Opinion

Boutros, Nesreen v. Amazon

  • 2020 TN WC App. 7
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Feb 13, 2020
Status
Published
On the bench
David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner, Pele I. Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

“[A]ppellate courts do not sit as self-directed boards of legal inquiry and research, but essentially as arbiters of legal questions presented and argued by the parties before them.”

How later courts described this case

  • “[A]ppellate courts do not sit as self-directed boards of legal inquiry and research, but essentially as arbiters of legal questions presented and argued by the parties before them.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

FILED

Feb 13, 2020

09:40 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Nesreen Boutros ) Docket No. 2016-06-0418

)

v. ) State File No. 32833-2015

)

Amazon, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final

The employee alleged she suffered work-related injuries to her neck, right arm, and

shoulder while lifting a heavy box. She was evaluated by several physicians and

eventually released to return to work with no permanent medical impairment. Following

a trial, the court awarded temporary disability benefits and future medical benefits but

declined to award any permanent disability benefits. The employer has appealed. We

affirm the trial court’s order and certify it as final.

Presiding Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which

Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

W. Troy Hart and Tiffany Sherrill, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant,

Amazon

Nesreen Boutros, Mt. Juliet, Tennessee, employee-appellee, pro se

Factual and Procedural Background

Nesreen Boutros (“Employee”), a resident of Wilson County, Tennessee, alleged

that she suffered injuries to her neck, right shoulder, and right arm on April 23, 2015,

while working as a package handler for Amazon (“Employer”). Employee described

placing a heavy box on a conveyor belt and feeling a “pop,” which she testified resulted

in burning pain in her neck and right arm. She presented to Employer’s on-site medical

clinic and received a panel of medical providers from which she selected an urgent care

facility. After two visits at the urgent care clinic, Employee was referred to an orthopedic

physician and was seen by Dr. Kyle Joyner, an orthopedic surgeon. Dr. Joyner opined

1

that Employee’s problems were muscular in nature rather than orthopedic, and he

recommended referral to a physiatrist, stating in his report that Employee “does not need

to follow up with me.”

Employer arranged for Employee to begin treating with Dr. Jeffrey Hazlewood, a

physiatrist and pain management specialist. Dr. Hazlewood’s records reflect ongoing

complaints of right shoulder and arm pain, which he consistently noted were out of

proportion to any objective findings. An MRI of Employee’s cervical spine revealed a

disc protrusion at C6-7, but Dr. Hazlewood observed that this finding did not correlate

with Employee’s complaints either objectively or subjectively. After failing to appear for

two appointments and appearing late for a third, Dr. Hazlewood discharged Employee

from his care, observing that her failure to keep her appointments suggested that her

symptoms were not as severe as she reported. He released her at maximum medical

improvement as a result of what he deemed to be noncompliance.

Following an expedited hearing, Employer provided another medical panel from

which Employee selected Dr. Victor Isaac. After multiple visits, and after Employee

expressed dissatisfaction with his care, Dr. Isaac referred Employee to Dr. Damon Petty,

who saw Employee once. Dr. Petty recommended an injection, which Employee

declined. In his April 23, 2018 report, Dr. Petty concluded “symptom magnification has

played a large role in the presentation here and the long duration of treatment without

success.” Thereafter, Employee returned to Dr. Isaac, who prescribed physical therapy.

Employee attended several therapy visits, but declined additional therapy because she

believed it worsened her pain. Eventually, a nurse practitioner working under Dr. Isaac’s

supervision placed Employee at maximum medical improvement.

In preparation for the compensation hearing, Employee submitted several medical

reports that were admitted into evidence by agreement. One such report, apparently from

a Dr. Fahid, included a permanent medical impairment rating of 30%. 1 A second such

report, signed by Dr. Pradumosa Singh on August 13, 2019, also included an impairment

rating of 30%. 2 For its part, Employer relied on the records and medical opinions of Dr.

Joyner, Dr. Isaac, Dr. Petty, and Dr. Hazlewood.

Following a trial, during which Employee was the only witness to provide live

testimony, the trial court concluded Employee was entitled to temporary disability

benefits and future medical benefits, but declined to award any permanent disability

benefits. In reaching its conclusions, the trial court relied on several opinions expressed

by Dr. Isaac. First, Dr. Isaac concluded Employee was unable to work from April 23,

2015 until January 2, 2018. Second, Dr. Isaac signed a Final Medical Report (Form C-

1

The Final Medical Report (Form C-30A) admitted into evidence as Exhibit 2 is partially illegible.

2

Dr. Singh also signed a Form C-30A dated February 26, 2019, which included an impairment rating of

75%, apparently assigned to the right arm.

2

30A) indicating that Employee may need future medical treatment as a result of her work

injury. Third, Dr. Isaac concluded Employee’s work injury did not result in any

permanent medical impairment. The trial court further noted that Dr. Hazlewood had

issued a final medical report indicating Employee retained no permanent medical

impairment associated with the work accident. Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2019). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2019).

Analysis

In its brief on appeal, Employer raises three issues, which we have restated as

follows: (1) whether the trial court “abused its discretion in awarding temporary total

disability benefits”; (2) whether the trial court erred in awarding temporary disability

benefits covering a period of time after Employee had reached maximum medical

improvement; and (3) whether Employee’s alleged medical noncompliance prevents her

from receiving any workers’ compensation benefits.

To qualify for temporary disability benefits, an employee must establish: (1) that

he or she became disabled from working due to a compensable injury; (2) that there is a

causal connection between the injury and the inability to work; and (3) the duration of the

period of disability. Jones v. Crencor Leasing and Sales, No. 2015-06-0332, 2015 TN

Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 48, at *7 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Dec. 11, 2015)

(citing Simpson v. Satterfield, 564 S.W.2d 953, 955 (Tenn. 1978)). An employee has the

burden of establishing his or her entitlement to temporary disability benefits by a

preponderance of the evidence. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(6).

3

As a preliminary matter, we note that the awarding of temporary disability benefits

is not within a trial court’s “discretion,” as suggested by Employer, and the standard of

review on appeal is not an abuse of discretion standard. Instead, consistent with

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(c)(6), an employee must prove the essential

elements of his or her claim at a compensation hearing by a preponderance of the

evidence, and we will presume a trial court’s factual findings are correct unless the

preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. Riley v. Group Elec., No. 2015-06-0886,

2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 26, at *10-11 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd.

July 5, 2016).

In the present case, the trial court concluded that Employee suffered a

compensable accident that caused an inability to work. The trial court relied on the

records and opinions expressed by an authorized panel physician, Dr. Isaac, who noted

Employee was unable to work from the date of the injury until January 2, 2018. The

court deducted from its award of temporary disability benefits amounts representing the

time during which Employee worked, based on the evidence presented during the

compensation hearing. In its brief, Employer asserts that Dr. Isaac’s opinions were “not

credible” because he “did not have the needed information to determine whether

restrictions were appropriate.” Yet, Dr. Isaac’s records, including the Final Medical

Report forms, were offered into evidence by Employer and were relied on by Employer

in support of its defenses. It is undisputed that Dr. Isaac’s December 6, 2018 Final

Medical Report indicated Employee was unable to work from the date of the injury until

January 2, 2018. It is incongruous for a party to offer medical documentation into

evidence and rely on certain portions of the documentation, then argue that the remainder

of the documentation is not credible.

It is well-settled that a trial court can weigh expert evidence and accept the

opinions of one expert over those of another. See, e.g., Bass v. The Home Depot U.S.A.,

Inc., No. 2016-06-1038, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 36, at *9 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 26, 2017). We afford a presumption of correctness to a

trial court’s determination of which expert opinions to accept, and we will reverse or

modify such a determination only if the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. In

this case, we cannot conclude the evidence preponderates against the trial court’s

decision to accept the opinions expressed by Dr. Isaac that supported the trial court’s

award of temporary disability benefits.

Next, Employer asserts that some portion of the award of temporary benefits

represented a period of time after Employee had reached maximum medical

improvement. Because the attainment of maximum medical improvement or the ability

to return to work terminates an employee’s entitlement to temporary disability benefits,

see Simpson, 564 S.W.2d at 955, Employer argues Employee is not entitled to temporary

benefits after the earlier of those dates. However, in its brief, Employer acknowledged

that “[Employee] was placed at maximum medical improvement (“MMI”) multiple times

4

by multiple providers including authorized treating physicians.” Dr. Isaac, who began

treating Employee in December 2016, indicated in his November 8, 2018 office note that

Employee would reach maximum medical improvement after he had administered an

epidural steroid injection. He then completed a Final Medical Report dated December 6,

2018, indicating Employee was unable to work from the date of the injury through

January 2, 2018, when he released her to return to work with restrictions. That is the date

used by the trial court to determine the award of temporary benefits, and we cannot

conclude the trial court erred in selecting that date based on the proof presented during

the compensation hearing.

Finally, Employer argues the trial court erred in awarding compensation because

Employee has been medically noncompliant throughout the course of her treatment.

Although Employer raised issues in the trial court concerning Employee’s alleged

medical noncompliance with respect to whether she was entitled to additional medical

care and/or permanent disability benefits, Employer did not assert that her noncompliance

was a sufficient basis to deny her temporary disability benefits. Rather, Employer argued

that Employee presented insufficient and vague proof regarding her alleged entitlement to

temporary disability benefits and that such proof could not form the basis of an award of

temporary benefits. Where issues and arguments are not raised in the trial court, we will

not address them for the first time on appeal. See Cartwright v. Jackson Capital

Partners, Ltd. P’ship, 478 S.W.3d 596, 614 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2015) (“[A]ppellate courts

do not sit as self-directed boards of legal inquiry and research, but essentially as arbiters

of legal questions presented and argued by the parties before them.”).

Even if we were to conclude Employer properly raised the issue of whether

Employee’s alleged noncompliance with medical treatment should bar her recovery of

temporary disability benefits in the trial court, we find no error on the part of the trial

court. Employer points out numerous instances in which Employee declined certain

treatments for various reasons. Employee explained her reasons for missing or being late

to appointments, her dissatisfaction with her physical therapy, and her reasons for

declining invasive treatment, including epidural steroid injections. The trial court heard

her testimony and found her explanations to be reasonable and her testimony to be

credible. As we have previously observed, “[w]hen the trial court has heard in-court

testimony, considerable deference must be afforded in reviewing the trial court’s findings

of credibility and assessment of the weight to be given to that testimony.” Love v. Delta

Faucet Co., No. 2015-07-0195, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 45, at *17 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 19, 2016) (citing Tryon v. Saturn Corp., 254 S.W.3d

321, 327 (Tenn. 2008)).

Employee testified that she failed to attend or was late to medical appointments

because her prescribed medications made her drowsy and unable to drive safely. She

testified that she declined an injection because she would not be able to use her arm to

drive home afterward, but that she attempted to return the following day to receive the

5

injection when someone would be available to drive her. Finally, Employee testified that

she had difficulties with physical therapy and that it made her symptoms worse. The trial

court heard these explanations and found them to be reasonable. We cannot conclude the

preponderance of the evidence weighs against the trial court’s determinations in this

regard.

Conclusion

For the forgoing reasons, the decision of the trial court awarding temporary

disability benefits and medical benefits is affirmed, and its order is certified as final.

Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer.

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Nesreen Boutros ) Docket No. 2016-06-0418

)

v. ) State File No. 32833-2015

)

Amazon, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 13th day

of February, 2020.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Nesreen Boutros X X 1039 Willoughby Station Blvd.

Mt. Juliet, TN 37122

nesreen.boutros@yahoo.com

W. Troy Hart X wth@mijs.com

Tiffany B. Sherrill X tbsherrill@mijs.com

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.