Opinion

Delaney, Aaron v. TPI Corporation

  • 2019 TN WC App. 34
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 5, 2019
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

FILED

Aug 05, 2019

09:36 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Aaron Delaney ) Docket No. 2016-02-0152

)

v. ) State File No. 94775-2015

)

TPI Corporation, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Brian K. Addington, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee alleged suffering a shoulder injury as a result

of his efforts to adjust a machine at work. The incident was reported, and the employer

initially provided medical care. After the treating physician recommended surgery to

repair a torn rotator cuff, the employer denied the claim, asserting the injury was

idiopathic. Following a decision on the record in which the trial court denied the

employee’s requested medical benefits, the employee filed a second request for benefits

and for an evidentiary hearing. The employer responded by filing a motion for summary

judgment, which the trial court denied. Thereafter, the trial court conducted an

evidentiary hearing to address the employee’s request for medical and temporary

disability benefits. Concluding the employee’s work activities presented a hazard that led

to his injury, the trial court determined the employee would likely prevail at trial in

proving he suffered a work injury causing his need for medical treatment and awarded

medical and temporary disability benefits. The employer has appealed. Having carefully

reviewed the record, we affirm the trial court’s decision and remand the case.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Cole B. Stinson, Lansing, Michigan, and T. Ryan Malone, Brentwood, Tennessee, for the

employer-appellant, TPI Corporation

G. Todd East, Kingsport, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Aaron Delaney

1

Factual and Procedural Background

Aaron Delaney (“Employee”) is a fifty-one-year-old military veteran who had

been employed by TPI Corporation (“Employer”) for approximately eight years when he

suffered a shoulder injury at work. On November 24, 2015, he was adjusting a machine

to run a different product, which required him to maneuver under a bar in a confined

space and reach out to manually adjust a stop at the back of the machine. In the process,

he experienced sharp pain in his shoulder as well as numbness in his arm, which he

reported immediately before going to Employer’s first aid facility and speaking with a

nurse. Following his discussion with the nurse, Employee returned to work but said he

was “hindered” and “not the same man at that point.”

The following day, Employee told his supervisor he thought that something was

wrong with his shoulder and that he was going to a doctor. The supervisor asked him to

wait until the nurse arrived so she could take him to a doctor, and, in the meantime, had

him complete an “Employee’s Report of Injury Form.” Employee wrote on the form that

he was “reaching out to touch the mac line with right arm” and indicated he heard his arm

pop and felt immediate pain in his shoulder. The nurse took Employee to Medworks

Occupational Medicine where he was seen by Dr. E.C. Goulding, III. The initial medical

report included a “Patient Description of Accident,” which stated Employee “jerked

[right] arm away from machine.” The report also indicated Employee stated “he was just

reaching for the machine and heard a ‘pop.’” X-rays did not reveal an abnormality, and

Employee was diagnosed as having strained the “muscle(s) and tendon(s) of the rotator

cuff” and the “muscle, fascia and tendon at neck level.” He was fitted with a shoulder

sling and restricted from lifting with his right arm. The report stated “[t]he cause of this

problem is related to work activities.”

The following week, Employee signed an “Accident Investigation” report

describing the incident as follows:

Employee was making an adjustment on [a] machine. He attempted to

reach approximately 30 inches with his right arm. When attempting to

reach, he heard a pop in his right shoulder, felt immediate pain and his

whole arm went numb.

The next record of Employee’s treatment with Dr. Goulding is dated January 5,

2016, at which time Employee reported ongoing intermittent shoulder pain that he said

was “made worse by certain movements.” The report noted that Dr. Goulding discussed

the results of an MRI that had been performed and recommended an orthopedic

evaluation. Employee was seen by Dr. Joseph Grant at Watauga Orthopedics on January

19, 2016. The record of that visit noted Employee reported that “while at work and

reaching for equipment he heard a pop and felt extreme pain.” Dr. Grant discussed the

2

results of Employee’s earlier MRI, which revealed a full thickness rotator cuff tear in

Employee’s right shoulder, and recommended surgery.

On March 22, 2016, Employee filed a petition for medical benefits, stating he had

“torn ligaments [and] rotator cuff” but had “no surgical attention.” On April 5, 2016,

Employer filed a Notice of Denial of Employee’s claim, asserting Employee’s injury was

idiopathic. Thereafter, Employee sought treatment for his shoulder through the

Department of Veterans Affairs. Eventually, on April 24, 2017, he underwent

arthroscopic surgery performed by Dr. Bert Tagert at the Veterans Administration

Medical Center, which included a right biceps tenodesis, supraspinatus repair, and

subacromial decompression.

In March 2016, Employee filed a request for an expedited hearing asking for a

decision on the record in lieu of the court convening an evidentiary hearing. Thereafter,

the parties were advised by the court what records it would review and consider, which

included the parties’ “Joint Statement of Agreed Facts.” In September 2017, the court

issued its decision denying Employee’s request for benefits based upon its determination

that Employee “is not likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits in proving his injury

arose primarily from his employment.” Specifically, the court determined that, while

Employee’s injury occurred in the course and scope of his employment, it did not arise

out of the employment. Noting Employee “suffered a full thickness rotator cuff tear by

merely lifting his arm towards his machine,” the court stated that it was “not convinced

that simply lifting one’s arm at work constitutes a hazard of employment” and that

Employee had failed to provide the necessary expert medical proof to support his claim.

Employee subsequently filed a second request for an expedited hearing, this time

asking for an evidentiary hearing. The request asserted that additional medical evidence

had been obtained indicating Employee’s injury resulted from the work incident. The

request was supported by Employee’s affidavit in which he stated that, as he reached for

the back stop on the machine he was adjusting, he “heard a pop [and] immediately saw an

air hose that had separated from the coupler and was ‘flapping’ around.” The affidavit

stated that when Employee saw the air hose “flapping” around, he “moved [his] right arm

from an outstretched position to in front of [his] face to protect [his] face from the

flapping hose when [he] felt a ‘stabbing’ pain in [his] right shoulder as [he] moved [his]

arm to protect [his] face.”

In response to Employee’s request for an evidentiary hearing, Employer filed a

motion for summary judgment. Employer asserted the only evidence not previously

presented to the court was Employee’s own affidavit, which Employer contended

included a version of the mechanism of Employee’s alleged injury that “contradicts the

version he provided the Court during the first expedited hearing.” Employer contended

Employee’s evidence was insufficient to establish that his injury arose primarily out of

his employment, which is an essential element of Employee’s claim. Responding to

3

Employer’s motion, Employee submitted Dr. Tagert’s responses to a questionnaire in

which he was asked whether Employee’s injury was “the result of a work injury or the

result of an idiopathic injury which could have occurred anywhere.” Dr. Tagert

responded that the injury was “most likely” a work injury, adding, “[f]rom the patient’s

history, it is most likely from the injury mechanism that he describes.” Concluding there

was a disputed factual issue concerning whether Employee’s injury arose primarily out of

the employment, the trial court denied Employer’s summary judgment motion and

scheduled an evidentiary hearing.

Employer subsequently took Dr. Tagert’s deposition, which was admitted in

evidence at the evidentiary hearing. Employee provided the only in-person testimony at

the hearing. The trial court concluded that Employee was entitled to ongoing medical

benefits, that Employer was to schedule a functional capacity evaluation as recommended

by Dr. Tagert to assist in determining Employee’s impairment, that Dr. Grant was to be

the authorized physician because Dr. Tagert was an employee of the Veterans

Administration, and that Employee was entitled to an award of past temporary total

disability benefits. Specifically, the court concluded that both Dr. Grant and Dr. Tagert

determined Employee suffered an injury at work that caused the need for medical

treatment; that Employee’s work “caused a hazard that led to his injury”; and that

Employee was “likely to succeed in proving he suffered a work injury that caused

disablement and the need for medical treatment.” Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2018). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2018).

4

Analysis

Employer identifies several issues on appeal, which we have consolidated and

restated as follows: (1) whether the trial judge erred in finding Employee’s testimony to

be credible; (2) whether the trial judge erred in concluding Employee’s injury was not an

idiopathic injury; (3) whether the trial judge erred in awarding temporary disability

benefits; and (4) whether the trial judge erred in ordering Employer to provide the

functional capacity evaluation recommended by Dr. Tagert.

The Trial Judge’s Credibility Determination

Employer contends the trial court erred in finding the version of the incident to

which Employee testified at the evidentiary hearing to be credible. It asserts that “[f]or

roughly two years, [Employee] consistently told one version of events regarding how his

injury occurred – that he was reaching out with his arm to touch his machine when he

heard a pop in his shoulder and felt pain.” Employer emphasizes that Employee reported

“this story” to Employer on the day following the injury, repeated it to Employer one

week later, told three different medical providers the same story, and consented to a joint

stipulation of agreed facts in the initial expedited hearing that described the event as

“reaching out to touch the ‘mac-line’ machine with his right arm when he felt and heard a

pop in his right shoulder.” Then, according to Employer, after being denied benefits

following the court’s decision on the record, Employee began telling a different story,

contending the injury occurred “when he moved his arm defensively to protect his face

from a hose that had become disconnected and was moving like a whip.”

Following the evidentiary hearing, the trial court found that Employee “provided

credible testimony explaining the tight quarters in which he worked, the length he

reached to adjust the machine, and jerking his arm to shield his face.” Noting that

Employee did not mention the jerking motion in his injury report to Employer, the court

stated Employee “provided a reasonable excuse, in that [Employer] only asked him

which job duty he was performing at the time of injury.” Further, the court added that

Employee “told the providers at MedWorks and Dr. Tagert that he jerked his arm.”

Indeed, the report of Employee’s examination by Dr. Goulding the day after the

work incident included a “Patient Description of Accident” that stated Employee “jerked

[right] arm away from machine,” which is consistent with the testimony given by

Employee at the evidentiary hearing. The report does, however, indicate Employee

“[s]tates he was just reaching for the machine and heard a ‘pop.’” Moreover, the report

of Employee’s June 16, 2016 examination at the Veterans Administration medical

facility, which occurred more than a year before the initial expedited hearing, states

Employee “jerked his arm from his machine in Nov[ember] and had a sharp pain.” Dr.

Tagert was asked to read the description of the work incident that was in the transcript of

Employee’s deposition in which Employee stated he “moved [his] right arm from the

5

outstretched position to in front of [his] face to protect [his] face from the flapping hose

when [he] felt a stabbing pain in [his] right shoulder as [he] moved [his] arm to protect

[his] face.” Dr. Tagert said he did not record the details of the description that Employee

provided to him, but that the description in Employee’s deposition was consistent with

what Employee had told him. He further testified:

[T]he cuff tear was something we found at surgery that was . . . a little bit

of a surprise, because we were expecting this to be more biceps

and . . . [w]hether [the rotator cuff tear] was involved as part of his injury or

not would be a little bit debatable, but the mechanism of a sudden jerking

motion of the arm is consistent with an injury to the labrum or cartilage.

As previously noted, when the trial judge has had the opportunity to observe a

witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give considerable deference to

factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277

S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). In addition, “[t]here shall be a presumption that the

findings and conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are correct, unless the

preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7).

Having reviewed the evidence in light of the deference to be accorded the trial court’s

credibility determinations accompanied by the medical proof, we discern no error in the

court’s conclusion that Employee provided credible testimony explaining the work

incident.

Idiopathic Injury

Employer asserts Employee is not entitled to workers’ compensation benefits

because his injury was idiopathic in nature. “An idiopathic injury is one that has an

unexplained origin or cause, and generally does not arise out of the employment unless

‘some condition of the employment presents a peculiar or additional hazard.’” Veler v.

Wackenhut Servs., No. E2010-00965-WC-R3-WC, 2011 Tenn. LEXIS 78, at *9 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 28, 2011) (quoting Shearon v. Seaman, 198 S.W.3d 209, 215

(Tenn. Ct. App. 2005)).

Employer’s assertion that Employee’s shoulder injury is idiopathic and, therefore,

not compensable, is premised on what Employer identifies as Employee’s “original”

description of the incident resulting in his injury. Employer refers to the parties’ Joint

Statement of Agreed Facts that was submitted to the trial court for purposes of its

decision on the record, which stated Employee “was reaching out to touch the ‘mac-line’

machine with his right arm when he felt and heard a ‘pop’ in his right shoulder.” As

noted above, Employer emphasizes that Employee described the incident to Employer in

this manner on the day following the injury, repeated a similar description to Employer

one week later, and told his medical providers essentially this same version of the

incident. Citing the trial court’s statement in its initial order that “the Court is not

6

convinced that simply lifting one’s arm at work constitutes a hazard of employment,”

Employer contends that Employee’s injury is idiopathic. However, as also noted above,

the trial court found Employee’s subsequent testimony at the evidentiary hearing

“explaining the tight quarters in which he worked, the length he reached to adjust the

machine, and jerking his arm to shield his face” to be credible testimony. Based upon

that testimony, the trial court determined Employee’s work activities presented a hazard

that led to his injury. As a result of our resolution of Employer’s first issue questioning

the trial court’s credibility determination, we find no merit in Employer’s argument that

the trial court erred in concluding the injury was not idiopathic.

Award of Temporary Disability Benefits

Employer next contends the trial court erred in awarding Employee temporary

disability benefits. It argues Employee failed to establish the duration of his disability,

one of the requirements for establishing entitlement to temporary disability benefits. 1

Specifically, Employer asserts that Employee’s testimony was “internally inconsistent

regarding the months he missed work” in that both he and his attorney “were confused

regarding the year in which [Employee] missed work.” In essence, Employee testified he

missed work from April 24, 2016 until September 11, 2016, although his surgery was not

until April 24, 2017. In addition, Employer points to Employee’s testimony that he did

not miss work as a result of his injury until August 24, 2016 as evidencing the

inconsistency in Employee’s testimony.

The trial court awarded temporary total disability benefits from the date of

Employee’s surgery, April 24, 2017, until September 11, 2017, stating that “Dr. Tagert

took [Employee] off work from April 24 until September 11, 2017, because of his work-

related surgery.” The court expressly found that Employee was “totally disabled from

work between those dates” and that Employee was “entitled to temporary total disability

benefits” for that time period. Consistent with the medical records admitted in evidence,

Dr. Tagert testified he performed shoulder surgery on April 24, 2017, and that he saw

Employee on August 1, 2017, at which time he “gave [Employee] a release at that

appointment estimating that on 9/11/2017 . . . he would be released without restrictions.”

It is clear from the record that Employee was claiming entitlement to temporary disability

benefits for the time period beginning with the date of his surgery and ending on the date

Dr. Tagert released him to return to work. When asked “from the time [Dr. Tagert]

performed surgery on you until you were released to return to work, did you work at all,”

he responded “no.” Employee’s testimony that he did not miss any work before August

24, 2016 was unrefuted, except for his own testimony when he spoke to the wrong year.

Considering the entire record, we have no difficulty concluding the trial court did not err

1

To demonstrate entitlement to temporary total disability benefits, an injured worker “must prove (1)

total disability to work by compensable injury; (2) a causal connection between the injury and the

inability to work; and (3) duration of the disability.” Foreman v. Automatic Sys., 272 S.W.3d 560 (Tenn.

2008) (citing Simpson v. Satterfield, 564 S.W.2d 953, 955 (Tenn. 1978)).

7

in determining Employee would likely prevail at trial in establishing entitlement to

temporary total disability benefits for the time period between his surgery and the date

Dr. Tagert released him to return to work.

Functional Capacity Evaluation

Employer’s final argument asserts the trial court erred in ordering Employer to pay

for a functional capacity evaluation (“FCE”) recommended by Dr. Tagert. Noting the

trial court’s reference to Dr. Tagert as “an unauthorized physician” and its determination

that “Dr. Grant shall be the authorized physician for future treatment,” Employer asserts

“it is an abuse of discretion to also order [Employer] to pay for the FCE.”

As noted by the trial court, even though the authorized physician, Dr. Grant,

indicated Employee needed shoulder surgery, Employer denied the claim, “which forced

[Employee] to seek treatment on his own.” He chose to treat with Dr. Tagert, a board-

certified orthopedic surgeon who worked at the Mountain Home Veterans Administration

Medical Center in Johnson City, Tennessee. Dr. Tagert testified he began treating

Employee on June 27, 2016, and that he performed shoulder surgery on April 24, 2017.

Stating that an employer “risks being required to pay for unauthorized treatment if it does

not provide treatment made reasonably necessary by the work injury,” the trial court

concluded “Dr. Tagert’s treatment [was] necessary and reasonable, as both doctors [Drs.

Grant and Tagert] recommended the surgery.” However, because Dr. Tagert is employed

by the Veterans Administration, the court determined that Dr. Grant would be the

authorized physician for future treatment. 2

Dr. Tagert testified he last saw Employee on December 8, 2017, and that

Employee was not at maximum medical improvement at that time. He testified he

“probably would have requested [an FCE] and . . . considered . . . a permanent rating

shortly after that,” adding that “the FCE gives you more reliable information . . . and so

most of the time in this situation I will request one.” In addition, when asked whether

Employee would have restrictions, Dr. Tagert indicated he did not think so, stating “but

again not having the support of an FCE and not seeing him after the estimated [maximum

medical improvement] time, it would be hard for me to say.”

An abuse of discretion occurs when the trial court causes an injustice by applying

an incorrect legal standard, reaches an illogical result, resolves the case on a clearly

erroneous assessment of the evidence, or relies on reasoning that causes an injustice.

Gonsewski v. Gonsewski, 350 S.W.3d 99, 105 (Tenn. 2011). It reflects awareness that the

discretionary decision involved a choice among acceptable alternatives and does not

2

Employee has not raised an issue concerning the appointment of Dr. Grant rather than Dr. Tagert as the

authorized treating physician for future treatment. Thus, we do not address the issue except as necessary

to address Employer’s assertion that the trial court abused its discretion in ordering it to provide the FCE

recommended by Dr. Tagert.

8

permit reviewing courts to substitute their discretion. Lee Med., Inc. v. Beecher, 312

S.W.3d 515, 524 (Tenn. 2010). Pursuant to this standard, “the appellate court should

presume the decision is correct and should review the evidence in the light most

favorable to the decision.” Gonsewski, 350 S.W.3d at 105-06.

Here, Employer fails to identify where the trial court allegedly strayed beyond the

appropriate legal standard or how it failed to properly consider the factors customarily

used to guide its discretionary decisions. See Lee Med., Inc., 312 S.W.3d at 524.

Employer asserts it is “aware of no legal authority authorizing the trial court to

simultaneously order that (1) Dr. Tagert will not be the one treating [Employee] going

forward and yet (2) the evaluation Dr. Tagert requested to assist in his assessment of

[Employee] must be performed.” It argues there is no reasonable basis for such order

because “[t]he need for Dr. Tagert’s FCE was rendered moot when the court named Dr.

Grant the authorized physician.” Although not phrasing its argument as such, we

understand Employer is asserting the trial court reached an illogical result or relied on

reasoning that causes an injustice. We disagree.

Upon Employer’s denial of the claim, Dr. Tagert became Employee’s treating

physician. Dr. Tagert recommended the FCE to assist him in addressing Employee’s

impairment and restrictions, as opposed to determining the course of future treatment.

The workers’ compensation law contemplates that impairment ratings will be assigned by

treating physicians. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-204(k). Simply because the trial court

determined that Dr. Grant would be the authorized physician for future treatment, it does

not follow that Dr. Tagert was not the treating physician for the period he actually treated

Employee following Employer’s denial of the claim. His recommendation for an FCE

was not expressed to be necessary for future treatment; rather, the purpose was to assist

him in evaluation of Employee’s impairment and restrictions resulting from the injury for

which he performed surgery. Reviewing the trial court’s decision in the light most

favorable to the decision, we conclude the trial court did not abuse its discretion in

ordering Employer to pay for the recommended FCE.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s May 14, 2019 expedited

hearing order and remand the case. Costs of this appeal are taxed to Employer.

9

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Aaron Delaney ) Docket No. 2016-02-0152

)

v. ) State File No. 94775-2015

)

TPI Corporation, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Brian K. Addington, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 5th day of August, 2019.

Name Certified First Via Fax Via Sent to:

Mail Class Fax Number Email

Mail

George T. East X todd@toddeast.com

jennifer@toddeast.com

T. Ryan Malone X ryan@petersonwhite.com

Cole Stinson X cole.stinson@accidentfund.com

Brian K. Addington, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.