Opinion

Heard, April v. Carrier Corporation

  • 2018 TN WC App. 14
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Apr 20, 2018
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

FILED

Apr 20, 2018

02:57 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

April Heard ) Docket No. 2017-08-1070

)

v. )

) State File No. 65603-2017

Carrier Corporation, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded – Filed April 20, 2018

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee suffered a compensable injury when she was

pushed by a robotic cart at work. The authorized treating physician released the

employee to return to work with restrictions and the employer agreed to accommodate

her restrictions. Thereafter, however, the employee was identified as one of hundreds of

employees subject to a seasonal layoff pursuant to the terms of a collective bargaining

agreement. The employee sought temporary partial disability benefits during the layoff,

which the employer declined to provide. Following an expedited hearing, the trial court

determined the employee was not entitled to the additional temporary benefits and the

employee has appealed. We affirm the decision of the trial court and remand the case.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

April S. Heard, Memphis, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

Eugene S. Forrester, Jr., and Garrett M. Estep, Memphis, Tennessee, for the employer-

appellee, Carrier Corporation

Factual and Procedural Background

April S. Heard (“Employee”) worked as an inventory control technician for

Carrier Corporation (“Employer”) at its location in Collierville, Tennessee.1 On August

1

The parties did not file a transcript of the expedited hearing, but Employer filed a proposed “Joint

Statement of the Evidence,” which was not signed by Employee. Subsequently, the trial court resolved

this issue and entered an order approving the statement of the evidence in accordance with Tenn. Comp.

1

24, 2017, Employee was pushed by a robotic cart and suffered injuries that Employer

accepted as compensable. The authorized physician, Dr. Robert Lonergan, diagnosed

strains and contusions to Employee’s thoracic and lumbar spine, as well as contusions to

her legs and arms. On August 30, 2017, Dr. Lonergan indicated Employee could return

to work with restrictions. Employer offered to accommodate the restrictions, and

Employee returned to work the evening of August 30.

However, as of September 1, 2017, Employee was identified as one of

approximately four hundred employees subject to a seasonal layoff pursuant to the terms

of a collective bargaining agreement. Employee asserted she was entitled to temporary

partial disability benefits during the layoff, but Employer declined to provide those

benefits.2 At the expedited hearing, Employer argued it had accommodated Employee’s

restrictions and, but for the unrelated seasonal layoff, she could have continued working

in a light duty capacity and was therefore not entitled to temporary disability benefits

during the period of the layoff. Employee argued she did not work elsewhere during the

layoff and did not receive unemployment compensation because she was “under workers’

compensation.” She argued, therefore, she should be entitled to temporary partial

disability benefits during the period of her layoff. The trial court denied her claim for

temporary partial disability benefits, and Employee has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2017). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

R. & Regs. 0800-02-22-.02(1) (2017). Thus, we have gleaned the facts from the pleadings, exhibits, the

approved statement of the evidence, and the trial court’s expedited hearing order.

2

On January 3, 2018, Employee returned to work for Employer in a sedentary position, but was

subsequently taken out of work by Dr. Lonergan on or about January 22, 2018. Employee’s entitlement

to temporary disability benefits as of January 22, 2018 was not an issue during the expedited hearing, and

we do not address it.

2

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2017).

Analysis

To qualify for temporary disability benefits, an employee must establish: (1) that

he or she became disabled from working due to a compensable injury; (2) that there is a

causal connection between the injury and the inability to work; and (3) the duration of the

period of disability. Jones v. Crencor Leasing and Sales, No. 2015-06-0332, 2015 TN

Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 48, at *7 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Dec. 11, 2015)

(citing Simpson v. Satterfield, 564 S.W.2d 953, 955 (Tenn. 1978)). Temporary partial

disability benefits (“TPD”), a category of vocational disability distinct from temporary

total disability, is available when the temporary disability is not total. See Tenn. Code

Ann. § 50-6-207(1)-(2) (2017). Specifically, “[t]emporary partial disability refers to the

time, if any, during which the injured employee is able to resume some gainful

employment but has not reached maximum recovery.” Williams v. Saturn Corp., No.

M2004-01215-WC-R3-CV, 2005 Tenn. LEXIS 1032, at *6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp.

Panel Nov. 15, 2005). Thus, in circumstances where the treating physician has released

the injured worker to return to work with restrictions prior to maximum recovery, and the

employer either (1) cannot return the employee to work within the restrictions or (2)

cannot provide restricted work for a sufficient number of hours and/or at a rate of pay

equal to or greater than the employee’s average weekly wage on the date of injury, the

injured worker may be eligible for temporary partial disability. Jones, 2015 TN Wrk.

Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 48, at *8.

In the present case, the trial court determined Employee accepted Employer’s offer

of a position accommodating her work restrictions. Employee’s subsequent layoff was

unrelated to the physical requirements of her restricted position or Employer’s ability to

accommodate her restrictions. She was selected for the layoff based on the terms of a

collective bargaining agreement, and there is no evidence she was treated differently

from other employees in similar circumstances. In short, the evidence presented at the

expedited hearing does not preponderate against the trial court’s determination that

Employee “has not met the requirements for TPD benefits.”

Moreover, Employee has not filed a brief on appeal, and she has made no

substantive arguments to explain how she asserts the trial court erred in its determination.

She attached to her notice of appeal medical records that were not provided to the trial

court and were not admitted into evidence at the expedited hearing. We will not consider

documents or other materials on appeal that were not admitted into evidence and

available for the trial court’s consideration. Hadzic v. Averitt Express, No. 2014-02-

0064, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 14, at *13, n.4 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp.

App. Bd. May 18, 2015).

3

We note that Employee is self-represented in this appeal, as she was in the trial

court. Parties who decide to represent themselves are entitled to fair and equal treatment

by the courts. Whitaker v. Whirlpool Corp., 32 S.W.3d 222, 227 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2000).

Yet, as explained by the Tennessee Court of Appeals:

The courts should take into account that many pro se litigants have no legal

training and little familiarity with the judicial system. However, the courts

must also be mindful of the boundary between fairness to a pro se litigant

and unfairness to the pro se litigant’s adversary. Thus, the courts must not

excuse pro se litigants from complying with the same substantive and

procedural rules that represented parties are expected to observe. . . . Pro se

litigants should not be permitted to shift the burden of the litigation to the

courts or to their adversaries.

Hessmer v. Hessmer, 138 S.W.3d 901, 903-04 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2003) (citations omitted).

We conclude that the trial court’s determination in this case is supported by the

preponderance of the evidence.

Conclusion

In light of the foregoing, the trial court’s decision is affirmed and the case is

remanded to the trial court for additional proceedings.

4

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

April Heard ) Docket No. 2017-08-1070

)

v. ) State File No. 65603-2017

)

Carrier Corporation, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 20th day of April, 2018.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

April Heard X aprilheard72@yahoo.com

Eugene S. Forrester X cforrester@farris-law.com

Amber E Luttrell, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.