Opinion

Gilbert, Thomas v. United Parcel Service, Inc.

  • 2019 TN WC App. 20
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Jun 7, 2019
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

FILED

Jun 07, 2019

03:15 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

(HEARD MAY 31, 2019, AT KNOXVILLE)

Thomas Gilbert ) Docket No. 2018-06-1685

)

v. )

) State File No. 33590-2016

United Parcel Service, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final

The employee, a package delivery driver, alleged that repeatedly climbing in and out of

his work vehicle caused a gradual injury to his left knee, which he claimed aggravated a

pre-existing knee condition and necessitated joint replacement surgery. The employee

previously had a work-related injury to his left knee that resulted in a settlement. The

employer denied that the need for knee replacement surgery arose primarily from a new

injury but instead asserted the surgery should be covered by the medical provisions of the

employee’s prior settlement. Following a trial, the court concluded the employee

suffered a new and distinct gradual injury that aggravated his pre-existing condition and

primarily caused the need for knee replacement surgery. It therefore awarded medical

benefits, permanent disability benefits, and certain discretionary costs, and the employer

has appealed. We affirm the trial court’s order and certify it as final.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

David T. Hooper, Brentwood, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, United Parcel

Service, Inc.

Constance A. Mann, Franklin, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Thomas Gilbert

Factual and Procedural Background

Thomas Gilbert (“Employee”), a resident of Williamson County, Tennessee,

began working for United Parcel Service, Inc. (“Employer”), as a package delivery driver

1

in 1998. In 2011, Employee suffered a work-related left knee injury that resulted in

surgery to repair a medial meniscal tear. He settled his claim for workers’ compensation

benefits in 2012, and that settlement included a provision entitling him to future medical

benefits causally related to his knee injury.

In 2015, Employee returned to Dr. David Moore, his authorized treating physician

for the 2011 injury, with complaints of pain and swelling in his left knee. He denied any

specific injury to his knee but complained his symptoms were exacerbated by walking.

According to Dr. Moore’s July 23, 2015 report, “[t]he more active he is, the more it

seems to bother him.” Dr. Moore concluded Employee had developed moderate medial

compartment osteoarthritis “directly related to his medial meniscus tear that was caused

by his initial work-related injury in May of 2011.” Dr. Moore recommended a series of

injections, but Employee’s symptoms persisted despite this treatment. In his January 7,

2016 report, Dr. Moore concluded the most recent x-rays revealed osteoarthritis that had

progressed to “bone-on-bone.” As a result, Dr. Moore recommended a total knee

arthroplasty and referred Employee to his partner, Dr. Gregory Raab.

In Dr. Raab’s April 22, 2016 report, Employee described his persistent knee

symptoms and his recent activities, and Dr. Raab noted Employee was “constantly in and

out of his vehicle loading and unloading.” He also commented that Employee “is

increasingly frustrated by his limitations, both at work and recreationally.” According to

Dr. Raab, x-rays revealed a “significant progression” in his osteoarthritis since January

2012. He then concluded, “the patient’s arthritis has progressed even over the last six

months to the point where he has bone-on-bone. I think he would benefit greatly from

knee replacement surgery.” The surgery was performed on August 30, 2016.

Thereafter, Employee filed a petition alleging he had suffered a gradual injury to

his left knee due to “continuous trauma” when he “climbed into a UPS truck 150 to 200

times a day.” In response, Employer argued there was no new injury and his need for

medical treatment arose primarily from his 2011 knee injury, which was covered by the

terms of the 2012 settlement.

Medical Proof at Trial

Employee deposed Dr. Stephen Neely, a board-certified orthopedic surgeon who

conducted an independent medical examination of Employee at his request. Dr. Neely

opined that the force of repeatedly climbing in and out of his work vehicle “accelerated

the degeneration of his knee.” He further stated, “I attribute the accelerated wear to the

accelerated daily routine that this man engaged in with his knee.” The following

colloquy then occurred:

2

Q. You mentioned it accelerated the rate of development of his knee for

a total knee arthroplasty. Do you believe that to a reasonable degree

of medical certainty?

A. I do.

Q. Do you agree that at least 51 percent of his need for the total knee

replacement was due to the continuous trauma?

A. I think he did heavy physical work and I think it was.

....

Q. So the standard is we need expert medical proof that a work accident

contributed more than 50 percent in causing the aggravation, and the

work accident was more likely than not considering all causes. Do

you believe with that standard that Mr. Gilbert sustained a

continuous trauma to his left knee?

A. Yes, I do.

....

Q. Do you believe that more likely than not considering all causes, the

continuous trauma caused the need for the total knee replacement?

A. I think the need for the total knee replacement was a combination of

pre-existing arthritis that was found in that knee that was mild in

2011, that was severe by 2015. That is an awfully quick downhill

course.

Employer offered into evidence the expert testimony of Dr. Raab, the orthopedic

surgeon who performed Employee’s total knee arthroplasty. Dr. Raab noted that after

Employee’s 2011 surgery, Dr. Moore’s post-operative diagnoses included arthritis. By

2015, the arthritic changes in the left knee had worsened and were described as moderate

to severe. Dr. Raab commented that “there’s no other indication from this note that it’s

anything other than progression of his arthritis.” He also noted Dr. Moore’s opinion that

Employee’s “need for a total knee arthroplasty is directly related to his meniscal injury.”

During his deposition, Dr. Raab was asked his opinion regarding the cause of

Employee’s need for a total arthroplasty. He testified there was no “acute event” or “new

trauma” that contributed to the need for surgery. He explained that since the right knee

showed no significant osteoarthritis or other evidence of “wear and tear,” it was

3

reasonable to conclude that the need for the left knee total arthroplasty was not related to

a “wear and tear” injury but was caused directly by the natural progression of arthritic

changes due to the previous medial meniscal surgery. Specifically, he opined that “the

2011 injury and the August 2011 surgery by Dr. Moore [were] more than 50 percent of

the cause for [Employee] requiring a total knee replacement considering all other

causes.” Following the total knee arthroplasty and a period of recovery, Dr. Raab

concluded Employee “would not have any permanent medical impairment.”

On cross-examination, Dr. Raab testified he was not familiar with the terms

“continuous trauma” or “cumulative trauma.” He admitted that the act of climbing into

a delivery vehicle up to 200 times a day “would be load bearing on the left or right knee,

whichever knee you were lifting your body weight on.” After being questioned

extensively about a letter Employee’s counsel sent to Dr. Moore and Dr. Moore’s

responses to the inquiries contained therein, Dr. Raab commented, “I don’t know the

relative contribution of the [August 2011] surgery and the removal [of] part of the

meniscus, how that contributed to his arthritis based [on] or relative to the initial injury. I

have no way of comparing that.” He then testified, “if you are asking me if I can

[attribute] all of this wear to his job, I would say, no, I can’t, because he had a life outside

of his job too that also contributed to wear. . . . I have no way of knowing, as [is] the case

with any patient, which part of wear is [attributed] specifically to one particular event or

cycle or repetitive activity because they’re all the variables in his knee that are wearing

regularly [that] are going to contribute to that.”

In preparation for trial, the parties filed multiple motions in limine, one of which

sought to exclude the letter Employee’s counsel sent to Dr. Moore and Dr. Moore’s

responses to the inquiries contained therein. The trial court entered an order prior to trial

granting Employer’s motion to exclude the letter, reasoning that the letter was not

admissible pursuant to the Tennessee Rules of Evidence or other applicable regulations.

However, the court allowed the letter to remain an exhibit to Dr. Raab’s deposition “for

the purpose of offering context to the cross-examination of Dr. Raab and his opinion on

causation.”

Following the trial, the court concluded Employee had proven by a preponderance

of the evidence that he suffered a compensable aggravation of his pre-existing left knee

condition caused by repetitive work activities. The court further concluded Employee

had rebutted a presumption of correctness attributable to Dr. Raab’s opinions regarding

causation and permanent medical impairment. In addition to medical benefits, the Court

awarded permanent partial disability benefits and certain discretionary costs. Employer

has appealed.

4

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2018). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2018).

Analysis

Employer presents three issues for review, which we have combined and restated

as whether the evidence preponderates against the trial court’s finding that Employee

suffered a gradually-occurring injury at work that aggravated his pre-existing left knee

condition and primarily caused the need for the total knee arthroplasty.

We previously addressed the analysis of claims hinging on the alleged aggravation

of a pre-existing condition as follows:

Determining the compensability of an alleged work-related aggravation of a

preexisting, degenerative medical condition has long been a source of

difficulty under Tennessee’s Workers’ Compensation Law. The general

assembly has, in recent years, sought to clarify this issue through statutory

amendments. In 2011, the definition of “injury” was amended to provide

that work-related injuries “[d]o not include . . . [c]umulative trauma

conditions . . . unless such conditions arose primarily out of and in the

course and scope of employment.”

Two years later, as part of the 2013 Workers’ Compensation Reform Act,

the general assembly again amended the definition of “injury”:

“Injury” and “personal injury” mean an injury by

accident, . . . or cumulative trauma conditions . . . arising

5

primarily out of and in the course and scope of employment,

that causes death, disablement, or the need for medical

treatment of the employee; provided that:

(A) An injury . . . shall not include the aggravation of a

preexisting disease, condition or ailment unless it can be

shown to a reasonable degree of medical certainty that the

aggravation arose primarily out of and in the course and

scope of employment.

Moreover, for injuries occurring on or after July 1, 2014, the general

assembly made clear that “this chapter shall not be remedially or liberally

construed but shall be construed fairly, impartially, and in accordance with

basic principles of statutory construction and this chapter shall not be

construed in a manner favoring either the employee or the employer.”

Miller v. Lowe’s Home Centers, Inc., No. 2015-05-0518, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 40, at *7-9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Oct. 21, 2015) (citations omitted).

It is in the context of these statutory amendments that we must assess the trial court’s

order awarding Employee permanent partial disability benefits, on-going medical

benefits, and costs.

It is well-established that, when faced with competing expert medical opinions,

“trial courts are granted broad discretion in choosing which opinion to accept, and we

will not disturb that decision absent an abuse of discretion.” Jimenez v. Xclusive Staffing

of Tenn., LLC, No. 2016-06-2377, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 45, at *6

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Aug. 7, 2017). In the present case, the trial court chose

to accept the expert medical opinion of Dr. Neely over that of Dr. Raab. In doing so, the

trial court considered the credentials of each expert, the number of times each expert

evaluated Employee, the circumstances of their examinations, and the information

available to each expert for review. The trial court noted in particular Dr. Raab’s

equivocal testimony concerning his understanding of the meaning of the terms

“continuous trauma” and “cumulative trauma,” as well as his lack of knowledge

concerning the details of Employee’s work activities. It then concluded, “Dr. Neely’s

explanation of causation and its relatedness to work [is] plausible and more persuasive

than Dr. Raab’s.” In considering the totality of each expert’s testimony, we conclude the

preponderance of the evidence supports the trial court’s determination regarding the

expert medical proof.

Employer also argues that Dr. Raab’s causation opinion was entitled to a

presumption of correctness and that the trial court erred in concluding Dr. Neely’s

opinion rebutted that presumption. We disagree. First, Dr. Raab was not selected from a

panel of physicians, but became an authorized treating physician as the result of a referral

6

from Dr. Moore. Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(14)(E) makes clear that

the rebuttable presumption of correctness attributable to a causation opinion applies only

to such opinions expressed by a treating physician “selected by the employee from the

employer’s designated panel of physicians pursuant to § 50-6-204(a)(3).” Therefore, we

conclude Dr. Raab’s causation opinion was not entitled to a presumption of correctness.

Second, Dr. Raab’s testimony demonstrated a lack of understanding of the nature

of cumulative trauma injuries and their potential impact on pre-existing conditions. He

also acknowledged a lack of understanding concerning the circumstances of Employee’s

work or the repetitive activities in which Employee engaged on behalf of Employer. On

the other hand, Dr. Neely testified unequivocally that at least fifty-one percent of the need

for the total knee arthroplasty was attributable to Employee’s work activities. It was

within the trial court’s discretion to conclude Dr. Neely’s testimony expressed the more

probable explanation for Employee’s need for a total knee arthroplasty, and we find no

abuse of discretion in that determination. 1

Next, Employer argues that the trial court failed to consider Employee’s testimony

concerning the mechanics of entering and exiting the work vehicle and the impact of that

testimony on the causation analysis. In essence, Employer argues that because

Employee’s act of exiting the vehicle using UPS’s standard “three points of contact”

protocol would have resulted in Employee bearing weight on his right leg, then his right

knee should have shown evidence of the same “cumulative trauma” purportedly affecting

his left knee. Since neither Dr. Moore nor Dr. Raab found evidence of “contralateral”

(right knee) osteoarthritis, then, under Employer’s theory, Dr. Neely’s causation

explanation must be flawed.

We disagree with Employer’s argument on medical causation. There is no expert

medical testimony supporting Employer’s argument that the lack of arthritic changes in

Employee’s right knee precluded the possibility of a cumulative trauma injury in the left

knee aggravating a pre-existing condition or accelerating the need for knee replacement

surgery. In order to prevail on his claim, Employee must establish by a preponderance of

the evidence that his need for medical treatment was more than fifty percent caused by

the alleged work injury, considering all causes. See Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 50-6-239(c)(6),

50-6-102(14). Although Employee’s prior left knee injury may have contributed to the

need for a total knee arthroplasty, if a more recent cumulative trauma injury caused more

than fifty percent of the need for the total knee replacement, then the prior injury’s

contribution is legally irrelevant.

In this case, Employee testified without contradiction that he entered his work

vehicle up to 200 times per day bearing weight on his left leg. The fact that he may have

1

Employer did not appeal those aspects of the trial court’s order awarding certain permanent partial

disability benefits, future medical benefits, and costs.

7

exited the vehicle using his right leg is not determinative of the causation issue.

Moreover, while the pre-existing left knee condition may have contributed to the need for

surgery, the totality of Dr. Neely’s testimony supported the trial court’s conclusion that

the need for the knee replacement was more than fifty percent attributable to the

cumulative trauma injury aggravating or accelerating the arthritic changes in that knee.

Finally, Employee argues that Employer’s appeal is frivolous and seeks penalties

and attorney’s fees pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-22-.04(6). We do not

find Employer’s appeal to be frivolous and therefore decline to award penalties or

attorney’s fees.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the trial court’s Compensation Hearing Order is

affirmed and certified as final. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer.

8

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Thomas Gilbert ) Docket No. 2018-06-1685

)

v. ) State File No. 33590-2016

)

United Parcel Service, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 7th day of June, 2019.

Name Certified First Via Fax Via Sent to:

Mail Class Fax Number Email

Mail

Constance A. Mann X cmannlaw@msn.com

David T. Hooper X dhooper@hooperzinn.com

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X via electronic mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Matthew Keene

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-532-1564

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.