Opinion

Beecham, Billy v. Celadon Group, Inc.

  • 2020 TN WC 110
Court
Tennessee Court of Workers' Compensation Claims
Filed
Oct 26, 2020
Status
Published
On the bench
Amber E. Luttrell
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 14.5%

The opinion

FILED

Oct 26, 2020

03:46 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE COURT OF

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

CLAIMS

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

IN THE COURT OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CLAIMS

AT JACKSON

BILLY BEECHAM, ) Docket No. 2019-07-0184

Employee, )

v. )

CELADON GROUP, INC., ) State File No. 82322-2017

Employer, )

And )

AGRI GENERAL INS. CO., ) Judge Amber E. Luttrell

Carrier. )

COMPENSATION ORDER GRANTING BENEFITS

The Court held a Compensation Hearing on September 30, 2020, on Mr. Beecham’s

claim for workers’ compensation benefits for injuries to his neck, back, and shoulder.

Celadon contended Mr. Beecham’s claim is barred based on his alleged violation of its

safety rules. For the reasons below, the Court holds Celadon did not prevail on its safety

rule defense and awards Mr. Beecham one-percent permanent partial disability benefits

and lifetime future medical benefits.

Claim History

Mr. Beecham, an over-the-road truck driver, sustained injuries to his neck, back,

and shoulder on October 18, 2017, when he fell while exiting his truck. He reported the

incident, continued working, and sought authorized treatment from an urgent-care clinic a

few days later. Over the next year, Mr. Beecham underwent conservative treatment and

continued working full-duty through October 2018. After an orthopedic referral, Mr.

Beecham received a panel from which he selected Dr. Timothy Sweo.

Mr. Beecham first saw Dr. Sweo in October 2018. Dr. Sweo diagnosed cervicalgia

and left-shoulder pain and temporarily restricted him from driving a truck. Although

Celadon could accommodate his restrictions, Mr. Beecham declined to return to work. He

stated he could not continue driving due to pain. Dr. Sweo did not recommend surgery. He

placed Mr. Beecham at maximum medical improvement in January 2019 and assigned a

1

one-percent permanent impairment rating with no permanent restrictions. Mr. Beecham

testified he started receiving social security retirement benefits in January 2019 in the gross

amount of $1,440 per month.

After Mr. Beecham obtained a conflicting impairment rating from an independent

medical evaluator, he saw Dr. David West for an evaluation through the Bureau’s Medical

Impairment Rating Registry program. Dr. West agreed with Dr. Sweo’s one-percent

impairment rating. Dr. West’s rating was the only one admitted into evidence.

Mr. Beecham filed a Petition for Benefit Determination because he was dissatisfied

with his authorized treatment, and he requested an expedited hearing seeking additional

treatment. After a hearing, the Court ordered Celadon to provide medical benefits with his

authorized physician. Afterward, the Court granted Celadon’s Motion to Amend the

Dispute Certification Notice to add willful misconduct as an affirmative defense. Celadon

based the amendment request on video surveillance footage of Mr. Beecham’s accident

obtained after the Dispute Certification Notice was issued. Celadon then filed a Motion for

Summary Judgment, which the Court denied.

Hearing Testimony

Mr. Beecham testified regarding the details of his accident and Celadon’s safety rule

defense. He stated the accident occurred because he was wearing sunglasses and did not

notice he stepped in oil the first time he exited the truck. The oil on his shoes caused him

to slip and fall when he attempted to exit the truck a second time.

Mr. Beecham acknowledged the two safety policies Celadon contended he violated.

First, he agreed that Celadon required drivers to wear slip-resistant shoes. He admitted that

he wore “Crocs” rubber shoes at the time of his accident because they were more

comfortable. He stated Celadon knew he did this. Second, he acknowledged Celadon’s

policy for exiting the tractor, which requires drivers to exit rear-facing and using three-

points of contact. Mr. Beecham admitted he exited the tractor forward-facing and chose

not to follow the three-point contact rule.1 He stated that other drivers do the same, and

Celadon was aware he did this. He admitted that Wanda Carter, Celadon’s safety-manager,

counseled him regarding these safety rules after the accident; however, he stated she kept

him working for another year until he quit.

Celadon offered the affidavit of Ms. Carter into evidence to support its defense. Mr.

Beecham objected because Ms. Carter was not present for cross-examination. Celadon’s

counsel responded that Celadon filed for bankruptcy, and he was unable to reach Ms.

Carter. The Court took the objection under advisement and sustains the objection. The

1

The parties introduced video, which accurately depicted Mr. Beecham’s fall in its entirety and confirmed

he exited the truck forward facing without using three points of contact.

2

affidavit is hearsay, and Celadon offered no proof to satisfy an exception under Tennessee

Rules of Evidence 804(a)(1-6) to show Ms. Carter was unavailable.2

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

At a Compensation Hearing, Mr. Beecham must establish by a preponderance of the

evidence that he is entitled to the requested benefits. Willis v. All Staff, 2015 TN Wrk.

Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 42, at *18 (Nov. 9, 2015); see also Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

239(c)(6) (2019).

For Celadon to prevail on its safety rule defense, it has the burden of proving four

elements: (1) Mr. Beecham’s actual, as opposed to constructive, notice of the rule; (2) his

understanding of the danger involved in violating the rule; (3) Celadon’s bona fide

enforcement of the rule; and, (4) Mr. Beecham’s lack of a valid excuse for violating the

rule. Mitchell v. Fayetteville Pub. Utilities, 368 S.W.3d 442, 453 (Tenn. 2012). Here,

Celadon submitted no proof or insufficient proof to satisfy factors two and three, which

require that Mr. Beecham understood the danger involved in violating the rules and that

Celadon enforced the rules. For these reasons, this defense must fail.3

Since Mr. Beecham’s claim is not barred by the asserted defense, the Court holds

that the preponderance of the evidence shows he suffered an injury arising primarily out of

and in the course and scope of his employment on October 18, 2017. Based on Dr. West’s

rating, the Court finds Mr. Beecham sustained a one-percent permanent impairment. By

stipulation, his compensation rate is $669.50; however, the Court finds Celadon is entitled

to an offset based on Mr. Beecham’s social security retirement benefits of $1,440 per

month. After the offset, Mr. Beecham’s weekly compensation rate is reduced to $503.35,

and he is entitled to an original award of $2,265.08 in permanent disability benefits (1% x

450= 4.5 weeks x $503.35= $2,265.08) with future medical benefits.4

As for additional benefits, Mr. Beecham did not argue he was entitled to increased

benefits. Nevertheless, the proof showed Celadon offered work to accommodate his

temporary restrictions; however, Mr. Beecham refused and voluntarily quit because he

believed he could no longer drive a truck. Dr. Sweo later released him at maximum medical

2

Notably, Celadon’s counsel was able to reach Ms. Carter to prepare and execute the affidavit in September

2019.

3

If Ms. Carter’s affidavit had been admissible, the Court finds her testimony failed to prove Mr. Beecham

understood the dangers of violating its policies or the company’s enforcement of its policies. Thus, the

defense would still fail.

4

For Mr. Beecham’s social security retirement offset calculation, Celadon contended his monthly $1440

equated to weekly retirement benefits of $332.31. It is entitled to an offset against the compensation rate

for fifty percent of the weekly retirement benefit. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-207. Fifty percent of $332.31

is $166.15 per week. After deducting $166.15 from Mr. Beecham’s $669.50 compensation rate, the

resulting rate is $503.35 per week.

3

improvement with no permanent restrictions. Under these facts, the Court finds Mr.

Beecham is not entitled to increased benefits and is limited to his original award.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED as follows:

1. Mr. Beecham shall recover from Celadon Group Inc. or its insurance carrier

permanent partial disability benefits in the amount of $2,265.08.

2. Mr. Beecham shall receive future medical benefits under the statute.

3. Costs of $150.00 are assessed against Celadon Group Inc. under Tennessee

Compilation Rules and Regulations 0800-02-21-.07 (August 2019), to be paid

within five days of this order becoming final.

4. Celadon Group Inc. shall prepare and file the SD-2 with the Clerk within ten

business days of the date of this order under Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-

6-224.

5. Unless appealed, the order shall become final thirty days after issuance.

ENTERED October 26, 2020.

_____________________________________

JUDGE AMBER E. LUTTRELL

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims

4

APPENDIX

Exhibits:

1. Wage statement

2. Video of accident

3. MIRR evaluation report

4. Premier Radiology report (2 pgs.)

5. Dr. Sweo’s records

Marked for Identification Only:

1. Wanda Carter’s affidavit

Technical record:

1. Petition for Benefit Determination

2. Dispute Certification Notice

3. Request for Expedited Hearing

4. Expedited Hearing Order

5. Employer’s Motion to Amend DCN

6. Order Granting Motion to Amend DCN

7. Employer’s Motion for Summary Judgment

8. Employee’s Response to Motion for Summary Judgment

9. Employer’s Reply to Employee’s Response

10. Order Denying Summary Judgment

11. Scheduling Order

12. Pre-Compensation Hearing Statement

13. Employer’s Pre-Hearing Brief

14. Post-Discovery DCN

5

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a copy of this Order was sent as indicated on October 26, 2020.

Name Certified Email Service sent to:

Mail

Billy Beecham, X X P. O. Box 519

Employee Paris, TN 38242

billybeecham76@gmail.com

Kenny Veit, X kenny.veit@leitnerfirm.com

Attorney for Employer crystal.brown@leitnerfirm.com

_____________________________________

Penny Shrum, Clerk of Court

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims

6

Compensation Hearing Order Right to Appeal:

If you disagree with this Compensation Hearing Order, you may appeal to the Workers’

Compensation Appeals Board or the Tennessee Supreme Court. To appeal to the Workers’

Compensation Appeals Board, you must:

1. Complete the enclosed form entitled: “Notice of Appeal,” and file the form with the Clerk

of the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims within thirty calendar days of the date the

compensation hearing order was filed. When filing the Notice of Appeal, you must serve

a copy upon the opposing party (or attorney, if represented).

2. You must pay, via check, money order, or credit card, a $75.00 filing fee within ten

calendar days after filing of the Notice of Appeal. Payments can be made in-person at any

Bureau office or by U.S. mail, hand-delivery, or other delivery service. In the alternative,

you may file an Affidavit of Indigency (form available on the Bureau’s website or any

Bureau office) seeking a waiver of the filing fee. You must file the fullycompleted

Affidavit of Indigency within ten calendar days of filing the Notice of Appeal. Failure to

timely pay the filing fee or file the Affidavit of Indigency will result in dismissal of

your appeal.

3. You bear the responsibility of ensuring a complete record on appeal. You may request

from the court clerk the audio recording of the hearing for a $25.00 fee. A licensed court

reporter must prepare a transcript and file it with the court clerk within fifteen calendar

days of the filing the Notice of Appeal. Alternatively, you may file a statement of the

evidence prepared jointly by both parties within fifteen calendar days of the filing of the

Notice of Appeal. The statement of the evidence must convey a complete and accurate

account of the hearing. The Workers’ Compensation Judge must approve the statement of

the evidence before the record is submitted to the Appeals Board. If the Appeals Board is

called upon to review testimony or other proof concerning factual matters, the absence of

a transcript or statement of the evidence can be a significant obstacle to meaningful

appellate review.

4. After the Workers’ Compensation Judge approves the record and the court clerk transmits

it to the Appeals Board, a docketing notice will be sent to the parties. The appealing party

has fifteen calendar days after the date of that notice to submit a brief to the Appeals Board.

See the Practices and Procedures of the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board.

To appeal your case directly to the Tennessee Supreme Court, the Compensation Hearing

Order must be final and you must comply with the Tennessee Rules of Appellate Procedure.

If neither party timely files an appeal with the Appeals Board, the trial court’s Order will

become final by operation of law thirty calendar days after entry. See Tenn. Code Ann. §

50-6-239(c)(7).

For self-represented litigants: Help from an Ombudsman is available at 800-332-2667.

NOTICE OF APPEAL

Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ Compensation www.tn.gov/workforce/injuries-at-

work/

wc.courtclerk@tn.gov | 1-800-332-2667

Docket No.: ________________________

State File No.: ______________________

Date of Injury: _____________________

___________________________________________________________________________

Employee

v.

___________________________________________________________________________ Employer

Notice is given that ____________________________________________________________________ [List

name(s) of all appealing party(ies). Use separate sheet if necessary.]

appeals the following order(s) of the Tennessee Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims to the Workers’

Compensation Appeals Board (check one or more applicable boxes and include the date filestamped on

the first page of the order(s) being appealed):

□ Expedited Hearing Order filed on _______________ □ Motion Order filed on ___________________

□ Compensation Order filed on__________________ □ Other Order filed on_____________________ issued

by Judge _________________________________________________________________________.

Statement of the Issues on Appeal

Provide a short and plain statement of the issues on appeal or basis for relief on appeal:

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

Parties

Appellant(s) (Requesting Party): _________________________________________ ☐Employer ☐Employee

Address: ________________________________________________________ Phone: ___________________

Email: __________________________________________________________

Attorney’s Name: ______________________________________________ BPR#: _______________________

Attorney’s Email: ______________________________________________ Phone: _______________________

Attorney’s Address: _________________________________________________________________________

* Attach an additional sheet for each additional Appellant *

LB-1099 rev. 01/20 Page 1 of 2 RDA 11082 Employee Name: _______________________________________ Docket No.:

_____________________ Date of Inj.: _______________

Appellee(s) (Opposing Party): ___________________________________________ ☐Employer ☐Employee

Appellee’s Address: ______________________________________________ Phone: ____________________

Email: _________________________________________________________

Attorney’s Name: _____________________________________________ BPR#: ________________________

Attorney’s Email: _____________________________________________ Phone: _______________________

Attorney’s Address: _________________________________________________________________________

* Attach an additional sheet for each additional Appellee *

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, _____________________________________________________________, certify that I have forwarded a

true and exact copy of this Notice of Appeal by First Class mail, postage prepaid, or in any manner as described

in Tennessee Compilation Rules & Regulations, Chapter 0800-02-21, to all parties and/or their attorneys in this

case on this the __________ day of ___________________________________, 20 ____.

____________________________________________

__ [Signature of appellant or attorney for appellant]

LB-1099 rev. 01/20 Page 2 of 2 RDA 11082

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.