Opinion

Simpson, William v. City Auto, LLC

  • 2018 TN WC App. 29
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Jun 13, 2018
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

FILED

Jun 13, 2018

03:20 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

William Simpson ) Docket No. 2017-08-0805

)

v. ) State File No. 46115-2017

)

City Auto, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Deana Seymour, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded – Filed June 13, 2018

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee alleged he passed out at work due to excessive

heat, fell, and struck the concrete floor. The employer argued the employee’s syncopal

episode was caused by an unrelated medical condition, the accident was idiopathic, and

the claim was not compensable. The trial court determined the employee had come

forward with sufficient evidence to indicate a likelihood of prevailing at trial on the issue

of compensability and awarded medical and temporary disability benefits. In addition,

the trial court denied the employee’s request for attorneys’ fees. Both parties appealed.

We affirm the trial court’s decision and remand the case.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

Monica Rejaei, Memphis, Tennessee, for the employee-appellant/appellee, William

Simpson

Gordon C. Aulgur, Lansing, Michigan, for the employer-appellee/appellant, City Auto,

LLC

Factual and Procedural Background

William Simpson (“Employee”), a 59-year-old resident of Shelby County,

Tennessee, worked for City Auto, LLC (“Employer”), as an automobile technician.

Employer had two shops on its premises and, on June 20, 2017, Employee was working

alone in what the parties referred to as the “second shop.” Both parties agreed that the

interiors of the shops become extremely hot on summer days. Although the shops were

1

not air-conditioned, Employer provided industrial fans to help circulate air, as well as ice-

cold water, Gatorade, ice-cold towels, and popsicles. Employee estimated that, even with

the fans operating, it was between 115 and 120 degrees inside the shop on a hot day.

On this particular date, Employee had been working alone in the second shop

when he started to feel hot. He sat down, drank some water, and put a wet towel around

his head. Because he continued to feel bad, he decided to walk to the other shop and

report to his supervisor that he was not feeling well. With respect to this point, the

testimony of the parties differed. Employer’s witnesses testified Employee came into the

main shop and began to discuss a problem with the lift that was used in the second shop

to repair vehicles. The service advisor to whom Employee spoke when he entered the

main shop, Stephanie Oakes, denied Employee made any comments about feeling hot or

experiencing other heat-related symptoms.1 Nevertheless, both Employee and Ms. Oakes

testified that during this conversation, Employee started to have difficulty speaking,

turned pale, and then stumbled backwards. Ms. Oakes stated that Employee “zoned out

in a way, kind of like hazy eyes . . . and then just fell backwards.” When he fell back, his

head struck the concrete floor, and he remained unconscious for an unknown period of

time.2

Employer called 911, and paramedics arrived at the scene. After regaining

consciousness, Employee told the paramedics he did not recall the fall and stated he did

not want to be taken to a hospital. Ms. Oakes testified Employee was “pretty

disoriented” after the fall, and a co-worker took a photograph of the back of Employee’s

head to show him where he was bleeding. Various co-workers encouraged Employee to

go to a hospital but, ultimately, at Employee’s request, Employer’s shuttle driver drove

him home.

Employee testified he insisted on going home first because he did not want to

worry his wife. When he arrived home, his wife immediately transported him to a local

hospital where he was admitted. Employee testified he remained in “neurology ICU” for

“18 to 20 days.”3 He was diagnosed with a traumatic head injury and has been treated

primarily by Dr. Ahmad Al-Hamda, a neurologist. Employer denied Employee’s claim

for workers’ compensation benefits, asserting Employee’s injuries were idiopathic in

nature and not compensable.

1

Employee described Ms. Oakes as his “boss,” but Ms. Oakes testified that, as a service advisor, she

discusses service repair tickets with the technicians but has no supervisory responsibilities over the

technicians.

2

Medical records from Baptist Hospital (“Baptist”) indicate Employee suffered a “traumatic subdural

hemorrhage with loss of consciousness of 30 minutes or less.” He was also diagnosed with “hypertensive

heart disease with heart failure” and “anxiety disorder.” Another provider at Baptist noted Employee

“had syncopal episode[,] hit head[,] and had roughly 2 min [loss of consciousness].” In that same report,

“occupational exposure” was listed as a risk factor.

3

Medical records from Baptist indicate that 7 days of his 18-day hospital stay were spent in ICU.

2

At the expedited hearing, Employee stated he continued to experience difficulty

speaking, could not focus on tasks, and had memory problems. He claimed he cannot

drive, cannot return to work, and will be forced to retire. In addition, Employee denied

any history of strokes, seizures, or prior head trauma.

Following the expedited hearing, the trial court determined Employee had come

forward with sufficient evidence to indicate he would likely prevail at trial on the issue of

compensability, and it ordered Employer to provide both medical and temporary total

disability benefits. The trial court also denied Employee’s interlocutory request for

attorney’s fees. Both parties have appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2017). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2017).

Analysis

At an expedited hearing, an employee need not prove each and every element of

his or her claim by a preponderance of the evidence in order to obtain temporary

disability benefits or medical benefits. See McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing,

No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers’

Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). Instead, an employee has the burden to come forward

with sufficient evidence from which the trial court can determine that the employee is

likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-239(d)(1). Id. Thus, while an injured worker retains the burden of proof at

all stages of a workers’ compensation claim, a trial court can grant relief at an expedited

hearing if the court is satisfied that the employee has met the burden of showing he or she

is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(1).

3

On the other hand, “this lesser evidentiary standard . . . does not relieve an

employee of the burden of producing evidence of an injury by accident that arose

primarily out of and in the course and scope of employment at an expedited hearing, but

allows some relief to be granted if that evidence does not rise to the level of a

‘preponderance of the evidence.’” Buchanan v. Carlex Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012,

2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at * 6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Sept.

29, 2015). On appeal, it is our responsibility to conduct an in-depth examination of the

trial court’s factual findings and conclusions, see Wilhelm v. Krogers, 235 S.W.3d 122,

126 (Tenn. 2007), within the mandate set out in Tennessee Code Annotated sections 50-

6-217(a)(3) (2017) and 50-6-239(c)(7).

Idiopathic Fall

In its notice of appeal, Employer asserts the trial court erred in determining

Employee’s injuries were not caused by an idiopathic fall. This is a misstatement of the

trial court’s rationale. Instead of concluding Employee’s injuries were not caused by an

idiopathic fall, the trial court determined that, even if Employee’s fall was caused by an

idiopathic condition, his injuries are compensable “if an employment hazard causes or

exacerbates the injury.” McCaffery v. Cardinal Logistics, No. 2015-08-0218, 2015 TN

Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 50, at *10 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Dec. 10,

2015) (internal citation and quotations marks omitted). The trial court then noted three

factors supporting its determination regarding medical causation. First, Employee

testified without contradiction he was working in a hot, humid, and dusty shop when he

began to feel ill. Second, the trial court relied on Dr. Al-Hamda’s opinion that

Employee’s syncopal episode was causally related to his hot work environment. Third,

the trial court noted no other medical proof had been offered suggesting any other cause

of Employee’s syncopal episode.

We addressed a similar argument in Frye v. Vincent Printing Co., No. 2016-06-

0327, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 34 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Aug.

2, 2016). In that case, the employee alleged she became dizzy due to exposure to a

workplace chemical, resulting in a fall. Id. at *2-3. In response to the employer’s

argument that the employee’s fall was idiopathic in nature and not compensable, we

noted, “an accidental injury arises out of employment when there is apparent to the

rational mind, upon consideration of all the circumstances, a causal connection between

the conditions under which the work is required to be performed and the resulting

injury.” Id. at *13-14 (quoting Phillips v. A&H Constr. Co., 134 S.W.3d 145, 151 (Tenn.

2004)). With that principle in mind, we affirmed the trial court’s interlocutory award of

benefits. Id. at *14-15.

In the present case, Employee’s unrefuted testimony was that he was working in a

hot, humid, and dusty environment when he began to feel ill. Within five minutes of

walking to the main shop, he began to stumble over his speech, became pale, and fell

backwards, striking his head on the concrete floor. Moreover, in response to an inquiry

4

from Employee’s counsel, Dr. Al-Hamda agreed that Employee’s dizziness and

subsequent loss of consciousness were “a direct result of working in heated temperatures”

and that the working conditions “contributed more than fifty percent (50%) in causing his

injuries, considering all causes.” Dr. Al-Hamda also wrote a letter stating Employee had

suffered a “traumatic brain injury from heat stroke,” and that Employee had been unable

to work since the date of the incident. Employer offered no evidence of a pre-existing

medical condition that could cause dizziness or a loss of consciousness, and offered no

medical opinion contradicting Dr. Al-Hamda’s opinions. Under these circumstances, we

conclude the preponderance of the evidence supports the trial court’s determination that

Employee is likely to prevail at trial in establishing the compensability of his claim.

Denial of Attorneys’ Fees

Employee has appealed the trial court’s denial of his interlocutory request for

attorneys’ fees, asserting the trial court erred in determining this case does not fall within

the “extremely limited circumstances” supporting such an award. See Thompson v.

Comcast Corp., No. 2017-05-0639, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 1, at *31

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 30, 2018). In support of his argument, Employee

asserts that an interlocutory award of attorneys’ fees is justified because Employer:

(1) reached its own medical conclusion that Employee’s injuries were due to an

idiopathic condition without obtaining an expert opinion; (2) continued its denial of the

claim even after receiving Dr. Al-Hamda’s responses to Employee’s causation inquiry;

and (3) failed to seek an expert medical opinion contradicting the opinions offered by Dr.

Al-Hamda. Moreover, Employee offers two policy arguments supporting its claim for

attorneys’ fees. First, Employee asserts a ruling in favor of awarding attorneys’ fees at an

interlocutory stage of the case would “discourage employers from blanket denying claims

absent [a] legitimate basis.” Second, Employee argues such an award would “show

counsel that represent injured workers in Tennessee that they can be compensated for

their zealous advocacy.”

In Andrews v. Yates Services, LLC, No. 2016-05-0854, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App.

Bd. LEXIS 22 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 8, 2018), we addressed an

interlocutory request for attorneys’ fees.4 Id. at *5. In affirming the trial court’s decision

to deny the employee’s request for attorneys’ fees and expenses based on an alleged

wrongful denial of a claim, we first noted that the statute “vests the trial court with

discretion to award or not to award attorneys’ fees and expenses” and that “we will

review any such decision under an abuse of discretion standard.”5 Id. at *12. Second, we

4

This was the second appeal in that case. See also Andrews v. Yates Services, LLC, No. 2016-05-0854,

2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 35 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 23, 2017).

5

As explained by the Tennessee Supreme Court, “[a]n abuse of discretion occurs when a court strays

beyond the applicable legal standards or when it fails to properly consider the factors customarily used to

guide the particular discretionary decision.” Lee Med., Inc. v. Beecher, 312 S.W.3d 515, 524 (Tenn.

2010).

5

emphasized that a trial court could consider whether the employer’s decision to deny a

claim was “incorrect, erroneous, or otherwise inconsistent with the law or facts at the

time the decision was made.” Id. at *13. Third, we noted that, “in evaluating an

employee’s claim for attorneys’ fees and expenses, a trial court may consider not only

information reasonably available to an employer at the time the denial decision was

made, but also pertinent, additional information or subsequent events that bear on the

denial decision.” Id. at *13 n.5.

In the present case, the trial court quoted our opinion in Thompson for the

proposition that an interlocutory award of attorneys’ fees and expenses should be made

only in “extremely limited circumstances” due to the “uncertainties inherent in litigation,

the limited issues typically addressed at expedited hearings, the fact that discovery and

medical proof often are incomplete at an interlocutory stage of a case, . . . and the fact

that a trial judge’s determinations at an interlocutory hearing are subject to change at any

time prior to the entry of a final compensation order.” See Thompson, 2018 TN Wrk.

Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 1, at *28-29. The trial court then determined that “this case does

not fall within ‘extremely limited circumstances’ to justify an award of attorneys’ fees at

this interlocutory stage.”

Employer argues that the causation inquiry Employee’s counsel sent to Dr. Al-

Hamda was incomplete or misleading. Employer also asserts that the medical records

submitted to date revealed no evidence of “heat stroke” or other heat-related maladies

that caused Employee’s syncopal episode. Next, Employer argues that Employee failed

to establish any “special hazard of employment” that caused or contributed to his injury,

because he suffered a syncopal episode of unknown cause, fell straight back, and struck

nothing during his fall other than the floor. Under the circumstances, we cannot conclude

the trial court abused its discretion in denying Employee’s interlocutory request for

attorneys’ fees.6

Conclusion

We conclude the trial court did not err in awarding temporary disability and

medical benefits based on its determination that Employee is likely to prevail at trial in

establishing the compensability of his claim. We also conclude the trial court did not

abuse its discretion in denying Employee’s interlocutory request for attorneys’ fees. The

trial court’s order is affirmed in its entirety, and the case is remanded to the trial court for

further proceedings.

6

With respect to Employee’s policy arguments, we note that nothing prohibits Employee from re-

asserting a claim for attorneys’ fees and expenses at the final compensation hearing.

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

William Simpson ) Docket No. 2017-08-0805

)

v. ) State File No. 46115-2017

)

City Auto, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Deana Seymour, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 13th day of June, 2018.

Name Certified First Via Fax Via Sent to:

Mail Class Fax Number Email

Mail

Monica Rejaei X mrejaei@nstlaw.com

Gordon Aulgur X gordon.aulgur@accidentfund.com

Deana Seymour, X Via Electronic Mail

Judge

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.