Opinion

Diamond Z. Wittlief v. Tom Franklin Hirschauer, III (mem. dec.)

Court
Indiana Court of Appeals
Filed
Oct 23, 2020
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 13.0%

remanding child support order to trial court where trial court awarded extraordinary educational expenses but did not enter written findings in support of the order

How later courts described this case

  • remanding child support order to trial court where trial court awarded extraordinary educational expenses but did not enter written findings in support of the order
  • holding that “[t]he modification of a support obligation may only relate back to the date the petition to modify was filed, and not an earlier date”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

MEMORANDUM DECISION

Pursuant to Ind. Appellate Rule 65(D),

this Memorandum Decision shall not be FILED

regarded as precedent or cited before any Oct 23 2020, 9:11 am

court except for the purpose of establishing

CLERK

the defense of res judicata, collateral Indiana Supreme Court

Court of Appeals

estoppel, or the law of the case. and Tax Court

APPELLANT PRO SE ATTORNEY FOR APPELLEE

Diamond Z. Wittlief Jay T. Hirschauer

Carmel, Indiana Hirschauer & Hirschauer

Logansport, Indiana

IN THE

COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA

Diamond Z. Wittlief, October 23, 2020

Appellant-Petitioner, Court of Appeals Case No.

19A-DC-2647

v. Appeal from the Hamilton

Superior Court

Tom F. Hirschauer, III, The Honorable Darren J. Murphy,

Appellee-Respondent Magistrate

Trial Court Cause No.

29D01-1208-DR-8515

Weissmann, Judge.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 1 of 35

[1] Diamond K. Wittlief (Mother) and Tom F. Hirschauer, III, (Father), have been

divorced for many years and, in the seven years since their dissolution decree

was entered, have continued to litigate myriad disputes at a somewhat

breathtaking pace. In this appeal (as opposed to the many other appeals filed

by Mother and dismissed by this Court), Mother appeals the trial court’s order

relating to the parties’ requests regarding child support, extracurricular

activities, and uninsured medical expenses. We affirm and remand with

instructions to: (1) reconsider whether Father should be given an income credit

for Child’s tuition costs and make findings on the issue as directed herein; and

(2) reconsider its modification of the extracurricular activities provision of the

parties’ mediated settlement agreement and make findings regarding Child’s

best interests as related to extracurricular activities.

Facts

[2] Mother and Father were married, and one child (Child) was born of the

marriage in September 2010. Mother and Father divorced, and on May 6,

2013, the trial court adopted their mediated settlement agreement, pursuant to

which the parents shared joint legal custody and Mother had primary physical

custody. Father received 156 annual overnights with Child.

[3] In the years following the settlement agreement, the parties continued to litigate

extensively. At the outset of the hearing from which this appeal stems, the trial

court noted that “this file has been churned in an incredible way over the last

few years and it was difficult for me to discern exactly what we’re hearing today

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 2 of 35

and when it was filed.” Tr. Vol. II p. 3; see also id. at 76 (trial court observing

that Mother is a “prolific filer of motions” and commenting on the “shear [sic]

frequency of motions that have been filed in this case”). Included in the

extensive litigation were at least four prior appeals filed by Mother—but she

failed to perfect any of them, and they were all eventually dismissed.

[4] Having read the record and the trial court’s order, we agree with the trial court

that the matters at issue at this time are: “child support, the ratio of contribution

for extracurricular activities[,] and uninsured medical expenses.” Appealed

Order p. 1. We will recount only the facts relevant to these specific issues.

[5] On July 31, 2017, Mother filed a petition for modification of child support.1 In

relevant part, she argued as follows: (1) Mother and her husband had become

permanent custodians of another child and she should receive credit for that

child; (2) Father’s income was higher than the child support calculation

indicated; (3) Father should not have received credit for providing health

insurance coverage for Child because he did not provide the insurance card to

Mother or Child’s healthcare providers; and (4) Mother’s income had

substantially decreased because of a disability, and at the time of the motion,

her income consisted solely of Social Security benefits in the amount of $314.50

per week.

1

The motion also included a request to modify parenting time, but the trial court did not consider that issue

because one of Mother’s appeals, which related to parenting time and custody issues, was still pending at the

time of the relevant hearings.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 3 of 35

[6] On August 18, 2017, Mother filed a motion to find Father in contempt. In

relevant part, she argued that Father had failed to pay his portion of Child’s

extracurricular expenses, failed to provide her with Child’s health insurance

card, and failed to reimburse Mother for uninsured medical expenses.

[7] On August 24, 2017, Father filed a motion to find Mother in contempt for

failing to pay child support. Specifically, she was required by a December 2015

court order to pay $57 per week, and Father alleged that she had failed to pay

any child support since October 2016. Mother responded that the December

2015 order was based on fraud and that the garnishment percentage, which

amounted to over 50% of her weekly income, exceeded statutory limits.

[8] There were lengthy discovery-related delays during the litigation of these

motions. Therefore, on November 28, 2018, the trial court entered an order of

temporary child support, requiring Father to pay child support in the weekly

amount of $200 until a final child support order could be entered. On March

13, 2019, Mother filed a new motion to find Father in contempt, alleging that

he was $715.25 behind in child support payments as required by the temporary

order and that he was continuing to fail to pay his share of Child’s

extracurricular expenses, totaling nearly $700.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 4 of 35

[9] The trial court held an evidentiary hearing on the pending motions on February

4 and July 15, 2019. On October 11, 2019, the trial court issued an order on the

motions. In relevant part, it found and ordered as follows: 2

I. Extracurricular Expenses

1. The parties’ Mediated Settlement Agreement . . . provides

that [Child] may participate in three activities one time per

week and the parties shall proportionally contribute to the

expenses of these activities based on income.

***

3. [Mother’s] position is that she became unemployed in

October 2016 and eventually received disability benefits

from the United States Social Security Administration.

Thus, the income ratio of 52% for Father and 48% for

Mother has changed and should be reconfigured and

retroactively applied . . . .

4. . . . Father kept his payments at the 52% ratio as

ordered . . . [on] December 3, 2015.

***

2

Normally, we prefer not to quote so extensively from trial court orders. But given the confusing and

complex nature of these proceedings and the trial court’s thorough exploration of the history and issues

before it, we believe it appropriate in this case.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 5 of 35

7. Mother’s request for relief is that the Court retroactively

apply a new ratio for payment of extracurricular activities

to the date she lost her employment . . . .

8. Mother’s motion to modify the payment of extracurricular

activities wasn’t even filed until August 18, 2017.

***

16. Father is self-employed. His income is going to fluctuate

wildly from year to year. Mother’s income is flat. The

only income directly attributable to her is her SSD.

***

19. Father testified that Mother had the child in

extracurricular activities as many as 6 days a week at one

point. Currently, the child is in extracurricular activities

only three days a week but with multiple activities each

day.

***

23. The Court finds Father’s law firm distributes salary to

Father on a quarterly basis and has since he joined in

2015.

***

25. The Court finds that Father pays his share of the

extracurricular expenses incurred by his son on a quarterly

basis when salary is distributed to him by his law firm.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 6 of 35

***

28. The difference between what Father was ordered to pay

and what Father actually paid is $156. There was no

evidence received by the Court that Father willfully and

wantonly disregarded this Court’s order regarding

extracurricular activities. There was significant evidence

that Mother expected immediate payment . . . despite clear

communication to her for years that Father only gets paid

on a quarterly basis.

29. There was significant evidence that Mother overuses the

extracurricular activity provision . . . despite the significant

reduction in her income due to being adjudicated disabled.

30. Mother’s Motion seeking to hold Father in contempt for

nonpayment of extracurricular activities is DENIED. The

$156 owed by Father . . . shall be addressed below.

II. Uninsured Medical Expenses

a. Nonpayment

***

32. . . . In [the controlling] Order, Mother is responsible for

the first $907.92 of uninsured medical expenses for the

child. Thereafter, Mother shall pay 43% and Father

57% . . . each year.

***

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 7 of 35

34. Mother seeks payment of uninsured medical expenses

dating back to 2016. . . . The Court found [Mother’s

supporting] exhibits were hearsay, as they lacked the

required business record affidavit, and did not admit the

documents. Thus, the Court did not receive evidence

upon which the Court could base a decision on how much

uninsured medical expenses were incurred by Mother.

The Court also did not receive sufficient evidence as to

when Mother satisfied the 6% rule for her share . . . .

35. Mother further acknowledged that she was unaware

Father had paid for some of her claimed uninsured health

expenses directly . . . .

***

37. Mother repeatedly stated that she possessed emails

explaining to Father when she hit the 6% rule amount and

that she provided proof of payment for her expenses to

Father for reimbursement. These emails, however, were

never offered or admitted for the Court to consider as

evidence.

38. As a result, Mother’s [claim regarding] uninsured medical

expenses fails for lack of evidence . . . .

39. Mother’s Motion to find Father in contempt for

nonpayment of uninsured medical expenses is DENIED.

***

B. Failure to Maintain Health Insurance

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 8 of 35

40. . . . Mother claims Father should be held in contempt

because he let the health insurance he was ordered to

provide [for Child] lapse at some point.

***

43. According to Mother, in March 2018 Father obtained

health insurance as required but the insurance only covers

emergencies and accidents. It did not cover occupational,

speech or physical therapy that the child requires . . . .

***

45. The Court finds that neither the original Decree nor [an

order from November 2015] dictate specific types of

coverage which must be included in Father’s health

insurance plan. Thus, Father cannot be held in contempt

by this Court for [] having [a] health insurance plan which

does not cover occupational, speech or physical therapy.

***

50. The Court finds that Father’s failure to cover the child

with a health insurance plan was related to changing

marketplace plans and coverage caused by him leaving

government employment, entering a small law firm

practice and alteration of coverage by the provider.

51. The Court does not find a willful, wanton disregard for

[the November 2015 order].

52. The Court finds that Mother continued her primary

coverage on the child so the child had health insurance

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 9 of 35

throughout the entire time period contained in Mother’s

motion.

***

54. Mother’s request to hold Father in contempt is a request

without a remedy. Father obtained health insurance again

eleven months prior to the first hearing on Mother’s

motion. Mother had coverage for the child through

Father’s gap period from her subsequent spouse. . . .

55. Mother’s motion seeking to hold Father in contempt for

not maintaining health insurance is DENIED.

IV. Child Support

a. Retroactive Application of New Child Support Amount

56. Mother seeks a modification of child support in her

August 1, 2017 Motion to Modify backdated to the date she

was adjudicated as disabled and started receiving SSD

disability income on October 31, 2016.

57. The Court is without legal authority to retroactively apply

a child support modification for the time period prior to

Mother filing her child support modification motion. . . .

***

59. . . . [W]hile this Court may choose to grant Mother’s

request for relation back to the filing date of August 1,

2017, Mother has no statutory entitlement to such.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 10 of 35

60. . . . [T]he Court notes Mother remarried in July 2014.

Evidence received by the Court indicates Mother’s spouse

earns income of between $165,000 and $185,000 during

the years this Court was asked to review.

61. . . . [T]he Court received evidence regarding Mother’s

travel during the time period for which this Court was

asked to review which included a trip to the Mexican

Riviera in January, 2018, a European vacation in April

2018, a trip to Washington, D.C. in May 2018, a trip to

New York [C]ity, a multiday trip to California in June

2018, and a four week tour of national parks in the western

United States in 2018. Mother is not suffering financially.

***

65. Father would be significantly prejudiced by a retroactive

application of a child support [recalculation] due to the

change in ratios for extracurricular activities, change in the

6% rule for uninsured medical expenses and a massive

arrearage in child support for a two-year retroactive

application.

66. Mother has not shown a prejudice to her if the Court does

not retroactively apply the modification.

***

68. The Court finds the appropriate date to apply the child

support modification is the first Friday after this Order is

filed, which is Friday, October 11, 2019.

b. Overnights

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 11 of 35

***

71. In previous orders and the current controlling child

support order, this Court has credited Father with 156

overnights.

***

75. Mother . . . hotly disputed the number of overnights that

Father should be credited . . . because Father’s expenses

for child are in some cases covered by the paternal

grandparents.

76. . . . Mother’s position is paternal grandparents

occasionally feed the child, transport the child and pay for

clothing during Father’s parenting time. Therefore,

Father’s overnight credit should be reduced[.]

77. Father testified that the child, when it is Father’s parenting

time, may spend the night with the child’s paternal

grandparents once a month or maybe once every other

month. . . .

78. Mother believes that, because Father is relieved of the

expense for feeding and caring for the child during the

nights when the child spends the night at paternal

grandparents, Father should not receive credit for these

overnights. . . .

79. Mother also seeks to further reduce Father’s overnight

credit because Father and [C]hild hav[e] weekly brunches

with paternal grandparents. The evidence is that at these

brunches, the paternal grandparents will pay for some if

not all of the food used in this meal . . . .

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 12 of 35

80. Mother further seeks to reduce Father’s overnight credit

because paternal grandmother transports the child . . . and

also buys the child clothing.

***

83. The Court finds that any provision of clothing to the child

. . . is a de minimus [sic] concern. . . .

84. Although it is clear that paternal grandparents contribute

to the weekly brunch . . . , the Court finds the evidence

insufficient as to how much this meal reduces Father’s

costs for caring for the child.

85. The same is true for transportation. . . .

86. Mother refuses to take into consideration the fact that

Father solely pays $561 per month for ten months of the

year to educate the child at a private school, St. Luke’s

Catholic School. . . . Father also solely pays for the child’s

school uniforms . . . . Mother objects to the child

attending private school . . . . As education is a controlled

expense for which Mother would normally be responsible,

and because this controlled expense has now been

transferred to Father, the Court feels it appropriate to

consider Father’s educational expenses when considering

Mother’s request to reduce Father’s overnight credits for

assistance he may receive from the paternal grandparents.

87. The Court finds Father’s assumption of the controlled

expenses for education vastly dwarfs and outweighs any

incidental assistance Father may receive from the paternal

grandparents . . . .

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 13 of 35

88. The Court finds Father shall continue to receive 156

overnights for child support calculation purposes . . . .

c. Subsequent Born Child Credit

89. Mother . . . requests that she be given credit for a

subsequent child . . . .

90. [A Kentucky trial court order] placed the daughter of

Mother’s current spouse’s cousin with [Mother] and her

husband. . . .

***

95. The real dispute in this case is whether the [Kentucky trial

court order] constitutes a legal adoption of [S.B.]

***

99. The Court finds the [Kentucky trial court order] does not

create a legal adoption. It is equivalent to a CHINS

nonparental placement order.

100. Because [S.B.] was neither born to Mother nor legally

adopted . . . , the Court is without authority to credit

Mother with a subsequent child multiplier credit . . . .

d. Father’s Income

101. Father is self-employed at [a] law firm . . . .

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 14 of 35

102. Father testified that he just received his partnership

Schedule K-1 for calendar year 2018 one week prior to the

July 15, 2019 hearing. . . . Father’s 2018 K-1 indicates

Father’s self-employed earnings as $139,826.

103. Mother obtained Father’s personal bank account

information through discovery and reported net deposits

for Father in 2018 as $178,000. Mother requests that the

Court use $178,000 as Father’s annual gross income for

child support purposes.

104. Father testified that the net deposits in his bank account

include reimbursements from the law firm for expenses he

incurred during his practice such as deposition costs, etc.

Father also testified that he received a loan from his

parents during 2018 to cover Father’s tax debt which was

deposited into this bank account. . . .

105. . . . [Father’s] net deposits into his bank account include

things the Court cannot include in its calculation of child

support.

106. The Court finds Father’s testimony that money he received

from his parents in 2018 [was] a loan to assist Father with

his tax debt to be credible . . . .

***

108. The court finds Father’s weekly gross income is $2,689.

($139,826 annually divided by 52 weeks in a year =

$2,689).

***

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 15 of 35

e. Mother’s Income

110. Mother’s income is as difficult to gauge as Father’s.

111. Mother was determined to be disabled and began to draw

SSD in October 2016.

***

114. Mother’s $18,038 SSD income annually divided by 52

weeks a year = $346 a week in income directly attributable

to Mother.

***

125. The Court attributes to Mother only her weekly gross

income obtained from her SSD benefits in the amount of

$346 a week.

***

130. The Child Support Obligation Worksheet attached to this

Order recommends that Father shall pay Mother $235.00

per week in child support.

131. Mother has satisfied her burden that her disability . . .

represents a substantial and continuing change of

circumstances which renders the prior child support order

unreasonable. The amount of the change in the Court’s

CSOW is also greater than twenty (20) percent.

132. The Court finds it necessary to deviate downward from the

recommended $235 in the CSOW due to Father’s

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 16 of 35

assumption of the entire [$5,610] 2018 tuition cost for the

child’s education and entire school uniform cost for the

child. The Court deviates downward by $35 per week.

133. Father is ordered to pay mother $200 per week in child

support effective Friday, October 11, 2019.

134. The Court notes that it considered Mother’s request to

reduce her gross weekly income for her own uninsured

medical expense and rejected it due to the income of her

household. . . . The Court considered her argument about

Father’s expenses related to his girlfriend and rejected it as

those items were not business deductions but were paid for

with his income earnings which the Court has already

factored into Father’s gross weekly income calculation.

g. Child Support Arrearage for Father

135. The Court finds Father current with his child support as of

the date of the last hearing, July 15, 2019. No arrearage is

found for Father.

h. Child Support Arrearage for Mother

136. The Court finds that Mother, when she was required to

pay Father support, didn’t pay the support as ordered.

The Court finds Mother in arrears in the amount of

$1,953. This evidence was unrebutted.

137. Father did not ask this Court to find Mother in contempt

for this arrearage. Father only asks for a credit of $1,953.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 17 of 35

138. The Court credits Father $1,953. Father’s child support

obligation will be abated until this credit is reduced to

zero.

It is Therefore Ordered That:

***

9. The Court orders ¶ 3.04 of the Decree is modified . . . . The

Court received bountiful evidence that the child has been

placed in way more activities than were ever contemplated

at the time of the Decree. Moving forward for all activities

for which the child is enrolled after the effective date of

this order, Father shall only be responsible for those

activities with which he consents in writing prior to

enrollment. . . . Mother may choose to enroll the child in

activities for which Father doesn’t consent but she shall be

solely responsible for the costs of that activity without

contribution from Father.

Appealed Order p. 1-38 (emphases original, some internal citations omitted).

Mother now appeals.

Discussion and Decision

[10] Mother argues that the trial court erred in multiple ways with respect to its

calculation of child support and its rulings related to Child’s extracurricular

activities and uninsured medical expenses.

[11] Our Supreme Court has articulated the well-established standard of review for

family law matters as follows:

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 18 of 35

When reviewing judgments with findings of fact and conclusions

of law, Indiana’s appellate courts “shall not set aside the findings

or judgment unless clearly erroneous, and due regard shall be

given to the opportunity of the trial court to judge the credibility

of the witnesses.” Ind. Trial Rule 52(A). Appellate judges are not

to reweigh the evidence nor reassess witness credibility, and the

evidence should be viewed most favorably to the

judgment. Findings are clearly erroneous only when the record

contains no facts to support them either directly or by

inference. Appellate deference to the determinations of our trial

court judges, especially in domestic relations matters, is

warranted because of their unique, direct interactions with the

parties face-to-face, often over an extended period of time. Thus

enabled to assess credibility and character through both factual

testimony and intuitive discernment, our trial judges are in a

superior position to ascertain information and apply common

sense, particularly in the determination of the best interests of the

involved children.

Best v. Best, 941 N.E.2d 499, 502 (Ind. 2011) (some internal citations and

internal quotation marks omitted). As always, we apply a de novo standard of

review to issues of law. Redd v. Redd, 901 N.E.2d 545, 549 (Ind. Ct. App.

2009).

I. Child Support

[12] On the issue of child support, Mother argues that the trial court erred in

calculating her income and the credits due to her, calculating Father’s income

and the credits due to him, and finding that Father does not have, and Mother

does have, a child support arrearage.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 19 of 35

A. Mother’s Income and Credits

1. Retroactivity

[13] There is no dispute that Mother has been disabled and unable to work since

October 2016. The only income she receives is her Social Security Disability

benefits, which totaled $18,038 (or $346 per week) in 2018.3 The trial court

attributed to Mother a weekly income of $346, with which she does not quarrel.

[14] What Mother does find fault with, however, is the trial court’s refusal to apply

this income retroactively to October 31, 2016, the date of her disability. The

trial court observed that Mother did not file her petition to modify child support

until July 31, 2017. As such, the very earliest that the income calculation could

apply retroactively is July 31, 2017. See Becker v. Becker, 902 N.E.2d 818, 820

(Ind. 2009) (holding that “[t]he modification of a support obligation may only

relate back to the date the petition to modify was filed, and not an earlier

date”).

[15] Becker holds that modification retroactive to a date prior to filing of the petition

to modify is permitted in two instances: (1) when the parties have agreed to and

carried out an alternative method of payment which substantially complies with

the spirit of the decree; or (2) the obligated parent takes the child into the

obligated parent's home and assumes custody, provides necessities, and

3

Father argued below that the income of Mother’s husband should be imputed to her. The trial court,

however, declined to do so, see Appealed Order p. 32-33, and Father did not appeal that portion of the order.

Therefore, we will not consider that issue.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 20 of 35

exercises parental control for a period of time that a permanent change of

custody is exercised. Id. Mother relies on neither of those instances in arguing

for an exception to our well-settled rule prohibiting retroactive modification of

child support. The trial court did not err.

2. Subsequent Born Child Credit

[16] Next, Mother argues that the trial court erred by refusing to give her a credit for

a subsequent born or adopted child. According to Mother, S.B. is her

husband’s cousin’s daughter. S.B. was in the custody of the Department of

Child Services in Kentucky and was part of a child in need of services case. She

was placed in relative care with Mother and her husband in January 2016, and

in June 2016, the Kentucky family court entered an order awarding permanent

custody of S.B. to Mother and her husband. Tr. Ex. Vol. IV p. 45-47. The

order was not an adoption order—Mother and her husband are S.B.’s

permanent custodians, not her adoptive parents.

[17] Indiana Child Support Guideline 3C(1) provides that a parent’s weekly income

shall be adjusted for “parents who have a legal duty or court order to support

children [] born or legally adopted subsequent to the birthdates(s) [sic] of the

child(ren) subject of the child support order . . . .” Mother argues that her

weekly income should be adjusted based on S.B.’s placement in her permanent

custody.

[18] We cannot agree. The plain language of this guideline refers only to

“Subsequent-born or Legally Adopted Child(ren),” and makes no mention of

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 21 of 35

any other custody arrangements that would qualify for the adjustment. Child

Supp. G. 3C(1). Had our Supreme Court intended to encompass situations

beyond subsequently born or legally adopted children, it could have done so.

Given that it did not, the trial court did not err by denying Mother’s request for

a credit based on the permanent custody order.

3. Credit for Mother’s and Child’s Uninsured Medical

Expenses

[19] Next, Mother argues that the trial court erred by denying her request to adjust

her weekly income based on her own and Child’s substantial uninsured medical

expenses. She directs our attention to Child Support Guideline 3D(3), which

indeed permits a parent’s income to be adjusted for extraordinary health care

expenses.

[20] With respect to Child’s uninsured medical expenses, Mother does not shoulder

that burden alone. Father pays a share of those expenses that is proportionate

to the parties’ incomes and, as we find below, there is no evidence that he has

been anything other than current with respect to paying his portion.

[21] With respect to Mother’s own expenses, she testified that her uninsured medical

expenses average approximately $1,840 per year. The trial court “considered

Mother’s request to reduce her gross weekly income for her own uninsured

medical expense[s] and rejected it due to the income of her household.”

Appealed Order p. 35. As noted above, while the evidence in the record is not

wholly clear on the precise income made by Mother’s husband, it is clear that

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 22 of 35

he earns enough money to keep Mother and Child comfortable and to maintain

the standard of living to which Child was accustomed prior to the divorce. And

as always, decisions that require weighing the evidence are solidly within the

trial court’s discretion. See Best, 941 N.E.2d at 502. We find that the trial court

did not err by deciding not to credit Mother for her own or Child’s uninsured

medical expenses.

B. Father’s Income and Credits

1. Income

[22] Mother argues that the trial court erroneously calculated Father’s income.

Father is self-employed as a partner at a law firm. Father offered into evidence

his Schedule K-1 for calendar year 2018, which showed that he earned $139,826

in 2018. The trial court found, based on the K-1, that Father’s weekly income

totals $2,689 ($139,826 divided by 52 weeks in a year).

[23] Mother argues that the trial court should have recalculated Father’s income

based on evidence she offered showing net deposits in Father’s bank account in

2018 totaled $178,000. Therefore, she maintains that Father’s annual income

should be $178,000 rather than $139,826.4

[24] Father explained that the following transactions are included in those deposits:

4

Mother also argued that money given to Father by his parents in 2017 for a down payment on a house

should be factored in. But the trial court noted that because it was not applying its calculation retroactively,

it would focus only on the parties’ 2018 income. We find no error in this regard.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 23 of 35

• Reimbursement from the law firm for business expenses, such as

deposition costs.

• A 2018 loan from his parents to cover Father’s tax debt.

The trial court agreed that business expense reimbursements may not be

included in a child support calculation. And the court specifically found

credible Father’s testimony that the money he received from his parents was a

loan because: (1) at least two checks show he repaid some money to his parents;

and (2) Father is a licensed attorney who would risk professional ramifications

if he lied in court. We cannot and will not second-guess the trial court’s

assessment of Father’s credibility. Aside from the bank account statements, the

only evidence regarding Father’s income was the Schedule K-1, and the trial

court did not err by relying on the income reflected in that document in

calculating Father’s income for child support purposes.

2. Credit for Overnights

[25] Next, Mother argues that the trial court erroneously calculated the number of

annual overnights that Father has with Child. See Ind. Child Support Guideline

6 (providing that a “credit should be awarded for the number of overnights each

year that the child(ren) spend with the noncustodial parent”). The

Commentary to Child Support Guideline 6 notes that an overnight should

include “the costs of feeding and transporting the child, attending to school

work and the like. Merely providing a child with a place to sleep in order to

obtain a credit is prohibited.”

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 24 of 35

[26] Mother does not seem to dispute that Child actually spends the night with

Father for approximately 156 nights per year. Instead, she argues that the

number should be downgraded because of the following assistance provided by

Child’s paternal grandparents:

• Child occasionally spends the night with his paternal grandparents

during Father’s parenting time. This occurs approximately once a month

or once every other month.

• Father and Child have weekly brunch with paternal grandparents, who

sometimes pay for some or all the food for those meals.

• Paternal grandmother drives Child to Mother’s house in the morning

after Father’s parenting time and picks Child up from his occupational

therapy appointments.

• Paternal grandmother occasionally buys Child clothing.

Mother argues that Father’s parenting time should be reduced by eighteen

overnights for the time Child spends at paternal grandparents’ house and by

another fifty overnights for the brunches, transportation, and clothing.

[27] This evidence certainly shows that paternal grandparents and Child have a

strong bond, that they love him and their son, and that they are there as a

support for the family unit. This evidence does not show that Father is “merely

providing the child with a place to sleep” during his parenting time. Child

Supp. G. 6 Cmt. Moreover, even if the evidence more compellingly showed

that paternal grandparents were providing a substantial financial help to

Father’s support of Child, there is no evidence in the record showing how much

the overnights, weekly brunches, transportation help, and clothing purchases

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 25 of 35

actually reduce Father’s costs of caring for Child. 5 Therefore, we find no error

with respect to the trial court’s denial of Mother’s request to decrease the

number of overnights Father is credited for spending with Child.

3. Credit for Tuition

[28] Next, Mother argues that the trial court erred by giving Father credit for the

tuition he pays for Child to attend a private school. The trial court noted that

Father assumed “the entire [$5610] 2018 tuition cost for the child’s education

and entire school uniform cost for the child.” Appealed Order p. 34. As a

result of that credit, the trial court deviated downward from what the Child

Support Worksheet showed Father’s weekly support obligation would be—

$235—to a total of $200 per week.

[29] Mother objects to Child’s enrollment at the private school. Mother lives in

Carmel, which she believes has a public school system that can provide a

comparable education at little to no cost. Therefore, she insists that Father

should not be credited for this substantial expense, which she believes is

unnecessary.

[30] Indiana Child Support Guideline 8 provides that extraordinary educational

expenses for elementary or secondary education may be factored into the

5

The trial court also notes that Father has assumed the sole responsibility of paying for Child’s private school

tuition and uniforms, which totals over $5610 per year. This evidence shows that Father is far from shirking

his financial obligation to care for Child—if anything, he is going above and beyond what is required.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 26 of 35

parents’ respective child support obligations. The Commentary states that “[i]f

the expenses are related to elementary or secondary education, the court may

want to consider whether the expense is the result of a personal preference of

one parent or whether both parents concur . . . and whether or not education of

the same or higher quality is available at less cost.” See also Sims v. Sims, 770

N.E.2d 860, 864 (Ind. Ct. App. 2002) (remanding child support order to trial

court where trial court awarded extraordinary educational expenses but did not

enter written findings in support of the order).

[31] While Guideline 8 does not explicitly require the trial court to consider the

above factors, we believe it is the best practice to do so, especially in a case like

this one where: (1) Father apparently concedes that the quality of education

offered by the Carmel public school system is equivalent to that offered by

Child’s private school; and (2) the trial court’s order resulted in a deviation

downward from the amount reflected in the Child Support Worksheet.

Therefore, we are remanding with instructions for the trial court to make

explicit findings on (1) the personal preferences of Mother and Father as to

Child’s education; (2) the respective quality of education provided by the

Carmel public school system and the private school that Child attends; (3) the

best interests of Child as related to education; and (4) if the trial court still

provides Father with a weekly credit of $35, a rationale for that decision, given

Mother’s objections.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 27 of 35

C. Mother’s Arrearage

[32] Before Mother became disabled, she was employed and required to pay child

support. It is undisputed that she is in arrears in the amount of $1,953. As

noted above, the trial court may not apply a retroactive change in child support

relating back to a date prior to the filing of the motion to modify. Furthermore,

it is well established that “after support obligations have accrued, a court may

not retroactively reduce or eliminate such obligations.” Becker, 902 N.E.2d at

820.

[33] Mother argues that after she lost her employment in 2016, her weekly child

support payments exceeded 50% of her disposable income, which violates a

federal statute. Had she filed a motion to modify at that time and made that

argument, her argument may well have succeeded. But because she did not do

so, she accrued an arrearage that may not now be abated. Id. Therefore, the

trial court did not err by awarding a credit to Father in the amount of Mother’s

arrearage.

D. Father’s Alleged Arrearage

[34] While these matters were pending, the trial court entered an order requiring

Father to pay temporary child support in the amount of $200 per week. Mother

alleges that Father was in arrears on those payments. The trial court found that

as of the time of the hearing, Father was current on child support with no

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 28 of 35

arrearage. There is no evidence in the record that Father had an arrearage at

the time of the hearing; therefore, the trial court did not err on this basis.6

II. Extracurricular Activities

A. Contempt for Alleged Failure to Pay

[35] Next, Mother argues that the trial court erred by declining to hold Father in

contempt for his alleged failure to pay his share of Child’s extracurricular

activities. The parents’ income ratio determines their share of the

extracurricular activities. Between November 30, 2015 (when the trial court

entered an order changing the ratio), and August 18, 2017, when Mother filed

her motion to modify the ratio, Father was to pay 52% of the cost and Mother

was to pay 48%.

[36] At the hearing, the parties stipulated that during that timeframe, the total

amount of Child’s extracurricular activities was $5,231.10, and that Father had

paid $2,564.17. The difference between what Father actually owed ($2,720.17)

and what he paid was $156. The trial court reviewed and weighed the evidence

and found no indication that Father had willfully and wantonly disregarded the

order requiring him to pay 52% of Child’s extracurricular expenses. Nothing in

the record causes us to question this assessment. Therefore, we decline to

6

Mother seems to argue that while Father was not in arrears, his payments were frequently late. She

apparently believed that his payments were due on Wednesdays, while Father believed his payments were

due on Fridays. Regardless of that discrepancy, it is undisputed that Father was fully up to date in his

obligation at the time of the hearing.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 29 of 35

reverse the trial court’s denial of Mother’s request to hold Father in contempt

with respect to extracurricular expenses.7

B. Retroactivity of New Ratio

[37] Next, Mother argues that the new ratio of their respective incomes should be

applied retroactively to the date of her disability (nearly one year before she

filed the motion to modify the payment of extracurricular activities). For the

reasons expressed above regarding retroactivity of Mother’s income with

respect to her child support obligation, the trial court did not err by declining to

do so.

C. Modification of Decree

[38] Mother next argues that the trial court erred by sua sponte modifying their decree

of dissolution with respect to Child’s extracurricular activities. Leading up to

the modification, the trial court found as follows:

18. . . . the child is now participating in way more numerous

extracurricular activities than listed in the Mediated

Agreement, including Goldfish, gymnastics, Spanish

language (in addition to Lithuanian as set out in the

Mediated Agreement), horseback riding, Grand Champion

Equipment, village music, Shortee’s golf, Chess,

basketball, fishing frenzy camp, Minecraft Coding Camp,

and fencing.

7

Ultimately, the trial court deducted $156 from the amount of Mother’s child support arrearage; therefore,

the trial court ensured that Father’s obligation was satisfied in full.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 30 of 35

19. Father testified that Mother had the child in

extracurricular activities as many as 6 days a week at one

point. . . .

20. Father testified that he did not consent to some of the

activities in which his child participated. The child was

enrolled in the protested activity anyway. Father still paid

for some of the activities despite his protest.

***

29. There was significant evidence that Mother overuses the

extracurricular activity provision in the parties[’] Mediated

Agreement despite the significant reduction in her income

due to being adjudicated disabled.

Appealed Order p. 6, 8 (emphases original). Based on these findings, the trial

court ordered as follows:

9. The Court orders ¶ 3.04 of the Decree is modified based on

overreliance of Mother on the ‘some other equivalent

activity of the same or lesser cost’ language in this

provision. The Court received bountiful evidence that the

child has been placed in way more activities than were

ever contemplated at the time of the Decree. Moving

forward for all activities for which the child is enrolled

after the effective date of this order, Father shall only be

responsible for those activities with which he consents in

writing prior to enrollment. Any interpretation of the

parties or language in ¶ 3.04 of the Decree which requires

Father to agree to a minimum of three activities at any one

time is vacated. Mother may choose to enroll the child in

activities for which Father doesn’t consent but she shall be

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 31 of 35

solely responsible for the costs of that activity without

contribution from Father.

Id. at 38 (emphases original).8

[39] The decree of dissolution incorporated the parents’ mediated settlement

agreement. Generally, a trial court may modify a mediated settlement

agreement in a family law case if it finds that the modification is in the child’s

best interests. See Moell v. Moell, 84 N.E.2d 741, 744 (Ind. Ct. App. 2017)

(holding that settlement agreement involving child-related matters may be

modified and that “the court’s paramount concern” is “the best interests of the

children”).

[40] Here, while the trial court found that Mother was enrolling Child in more

extracurricular activities than originally contemplated by the parties, the court

sua sponte modified the parties’ settlement agreement without making findings

as to what is in Child’s best interests. Therefore, we remand with instructions

that the trial court consider what is in Child’s best interests with respect to

extracurricular activities and issue related findings and conclusions thereon.

8

This issue would have been a much closer call had the trial court used the decree as a starting point by

ordering that for every extracurricular activity above and beyond the three agreed-upon activities, Father has to

consent in writing, but that he must still agree to (and help pay for) the first three. That, however, is not what

the trial court’s order says. In fact, it goes so far as to say that “[a]ny interpretation” of the original decree

“which requires Father to agree to a minimum of three activities at any one time is vacated.” Appealed

Order p. 38.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 32 of 35

III. Child’s Uninsured Medical Expenses

A. Contempt for Alleged Failure to Pay

[41] Mother contends that the trial court erred by denying her request to hold Father

in contempt for his alleged failure to pay his share of Child’s uninsured medical

expenses. Mother is responsible for the first $907.92 of the uninsured medical

expenses each year; after that, she pays 43% and Father pays 57%.

[42] A determination of whether a party is in contempt is within the trial court’s

sound discretion, and we will reverse only where there has been an abuse of

that discretion. Bessolo v. Rosario, 966 N.E.2d 725, 730 (Ind. Ct. App. 2012).

An abuse of discretion occurs where the trial court’s ruling is against the logic

and effect of the facts and circumstances before the court. Id.

[43] Mother proffered certain documents purporting to show the amount of Child’s

uninsured medical expenses from 2016 to 2018 as well as emails she claimed to

have sent to Father seeking reimbursement. None of this evidence was

admitted at trial and therefore does not support Mother’s contention that the

Father should be held in contempt.

[44] Mother notes that she is a pro se litigant, but pro se parties are held to the same

standards as attorneys. E.g., Goossens v. Goossens, 829 N.E.2d 36, 43 (Ind. Ct.

App. 2005). The simple fact of the matter is that the trial court had no

admissible evidence to consider that supported Mother’s claims. Therefore, the

trial court did not err by denying Mother’s request to hold Father in contempt

on this basis.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 33 of 35

B. Contempt for Alleged Failure to Maintain

[45] Finally, Mother argues that the trial court should have held Father in contempt

for his failure to maintain health insurance for Child during a time when he was

court ordered to do so. In December 2015, the trial court ordered both parents

to continue to carry health insurance for the Child because they each claimed

that their policy was superior to the other’s. When Father joined the law firm

in 2015, he obtained health insurance as required. His policy was through the

marketplace and he learned at some point that all of Child’s healthcare

providers were out of network on his plan. Because the policy was very

expensive and did not provide useful coverage, he cancelled it. There is no

evidence in the record as to when he cancelled it. In March 2018, Father

purchased a new policy that covers emergencies, accidents, and dental and

orthodontic work. It does not cover occupational, speech, or physical therapy.

[46] As for the gap in coverage, there is no evidence in the record as to how long of

a gap it was. And nothing in the record causes us to second-guess the trial

court’s assessment that the reason Father cancelled his policy was related to

changing marketplace plans and a change of employer. Given this record, we

find no error with respect to the trial court’s conclusion that Father did not

willfully or wantonly disregard the December 2015 order. See Bessolo, 966

N.E.2d at 730.

[47] As for the quality of Father’s current plan, we agree with the trial court that

nothing in the December 2015 order required a specific type of coverage. As

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 34 of 35

such, there is no basis to hold Father in contempt for having a plan that does

not cover occupational, speech, or physical therapy.

[48] We also note, as did the trial court, that Mother always had a health insurance

policy in place that provided coverage to Child, meaning that there was no gap

in coverage for Child. And Mother offered no admissible evidence tending to

show that she paid more without Father’s secondary coverage during the period

when his coverage lapsed. The same holds true for her claim that Father failed

to provide her with a health insurance card. For all these reasons, the trial

court did not err by denying Mother’s request to hold Father in contempt for

failing to maintain health insurance coverage for Child.

Conclusion

[49] The judgment of the trial court is affirmed and remanded with instructions to:

(1) reconsider whether Father should be given an income credit for Child’s

tuition costs and make findings on the issue as directed herein; and

(2) reconsider its modification of the extracurricular activities provision of the

parties’ mediated settlement agreement and make findings regarding Child’s

best interests as related to extracurricular activities.

Bailey, J., and Vaidik, J., concur.

Court of Appeals of Indiana | Memorandum Decision 19A-DC-2647 | October 23, 2020 Page 35 of 35

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.