Opinion

Nickerson, Angela Varner v. Knox County Government

  • 2020 TN WC App. 17
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Apr 17, 2020
Status
Published
On the bench
David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner, Pele I. Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

FILED

Apr 17, 2020

01:45 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Angela Varner Nickerson ) Docket No. 2019-03-0559

)

v. ) State File No. 54605-2018

)

Knox County Government )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ ) Heard March 24, 2020, at Knoxville

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

Vacated and Remanded—Corrected 1

The employee filed a petition alleging she suffered a mental injury as a result of work-

related events in which she experienced unusual traumatic stimuli while working as a

forensics technician for the employer. The employer filed a motion for summary

judgment, asserting that, even if a mental injury occurred, the employee failed to file her

claim within the applicable statute of limitations. The employee responded by asserting

that the statute of limitations was tolled until May 2018, when she discovered her mental

condition was causally related to her employment, or, alternatively, that her mental injury

is a gradual injury to which the “last day worked” rule applies. At a hearing addressing

the employer’s motion, the parties agreed that the specific incidents the employee alleged

to have precipitated her mental injury occurred in 2011 or earlier, prompting the trial

court to question whether it had jurisdiction over the case. However, the court declined

to rule on the jurisdiction issue, focusing instead on whether a genuine issue of material

fact existed that precluded summary judgment. The trial court denied the employer’s

motion, concluding there was a disputed factual issue concerning when the employee

knew or should have known that she suffered an injury. The employer has appealed. We

vacate the trial court’s order denying the employer’s summary judgment motion and

remand the case for the trial court to determine whether the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims has subject matter jurisdiction.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

1

This corrected opinion is being filed to correct a typographical error on page 5 that stated “Employer”

rather than “Employee.” The previously filed opinion is hereby withdrawn and replaced by this corrected

version.

1

Evan E. Hauser, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Knox County

Government

Tony Farmer, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Angela Varner

Nickerson

Memorandum Opinion 2

Angela Varner Nickerson (“Employee”) worked for the Knox County Government

as a technician in the Forensics Department of the Knox County Sheriff’s Department

(“Employer”) for approximately eleven years until she was assigned to Employer’s

Special Services Department in 2011. She alleges she suffered a mental injury as a result

of her forensics work. Specifically, she asserts she experienced two traumatic encounters

involving children, including the death of a child in one case and severe physical and

sexual abuse of a child in another case. Both encounters occurred in or before 2011.

Employee filed a petition for benefits on April 29, 2019, alleging she experienced

symptoms of post-traumatic stress disorder (“PTSD”) increasing in severity over time,

prompting her to seek reassignment to a different department in 2011 and, ultimately, to

leave her employment with the Sheriff’s Department. She identified the date of injury in

her petition as June 12, 2018.

Employer denied the claim, asserting Employee did not file her claim timely, and

it filed a motion for a summary judgment asserting it was entitled to a judgment as a

matter of law based upon the alleged late filing of Employee’s petition. Employee

responded that the applicable statute of limitations was suspended by application of the

discovery rule, arguing that she did not know her symptoms were causally related to her

employment until she was diagnosed with PTSD on May 7, 2018. Alternatively, she

argued her mental injury was a gradual injury to which the “last day worked” rule

applies, resulting in her date of injury being the last day she worked for the Sheriff’s

Department, which was less than one year before she filed her petition for benefits.

Employer disputed the application of both rules, asserting Employee knew or should have

known the work-related nature of her alleged mental injury in 2015 when she sought

mental health treatment for problems she related to her employment. Employer

additionally argued that Tennessee does not recognize a mental injury as a gradual injury,

and that the “last day worked” rule was inapplicable to Employee’s claim.

At the hearing of Employer’s summary judgment motion, counsel for Employer

stated that “as far as the incidents . . ., I think we all agree they occurred sometime prior

to 2011, or on or before 2011,” which prompted the following statements by the court:

2

“The Appeals Board may, in an effort to secure a just and speedy determination of matters on appeal and

with the concurrence of all judges, decide an appeal by an abbreviated order or by memorandum opinion,

whichever the Appeals Board deems appropriate, in cases that are not legally and/or factually novel or

complex.” Appeals Bd. Prac. & Proc. § 1.3.

2

[T]hat in and of itself, seems like it raises some issue about the jurisdiction

of the Court that I don’t think either one of you have really addressed in

this particular case.

I’m aware that this summary judgment is about the statute of limitations

and not about the particular date of injury, but it does seem at some point

we’re going to address when the injury arose. If it arose prior to July 1,

2014, you’re in the wrong court. I think we all know that.

But I’m not going to chase that rabbit today. We’ve got a big enough rabbit

to chase with this statute of limitations issue.

But I want to alert you that, as I worked through this and thought about it,

that is an issue that I think one day we’ll have to address if this case

proceeds further . . . .”

The court asked counsel for Employee whether Employee’s position was that she

suffered a gradual injury “as opposed to a single traumatic-type injury,” to which counsel

responded, “[i]t is.”

The trial court denied Employer’s summary judgment motion, stating the

following:

Looking at the evidence on summary judgment in the light most favorable

to [Employee], the Court holds a genuine factual issue exists as to whether

[Employee] knew or should have known more than a year before she filed

her [petition] that she had work-related PTSD. For that reason, summary

judgment is inappropriate, and the Court denies [Employer’s] motion.

In a footnote, the court stated that because it denied Employer’s motion, it was

“unnecessary to decide [Employee’s] alternative gradual-injury theory.” Employer has

appealed the trial court’s order denying its summary judgment motion.

At the outset of oral arguments that were conducted on March 24, 2020, we

expressed to the parties that the case presented an issue of subject matter jurisdiction that

had not been addressed in the parties’ briefs, noting that the jurisdiction of the Court of

Workers’ Compensation Claims and the Appeals Board is limited to cases having a date

of injury on or after July 1, 2014. See Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 50-6-237, -217 (2019). The

parties requested additional time to brief the jurisdiction issue, which we agreed was

appropriate. Both parties timely submitted excellent briefs addressing the jurisdiction

issue.

As we have previously observed,

3

It is well-established that questions regarding a court’s subject matter

jurisdiction address the court’s “lawful authority to adjudicate a

controversy brought before it . . . and, therefore, should be viewed as a

threshold inquiry.” Redwing v. Catholic Bishop for the Diocese of

Memphis, 363 S.W.3d 436, 445 (Tenn. 2012). A court derives its subject

matter jurisdiction from the Tennessee Constitution or from statutes, Staats

v. McKinnon, 206 S.W.3d 532, 542 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2006), as opposed to

conduct or agreement of the parties, Shelby County v. City of Memphis, 365

S.W.2d 291, 292 (Tenn. 1963). Thus, the parties cannot confer subject

matter jurisdiction on a court by “appearance, plea, consent, silence, or

waiver.” Dishmon v. Shelby State Cmty. Coll., 15 S.W.3d 477, 480 (Tenn.

Ct. App. 1999). In the absence of subject matter jurisdiction, orders entered

by a court are invalid and unenforceable. Suntrust Bank v. Johnson, 46

S.W.3d 216, 221 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2000).

Yarbrough v. Protective Servs. Co., No. 2015-08-0574, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 3, at *6-7 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 25, 2016). Moreover, “the issue

of subject-matter jurisdiction may be raised at any time during the proceedings, by the

parties or by the court. A court may raise the issue of subject-matter jurisdiction sua

sponte, even where no party objects.” Wilken v. Wilken, No. W2012-00989-COA-R3-

CV, 2012 Tenn. App. LEXIS 907, at *10-11 (Tenn. Ct. App. Dec. 27, 2012) (citations

omitted).

In its supplemental brief, Employer asserts the Court of Workers’ Compensation

Claims does not have jurisdiction based upon Employee’s admission that her alleged

mental injury arises from two identifiable work-related events that occurred in or before

2011. Employer asserts the date of injury for a mental injury “is self-evident by virtue of

its definition,” noting the statutory definition requires a loss of mental faculties or

behavioral disorder “arising primarily out of a compensable physical injury or an

identifiable work-related event resulting in a sudden or unusual stimulus.” Based upon

Employee’s assertion that the sudden or unusual stimuli here involved events occurring in

or before 2011, Employer contends the trial court does not have jurisdiction.

Anticipating that Employee would contend her mental injury is an occupational disease

for which the date of injury is the date of “partial or total incapacity for work” resulting

from the disease, Employer cites Gatlin v. City of Knoxville, 822 S.W.2d 586 (Tenn.

1991), for the proposition that a mental disorder caused by gradual stress and strain

cannot be an occupational disease. Finally, Employer asserts the “last day worked” rule,

which is applicable to gradual injuries under the Workers’ Compensation Reform Act of

2013, does not apply to “purely mental injuries arising from an identifiable work-related

event, or series of events, resulting in a sudden or unusual stimulus.”

In her supplemental brief, Employee likewise emphasizes the statutory definition

of “mental injury,” but asserts the definition includes two distinct qualifying phrases or

4

provisions that must be met before a “mental injury” exists. First, Employee contends

section 50-6-102(17) requires that the mental injury “must manifest itself” in the form of

“a loss of mental faculties or a mental or behavioral disorder.” Second, Employee says

the statute requires that the “loss of mental faculties or the mental or behavioral disorder”

must be “attributable to ‘a compensable physical injury or an identifiable work related

event resulting in a sudden or unusual stimulus.’” Further, Employee posits that the

statutory definition does not require that “the elements necessary to constitute a ‘mental

injury’ be simultaneous, concurrent or instantaneous.”

Stating these requirements in different terms, Employee contends that an

employee who experiences an identifiable work-related event or series of events that

qualifies as a sudden or unusual stimulus does not suffer a mental injury simply by the

occurrence of the experience or event; rather, the occurrence of the experience or event

results in a mental injury only if and when the employee sustains a “loss of mental

faculties or a mental or behavioral disorder as a result of the experience or event.” As

argued by Employee, in this case there was no mental injury until she suffered a loss of

mental faculties or a mental or behavioral disorder, which she says occurred long after

the 2011 events and after the effective date of the Workers’ Compensation Reform Act of

2013, thereby vesting subject matter jurisdiction in the Court of Workers’ Compensation

Claims.

Neither an analysis nor a resolution of the parties’ respective arguments on the

jurisdiction issue is necessary to resolve this appeal. We conclude the trial court erred in

ruling on the summary judgment motion prior to determining whether the court had

subject matter jurisdiction. It is not our role, in the first instance, to decide issues that

should have been presented to the trial court. See Keyes v. Bridgestone Ams., No. 2016-

06-2007, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 33, at *6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App.

Bd. May, 18, 2017) (“The role of an appellate court is not to hear matters in the first

instance, but to review trial courts’ dispositions of the matters before

them.”). Accordingly, the trial court’s order denying Employer’s summary judgment

motion is vacated, and the case is remanded for the trial court to determine whether

subject matter jurisdiction exists. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer.

5

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Angela Varner Nickerson ) Docket No. 2019-03-0559

)

v. ) State File No. 54605-2018

)

Knox County Government )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ ) Heard March 24, 2020, at Knoxville

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 17th day

of April, 2020.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Evan E. Hauser X evan.hauser@knoxcounty.org

Tony Farmer X tony@farmerdreiser.com

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.