Opinion

Tate, Tara v. BWayCorporation

  • 2019 TN WC App. 55
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Dec 20, 2019
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

FILED

Dec 20, 2019

09:53 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Tara Tate ) Docket No. 2017-08-0572

)

v. ) State File No. 72128-2016

)

BWay Corporation, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Deana C. Seymour, Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final

After the employee experienced a work-related injury and underwent surgery, the parties

reached a court-approved settlement of the employee’s claim that identified the physician

who was to provide future medical care. The employee subsequently requested

additional medical care, but the designated physician, as well as multiple other

physicians, refused to see her, indicating no additional medical care was necessary.

Following a hearing to address the employee’s request for additional medical care, the

trial court denied the request, concluding the employee failed to establish she was in need

of additional medical treatment for her work-related injuries. The employee filed a notice

of appeal but failed to identify any issues for our review, failed to file a transcript of the

hearing or a joint statement of the evidence, and failed to file a brief supporting her

appeal. We affirm the trial court’s order denying the employee’s request for additional

medical treatment and certify the order as final.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Tara Tate, Memphis, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

Paul Todd Nicks, Memphis, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, BWay Corporation

1

Memorandum Opinion 1

In September 2016, Tara Tate (“Employee”) injured her left elbow and low back

as a result of an accident that occurred in the course and scope of her employment with

BWay Corporation (“Employer”). Employee was diagnosed with left cubital tunnel

syndrome and a lumbar strain that her authorized physician, Dr. Robert Lonergan,

indicated was caused by Employee’s work-related accident. After conservative care

failed to relieve Employee’s elbow complaints, Dr. Lonergan surgically treated

Employee’s left elbow in February 2017. However, Employee continued to experience

pain and swelling in her left upper extremity, prompting Dr. Lonergan to recommend an

MRI.

After reviewing the MRI films, Dr. Lonergan advised Employee the MRI did not

disclose any “organic or biologic contribution” to her pain, and he indicated Employee’s

symptoms “would be more compatible with a mild case of complex regional pain

disorder.” Dr. Lonergan recommended two weeks of work conditioning and explained to

Employee that, afterwards, “it would be reasonable to have her return to work at full duty

depending on her clinical progress.”

Following Employee’s participation in a work conditioning program, she returned

to Dr. Lonergan, reporting that a small nodule and other bumps had appeared on her

elbow that she stated were not present before her injury. After reviewing the report of

Employee’s work conditioning program, Dr. Lonergan released Employee from his care,

indicating she had reached maximum medical improvement and could return to work

without restrictions. He included the following in his office note:

[Employee] was found to be noncompliant with the work conditioning

program and was found to be severely pain focused, but not showing overt

signs of distress. She was seen to be severely self-limited and did not give

a lot of effort per the [work conditioning program’s] report. The report

goes on to state that from a rehabilitative standpoint, there appears to be no

objective reason that she could not rapidly improve and restore full function

[of her] left upper extremity if she is motivated to do so. It goes on also to

state that it is unlikely she will put any further effort into her rehabilitation

as she does not appear to have any goals at this point of returning back to

her regular work duties. . . . We would not have any maximum restrictions

to assign to her due to her overwhelming symptom magnification and

submaximum [sic] performance seen on the objective testing.

1

“The Appeals Board may, in an effort to secure a just and speedy determination of matters on appeal and

with the concurrence of all judges, decide an appeal by an abbreviated order or by memorandum opinion,

whichever the Appeals Board deems appropriate, in cases that are not legally and/or factually novel or

complex.” Appeals Bd. Prac. & Proc. § 1.3.

2

Dr. Lonergan’s final report stated he did not have anything further from a medical

perspective that he thought needed to be done, and he recommended observation of the

nodules, adding that they could be addressed at a later time if necessary. The report

stated “there is no medical intervention that is recommended for [Employee’s nodules] at

this time and I do not think that presents any barrier to being able to return to any

particular employment.” On May 25, 2017, Dr. Lonergan assigned Employee a

permanent impairment of 2% to the body as a result of her upper extremity injury.

In September 2017, Employee resolved her claim for workers’ compensation

benefits in a court-approved settlement that designated Dr. Lonergan as her physician for

future medical care related to her work injuries. In May 2018, Employee requested

additional medical care due to ongoing complaints of left elbow pain, but Dr. Lonergan

refused to see Employee. As a result, Employer provided a panel of physicians from

which Employee selected Dr. Christian Fahey. The report of Employee’s initial visit

with Dr. Fahey stated that Employee “complained of numbness and tingling in her left

forearm and elbow, with associated knot,” adding that Employee “previously had an

injury which she re-aggravated” at work. Dr. Fahey concluded that Employee’s

“presentation” did not represent or constitute a new injury.

Dr. Fahey saw Employee on two subsequent occasions. At Employee’s final visit

on September 12, 2018, Dr. Fahey indicated “there is no evidence of any ongoing

pathology,” stating there is “no reason to believe that any further interventions would be

of any value.” He discharged Employee, reporting he “[did] not believe any further

treatment should be done.”

In November 2018, Employee filed a petition requesting the court to order

Employer to provide another physician panel. On the same date the petition was filed,

Employee selected Dr. John Lochemes from a third panel of physicians provided by

Employer. After reviewing Employee’s medical records, Dr. Lochemes reported he had

no treatment to offer Employee and refused to see her. Thereafter, Employee’s medical

records were submitted to two specialists for review, but both indicated they had no

treatment to offer. Employer presented a fourth panel of doctors from which Employee

selected Dr. Norfleet Thompson. Dr. Thompson reviewed Employee’s medical records

and also refused to provide treatment. Employer subsequently wrote to Dr. Fahey asking

whether he would be willing to see Employee again. He declined, writing that Employee

“is angry and belligerent and a very unwelcome patient,” adding that “[s]he had no

objective findings and was very rude to my staff on several occasions.”

In May 2019, Employee filed a request for a hearing that she supported with an

affidavit stating that she had surgery and continues to “suffer from pain and limited

motion.” Following a hearing, the court declined to order Employer to provide additional

medical care, concluding the medical evidence established that Employee did not need

further treatment for her work injury. Employee has appealed.

3

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2019). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2019).

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(g)(2)(B) (2019) authorizes a

workers’ compensation judge to “determine whether it is appropriate to order the

employer . . . to provide specific medical care and treatment, medical services or medical

benefits, or both, to the employee pursuant to . . . a workers’ compensation settlement

agreement approved by a workers’ compensation judge.” Here, the workers’

compensation judge conducted a hearing for that purpose and determined the medical

evidence “established that [Employee] does not need further treatment for her work

injury” and that Employee “failed to rebut that [medical] evidence.”

Employee has not filed a transcript of the hearing or a statement of the evidence,

and she has not filed a brief on appeal. See Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.03(3)

(2018). Accordingly, we must presume the trial judge’s factual findings are supported by

the record. Hale v. Prime Pkg. & Label, LLC, No. 2015-06-0150, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp.

App. Bd. LEXIS 22, at *13 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. July 16, 2015).

We are unable to discern from the record what errors Employee contends the trial

judge made. In the section of the notice of appeal that requests a statement of the issues

or basis for relief on appeal, Employee wrote the following:

Appeal to keep my medical insurance and worker[s’] compensation. On

Sept[ember] 25, 2017 was filed to keep + my settlement – medical

insurance.

It is not our role to search the record for possible errors or to formulate

Employee’s legal arguments in favor of her position. Cosey v. Jarden Corp., No. 2017-

01-0053, 2019 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 3, at *8 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App.

4

Bd. Jan. 15, 2019). Based upon the absence of any meaningful identification of an

alleged error by the trial judge or argument from Employee as to how the judge allegedly

erred in denying Employee’s request for additional medical care, we affirm the trial

judge’s order and certify it as final. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employee.

5

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Tara Tate ) Docket No. 2017-08-0572

)

v. ) State File No. 72128-2016

)

BWay Corporation, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Deana C. Seymour, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 20th day

of December, 2019.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Tara Tate X X taratate61@yahoo.com

4288 Ravenwood Drive North

Hornakle, MS 38637

Paul Nicks X pnicks@travelers.com

Deana C. Seymour, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.