Opinion

Bauknecht v. Five Star Quality Care, Inc.

  • 2019 TN WC App. 21
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Jun 10, 2019
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

FILED

Jun 10, 2019

12:12 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

(HEARD MAY 31, 2019, AT KNOXVILLE)

Barbara Bauknecht ) Docket No. 2018-06-2365

)

v. ) State File No. 50910-2018

)

Five Star Quality Care, Inc. d/b/a )

Morningside Assisted Living, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee petitioned the trial court to compel the

employer to authorize certain medical treatment as recommended by the treating

physician. The employer, citing a utilization review denial, declined to authorize the

treatment. Following an expedited hearing, during which the trial court excluded from

evidence the affidavit of the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation’s Medical Director, who

purportedly agreed with the utilization review denial, the trial court issued an order

compelling the employer to authorize the requested treatment. The employer has

appealed. Although we disagree with certain findings of the trial court, we conclude

these findings amounted to harmless error under the circumstances of this case.

Therefore, we affirm the trial court’s decision and remand the case.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

Kenneth D. Veit and Carolina V. Martin, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-

appellant, Five Star Quality Care, Inc. d/b/a Morningside Assisted Living

Stephan Karr, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Barbara Bauknecht

Factual and Procedural Background

Barbara Bauknecht (“Employee”) was employed by Five Star Quality Care, Inc.

d/b/a Morningside Assisted Living (“Employer”) as a resident assistant. On July 4, 2018,

1

Employee reported suffering a back injury while lifting a resident. Employer accepted

the compensability of this accident and provided certain workers’ compensation benefits,

including authorized medical treatment with Dr. Edward Mackey.

On October 24, 2018, during Employee’s first visit with him, Dr. Mackey

diagnosed “stenosis and disc protrusion” at L4-L5 and stated, “I do not believe that

nonoperative management will be successful.” As a result, he recommended a

“decompressive laminectomy and fusion.” In response, Employer submitted the

treatment recommendations to its utilization review provider, which recommended denial

of the requested treatment. Upon appeal to the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation’s

Medical Director’s office, the Assistant Medical Director agreed with the denial. 1

Thereafter, Employee filed the current petition seeking an order compelling Employer to

authorize the recommended treatment.

During the course of the expedited hearing, Employer attempted to introduce an

affidavit from the Bureau’s Medical Director purportedly discussing the utilization

review denial. However, because the proposed affidavit did not comply with Tenn.

Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.14(1)(b) (2018), which requires a party responding to a

request for expedited hearing to submit all documents “no later than ten (10) business

days before the date of the expedited hearing,” the trial court excluded the affidavit.

Later, during closing arguments, Employer’s counsel began discussing the utilization

review denial. After the trial court noted there was no proof of such a denial in the

record, Employer’s counsel stated that the utilization review report had been attached to a

prior pleading. Employer’s counsel also attempted to introduce the utilization review

report into evidence. The court declined to accept this evidence because Employer had

already closed its proof.

Following the expedited hearing, the trial court entered an order requiring

Employer to authorize the treatment recommended by Dr. Mackey. It noted that

Employer had presented no medical evidence in opposition to Dr. Mackey’s

recommendations. It also noted Employer’s unsuccessful attempt to introduce the

affidavit of the Bureau’s Medical Director. Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2018). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

1

Neither Employer’s utilization review report nor the subsequent report of the Medical Director’s office

was admitted into evidence during the expedited hearing. We have gleaned these facts from the Petition

for Benefit Determination and Employee’s affidavit, admitted into evidence as Exhibit 1.

2

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2018).

Analysis

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(20) (2018) defines utilization review

as the “evaluation of the necessity, appropriateness, efficiency and quality of medical

care services.” Section 50-6-124 instructs the Administrator of the Bureau of Workers’

Compensation to “establish a system of utilization review” and, in subsection (f) of that

statute, the legislature expressed its intent to “ensure the availability of quality medical

care services for injured and disabled employees.”

The regulations governing utilization review provide that an adverse decision

made by an employer’s utilization review agent may be appealed to the “Bureau or its

designated contractor.” Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-06-.07(1) & (2) (2017).

Presently, such appeals are handled by the office of the Bureau’s Medical Director. Id.

The regulation further provides that “[t]he determination of the Bureau or its designated

contractor is final for administrative purposes.” Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-06-

.07(2)(a). Moreover, such a denial “is effective for a period of 6 months from the date of

the determination as set forth in rule 0800-02-06-.06(7).” Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-

02-06-.07(5).

In the event a party disagrees with the Medical Director’s determination, “then the

aggrieved party may file a Petition for Benefit Determination (PBD) with the Court of

Workers’ Compensation Claims within seven (7) business days of the receipt of the

determination to request a hearing of the dispute in accordance with applicable statutory

provisions.” Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-06-.07(6). If the petitioner requests an

expedited hearing to address the utilization review denial, then the burden is on the

petitioner to show that he or she would likely prevail at trial in establishing the medical

necessity of the recommended treatment. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(1). There is a

rebuttable presumption that treatment recommended by an authorized provider is

medically necessary to treat the work injury. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-204(a)(3)(H).

Under such circumstances, the burden shifts to the employer to rebut this presumption.

3

In the present case, there is no dispute that treatment recommended by the

authorized physician was submitted by Employer for utilization review. There is no

dispute that Employer’s utilization review agent recommended non-authorization of the

prescribed treatment. There is no dispute that this decision was appealed to the Medical

Director’s office and that the Assistant Medical Director agreed with the denial. These

facts were admitted in Employee’s petition. Moreover, Employee testified in her

affidavit, introduced during the hearing as Exhibit 1, that “Dr. Mackey recommended

surgery which was denied by Utilization Review and Dr. Talmage with the State Medical

Director[’]s office agreed with their decision.” Thus, it was not fatal to Employer’s

defense that neither Dr. Talmage’s letter agreeing with the utilization review denial nor

Dr. Snyder’s affidavit were not properly admitted into evidence because these facts were

not in dispute. Instead, the pertinent legal questions are: (1) whether Employee came

forward with enough evidence to show a likelihood of prevailing at trial on the issue of

medical necessity; and (2) whether Employer came forward with sufficient evidence to

rebut the presumption of medical necessity accorded the opinion of the authorized

physician.

Employer argues that the utilization review report had been attached to

Employer’s petition and, pursuant to Rule 10.03 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil

Procedure, should have been included as an exhibit in the technical record and considered

by the trial court in support of Employer’s defense. The rule provides that “[w]henever a

claim or defense is founded upon a written instrument other than a policy of insurance, a

copy of such instrument . . . shall be attached to the pleading as an exhibit . . . [and] shall

be part of the pleading for all purposes.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 10.03 (2018). For example, the

Tennessee Supreme Court has noted in a case involving public works contracts, copies of

which had been attached to the complaint, that “[s]ince these represented the foundation

of the suit, their provisions were incorporated into and became part of the pleadings and

could properly be relied upon by both parties.” W & O Construction Co. v. Smithville,

557 S.W.2d 920, 921 (Tenn. 1977).

However, in the circumstances of this case, we find Employer’s reliance on Rule

10.03 to be misplaced. Employee’s claim for benefits was not “founded upon a written

instrument.” Instead, her claim was founded upon the surgery recommendation of the

authorized treating physician, which was evidenced by Dr. Mackey’s properly-admitted

medical records. If Employer sought to rely upon a written instrument as the foundation

of its defense, it had the burden of offering that written instrument into evidence in an

admissible form. Here, it failed to do so.

It is within this legal framework that we assess the trial court’s order compelling

Employer to authorize the treatment recommended by Dr. Mackey, the authorized

physician. We start with the presumption that such treatment is medically necessary in

accordance with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3)(H). The question

then becomes whether Employer came forward with sufficient evidence to rebut the

4

presumption. In its effort to do so, Employer attempted to rely on a utilization review

report that was never offered into evidence at the expedited hearing. It also sought to

introduce an affidavit from the Medical Director, but did not comply with Rule 0800-02-

21-.14(1)(b). 2 Under these circumstances, we find no abuse of discretion in the trial

court’s decision to exclude the report and affidavit.

However, we respectfully disagree with the trial court’s statements during the

expedited hearing suggesting there was no evidence of the utilization review denial

before it. As we have noted, these facts were admitted in both Employee’s petition and in

her affidavit. Therefore, the trial court should have considered that the recommended

treatment had been submitted for utilization review, that Employer’s utilization review

agent had recommended denial of the treatment, and that the Bureau’s Assistant Medical

Director had agreed with that decision. The question then is whether these facts, standing

alone, were sufficient to rebut the presumption of medical necessity attributable to Dr.

Mackey’s recommended treatment. Since Employer’s utilization review report, Dr.

Talmage’s letter agreeing with that report, and Dr. Snyder’s affidavit were never properly

introduced as evidence at the expedited hearing, we conclude Employee’s

acknowledgments regarding the utilization review denial and Dr. Talmage’s agreement

with it, standing alone, did not rebut the presumption of medical necessity. Therefore,

the trial court’s refusal to consider such facts amounts to harmless error under the

circumstances of this case. As a result, we agree with the trial court’s determination that

Employee met her burden of showing a likelihood of prevailing at trial on this issue.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the trial court’s order compelling medical treatment is

affirmed, and the case is remanded. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer.

2

Employer did not seek to make an offer of proof during the course of the hearing with respect to the

utilization review report, Dr. Talmage’s letter, or Dr. Snyder’s affidavit.

5

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Barbara Bauknecht ) Docket No. 2018-06-2365

)

v. ) State File No. 50910-2018

)

Five Star Quality Care, Inc. d/b/a )

Morningside Assisted Living, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 10th day of June, 2019.

Name Certified First Via Fax Via Sent to:

Mail Class Fax Number Email

Mail

Stephan D. Karr X steve@flexerlaw.com

monica@flexerlaw.com

Carolina Martin X carolina.martin@leitnerfirm.com

Kenneth D. Veit X kenny.veit@leitnerfirm.com

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Matthew Keene

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.