priority.” (Id. at 21-

22.)

Vernic argues that his claim is payable under the Policy because, under

California law, “[w]rongful failure to provide coverage or defend a claim is a

breach of contract” that implicates liability under the Policy. (Id. at 22 (quoting

Isaacson v. Cal. Ins. Guarantee Ass’n, 750 P.2d 297, 308 (Cal. 1988)). As the

California Supreme Court has held, where an insured makes a reasonable

settlement after an insurer denies coverage in violation of its contractual duty, the

insured may seek to recover the amount of that settlement against the insurer. In

this case, the judgment was entered following a bench trial and constitutes

presumptive evidence of Vernic’s liability and the amount of that liability. This

liability derives from Lincoln’s breach of its contractual duty to defend; therefore,

Vernic did not need to make a showing of tortious breach or bad faith. It is well

settled that where an entity is bound by agreement to protect another from liability

and does not defend that party despite notice and an opportunity to do so, the entity

is bound by the result of the litigation. Lincoln had notice of the action and the

opportunity to defend Vernic, but it repeatedly refused to do so. In this way,

Vernic’s case is like those in California where judgment was entered against the

insured which led to a contractual right of recovery, but where there was no claim

for insurance bad faith.

Vernic contends this Court agreed that his underlying claims in the

California litigation were covered under the Policy because Vernic appeared at the

bench trial pro se and judgment was entered against him for property damage and

18

litigation costs. As this Court noted in Vernic I, the judgment entered against an

insured, such as Vernic, where the insurer fails to defend is “the proximate result

of the refusal to defend.” (Id. at 25.) This longstanding rule established through

case law does not require a finding of bad faith. Therefore, the judgment entered

against Vernic following Lincoln’s failure to defend is recoverable under the

Policy and there is no requirement for an action in bad faith in order to recover

those losses under the Policy.

Vernic argues the Liquidator’s reliance upon Amato v. Mercury Casualty

Company, 23 Cal. Rptr. 2d 73 (Cal. Ct. App. 1993) (Amato I), and Amato II is

misplaced. The longstanding law is that “the wrongful refusal to defend entitles

the insured to recover all damages within the policy resulting from the breach and

binds the insurer to the judgment entered against the insured,” (Vernic’s Br. at 27),

and the decisions in Amato I and Amato II did not change this rule. Rather,

although Amato I and Amato II involved facts supporting a recovery in tort for the

amount of the judgment, the California Court of Appeals “did not hold that this

was the only avenue to recovery of judgments entered as a result of the failure to

defend.” (Vernic’s Br. at 28.) Moreover, these decisions by the California Court

of Appeals cannot alter the controlling rule of the California Supreme Court in

Isaacson that wrongful failure to provide coverage is a breach of contract. The

possibility for recovery under both theories of tort and contract “does not eliminate

the insured’s right to pursue recovery under a purely contractual theory,” and both

“types of recovery are [] not coextensive.” (Id.) Vernic seeks only contractual

damages limited to the claims under the Policy. Finally, although the Liquidator

cites in its Application for Reargument various Pennsylvania case law and asserts

that the priority determination in this case conflicts with that law, Vernic contends

19

that these cases are distinguishable. Vernic’s claim should “be evaluated under

California law, which holds that both defense costs and the resulting judgment

within the policy limit are contractual losses under the policy,” bringing Vernic’s

claim “squarely within the scope of [Section 544(b)].” (Vernic’s Br. at 31.)

Therefore, the classification of this claim as priority (b) should be affirmed.

2. Analysis

“[C]laim priority is important to all claimants in the liquidation,” where it is

anticipated that the insurer “will not have assets sufficient to pay all claims.” Ario

v. Reliance Ins. Co., 980 A.2d 588, 591 (Pa. 2009). “Recognizing the importance

of classifying claims, the General Assembly enacted the Act to ensure that

claimants entitled to more protection have prioritized claims.” Id. at 594. “Claim

priority . . . is governed by Section 544 of the Act, [40 P.S. § 221.44,] which sets

forth the order of distribution of an insolvent insurer’s assets.” Ario, 980 A.2d at

591. Section 544(b), (e) provides, in relevant part, as follows:

The order of distribution of claims from the insurer’s estate shall be in

accordance with the order in which each class of claims is herein set

forth. Every claim in each class shall be paid in full or adequate funds

retained for such payment before the members of the next class

receive any payment. No subclasses shall be established within any

class.

....

(b) All claims under policies for losses wherever incurred,

including third[-]party claims, and all claims against the insurer for

liability for bodily injury or for injury to or destruction of tangible

property which are not under policies, shall have the next priority. . . .

....

20

(e) Claims under nonassessable policies for unearned premium or

other premium refunds and claims of general creditors.

40 P.S. § 221.44(b), (e) (emphasis added). Claims classified under subsection (b)

have a higher priority than those classified under subsection (e), meaning claims

assigned to class (b) priority will be paid before those assigned to (e). See Ario,

980 A.2d at 591.

Here, the Liquidator, in the NOD, initially classified Vernic’s claim as

priority (b), which the Referee recommended affirming although finding that the

only claim Vernic had under the Policy was for his attorney’s fees because he had

assigned all other rights under the Policy. (Referee’s Report at 18-19.) The Court

concluded in Vernic I that Vernic had not assigned his rights under the Policy and,

therefore, was entitled to recover both attorney’s fees and the amount of the

California judgment under the Policy, but did not expressly address arguments

regarding the priority level. Vernic I, slip op. at 12-13, 15-16.

We begin with the Liquidator’s argument that Vernic’s claim is not one that

falls within the Policy’s coverage. This argument seeks to challenge the Referee’s

conclusion that Hardy’s Complaint “contain[ed] allegations of property damage

actually or potentially within the coverage of the [P]olicy,” which triggered

Lincoln’s duty to defend, which it did not do. (Referee’s Report at 9 (emphasis

omitted).) If the Liquidator disagreed with the Referee’s conclusion regarding

Lincoln’s breach of the duty to defend, the Liquidator could have filed exceptions

to the Referee’s Report pursuant to Rule 3781, but it did not. As the Court stated

in Vernic I, “[u]nder these circumstances,” where Lincoln knew of facts potentially

bringing the claim within its coverage and did not provide a defense, “the verdict is

a proximate result of Lincoln’s breach of its duty to defend.” Vernic I, slip op. at

15. Therefore, this Court will not consider the Liquidator’s arguments to the extent

21

the Liquidator now seeks to challenge the previous conclusive determination that

Lincoln was aware of facts potentially bringing Vernic’s claim under the coverage

of the Policy and, therefore, breached its duty to defend. Nor will this Court

evaluate whether the claims set forth in Hardy’s Complaint fall within the coverage

of the Policy.

To the extent the Liquidator argues such a determination is necessary to

determine whether the claim falls within priority class (b) as a “claim[] under [the

P]olic[y] for losses wherever incurred,” 40 P.S. § 221.44, we disagree. Under

Section 520(d) of Article V of the Act, “[u]pon issuance of the order [to liquidate],

the rights and liabilities of . . . [an] insurer and of its creditors, policyholders,

shareholders, members and all other persons interested in the estate shall become

fixed as of the date of the filing of the petition for liquidation.”9 40 P.S.

§ 221.20(d). Moreover, the “[Li]quidator steps into the shoes of the insurer’s

officers and directors in the conduct of that insurer’s affairs.” Koken v. Legion Ins.

Co., 865 A.2d 945, 958 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2004) (quotation omitted). Therefore, the

Liquidator cannot now assert a lack of coverage when Lincoln, although it asserted

various Policy exclusions, did not pursue an adjudication of that issue. In short,

the Liquidator is essentially stuck with the consequences of Lincoln’s decision not

to defend Vernic and, as discussed more fully below, the resulting verdict against

Vernic. If the Court was to permit the Liquidator to reopen the record to determine

whether policy exclusions applied, we would undermine Section 520(d)’s

requirement that the parties’ rights and obligations are fixed as of the date of the

filing of the petition for liquidation. We decline to do so.

9

Section 540(d) was added by Section 2 of the Act of December 14, 1977, P.L. 280.

22

Thus, we turn to the Liquidator’s contention that Vernic’s claim arises from

Lincoln’s breach of its duty to defend, which sounds in tort, and therefore warrants

an (e) priority as a claim of a general creditor. It is undisputed that California law

applies. As set forth in California law, “where one is bound either by law or

agreement to protect another from liability, he is bound by the result of a litigation

to which such other is a party, provided he had notice of the suit and an

opportunity to control and manage it.” Kershaw v. Md. Cas. Co., 342 P.2d 72, 77

(Cal. Ct. App. 1959). Accordingly, an insurer “bears a duty to defend its insured

whenever it ascertains facts which give rise to the potential of liability under the

policy.” Isaacson, 750 P.2d at 308. Further, when “an insurer erroneously denies

coverage and/or improperly refuses to defend the insured in violation of its

contractual duties, the insured is entitled to make a reasonable settlement of the

claim in good faith and may then maintain an action against the insurer to recover

the amount of the settlement . . . .” Id. (internal quotations omitted).

The Liquidator relies upon the California Court of Appeals’ decisions in the

Amato cases to support its position that Vernic’s claim is one sounding in tort. In

the Amato cases, Mercury Casualty Company (Mercury) issued the insured a

policy for car insurance that provided, as relevant, coverage for bodily injury

sustained by the insured, including resident relatives of the insured. The insured

was driving his car with his mother-in-law as a passenger when he was involved in

an accident in which his mother-in-law sustained injuries. The mother-in-law sued

the insured, the insured requested Mercury to defend him, and Mercury declined

on the basis that the policy did not cover the claim because the insured’s mother-

in-law was not the insured’s resident relative. When the underlying case was

resolved, the insured and his mother-in-law filed suit for “bad faith breach of

23

insurance contract against [Mercury].” Amato I, 23 Cal. Rptr. 2d at 74. The jury

concluded that the insured’s mother-in-law was residing with him at the time of the

accident, and the trial court determined that Mercury breached its duty to defend

and awarded an amount equal to the amount of judgment entered against the

insured in the underlying case, including costs and post-judgment interest. On

appeal, the California Court of Appeals, concluding that Mercury breached its duty

to defend, remanded to the trial court for the purpose of determining damages

because “where the issues upon which coverage depended were not raised in the

underlying action, the insurer [is] not liable for the entire judgment.” Id. at 79

(citing Hogan v. Midland Nat’l Ins. Co., 91 Cal. Rptr. 153 (Cal. 1970)). In Amato

I, the “issues relevant to coverage were not decided in the underlying action” and

therefore the Court of Appeals determined “the proper measure of damages is that

amount which will compensate the insured for the harm or loss caused by the

breach of the duty to defend, i.e., the cost incurred in defense of the underlying

suit.” Id. Because it was not clear from the record before the court whether the

insured “mounted a defense in the underlying action,” or whether the judgment

was entered after default, the California Court of Appeals remanded for the trial

court to “ascertain the amount of damages, if any, properly awardable.” Id.

On remand, the insured stipulated that the matter went by default and

therefore there was no cost of defense, and the trial court concluded, in light of

Amato I, that the insured could only recover damages for the cost of defending the

underlying suit, of which there were none. The insured appealed, and the

California Court of Appeals, “[i]n light of more recent authority and the

clarification of the record that the underlying judgment was by default,” held that

“where an insurer tortiously breaches the duty to defend and the insured suffers a

24

default judgment because the insured is unable to defend, the insurer is liable for

the default judgment, which is a proximate result of its wrongful refusal to

defend.” Amato II, 61 Cal. Rptr. 2d at 911. In reaching this conclusion, the

California Court of Appeals explained that “[b]reach of an insurer’s duty to defend

violates a contractual obligation and, where unreasonable, also violates the

covenant of good faith and fair dealing for which tort remedies are appropriate.”

Id. at 912. Further, “[w]here an insured mounts a defense at the insured’s own

expense following the insurer’s refusal to defend, the usual contract damages are

the costs of the defense.” Id. at 913. The trial court determined in its prior

judgment that “Mercury had no good cause to refuse to defend, and Mercury

therefore tortiously breached the covenant of good faith and fair dealing.” Id. Due

to Mercury’s wrongful refusal to defend and the insured’s financial inability to

mount a defense, the insured suffered a default judgment and it was not discovered

until the subsequent action that there was no coverage under the policy, the

California Court of Appeals stated. Therefore, the Court determined that “Mercury

is liable for the judgment, which is a proximate result of its wrongful refusal to

defend.” Id. The California Court of Appeals also emphasized that “the duty to

defend is of vital importance,” and Mercury was required to defend in lawsuits,

even where “liability under the policy ultimately fails to materialize.” Id.

Vernic has not asserted a separate claim of bad faith refusal to defend, as the

insured did in Amato II, but rather has asserted since he filed the proof of claim

that he was entitled to recover the judgment under the Policy and that Lincoln

breached its duty to defend. Vernic also persuasively argues that even if his claim

arises from Lincoln’s bad faith refusal to defend an action that may have been

25

covered under the Policy, it is counterintuitive to give a lower priority to claims for

judgments resulting from the insurer’s tortious breach of the duty to defend.

The present case is similar to Pruyn, upon which this Court relied in Vernic

I. In Pruyn, the plaintiff filed suit against her homeowners’ association, alleging

that it negligently constructed and maintained the roads and drainage, which

facilitated the water eroding the area around her home, resulting in a landslide and

home damage. The plaintiff served the association’s insurers with the complaint,

but the insurers refused to provide a defense. The association entered into

negotiations with the plaintiff and reached a settlement, assigning the insured’s

right to recover against the insurers in exchange for the plaintiff not executing

judgment on the association. The assignment included a right of action based upon

a breach of duty to defend and a breach of contract. The plaintiff filed to enforce

the judgment. The insurers argued that the judgment could not be enforced against

them as a matter of law, the trial court agreed, and the California Court of Appeals

reversed on appeal.

The California Court of Appeals explained that if the litigation settled

without trial and judgment, “the question whether the liability of the insured was

one which the contract of insurance covered is still open, as is also the question as

to the fact of liability and the extent thereof,” and these questions can be litigated

in a separate action for the purpose of recovering the amount paid in settlement.

Pruyn, 42 Cal. Rptr. 2d at 312. The California Court of Appeals further stated that

“an insured who has been abandoned by . . . [an] insurer and elects to settle rather

than risk an adverse judgment is entitled to an evidentiary presumption in a

subsequent action against the insurer to enforce policy provisions, as to the

insured’s liability on the underlying claim, and the amount of [] liability.” Id. at

26

311-12 (emphasis added) (internal quotations omitted). Because of this, the

California Court of Appeals concluded that the trial court in that case had erred in

sustaining the demurrers to the plaintiff’s complaint on the basis that the plaintiff

could not recover as a matter of law because the allegations, if supported by

evidence, “would be sufficient to raise a presumption that the settlement reflected

the existence and amount of [the insured’s] liability . . . .” Id. at 314.

It does not appear on the record that Vernic has asserted that Lincoln’s

failure to defend was the result of bad faith, but has asserted it was a breach of the

duty to defend, resulting in a judgment against him that is a loss under the Policy.

Although the Liquidator contends that Vernic asserted in the objections to the

NOD that Lincoln’s failure to defend was in bad faith and now asserts that he seeks

only contractual damages, this is not supported by the record, as Vernic asserted in

those objections that Lincoln “fail[ed] to investigate the claim” and “breached its

duty to defend in this matter.” (Objection to NOD ¶ 61.) Vernic’s assertion that

he is entitled to the judgment under the Policy because Lincoln breached its duty to

defend is consistent with California case law, which provides that when “an insurer

erroneously denies coverage and/or improperly refuses to defend the insured in

violation of its contractual duties, the insured is entitled to make a reasonable

settlement of the claim in good faith and may then maintain an action against the

insurer to recover the amount of the settlement . . . .” Isaacson, 750 P.2d at 308

(internal quotations omitted).

Like the insured in Pruyn, it appears Vernic negotiated a settlement to the

best of his abilities after Lincoln refused to defend. Because the California

judgment results from Lincoln’s breach of the duty to defend, which creates a

presumption as to liability, Pruyn, 42 Cal. Rptr. 2d at 311-12, and that liability

27

should have been covered under the Policy, Vernic’s claim is one “under policies

for losses wherever incurred,” 40 P.S. § 221.44(b), and should be assigned

priority (b) under the Act. The Policy expressly provided that Lincoln had “the

right and duty to defend” Vernic. (Supplemental Reproduced Record at 24b.)

Therefore, Vernic is entitled to the amount of the judgment against him, plus the

amount of attorney’s fees he has personally incurred as a result of Lincoln’s breach

of its duty to defend.

III. CONCLUSION

Contrary to Vernic’s assertions, the Liquidator has not waived its ability to

challenge the priority level assigned to Vernic’s claim. However, for the foregoing

reasons, we agree with Vernic’s argument that his claim should be assigned class

(b) priority.

_____________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

28

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Franjo Vernic DBA SF Rehabitat, :

Objector :

:

v. : No. 4 LIN 2017

:

Lincoln General Insurance Company, :

In Liquidation, :

Respondent :

:

(Ancillary matter to In Re: Lincoln :

General Insurance Company In :

Liquidation No. 1 LIN 2015) :

ORDER

NOW, December 3, 2020, upon reconsideration of what priority level

should be assigned to Franjo Vernic DBA SF Rehabitat’s (Vernic) claim, the

Notice of Determination shall reflect that Vernic’s claim is assigned to class (b)

priority.

_____________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.