Opinion

Truck Ins. Exchange v. AMCO Ins. Co.

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Oct 26, 2020
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 13.0%

The opinion

Filed 10/26/20

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION FOUR

TRUCK INSURANCE EXCHANGE, B298798

Plaintiff and Respondent, (Los Angeles County

Super. Ct. No. BC678363)

v.

AMCO INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant and Appellant.

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of

Los Angeles County, Richard Edward Rico, Judge. Affirmed.

Grant, Genovese & Baratta, Lance D. Orloff for Defendant

and Appellant.

Knapp, Peterson & Clarke, Peter J. Senuty for Plaintiff and

Respondent.

INTRODUCTION

A vehicle accident caused a car to crash through a

restaurant, injuring two restaurant patrons. The patrons sued

the restaurant owner and his landlords, alleging that the

property lacked safety measures that would have protected the

patrons from this type of injury. Summary judgment was

granted for the restaurant owner but denied for the landlords,

who knew a similar accident had occurred years earlier but failed

to implement safety measures to prevent a recurrence. The

landlords settled the action with the restaurant patrons.

The landlords’ insurer, respondent Truck Insurance

Exchange, then sued the restaurant’s insurer, appellant AMCO

Insurance Company, for equitable contribution, asserting that

AMCO wrongfully denied Truck’s request that AMCO defend and

indemnify the landlords. The “additional insured” provision in

the restaurant’s AMCO policy covered the landlords’ liability

“arising out of” the restaurant owner’s “use” of the premises.

Following a bench trial on stipulated facts and the parties’

briefing, the court found that the landlords’ liability arose from

the restaurant owner’s use of the premises and was therefore

covered under the AMCO policy. The court entered judgment for

Truck requiring AMCO to pay 50 percent of the settlement

amount and costs of defense.

On appeal, AMCO asserts the trial court erred in finding

that the landlords’ liability “arose from” the restaurant owner’s

“use” of the premises. AMCO contends that being the mere situs

of an accident does not constitute “use” of a premises, and that

the summary judgment rulings in the underlying action required

the trial court to find that the landlords’ liability was not caused

by the restaurant owner’s use of the premises. We affirm. The

2

phrase “arising from” in a general liability insurance policy

requires only a minimal causal connection, which existed here,

and the respective liability of the parties is irrelevant to the

additional insured provision. AMCO further asserts that the

trial court’s 50 percent apportionment was erroneous. AMCO did

not assert this argument in the trial court, however, so we find it

has been forfeited.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

A. The parties

The parties stipulated to the following facts. Kathy Awad

and Raif/Ralph Awad (the Awads) owned a commercial property

at the corner of East Wardlow Road and Orange Avenue in Long

Beach. The property was built in 1939, and the Awads bought it

in 2002. The property has a corner doorway entrance that faces

the intersection. Truck issued a business owner’s insurance

policy with the Awads as named insureds.

In May 2007, a car accident damaged the front door and

windows of the property. The Awads repaired the building by

replacing the door and windows with a similar door and windows.

In October 2012, Scott Bascon, dba Holé Molé Restaurant, 1

leased the property from the Awads. AMCO issued a business

owner’s insurance policy naming Bascon dba Holé Molé as the

insured. In a provision we discuss in more detail below, the

Awads as landlords were listed as additional insureds under the

AMCO policy.

1 Throughout the record, the restaurant name is written as

Holé Molé, Hole Mole, and Holè Molè. Adopting the name

displayed on the restaurant’s sign in the photograph in the

record, we refer to it as Holé Molé unless spelled otherwise

within a quote.

3

B. The Smith action

On June 2, 2013, Travis Smith and Dina Poppleton-Smith

were dining at Holé Molé when a car accident occurred in the

intersection of East Wardlaw Road and Orange Avenue. Two

cars collided in the intersection, and the “force of the impact

caused one of the cars to jump the curb and crash into the

restaurant.” According to the Smiths’ complaint, the vehicle

“crashed through the front doors” of Holé Molé, and continued

through the restaurant “until it stopped against the south-east

wall, striking [the Smiths] and pinning them to the wall, causing

significant injuries.”

On November 3, 2014, the Smiths sued Holé Molé and 50

Doe defendants for negligence and premises liability. 2 They

alleged that Holé Molé “failed to take precautionary measures

and safeguard the wellbeing of its patrons.” AMCO provided a

defense to Bascon/Holé Molé pursuant to the AMCO policy.

On August 11, 2015, the Smiths added the Awads as Doe

defendants. The Smiths asserted that following the similar

accident in 2007, the Awads should have protected the property

by reinforcing the front door frame and/or installing bollards to

prevent a vehicle from entering the property.

The Awads tendered their defense to Truck pursuant to the

Truck policy. On December 11, 2015, Truck tendered the Awads’

indemnity and defense to AMCO. Truck cited language in the

parties’ lease in which Bascon agreed to “indemnify, hold

harmless and defend against all claims and or damages, which

may be asserted against landlord, as may be related or incidental

to Tenants [sic] operations, including and not limited to claims

2 The Smiths later added as a defendant the driver of the

car that entered the restaurant.

4

and or damages asserted by its employees, customers, visitors,

etc.” AMCO denied coverage, stating, “Our client had no

responsibility for the existence or lack of existence of bollards on

the property, and has no responsibility for a vehicle losing control

on the street and crashing into the restaurant. This loss did not

arise out of our client’s use or occupancy of the premises.” On

September 23, 2016, Truck renewed its tender to AMCO,

suggesting there was a right to indemnity and defense under the

AMCO policy, and asking for a copy of the policy. AMCO again

denied coverage.

Bascon and the Awads filed motions for summary judgment

in the Smith action. In October 2016, the court granted Bascon’s

motion, finding that the accident was not foreseeable to Bascon,

there was no evidence that Bascon had knowledge of the 2007

incident, and the lease stated that Bascon could not alter the

premises without landlord consent. The court denied the Awads’

motion. The court found that the Awads had knowledge of the

2007 accident and therefore had “moral blame for not doing

anything to prevent a similar accident from occurring.” On

behalf of the Awads, Truck settled the Smith action for $785,000.

C. This action

1. Truck’s complaint

On October 3, 2017, Truck filed this action against AMCO

for equitable subrogation, equitable indemnification, equitable

contribution, and declaratory relief. Truck asserted that the

parties’ lease required Bascon to indemnify, defend, and hold

harmless the Awads “against all claims and/or damages, which

may be asserted against [the Awads], as may be related or

incidental to [Holé Molé/Bascon’s] operations.” Truck also

alleged that the lease required the Awads to be listed as

5

additional insureds on Bascon’s comprehensive general liability

insurance policy.

Truck further alleged that Bascon’s AMCO policy included

an additional insured endorsement naming the Awads as

additional insureds. The AMCO policy stated, “Any person or

organization from whom you [Bascon] lease premises is an

additional insured, but only with respect to their liability arising

out of your use of that part of the premises leased to you.” Truck

alleged that its claims “arise out of the Hole Mole’s use of the

Property as the plaintiffs in the Smith Action would not have

been injured but for Bascon’s use of the Property as a restaurant,

and their presence on the Property as invitees of Bascon and

patrons of Hole Mole.” Truck alleged that AMCO wrongfully

denied tender of the Awads’ defense and failed to indemnify the

Awads. Truck alleged damages in the amount paid to settle the

Smith action, $785,000, as well as the cost of defending the

action, which the parties later agreed was $52,368.15. Truck also

sought its costs and attorney fees.

2. Truck’s contentions

The trial court decided the issue on stipulated facts and the

arguments in the parties’ briefing. Truck argued in its briefs that

the lease for the premises stated, “Landlord shall be listed as an

additional insured on Tenant’s policy or policies of comprehensive

general liability insurance,” and “Tenant herein agrees to

indemnify, hold harmless and defend against all claims and/or

damages, which may be asserted against landlord, as may be

related to or incidental to Tenant[’]s operations; including and

not limited to claims and/or damages asserted by its employees,

customers, visitors, etc.” Truck argued that any liability of the

Awads was, at least, “incidental to” the operations of the

6

restaurant. The lease therefore demonstrated that the parties’

intent was that “the insurance provided by Hole Mole to the

Awads will be primary for risks incidental to running a

restaurant and for injuries to the customers.”

Truck further contended that the Awads were entitled to

the “additional insureds” coverage on Bascon’s AMCO policy.

The AMCO policy’s additional insured endorsement stated that

the Awads as landlords were additional insureds, and the policy

covered any “liability arising out of your [Bascon’s] use of that

part of the premises leased to you.” Truck asserted that AMCO

had a duty to defend and indemnify the Awads because the

Smiths “would not have been injured but for Bascon’s use of the

Property as a restaurant, and but for their presence on the

Property as invitees of Bascon and patrons of Hole Mole. Thus,

as a matter of undisputed facts and law, the claims arise out of

the use of the Property as a restaurant.” Truck also asserted,

“Had [the Smiths] not been present, as customers, they would not

have been injured.”

Truck stated that AMCO denied coverage on the basis that

Bascon was not liable for the Smiths’ injuries. It argued that

AMCO erred when it “equate[d] ‘arising out of the use’ of the

Property with ‘arising out of the liability of the named insured.’

The two are not coextensive.” Truck also noted that “the Awads

were never found to be liable. Rather, Truck settled due to the

seriousness of the injuries and the risks of trial, as insurers

frequently do.” Truck further argued that “if AMCO meant for

the liability of its named insured to be the controlling limitation

7

on coverage for the additional insureds, it should have clearly so

stated.” 3

Truck asserted primarily that it was entitled to equitable

subrogation, “because it was the intent of the parties that AMCO

cover the Awads for the liability that arose out of the use of the

premises as a restaurant.” In the alternative, Truck requested

equitable indemnity, equitable contribution, and declaratory

relief.

3. AMCO’s contentions

AMCO argued in its briefs that “since AMCO’s [i]nsured

tenant [Bascon] never had any connection to the alleged

dangerous condition in the owner’s building, AMCO had no duty”

to defend or indemnify the Awads. It asserted that the “AMCO

policy did not insure . . . the Awads’ liability arising out of their

building” that had no connection to Bascon’s operation of a

restaurant. AMCO stated, “Truck must first prove that AMCO

had a duty to defend the Awads in the underlying premises-

liability action . . . . If Truck were to prove that AMCO owed a

duty to defend, the burden would shift to AMCO to prove that it

had no duty to indemnify the Awads. . . .”

AMCO contended that the Smiths’ premises liability action

was “based on the Awads’ breach of its non-delegable duty to

maintain its property free of unreasonable dangerous conditions

existing on the premises,” and the Smiths alleged that “the

3 Truck also asserted that a structural alteration exclusion

in the AMCO policy was not applicable, as it may have related to

a finding that the Awads were liable due to the lack of bollards or

other structures near the entry of the restaurant. The court

found that the structural alteration exception was not applicable

under the stipulated facts. The parties do not challenge the

court’s finding on this issue, and therefore we do not address it.

8

Awads’ duty of care arose because they had actual knowledge of a

prior accident which created a duty of care to repair their

premises” to prevent a similar accident from recurring. Bascon

had no knowledge of the previous accident, and no duty to modify

the premises to avoid injuries from a similar accident. AMCO

also argued, “[I]t is Res Judicata that Holé Molé was not

negligent and did not own the building alleged to have a

dangerous condition,” and “the issue cannot be relitigated.”

AMCO further asserted that the parties’ lease did not

require AMCO to indemnify the Awads. Although the indemnity

provision in the lease could be read to cover the Awads’ passive

negligence, it did not create a duty to indemnify the Awads’

active negligence. Moreover, the lease stated that indemnity of

the Awads must be “related to or incidental to [Bascon’s]

operations,” and the car accident did not meet that definition.

AMCO also argued that the Awads were not entitled to

“additional insured” coverage under the AMCO policy. AMCO

asserted that the Awads’ liability did not arise out of Bascon’s

“use” of the premises; rather, liability arose from the Awads’

knowledge of the prior accident and their negligent

reconstruction of the property thereafter. AMCO argued, “[T]he

Awads’ liability to the [Smiths] was not in any manner or to any

degree related to Holé Molé’s use of the premises. Rather, it was

entirely premised on knowledge and actions that were taken six

years before Holé Molé ever occupied the premises.”

AMCO asked that Truck’s complaint be dismissed with

prejudice. It also asserted that Truck’s claim for subrogation in

particular was “simply improper” under the circumstances, and

“Truck’s only proper claim here, between two primary insurers

9

that insure the same parties (the Awads), is equitable

contribution.”

4. The court’s decision

The court issued an order on February 15, 2019, finding in

favor of Truck and ordering damages of $418,684.08. The court

explained its reasoning in an accompanying statement of

decision. The court rejected AMCO’s reasoning, stating, “AMCO’s

statement of the issue does not comport with general established

insurance law. Equitable contribution between insureds [sic]

need not be based on the comparative negligence of their

respective insureds.” As for whether the liability arose “out of”

Bascon’s use of the premises, the court stated, “The court need

not engage in extensive analysis to state the obvious. The

lawsuits by the injured patrons arose out of their being patrons of

the restaurant leased from the landlords. . . . The claims against

both the restaurant and the landlords arose out of the use of the

premises.”

The court concluded, “[T]he court finds that the principles

of equitable contribution applies [sic] to the issues in this case.

AMCO was entitled to dispute coverage albeit wrongly. There is

no argument made regarding the appropriateness of the defense

costs or the appropriateness of settlement. The court therefore

finds that the apportionment should on in [sic] equal, 50/50 basis.

[Truck] is entitled to recover ½ of the money paid.”

5. AMCO’s objection

AMCO filed an objection to the trial court’s statement of

decision. AMCO argued that “the Court’s findings critically fail

to distinguish between AMCO’s alleged duty to defend and duty

to indemnify.” Noting that the court used the phrase “potential

liability” once in the decision, AMCO asserted that a

10

determination of potential liability, but not actual liability,

“triggers AMCO’s duty to defend, but does not trigger AMCO’s

duty to indemnify.” Thus the court’s finding should have

determined that AMCO owed half of the $52,368.15 Truck

expended in defending the Awads—not half of Truck’s $785,000

settlement payment. AMCO also repeated its arguments that “no

part of Holè Molè’s use of the premises actually caused” the

Smiths’ damages, and in light of summary judgment in Bascon’s

favor, the Awads’ settlement “was entirely based on the Awads’

use of the premises, and NOT at all based on Holè Molè’s ‘use of

the premises.’” AMCO asked that the court modify its decision to

state that AMCO’s policy did not cover Truck’s $785,000

settlement, and AMCO owed only half of $52,368.15.

Truck filed a written response asserting that AMCO had no

legitimate procedural basis for challenging the court’s statement

of decision with a written objection. Truck also asserted that the

court’s finding that the Awads’ liability arose out of Bascon’s use

of the premises, and therefore that the Awads were additional

insureds under the AMCO policy, “is dispositive for both defense

and indemnity.” Truck also contended that it “satisfied its

burden to show potential coverage,” so “the burden of proof

shifted to AMCO, as the non-defending insurer,” but “AMCO

offered no evidence or even argument to assist it in carrying that

burden during the trial.”

On February 27, 2019, the court issued a short written

order overruling AMCO’s objection. The court agreed with

Truck’s contentions that AMCO wrongfully denied the duty to

defend, Truck carried its initial burden on that issue, and AMCO

failed to meet its burden.

11

6. AMCO’s motion for new trial or to vacate the

judgment

AMCO filed a notice of intention to move for new trial, or in

the alternative, to vacate the judgment. In its supporting

memorandum, AMCO repeated its argument that the court’s

reasoning justified a finding that AMCO had a duty to defend the

Awads based on the potential for coverage, but not a duty to

indemnify them based on actual coverage. AMCO argued that as

a result, the judgment for half of Truck’s defense expenses plus

the settlement amount was unsupported by the court’s reasoning.

AMCO reasoned that “this Court has not yet ruled on AMCO’s

duty to indemnify Truck’s $750,000 [sic] settlement.” AMCO

argued that the summary judgment in favor of Bascon in the

Smith action “establishes as a matter of law that the Awads’

liability to the Smiths was completely independent of Holè Molè’s

use of the Awads’ building.” AMCO asserted that as a result, it

had no obligation to indemnify Truck based on the additional

insured language in AMCO’s policy.

Truck opposed AMCO’s motion, asserting that its

arguments were based on “three fallacies.” First, the court did

not find potential coverage, it found “that there was coverage.”

Second, the court in the Smith action did not address whether the

injuries to the Smiths arose out of Bascon’s use of the premises.

Third, the summary judgment in the Smith action was not

relevant to whether the Awads were additional insureds under

the AMCO policy. Truck also asserted that AMCO’s motion was

procedurally improper, and that AMCO failed to meet its burden

to show that the judgment should be set aside.

Following a short hearing, the court denied AMCO’s

motion. The court rejected AMCO’s argument about potential

12

coverage as “mere wordplay” focusing on “a single word in a

single sentence” in the statement of decision, whereas the

remainder of that paragraph “makes abundantly clear the court’s

finding that a clear reading of the Amco endorsement provides

actual coverage, and not just potential coverage,” for the Smith

action. The trial court also rejected AMCO’s arguments about

the summary judgment in the Smith action, finding that any

finding of liability in the Smiths’ negligence action “is irrelevant

to equitable apportionment of the claim between” AMCO and

Truck.

The court entered judgment for Truck in the amount of

$418,684.08—half of the cost of the settlement to the Smiths,

plus half of the costs of the Awads’ defense. The judgment also

included costs of suit and prejudgment interest. AMCO timely

appealed.

DISCUSSION

A. The Awads’ liability arose out of Bascon’s use of the

premises.

Although AMCO asserts numerous arguments on appeal,

each relies on a single contention: The car accident that injured

the Smiths was not causally connected to Bascon’s “use” of the

leased premises; therefore the Awads did not qualify as

additional insureds under the AMCO policy, and Truck was not

entitled to equitable contribution from AMCO. Because this case

was decided on stipulated facts and “the interpretation of the

insuring agreement is a question of law, we apply de novo review

to any determinations as to that issue.” (Underwriters of Interest

Subscribing to Policy Number AXXXXXXXX v. ProBuilders

Specialty Ins. Co. (2015) 241 Cal.App.4th 721, 727.)

13

If the Awads qualified as additional insureds under

Bascon’s AMCO policy, Truck is entitled to equitable contribution

from AMCO. Equitable contribution “‘arises when several

insurers are obligated to indemnify or defend the same loss or

claim, and one insurer has paid more than its share of the loss or

defended the action without any participation by the others.’

[Citation.] ‘The purpose of this rule of equity is to accomplish

substantial justice by equalizing the common burden shared by

coinsurers, and to prevent one insurer from profiting at the

expense of others.’” (Maryland Cas. Co. v. Nationwide Mutual

Ins. Co. (2000) 81 Cal.App.4th 1082, 1089.)

As noted above, the additional insured provision of Bascon’s

AMCO policy stated, “Any person or organization from whom you

lease premises is an additional insured, but only with respect to

their liability arising out of your use of that part of the premises

leased to you.” In other words, the Awads, as landlords, were

additional insureds under the AMCO policy, “but only with

respect to [the Awads’] liability arising out of [Bascon’s] use of . . .

the premises.” The Awads’ liability was not disputed; their

settlement of the Smith action is presumptive evidence of their

liability. (See Safeco Ins. Co. of America v. Superior Court (2006)

140 Cal.App.4th 874, 880.)

Thus, we consider whether the Awads’ liability “arose out

of” Bascon’s “use” of the premises. “California courts have

consistently given a broad interpretation to the terms ‘arising out

of’ or ‘arising from’ in various kinds of insurance provisions. It is

settled that this language does not import any particular

standard of causation or theory of liability into an insurance

policy. Rather, it broadly links a factual situation with the event

creating liability, and connotes only a minimal causal connection

14

or incidental relationship.” (Acceptance Ins. Co. v. Syufy

Enterprises (1999) 69 Cal.App.4th 321, 328 (Syufy).)

In Syufy, a contractor, C & C, “contracted with Syufy to

upgrade the lighting and temperature controls at a theater

owned by Syufy.” (Syufy, supra, 69 Cal.App.4th at p. 324.) C & C

had a general liability policy with insurer AIC, which named

Syufy as an additional insured with respect to any liability

arising out of C & C’s work. (Ibid.) An employee of C & C sued

after being injured by a roof hatch at the theater; the employee

alleged that Syufy failed to maintain a safe closing mechanism on

the hatch, and failed to warn about the defective hatch. (Ibid.)

AIC defended Syufy as an additional insured under its policy,

and eventually funded a settlement with the employee. (Id. at p.

325.) AIC then sued Syufy and its insurer, Reliance, for

declaratory relief, indemnification, and equitable contribution.

AIC asserted that the employee’s injury did not arise out of C &

C’s work, and therefore Syufy was not an additional insured

under the AIC policy. (Ibid.) Following a summary judgment in

favor of Reliance, AIC appealed.

The appellate court affirmed. C & C’s insurance policy with

AIC included an additional insured provision providing that

Syufy was an additional insured under the policy, “‘but only with

respect to liability arising out of “your work” for that insured by

or for you.’ The policy specified that ‘you’ and ‘your’ referred to C

& C, the named insured.” (Id. at p. 324.) AIC argued in part that

Syufy was not an additional insured under the circumstances,

because the employee was injured as he “was leaving the job site,

through a roof hatch on which C & C performed no work, and

which injured him solely because of Syufy’s negligent

maintenance.” (Id. at p. 326.) AIC asserted that “its additional

15

insured endorsement would not apply to Syufy’s liability for [the

employee’s] injury under California case law interpreting the

policy term ‘arising out of,’” because the employee’s injury “was

attributable solely to Syufy’s negligent maintenance of the roof

hatch.” (Id. at p. 327.)

The Court of Appeal rejected this contention, noting, as

quoted above, courts’ broad interpretation of the phrase “‘arising

out of.’” (Syufy, supra, 69 Cal.App.4th at p. 328.) The court

found the employee’s injury “clearly ‘arose out of’ the work he was

performing on the roof of Syufy’s building. The relationship

between the defective hatch and the job was more than

incidental, in that [the employee] could not have done the job

without passing through the hatch. The fact that the defect was

attributable to Syufy’s negligence is irrelevant, since the policy

language does not purport to allocate coverage according to

fault.” (Id. at pp. 328-329.) The court stated that when an

insurer “grants coverage for liability ‘arising out of’ the named

insured’s work, the additional insured is covered without regard

to whether injury was caused by the named insured or the

additional insured.” (Id. at p. 330.)

The trial court below relied on Syufy in reaching its

decision, and Truck asserts that Syufy is dispositive of the issues

in this case. We agree that its reasoning compels a similar

conclusion here. The Smiths were present when the accident

occurred because they were customers of Bascon’s restaurant.

Had Bascon not been using the premises as a restaurant, the

Smiths would not have been sitting in the building when a car

crashed through it. The Smiths alleged that the property itself

was unsafe, because the Awads failed to protect invitees from the

type of harm that could occur from a car accident, and the Awads

16

were on notice of such a danger due to the similar 2007 accident.

“[A] minimal causal connection will suffice to trigger coverage

under an ‘arising out of’ clause.” (Vitton Construction Co., Inc. v.

Pacific Ins. Co. (2003) 110 Cal.App.4th 762, 767 (Vitton

Construction).) That minimal causal connection was present

here.

We are not persuaded by AMCO’s argument that “‘situs’

alone is not use of the ‘premises.’” For this proposition, AMCO

relies on Kramer v. State Farm Fire and Cas. Co. (1999) 76

Cal.App.4th 332 (Kramer), but the comparison is not apt. In that

case, a couple, the Kramers, purchased from State Farm a

homeowners’ insurance policy for their residence, and rental

dwelling insurance policies for two rental units they owned. Mrs.

Kramer’s daughter, son-in-law, and grandchildren later sued the

Kramers, asserting that Mr. Kramer sexually abused the

grandchildren at the three insured locations, and Mrs. Kramer

knew of the abuse and failed to protect the children. (Id. at pp.

334-335.) State Farm defended the Kramers under their

homeowners’ policy, but denied coverage under the rental

policies. The case was eventually settled for the limits of the

homeowners’ policy plus a $65,000 contribution from the

Kramers.

The Kramers then sued State Farm, alleging that it

wrongfully denied coverage under the rental policies, which

“included ‘business liability’ coverage against claims for

accidental injuries arising ‘from the ownership, maintenance, or

use of the insured premises . . . .’” (Kramer, supra, 76

Cal.App.4th p. 334.) After State Farm successfully moved for

summary judgment, the Kramers appealed. The appellate court

considered “whether, for purposes of insurance coverage, child

17

molestation is an injury arising from the ‘ownership,

maintenance, or use’ of the premises on which the molestation

occurs.” (Ibid.) The court noted that with respect to insurance

policies on vehicles, there was a “general principle that injury . . .

does not arise from the ‘ownership, maintenance, or use’ of a

vehicle absent a showing that the use of the vehicle contributed

in some way to the injury, beyond merely serving as the situs for

the activity.” (Id. at p. 338.) The Kramers asserted that coverage

for a real property should not require a similar connection

between the injury and the property, but the court rejected this

contention: “[C]onstruing residential coverage to apply to any

tortious conduct occurring on the premises would in effect render

nugatory the language specifically limiting coverage to injury

arising out of the ‘ownership, maintenance, or use’ of the

property.” (Id. at p. 340.)

Thus, the court considered “how to distinguish between an

injury which is sufficiently causally related to the ‘use’ of

residential property to warrant coverage, and a noncovered injury

in which the premises merely serve as a situs.” (Kramer, supra,

76 Cal.App.4th at p. 340.) The court found that the rental

properties were merely a situs because there was “no indication

that the [grandchildren] were exposed to any peculiar risk of

molestation due to the use of the” rental properties, and the

abuse had occurred at other locations, so the “molestations thus

could, and in fact would, have occurred even if the Kramers had

not owned, maintained, or used” the rental properties. (Id. at pp.

340-341.) The court concluded, “[T]he covered residences in this

case were merely two of several locations at which the Kramers

had custody and control of the children. The required causal

connection between the use of those particular premises and the

18

tortious activity causing the injury therefore was lacking.” (Id. at

p. 341.) The court therefore affirmed the judgment in favor of

State Farm.

Here, by contrast, there is the requisite minimal causal

connection between the property and the injuries. The Smiths

were on the premises as customers of Holé Molé. Thus, Bascon’s

“use” of the premises was the reason the Smiths were present

when the car accident occurred. Moreover, the Smiths’ theory of

liability against the Awads was that the property itself was

dangerous, in that the Awads knew that a car could crash into

the building but failed to take steps to prevent harm from such

an event. These facts are sufficient to link the “factual situation

with the event creating liability,” establishing the requisite

“minimal causal connection or incidental relationship.” (Syufy,

supra, 69 Cal.App.4th at p. 328.)

AMCO also cites several cases interpreting vehicle

insurance policies with coverage limited to “use” of the vehicle,

which have applied the “predominating cause/substantial factor

test.” (See, e.g., State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. v.

Grisham (2004) 122 Cal.App.4th 563, 566-567 (Grisham);

American Nat. Property and Casualty Co. v. Julie R. (1999) 76

Cal.App.4th 134, 140 (Julie R.); R. A. Stuchbery & Others

Syndicate 1096 v. Redland Ins. Co. (2007) 154 Cal.App.4th 796,

802 (R.A. Stuchbery).) Under this test, the “use of the vehicle

[must] be a ‘“predominating cause” or a “substantial factor” in

causing the injury.’” (Julie R., supra, 76 Cal.App.4th at p. 140.)

“Under this test, a mere ‘but for’ connection between the use of

the vehicle and the alleged injuries is insufficient to bring the

claim within the scope of coverage. ‘To hold otherwise would

convert auto liability policies into general liability policies.’” (R.

19

A. Stuchbery, supra, 154 Cal.App.4th at p. 802, quoting Grisham,

supra, 122 Cal.App.4th at p. 567.)

As Truck points out, however, the AMCO policy was a type

of general liability policy. We see no basis to construe it as

narrowly as the vehicle policies discussed in the above cases. As

the court in Syufy noted, in vehicle cases courts have taken

“pains to distinguish automobile liability insurance from general

liability insurance, and accordingly to focus on the ‘use’ of a

vehicle as a factor in the injury.” (Syufy, supra, 69 Cal.App.4th

at pp. 327-328.) No such limitation is required here.

AMCO further asserts that the summary judgment in favor

of Bascon in the Smith action “establishes as a matter of law that

the Awads’ premises liability does not arise out of” Bascon’s use

of the premises. AMCO asserts that “under res judicata

principles, the Smith court’s judgment in favor of Holè Molè

precludes Truck’s claim” for equitable contribution. In essence,

AMCO asserts that because Bascon was not deemed liable for the

Smiths’ injuries, the Awads’ liability did not arise from Bascon’s

use of the premises. Therefore, the Awads were not additional

insureds under the AMCO policy.

This argument is unpersuasive. First, AMCO’s additional

insured endorsement does not rely on the relative liabilities of

the parties. As the court in Syufy observed, “Insurance

companies are free to, and commonly have, issued additional

insured endorsements that specifically limit coverage to

situations in which the additional insured is faced with vicarious

liability for negligent conduct by the named insured. [Citations.]

We believe the better view is that when an insurer chooses not to

use such clearly limited language in an additional insured clause,

but instead grants coverage for liability ‘arising out of’ the named

20

insured’s work, the additional insured is covered without regard

to whether injury was caused by the named insured or the

additional insured.” (Syufy, supra, 69 Cal.App.4th at p. 330.)

Here, AMCO did not write its additional insured

endorsement to bar coverage where the tenant was not at fault.

To the contrary, the endorsement references only the landlords’

liability, providing coverage “with respect to [the landlords’]

liability arising out of [the tenant’s] use” of the property. “[T]he

fact that an accident is not attributable to the named insured’s

negligence is irrelevant when the additional insured endorsement

does not purport to allocate or restrict coverage according to

fault.” (Vitton Construction, supra, 110 Cal.App.4th at pp. 767-

768 [emphasis in original]; see also Fireman’s Fund Ins.

Companies v. Atlantic Richfield Co. (2001) 94 Cal.App.4th 842,

852-853 [“The cases which comprise the majority view . . .

specifically reject an interpretation that limits the phrase

‘liability arising out of’ to cover only vicarious liability of the

additional insured”]; Davis v. Farmers Ins. Group (2005) 134

Cal.App.4th 100, 106-107 [“the term ‘arising out of’ links a factual

situation with the event creating liability and does not import

any particular standard of causation or theory of liability into an

insurance policy”].)

Second, the doctrine of res judicata does not apply here.

“The claim preclusion doctrine, formerly called res judicata,”

arises when “‘a second suit involves (1) the same cause of action

(2) between the same parties (3) after a final judgment on the

merits in the first suit.’” (Kim v. Reins International California,

Inc. (2020) 9 Cal.5th 73, 91.) Apparently recognizing this issue,

AMCO changes its argument in its reply brief to assert for the

first time that collateral estoppel or issue preclusion applies

21

instead, preventing “relitigation” of previously decided issues.

Even setting aside the impropriety of this belated contention, this

issue was never decided in the Smith action. The Smith court

found no triable issue of fact as to whether Bascon was liable to

the Smiths, but did not determine the issue relevant here:

whether the Awads were additional insureds under the terms of

the AMCO policy.

Thus, we find that based on the stipulated facts, the Awads’

liability arose from Bascon’s use of the premises, the Awads were

therefore additional insureds under the AMCO policy, and Truck

was entitled to equitable contribution.

B. AMCO forfeited its contention that the court’s contribution

allocation was erroneous.

AMCO asserts for the first time on appeal that the trial

court erred by apportioning AMCO’s equitable contribution at 50

percent, without prorating the award based on the parties’

respective policy limits. It argues that because Truck had a $2

million policy limit, and AMCO had a $1 million policy limit, “the

trial court should have allocated one-third of the defense and/or

indemnity expenses to AMCO, because AMCO’s policy provided

one-third of the $3 million in aggregate liability coverage

available to the Awads.”

Truck correctly points out that AMCO did not make this

argument in any of its briefing in the trial court, and asserts that

AMCO has therefore forfeited any claim of error. In its reply

brief, AMCO asserts that because neither party requested a 50

percent allocation—Truck asked for 100 percent and AMCO

asked for zero percent—AMCO was not required to assert below

that a 50 percent allocation would be improper.

22

By failing to assert below that the trial court’s allocation

was erroneous, AMCO has forfeited this contention. Despite

ample opportunity to challenge the court’s allocation in its

extensive objections to the court’s decision and motion for new

trial, AMCO never suggested to the trial court that the allocation

of contribution was erroneous. “‘[I]t is fundamental that a

reviewing court will ordinarily not consider claims made for the

first time on appeal which could have been but were not

presented to the trial court.’ . . . Such arguments raised for the

first time on appeal are generally deemed forfeited.” (Perez v.

Grajales (2008) 169 Cal.App.4th 580, 591-592.)

DISPOSITION

The judgment is affirmed. Truck is entitled to recover its

costs on appeal.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

COLLINS, J.

We concur:

MANELLA, P. J.

WILLHITE, J.

23

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.