Opinion

Williamson, Rosalind v. Professional Care Services

  • 2018 TN WC App. 40
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 13, 2018
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Rosalind Williamson ) Docket No. 2017-08-0203

)

v. ) State File No. 78680-2016

)

Professional Care Services, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Deana C. Seymour, Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final – Filed August 13, 2018

The employee alleges that she fell while walking up a ramp to her employer’s building

and suffered injuries to her shoulder and hand. Following an expedited hearing, the trial

court denied benefits, and the employee’s appeal of that denial was dismissed as

untimely. The employer subsequently filed a motion for summary judgment, which the

trial court granted and the case was dismissed. The employee has appealed. We affirm

the trial court’s decision and certify its order as final.

Presiding Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in

which Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Rosalind Williamson, Somerville, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

Nicholas J. Peterson and T. Ryan Malone, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-

appellee, Professional Care Services

Memorandum Opinion 1

Rosalind Williamson (“Employee”) alleges that on September 30, 2016, while

working for Professional Care Services (“Employer”), she slipped on a ramp outside

Employer’s building and fell. She claims that she suffered injuries to her left shoulder

and hand in the fall.

1

“The Appeals Board may, in an effort to secure a just and speedy determination of matters on appeal and

with the concurrence of all judges, decide an appeal by an abbreviated order or by memorandum opinion,

whichever the Appeals Board deems appropriate, in cases that are not legally and/or factually novel or

complex.” Appeals Bd. Prac. & Proc. § 1.3.

1

Employer provided a panel of physicians from which Employee selected Dr. Bret

Sokoloff. Dr. Sokoloff ordered an MRI of Employee’s shoulder and, after reviewing the

results, concluded that her shoulder condition was “likely chronic” and that her hand

complaints were “nonspecific.” Employer denied further treatment, and Employee

obtained additional medical care on her own, including surgery on her shoulder

performed by Dr. Sokoloff outside the context of her workers’ compensation claim.

Employee filed a petition seeking medical and temporary disability benefits.

Following an expedited hearing, the trial court ruled there was insufficient medical proof

to find that Employee would likely prevail at trial in establishing her medical complaints

arose primarily out of her employment. Employee filed an untimely appeal of the trial

court’s expedited hearing order, which we dismissed.

Employer subsequently filed a motion for summary judgment, arguing that

Employee had no medical proof of causation. Employer maintained that Dr. Sokoloff

provided the only expert medical opinion, and he concluded merely that her shoulder

condition was chronic and her hand condition was nonspecific.

The trial court granted Employer’s motion and dismissed the case. In doing so,

the court noted that Employee provided no causation opinion to support her claim and

that she failed to respond to the motion for summary judgment consistent with the

requirements set out in Rule 56 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure. Employee

has again appealed. 2

I.

The granting or denial of a motion for summary judgment is an issue of law and,

therefore, our standard of review is de novo with no presumption of correctness. Rye v.

Women’s Care Ctr. of Memphis, MPLLC, 477 S.W.3d 235, 250 (Tenn. 2015); McBee v.

CSX Transp., Inc., No. W2015-01253-COA-R3-CV, 2017 Tenn. App. LEXIS 129, *14

(Tenn. Ct. App. Feb. 24, 2017). As such, we must “make a fresh determination of

whether the requirements of Rule 56 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure have

been satisfied.” Rye, 477 S.W.3d at 250. In addition, we “must view the evidence in the

light most favorable to the non-moving party and must also draw all reasonable

inferences in favor of the non-moving party.” Dugger v. Home Health Care of Middle

Tenn., No. M2016-01284-SC-R3-WC, 2017 Tenn. LEXIS 206, at *8 (Tenn. Workers’

Comp. Panel Jan. 31, 2017).

2

Employer also appealed, asserting that the regulation relied upon by the trial court to assess the filing fee

against it, Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.07 (2016), was unconstitutional because it requires

employers to pay the fee even if the employer is the prevailing party. However, in its brief filed on

appeal, Employer indicated it did not wish to pursue the issue. Accordingly, it is unnecessary for us to

address the constitutionality of the regulation.

2

Summary judgment is appropriate when “the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that

there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a

judgment as a matter of law.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.04. When a party who does not bear

the burden of proof at trial files a motion for summary judgment, it must do one of two

things to prevail: (1) submit affirmative evidence that negates an essential element of the

nonmoving party’s claim, or (2) demonstrate that the nonmoving party’s evidence is

insufficient to establish an essential element of the nonmoving party’s claim. Tenn. Code

Ann. § 20-16-101 (2017); see also Rye, 477 S.W.3d at 264. If the moving party is

successful in meeting this burden, the nonmoving party “may not rest upon the mere

allegations or denials of its pleading.” Rye, 477 S.W.3d at 265. Rather, the nonmoving

party must respond by producing affidavits, pleadings, depositions, responses to

interrogatories, or admissions that set forth specific facts showing that there is a genuine

issue for trial. Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.06; see also Rye, 477 S.W.3d at 265. If the

nonmoving party fails to respond in this manner, “summary judgment, if appropriate,

shall be entered against the [nonmoving] party.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.06.

In addition to these requirements, Rule 56.03 provides specific filing requirements

for both the moving party and the nonmoving party. The moving party must file a

statement of undisputed material facts with its motion, ensuring that each fact is

accompanied by a citation to the record. Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.03. Likewise, the

nonmoving party is instructed to respond to this statement of undisputed facts, either

indicating it agrees the fact is undisputed or demonstrating that the fact is disputed by

providing a citation to the record. Id. “The requirements of Rule 56 are not mere

suggestions. The use of the words ‘must’ and ‘shall’ in Rule 56.03 to describe the

necessary elements of a motion for summary judgment and any response thereto are plain

and unambiguous.” Thomas v. Zipp Express, No. 2015-06-0546, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp.

App. Bd. LEXIS 22, at *11 n.4 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 15, 2017).

As noted above, the trial court granted Employer’s motion for summary judgment

because Employee provided no causation opinion to support her claim. She also failed to

respond to the motion consistent with the requirements of Rule 56. On appeal, Employee

has not filed a brief as required by Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-22-.03(3) (2018)

and has not otherwise offered any argument as to how the trial court erred in granting

Employer’s motion.

Employee does contend that counsel for Employer violated her privacy by

obtaining her medical records, that efforts to obtain her medical records were used to

“intimidate” her, that defense counsel “removed” medical records that would have

benefited her claim, that “none of [her] proof was considered,” and that “[t]his appeal

includes things that were not considered in the decision” of the trial court. Unfortunately,

however, Employee does not address the legal basis for the trial court’s decision granting

summary judgment, which is the issue dispositive of this appeal. We decline to speculate

3

about what arguments Employee might make, and it is not our role “to research or

construct a litigant’s case or arguments for him or her.” Sneed v. Bd. of Prof’l

Responsibility of the Sup. Ct. of Tenn., 301 S.W.3d 603, 615 (Tenn. 2010).

We also note it is well-established that we will not consider documents or

information on appeal that was not presented to and considered by the trial court. See

Hadzic v. Averitt Express, No. 2014-02-0064, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 14,

at *13 n.4 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 18, 2015). Thus, we have not

considered the materials submitted by Employee with her notice of appeal that are not

properly part of the record. We have likewise disregarded documents attached to

Employer’s brief that are not part of the record.

II.

Employer has asked that this appeal be deemed frivolous and that it be awarded

attorney’s fees.

A frivolous appeal is one that is devoid of merit or brought solely for delay.

Yarbrough v. Protective Servs. Co., Inc., No. 2015-08-0574, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App.

Bd. LEXIS 3, at *11 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 25, 2016). Stated another

way, “[a] frivolous appeal is one that . . . had no reasonable chance of succeeding.”

Adkins v. Studsvik, Inc., No. E2014-00444-SC-R3-WC, 2015 Tenn. LEXIS 588, at *30

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel July 21, 2015). Although we conclude that this appeal had

no realistic chance of success and is frivolous, we exercise our discretion not to assess

attorneys’ fees or costs against Employee. See Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-22-

.04(6) (2018).

We affirm the trial court’s grant of Employer’s motion for summary judgment and

certify the court’s order as final.

4

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Rosalind Williamson ) Docket No. 2017-08-0203

)

v. ) State File No. 78680-2016

)

Professional Care Services, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Deana C. Seymour, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 13th day of August, 2018.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Rosalind Williamson X Forgive12001@yahoo.com

Nicholas Peterson X nicholas.peterson@petersonwhite.com

Ryan Malone X ryan@petersonwhite.com

Deana C. Seymour, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.