Opinion

Montgomery, Anthony v. Mitchell Industrial Tire Co., Inc.

  • 2019 TN WC App. 31
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Jul 17, 2019
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

FILED

Jul 17, 2019

02:30 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Anthony Montgomery ) Docket No. 2017-01-0884

)

v. ) State File No. 13027-2017

)

Mitchell Industrial Tire Co., Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

Affirmed as Modified and Remanded

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee alleged he suffered injuries when a large

airplane tire rolled off a cart and struck him. In addition to physical injuries to his left

shoulder and neck, the employee asserted he suffered depression due to his injuries and

the loss of his job. He requested a panel of specialists after receiving a referral for a

psychological evaluation from his authorized pain management physician. The employer

accepted the left shoulder injury as compensable but denied treatment for the alleged

neck injury and declined to provide a panel of psychologists. In addition, the employee

sought additional temporary disability benefits, but the employer denied the benefits

because the employee had been terminated for cause. Following an expedited hearing,

the trial court ordered the employer to provide a panel of psychologists and/or

psychiatrists, and it ordered the employer to authorize a medical procedure prescribed by

the pain management physician. The court denied the employee’s claims for treatment of

the neck injury and denied additional temporary disability benefits. The employer has

appealed. We affirm the trial court’s order as modified and remand the case.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

C. Douglas Dooley, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Mitchell

Industrial Tire Co., Inc.

Christopher Markel, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Anthony

Montgomery

1

Ronald W. McNutt, Nashville, Tennessee, for the appellee, Subsequent Injury and

Vocational Recovery Fund

Factual and Procedural Background

Anthony Montgomery (“Employee”), a resident of Hamilton County, Tennessee,

worked for Mitchell Industrial Tire Co., Inc. (“Employer”), as a tire inspector. On

February 15, 2017, Employee was attempting to lift a large airplane tire from a cart when

the cart flipped and the tire began rolling toward him. When he attempted to push the tire

back, it struck him, and he felt a pop in his left arm or shoulder. He was transported to an

emergency room where he was treated with pain medication and released.

Employee was later seen by Dr. Benjamin Miller, a physician he selected from

Employer’s panel. Dr. Miller diagnosed a full thickness tear of the left rotator cuff,

which he repaired surgically. 1 Following surgery, Dr. Miller restricted Employee to

sedentary duty and prescribed physical therapy. Thereafter, due to persistent symptoms,

Dr. Miller expressed concerns that Employee may have been suffering from complex

regional pain syndrome and/or cervical spine symptoms. He referred Employee to a pain

management specialist.

On September 18, 2017, Employee saw a pain management specialist, Dr. John

Blake. During his deposition, Dr. Blake noted that Employee had a prior history of pain

management treatment related to right shoulder and cervical spine complaints in 2008,

and again in 2013 and 2014. 2 Following the 2017 work injury, Dr. Blake diagnosed

Employee with chronic posttraumatic pain, and he noted long-term opioid use. Dr. Blake

prescribed additional medications, including Ambien to help with sleep, and

recommended a left stellate ganglion block. In addition, he noted the results of an EMG

completed in September 2017 that revealed left carpal tunnel syndrome and cervical

radiculopathy.

On cross-examination, Dr. Blake testified that the pain management treatment he

provided was necessary, and that Employee had benefitted from the treatment “to some

degree.” Dr. Blake explained that the narcotics and other medications Employee was

taking would affect different patients in different ways. He acknowledged it was possible

that the hydrocodone he prescribed could cause drowsiness. 3

1

The record contains Dr. Miller’s operative report dated April 19, 2017, and subsequent reports, but no

reports from Dr. Miller’s initial encounter with Employee or any other reports prior to the surgery.

2

The record contains reports from Dr. Blake’s practice from 2008, 2013, and 2014, but does not contain

any of his reports after the work accident in 2017.

3

Employer declined to pay additional temporary benefits based on its argument that Employee was

terminated for cause after being seen sleeping on the job. The trial court agreed with Employer’s position

2

In addition, Dr. Blake testified Employee had reported symptoms of depression

due to “his loss of function and his inability to work.” Dr. Blake stated he referred

Employee “to a psychologist for further evaluation and treatment.” He also

acknowledged that, in his opinion, the psychological treatment was necessary.

In December 2017, Employee was evaluated at Employer’s request by Dr. James

Little, a physical medicine and rehabilitation specialist. Dr. Little concluded Employee

had suffered a work-related injury to his left shoulder with “persisting subjective pain and

weakness” and “reduced range of motion at the left shoulder.” He also listed, in a section

of his report titled “Unrelated Diagnoses,” cervical disc disease and hypertension.

During an expedited hearing, Employee asked the trial court to compel Employer

to: (1) authorize a psychological referral as recommended by Dr. Blake; (2) authorize the

stellate ganglion block prescribed by Dr. Blake; (3) authorize evaluation of his cervical

spine; and (4) pay additional temporary disability benefits. Following the hearing, the

trial court issued an order: (1) compelling Employer to provide a panel of “psychologists

and/or psychiatrists”; (2) compelling Employer to authorize the stellate ganglion block;

(3) denying Employee’s request for cervical spine treatment; and (4) denying Employee’s

request for additional temporary disability benefits. Employer appealed only that portion

of the trial court’s order compelling a psychological referral. Thereafter, in response to

Employee’s motion to alter or amend the expedited hearing order, and our remanding of

the case for consideration of that motion, the trial court admitted into evidence an

additional medical record from Dr. Miller, but denied Employee’s request for an

amendment to its order compelling a cervical MRI. That second order was not appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2018). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

and denied additional temporary disability benefits. Because that part of the trial court’s order has not

been appealed, we need not address the termination issue.

3

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2018).

Analysis

The sole issue raised in this appeal is whether the trial court erred in ordering

Employer to provide a panel of specialists in response to Dr. Blake’s referral for

psychological evaluation and treatment. There are several statutory provisions pertinent

to this issue. First, Tennessee’s Workers’ Compensation Law defines “mental injury” as

follows:

“Mental injury” means a loss of mental faculties or a mental or behavioral

disorder, arising primarily out of a compensable physical injury or an

identifiable work related event resulting in a sudden or unusual stimulus,

and shall not include a psychological or psychiatric response due to the loss

of employment or employment opportunities[.]

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(17) (2018).

Second, the law places certain restrictions on psychological and psychiatric

treatment. Specifically, “[a]ll psychological or psychiatric services . . . shall be rendered

only by psychologists or psychiatrists and shall be limited to those ordered upon the

referral of physicians authorized under subdivision (a)(3).” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

204(h).

Finally, the law provides that “[a]ny treatment recommended by a physician or

chiropractor selected pursuant to this subdivision (a)(3) or by referral, if applicable, shall

be presumed to be medically necessary for treatment of the injured employee.” Tenn.

Code Ann. § 50-6-204(a)(3)(H).

Moreover, we must consider the standard of proof applicable to expedited

hearings. It is well-settled that an injured worker has the burden of proof on every

essential element of his or her claim. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(6); see also

Buchanan v. Carlex Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 39, at *5 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015). However, at an

expedited hearing, an employee need not prove every element of his or her claim by a

preponderance of the evidence to support an interlocutory award of benefits, but can

succeed by presenting sufficient evidence from which the trial court can determine that

the employee would likely prevail at trial, consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-239(d)(1). McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063,

2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar.

27, 2015). In addition, there is a “presumption that the findings and conclusions of the

4

workers’ compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is

otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7).

Importantly, a doctor need not couch a medical opinion “in a rigid recitation of the

statutory definition,” of an injury, but must include “sufficient proof from which the trial

court can conclude that the statutory requirements of an injury as defined in section 50-6-

102(14) are satisfied.” Panzarella v. Amazon.com, Inc., No. 2015-01-0383, 2017 TN

Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 30, at *14 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 15,

2017). In reaching such a conclusion, the trial court can consider expert opinions in

conjunction with lay testimony of the employee as to his or her condition. King v.

Greene Cnty. Sch. Sys., No. E2014-004840-SC-R3-WC, 2015 Tenn. LEXIS 292, at *25

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Apr. 14, 2015).

Guided by these principles, we note first that it is undisputed Employee selected

Dr. Miller as his authorized physician from Employer’s panel. It is further undisputed

that Dr. Miller referred Employee to a pain management specialist, and that Employee

received authorized pain management treatment from Dr. Blake. It was Dr. Blake who

made the referral for psychological evaluation and treatment.

Although the record does not contain a copy of Dr. Blake’s report making the

psychological referral, it does contain Dr. Blake’s deposition testimony, which included

the following exchange:

Q. Doctor, did [Employee] report to you that he was experiencing

symptoms of depression?

A. I believe he did. I remember that from – it’s been a year ago. Yes.

Okay. So in that first visit on – September of ’17, we do a

depression screen. . . . His score was elevated. We do that for two

reasons: to assess [the screening results] and to open the door for

conversation about how that relates to his pain. He stated that his

depression was related to his loss of function and inability to work.

And I referred him to a psychologist for further evaluation and

treatment.

Q. Got you. So, in your opinion, he needs treatment for the depression,

you said, with a psychologist, is that right?

A. Yes, sir.

Thus, Dr. Blake, an authorized physician pursuant to section 50-6-204(a)(3), made

a referral to a psychologist for “further evaluation and treatment.” That referral is

presumed “medically necessary for treatment of the injured employee” in accordance

5

with section 50-6-204(a)(3)(H). As a result, the burden shifted to Employer to overcome

that presumption and prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the referral was not

medically necessary for treatment of Employee. We conclude Employer failed to meet

that burden. It offered no evidence that Employee did not suffer from symptoms of

depression due to his loss of function, but merely argued that his subjective history was

an insufficient basis to support Dr. Blake’s referral for psychological evaluation and

treatment.

Moreover, Employer offered no expert medical testimony to refute Dr. Blake’s

opinion that Employee needed treatment for his depression. Instead, it relied on its own

interpretation of the medical records to decline to honor the referral, a practice we have

addressed previously. See, e.g., Lurz v. International Paper Co., No. 2015-02-0462,

2018 TN Work. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 8, at *17 (Tenn. Work. Comp. App. Bd. Feb. 14,

2018) (“parties and their lawyers cannot rely solely on their own medical interpretations

of the evidence to successfully support their arguments”).

Finally, Employer and the Subsequent Injury Fund argue that the testimony

offered by Dr. Blake “does not meet the requisite standard for medical causation at the

expedited hearing stage.” We agree the testimony and other evidence offered by

Employee at the expedited hearing would be insufficient to satisfy his burden of proof as

to the issue of medical causation at trial. However, we conclude there was sufficient

evidence in the record to support the trial court’s interlocutory determination that

Employee is likely to prevail in establishing an entitlement to an evaluation and treatment

of any work-related psychological condition, if any such condition is compensable under

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(17). Dr. Blake’s testimony, when

considered in conjunction with Employee’s statements about his own condition, supports

the trial court’s determination at this stage of the case. Therefore, we conclude the

preponderance the evidence supports the trial court’s order for a panel of specialists, but

we modify the order to limit it to a panel of psychologists, as recommended by Dr.

Blake. 4

Conclusion

For the forgoing reasons, the trial court’s order for a panel of specialists is

affirmed as modified, and the case is remanded. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer.

4

We do not intend to suggest that the parties are prohibited from reaching an agreement to include one or

more psychiatrists on the panel, only that the referral Dr. Blake made was to a psychologist.

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Anthony Montgomery ) Docket No. 2017-01-0884

)

v. ) State File No. 13027-2017

)

Mitchell Industrial Tire Co., Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 17th day of July, 2019.

Name Certifie First Via Fax Via Sent to:

d Mail Class Fax Number Email

Mail

Christopher Markel X cmarkel@markelfirm.com

jdickey@markelfirm.com

C. Douglas Dooley X doug.dooley@leitnerfirm.com

Ronald McNutt, Subsequent Injury and ronald.mcnutt@tn.gov

Vocational Recovery Fund

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of Workers’ X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.