Opinion

Moody, Stacy v. Cumberland Cty. Sch. Dis.

  • 2018 TN WC 169
Court
Tennessee Court of Workers' Compensation Claims
Filed
Oct 17, 2018
Status
Published
On the bench
Robert Durham
Cited by
0 cases

The opinion

FILED

Oct 17, 2018

08:37 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE COURT OF

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

CLAIMS

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

IN THE COURT OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION CLAIMS

AT COOKEVILLE

STACY MOODY, ) Docket No. 2018-04-0014

Employee, )

v. ) State File No. 35191-2015

CUMBERLAND CTY. SCH. DIST. )

Employer. ) Judge Robert Durham

EXPEDITED HEARING ORDER DENYING MEDICAL BENEFITS

This case came before the Court for an Expedited Hearing on October 12, 2018.

The issue is whether Ms. Moody is entitled to treatment for her work-related knee injury

from a doctor other than the authorized physician. The Court holds that Ms. Moody is not

likely to establish that Cumberland County is required to authorize another physician at

this time. Thus, it denies her request.

History of Claim

Ms. Moody worked as an elementary school teacher for Cumberland County for

26 years. On May 7, 2015, she injured her left knee while playing in a faculty versus

staff basketball game. Cumberland County accepted her claim and provided her with a

panel of orthopedists from which she chose Dr. John Turnbull. He found an almost

complete tear of Ms. Moody's anterior cruciate ligament and performed an ACL

reconstruction after six weeks of therapy to strengthen her leg.

Post-operatively, Ms. Moody underwent extensive physical therapy in an attempt

to regain motion and lessen her knee pain. 1 She testified that she continued to have

significant problems with pain and lack of motion following therapy. When she

questioned Dr. Turnbull about it, he told her that he had "done his job" and it was up to

her to work harder in physical therapy if she wanted to improve. Ms. Moody took issue

with this statement. She pointed out at the hearing that her PT notes reflected she gave

maximum effort. She felt Dr. Turnbull gave little regard to her complaints and concerns.

1

Ms. Moody also asserted she began experiencing back pain while on the recovery table following her knee surgery.

Cumberland County accepted this injury as a compensable claim and provided her with treatment with authorized

physicians. Ms. Moody is not seeking additional benefits regarding her back at this time.

1

For example, she testified that she obtained authorization for a follow-up MRI from

Cumberland County's carrier, but Dr. Turnbull did not think it necessary and refused to

order it.

Dr. Turnbull's perspective is somewhat different. In his affidavit, he noted that on

June 26, 2016, Ms. Moody's examination revealed good stability and range of motion

with no swelling; her primary complaint was that she could not sit cross-legged on the

floor with her students. He found that she had reached maximum medical improvement

with no impairment and released her to return to work without restrictions. He informed

her she could return to see him as needed.

Ms. Moody testified that although she has returned to work, she continues to have

problems with her knee. She still experiences significant pain and is limited in her ability

to bend, squat, sit on the floor, or walk on uneven terrain or stairs. Despite these

problems, however, she did not seek additional evaluation or treatment from either Dr.

Turnbull or an unauthorized physician. She testified that she did not return to Dr.

Turnbull because she felt he made it clear that there was nothing more he could do for

her. As for seeing unauthorized doctors, Ms. Moody testified she has not done so

because her personal health insurance would not cover it given that her problems

stemmed from a workers' compensation injury.

On March 1, 2018, Ms. Moody sustained another injury when a student

accidentally struck her left knee causing pain on the posterolateral side. Cumberland

County accepted the injury as compensable and provided Ms. Moody with a panel of

orthopedists from which she chose Dr. Jonathon Cornelius; however, it only authorized

Dr. Cornelius to treat the 2018 injury.

On his initial exam, Dr. Cornelius observed tenderness and limited mobility,

which he related primarily to the 2018 injury. He reviewed a recent MRI and noted Ms.

Moody's 2015 ACL reconstruction was intact. Although she had moderate arthritis, he

did not observe any acute changes. In his deposition, he stated that her arthritis was due

to either her 2015 injury or her age. He injected cortisone into her knee and ordered

physical therapy with the goal of returning Ms. Moody's symptoms back to baseline

before her 2018 injury. Dr. Cornelius saw her for a final time on May 9. He felt that her

knee had returned to the condition it was in before the 2018 injury. He placed her at

maximum medical improvement and released her to return to work without restrictions or

impairment.

On May 15, Dr. Cornelius wrote a letter stating that he believed Ms. Moody still

suffered from symptoms stemming from her 20 15 injury and would benefit from

viscosupplementation injections in her knee. He also stated he would be happy to assume

Ms. Moody's care for the 2015 injury. Cumberland County declined his offer.

2

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

Ms. Moody need not prove every element of her claim by a preponderance of the

evidence to obtain relief at an expedited hearing. Instead, she must present sufficient

evidence that she is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits. See Tenn. Code Ann. §

50-6-239(d)(1) (2017); McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp.

App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *7-8, 9 (Mar. 27, 2015).

The sole issue is whether Ms. Moody is entitled to another authorized physician,

specifically Dr. Cornelius, for treatment of her 2015 work injury. The evidence

established that Cumberland County provided Ms. Moody with a panel of physicians

under Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3)(A)(i) from which she

voluntarily chose Dr. Turnbull as her authorized physician. However, Ms. Moody argues

that she is entitled to treat with another doctor, preferably Dr. Cornelius, given Dr.

Turnbull's dismissive attitude toward her continued symptoms and Dr. Cornelius's

willingness to provide treatment for her complaints.

Whether an employee is justified in seeking payment for unauthorized medical expenses

from an employer depends upon the circumstances. Hackney v. Integrity Staffing

Solutions, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 29, at *8-9 (July 22, 2016). Here, the

Court finds that the circumstances do not yet justifY compelling Cumberland County to

provide treatment with an orthopedist other than Dr. Turnbull. Before unauthorized

treatment can be compelled, the employer must first be given an opportunity to determine

whether the treatment is reasonable and necessary for the work injury. !d. By refusing to

seek any additional care from Dr. Turnbull, Ms. Moody has not given Cumberland

County the opportunity to provide further authorized treatment should the circumstances

warrant. The Court acknowledges that Ms. Moody feels Dr. Turnbull marginalized her

complaints and questioned her credibility during his course of treatment; however, those

feelings alone do not justifY transferring her care to another doctor without an attempt to

return to Dr. Turnbull. See Baker v. Electrolux, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS

65, at *8-9 (Oct. 20, 2017) (employee's dissatisfaction with authorized doctor's care not

enough to require the employer to authorize treatment with another physician).

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that:

1. Ms. Moody's request for another authorized physician is denied at this time.

2. This matter is set for a Scheduling Hearing on December 3, 2018, at 2:00p.m.

C.S.T. The parties or their counsel must call 615-253-0010 or toll-free at 855-

689-9049 to participate in the hearing. Failure to call may result in a

determination of the issues without your participation.

3

ENTERED OCTOBER 16,2018.

. am, Judge

Court of Workers' Compensation Claims

APPENDIX

Technical Record

1. Petition for Benefit Determination

2. Dispute Certification Notice

3. Cumberland County's Witness and Exhibit List

4. Cumberland County's Expedited Hearing Brief

Exhibits

1. First Report of Injury

2. Employee Accident Report

3. Choice of Physician Form

4. Physical Therapy Records

5. Ms. Moody's submitted medical records

6. Causation letter and treatment recommendations from Dr. Cornelius

7. Mrs. Moody's affidavit

8. Mr. Moody's affidavit

9. Patricia Edington's affidavit (for I.D. only)

10.Dr. Cornelius's deposition with attachments

11. Dr. Turnbull's affidavit with attachments

12. Dr. Mackey's deposition (for back complaints) with attachments.

4

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Expedited Hearing Order was

sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on October 16,2018.

Name Certified Via Service sent to:

Mail Email

Stacy Moody X X 55 Southway

Crossville, TN 38555

srstacymoody@Jgmail.com

Terri Bernal X tbemal@Jcharwelllaw .com

Pen~u ~:.:;'

Court of

,

rkers' Compensation Claims

5

Expedited Hearing Order Right to Appeal:

If you disagree with this Expedited Hearing Order, you may appeal to the Workers’

Compensation Appeals Board. To appeal an expedited hearing order, you must:

1. Complete the enclosed form entitled: “Expedited Hearing Notice of Appeal,” and file the

form with the Clerk of the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims within seven

business days of the date the expedited hearing order was filed. When filing the Notice

of Appeal, you must serve a copy upon all parties.

2. You must pay, via check, money order, or credit card, a $75.00 filing fee within ten

calendar days after filing of the Notice of Appeal. Payments can be made in-person at

any Bureau office or by U.S. mail, hand-delivery, or other delivery service. In the

alternative, you may file an Affidavit of Indigency (form available on the Bureau’s

website or any Bureau office) seeking a waiver of the fee. You must file the fully-

completed Affidavit of Indigency within ten calendar days of filing the Notice of

Appeal. Failure to timely pay the filing fee or file the Affidavit of Indigency will

result in dismissal of the appeal.

3. You bear the responsibility of ensuring a complete record on appeal. You may request

from the court clerk the audio recording of the hearing for a $25.00 fee. If a transcript of

the proceedings is to be filed, a licensed court reporter must prepare the transcript and file

it with the court clerk within ten business days of the filing the Notice of

Appeal. Alternatively, you may file a statement of the evidence prepared jointly by both

parties within ten business days of the filing of the Notice of Appeal. The statement of

the evidence must convey a complete and accurate account of the hearing. The Workers’

Compensation Judge must approve the statement before the record is submitted to the

Appeals Board. If the Appeals Board is called upon to review testimony or other proof

concerning factual matters, the absence of a transcript or statement of the evidence can be

a significant obstacle to meaningful appellate review.

4. If you wish to file a position statement, you must file it with the court clerk within ten

business days after the deadline to file a transcript or statement of the evidence. The

party opposing the appeal may file a response with the court clerk within ten business

days after you file your position statement. All position statements should include: (1) a

statement summarizing the facts of the case from the evidence admitted during the

expedited hearing; (2) a statement summarizing the disposition of the case as a result of

the expedited hearing; (3) a statement of the issue(s) presented for review; and (4) an

argument, citing appropriate statutes, case law, or other authority.

For self-represented litigants: Help from an Ombudsman is available at 800-332-2667.

.

ll .I

Tennessee Bureau of Workers' Compensation

220 French Landing Drive, 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243-1002

800-332-2667

AFFIDAVIT OF INDIGENCY

I, , having been duly sworn according to law, make oath that

because of my poverty, I am unable to bear the costs of this appeal and request that the filing fee to appeal be

waived. The following facts support my poverty.

1. Full Name:_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ __ 2. Address: - - - - - - - - - - - - -

3. Telephone Number: - - - - - - - - - 4. Date of Birth: - - - - - - - - - - -

5. Names and Ages of All Dependents:

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Relationship: - - - - - - - - - - - - -

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Relationship: - - - - - - - - - - - - -

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -- - Relationship: - - - - - - - - - - - --

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Relationship: - - - - - - - - - - - - -

6. I am employed by: - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - , -

My employer's address is: - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

My employer's phone number is: - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

7. My present monthly household income, after federal income and social security taxes are deducted, is:

$ _ _ _ _ _ _ ___

8. I receive or expect to receive money from the following sources:

AFDC $ per month beginning

SSI $ per month beginning

Retirement $ per month beginning

Disability $ per month beginning

Unemployment $ per month beginning

Worker's Camp.$ per month beginning

Other $ per month beginning

LB-1108 (REV 11/15) RDA 11082

9. My expenses are: ' ; !•

'

Rent/House Payment $ per month Medical/Dental $ per month

Groceries $ per month Telephone $ per month

Electricity $ per month School Supplies $ per month

Water $ per month Clothing $ per month

Gas $ per month Child Care $ per month

Transportation $ per month Child Support $ per month

Car $ per month

Other $ per month (describe:

10. Assets:

Automobile $ _ _ __ _

(FMV) - - - - - -- - - -

Checking/Savings Acct. $ _ _ _ __

House $ _ _ _ __

(FMV) - - -- - - -- - -

)

Other $ _ _ _ __ Describe:_ _ _ __ _ _ _ _ __

11. My debts are:

Amount Owed To Whom

I hereby declare under the penalty of perjury that the foregoing answers are true, correct, and complete

and that I am financially unable to pay the costs of this appeal.

APPELLANT

Sworn and subscribed before me, a notary public, this

_ _ _ dayof _____________ ,20____

NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission Expires:_ _ _ _ _ __ _

LB-1108 (REV 11/15) RDA 11082

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.