Opinion

Ruanova, Guillermo v. Western Express

  • 2018 TN WC App. 42
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 24, 2018
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

“In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”

How later courts described this case

  • “In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Guillermo A. Ruanova ) Docket Nos. 2016-06-1925

) 2017-06-16681

v. )

) State File Nos. 33552-2015

Western Express, et al. ) 69245-2017

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Joshua D. Baker, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded – Filed August 24, 2018

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee reported two work accidents that occurred

within a six-day period while he was riding as a passenger in work vehicles. The

employer provided certain workers’ compensation benefits, but declined to authorize

additional treatment or pay other benefits after the employee’s physicians released him to

return to work with no restrictions and recommended no additional medical treatment.

Following an expedited hearing, the trial court denied the employee’s request for

additional benefits, and the employee has appealed. We affirm the decision of the trial

court and remand the case.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

Guillermo A. Ruanova, Nashville, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

D. Andrew Saulters and Rachel C. Hogan, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-

appellee, Western Express

1

Although the employee filed two separate petitions, the cases were consolidated in the trial court.

1

Memorandum Opinion2

Guillermo Ruanova (“Employee”) worked as a trainee driver for Western Express

(“Employer”). On March 25, 2015, while Employee was in the sleeper compartment of a

truck, the driver applied the brakes hard, causing Employee to “crash against the cab.”3

As a result of that incident, Employee reported pain and other symptoms related to his

back, neck, shoulders, hips, elbows, and head. Six days later, on March 31, 2015,

Employee was involved in another incident when the truck in which he was riding was

struck from behind by another vehicle. Employee asserted that the second accident

aggravated the symptoms he had from the first accident.

Employer paid for treatment with a physician at a local hospital, then provided a

panel of neurology specialists, from which Employee selected Dr. Garrison Strickland.

After completing diagnostic testing and a course of conservative treatment, Dr. Strickland

found “no significant abnormalities” on the MRI’s and released Employee to return to

work without restrictions. He recommended no additional treatment, but indicated he

would see Employee again on an “as-needed” basis.

Over a year later, apparently in response to Employee’s request for additional

medical evaluation and/or treatment, Employer provided another panel of physicians,

from which Employee selected Dr. Steven Graham. After his evaluation, Dr. Graham

found no evidence of permanent medical impairment, assigned no work restrictions, and

recommended no additional medical treatment.

Thereafter, Employee filed two petitions seeking additional medical treatment and

temporary disability benefits. Following an expedited hearing, the trial court determined

that although Employer remained responsible for providing reasonable and necessary

medical treatment causally related to the work accidents, Employee had not come

forward with sufficient evidence to indicate he would likely prevail at trial in establishing

entitlement to any specific medical treatment at that time or any additional temporary

disability benefits. Employee has appealed.

This appeal suffers from two significant defects not uncommon in appeals filed by

self-represented litigants: an inadequate record and little or no meaningful argument

concerning the factual or legal basis for the appeal. Either defect significantly hampers

2

“The Appeals Board may, in an effort to secure a just and speedy determination of matters on appeal and

with the concurrence of all judges, decide an appeal by an abbreviated order or by memorandum opinion,

whichever the Appeals Board deems appropriate, in cases that are not legally and/or factually novel or

complex.” Appeals Bd. Prac. & Proc. § 1.3.

3

Because neither party filed a transcript of the expedited hearing or a joint statement of the evidence, we

have gleaned the facts from the pleadings, exhibits, and the trial court’s expedited hearing order.

2

appellate review, but in combination, effective review becomes impracticable. Such is

the case here.

The first problem with this appeal is an inadequate record. Specifically, testimony

was presented to the trial court at the expedited hearing, and the court relied on that

testimony in reaching its decision. However, we have been provided with no record of

this testimony. Moreover, no joint statement of the evidence has been filed. Thus, the

totality of the evidence introduced in the trial court is unknown, and we decline to

speculate as to the nature and extent of the proof presented to the trial court. Instead,

consistent with established Tennessee law, we must presume that the trial court’s rulings

were supported by sufficient evidence. See Leek v. Powell, 884 S.W.2d 118, 121 (Tenn.

Ct. App. 1994) (“In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must

conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should

have been found favorably to the appellee.”).

The second obstacle to appellate review in this case is silence by the appellant

regarding the basis for the appeal. Specifically, in his notice of appeal, Employee fails to

identify any issues for review. Further, he has not filed a brief or position statement

identifying any issues for review, making any argument, or otherwise explaining how the

trial court erred in resolving the issues raised at the expedited hearing. The two-page

document attached to his notice of appeal makes new factual allegations, but does not

identify any legal issues or alleged errors made by the trial court. Thus, we have no way

of knowing the nature of his contentions on appeal.

As stated by the Tennessee Supreme Court, “[i]t is not the role of the courts, trial

or appellate, to research or construct a litigant’s case or arguments for him or her.” Sneed

v. Bd. of Prof’l Responsibility of the Sup. Ct. of Tenn., 301 S.W.3d 603, 615 (Tenn.

2010). Indeed, were we to search the record for possible errors and raise issues and

arguments for Employee, we would be acting as his counsel, which the law clearly

prohibits. Appellate courts will not “dig through the record in an attempt to discover

arguments or issues that [a pro se party] may have made had [that party] been represented

by counsel” because doing so “would place [the opposing party] in a distinct and likely

insurmountable and unfair disadvantage.” Webb v. Sherrell, No. E2013-02724-COA-R3-

CV, 2015 Tenn. App. LEXIS 645, at *5 (Tenn. Ct. App. Aug. 12, 2015). Accordingly,

we decline to search the record in an attempt to discover errors that might benefit either

party. McEarl v. City of Brownsville, No. W2015-00077-COA-R3-CV, 2015 Tenn. App.

LEXIS 894, at *7 (Tenn. Ct. App. Nov. 6, 2015).

Accordingly, the trial court’s order is affirmed and this case is remanded to the

trial court.

3

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Guillermo A. Ruanova ) Docket Nos. 2016-06-1925

) 2017-06-0668

v. )

) State File Nos. 33552-2015

Western Express, et al. ) 14688-2017

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Joshua D. Baker, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 24th day of August, 2018.

Name Certified First Class Mail Via Fax Number Via Email Address

Mail Fax Email

Guillermo A. Ruanova X williamthepc@gmail.com

Rachel C. Hogan X rhogan@ortalekelly.com

D. Andrew Saulters X dsaulters@ortalekelly.com

Joshua D. Baker Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief X Via Electronic Mail

Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

of Workers’ Compensation

Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.