Opinion

Burnett, Jay v. Builders Transportation

  • 2018 TN WC App. 5
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Feb 8, 2018
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

(HEARD JANUARY 10, 2018 AT JACKSON)

Jay Burnett ) Docket No. 2017-08-0409

)

v. ) State File No. 14753-2017

)

Builders Transportation, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Deana C. Seymour, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded - Filed February 8, 2018

The employee, a truck driver, suffered injuries when steel pipes he was delivering rolled

off a flatbed trailer and struck him. The employer denied the employee’s claim for

benefits, asserting the employee failed to use pipe stakes to secure the load and that such

failure amounted to willful misconduct or a willful failure or refusal to use a safety

device. At an expedited hearing, the parties stipulated that the only issue was whether the

employee was guilty of willful misconduct, and that if not, the employee would be

entitled to temporary disability and medical benefits as a result of the work-related injury.

Following the hearing, the trial court awarded benefits, finding the employer did not

present sufficient evidence to establish its affirmative defense and concluding the

employee established he is likely to prevail at trial. The employer has appealed. We

affirm the trial court’s order awarding temporary disability and medical benefits and

remand the case.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Michael W. Jones, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Builders

Transportation

Shannon L. Toon, Memphis, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Jay Burnett

1

Factual and Procedural Background

Jay Burnett (“Employee”), a fifty-three-year-old resident of Perryville, Missouri,

worked as an over-the-road truck driver for Builders Transportation Company, LLC

(“Employer”). On February 26, 2017, he left Perryville driving Employer’s truck with an

empty flatbed trailer en route to Tenaris, a manufacturer of steel pipes located in

Blytheville, Arkansas. Upon his arrival, he “dropped” his flatbed trailer in a designated

drop area and located the trailer loaded with steel pipes that he was to transport to

Consolidated Pipe & Supply Co. (“Consolidated”), in Birmingham, Alabama.

According to a statement signed by Employee, upon backing to the loaded trailer,

but before hooking it up, he inspected the trailer.1 He described the load as being “about

[four] tiers high with lumber securement and with [four] straps attached.” His statement

indicated he hooked the trailer to his truck and “added the needed additional straps and

[four] pipe stakes for securement of the load.” After checking the trailer lights, he drove

onto the scales and went inside the office where he was given paperwork describing the

load and the weight of the load. After “signing out,” he left en route to Consolidated, but

stopped before reaching Birmingham to park overnight because Consolidated would not

be open until the next morning.

Early the next morning he arrived at Consolidated, parking his truck “in line”

where other trucks were located outside of Consolidated’s premises before walking to the

“guard/check-in office.” He was instructed he would be notified “when they were ready

for [him],” after which he returned to his truck. Upon being notified, he “proceeded to

the guard shack at the gate for them to let [him] onto the yard.” His written statement

described the events that followed.

After checking my load, they opened the gate and I proceeded to the yard to

the unloading point. I was instructed to unstrap the load to allow them to

unload. After inspecting the load, I started loosening wenches [sic]/straps

at the front of the trailer moving my way back towards the back of the

trailer. As I neared the last two straps, I heard something move or break. I

tried to get out of the way but was not able. I was hit by pipes that fell off

the trailer.

Employee sustained serious injuries and was transported by ambulance to the

University of Alabama Medical Center in Birmingham where he underwent numerous

surgeries and remained hospitalized until April 20, 2017.2 Employer promptly completed

a First Report of Work Injury. However, following its investigation of the accident,

1

The statement was admitted into evidence at the expedited hearing by agreement of the parties.

2

There is no dispute concerning Employee’s medical care and treatment. Accordingly, we need not

summarize the nature or extent of the medical treatment.

2

Employer denied Employee’s claim for workers’ compensation benefits based upon

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-110(a) (2017), asserting Employee willfully

failed or refused to use a safety device by failing to properly secure his load with pipe

stakes, and that his failure to use the pipe stakes constituted willful misconduct.3

Although present at the expedited hearing, Employee did not testify in person. He

gave his account of the accident through an affidavit and the written statement addressed

above, both of which were admitted into evidence without objection. Employee’s

affidavit stated, among other matters, that Employer denied him workers’ compensation

benefits “based upon willful misconduct and willful violation of safety equipment [sic].”

It further stated, “I deny any alleged willful misconduct and/or any alleged violation of

safety equipment [sic].”4

The trial court heard testimony from Employer’s training supervisor, Robert Hall,

and its safety and risk director, A. J. Sellers. Neither of these representatives witnessed

the incident. Mr. Hall’s testimony established that Employee had been trained in and had

knowledge of Employer’s policies and procedures, particularly in regard to securing

loads for transport. Documents bearing Employee’s signature were introduced into

evidence to support Mr. Hall’s testimony.

Mr. Sellers testified that he went to Birmingham to inspect the truck and trailer

and to visit the accident scene the day after the accident occurred. Because he needed

time to travel to Birmingham, he asked Employer’s facility manager in Birmingham to go

to Consolidated’s yard and photograph the scene. He also requested and received

photographs from someone at Consolidated, which were entered into evidence over

Employee’s objection. No photographs taken by Employer’s Birmingham facility

manager were offered into evidence, and the Birmingham facility manager did not testify.

Mr. Sellers inspected the truck and trailer at Employer’s Birmingham facility where they

had been moved after the accident. The steel pipes Employee delivered to Consolidated

were not on the trailer at the time of his inspection. Mr. Sellers testified that the pipe

stakes were stored on the truck and were undamaged and appeared “rusted,” indicating to

him that the stakes had not been used recently. Neither Mr. Sellers nor Mr. Hall testified

that there was any record of any policy violations or disciplinary actions taken against

Employee before the February 2017 accident.

At the expedited hearing, the parties agreed that the only disputed issue was

whether there was any willful misconduct by Employee. The trial court phrased the issue

in its expedited hearing order as whether Employer “is likely to establish at a hearing on

the merits that [Employee’s] willful misconduct or willful violation of a safety rule bars

3

As explained by Employer’s witness, A. J. Sellers, pipe stakes are pieces of metal that fit into holes on

the side of the flatbed trailer that provide additional security to prevent a load from rolling or falling off.

4

The affidavit, however, did not address his alleged use of pipe stakes.

3

his claim.” The trial court found that Employer failed to present evidence to overcome

Employee’s assertion that he used the pipe stakes and awarded Employee temporary

disability and medical benefits. Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2017). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2017).

Analysis

Employer identifies a single issue on appeal, asserting it “presented sufficient

evidence to meet [its] burden of proof on the essential elements of the ‘Mitchell Defense’

from which the lower court could determine [it is] likely to prevail on that defense.”

(Emphasis added.) Citing McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063,

2015 TN Wrk. Comp App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar 27,

2015), Employer contends that a lesser evidentiary standard applies at the expedited

hearing stage and allows some relief to be granted even if the evidence does not rise to

the level of a preponderance of the evidence. It asserts that it provided sufficient

evidence from which the trial court could determine that it is “likely to prevail at a

Compensation Hearing” in establishing its affirmative defense.

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(1) provides that a workers’

compensation judge may hear disputes on an expedited basis and enter an interlocutory

order for temporary disability or medical benefits “upon determining that the injured

employee would likely prevail at a hearing on the merits.” (Emphasis added.) We have

consistently described this burden of proof as a “lesser evidentiary standard” than a

preponderance of the evidence. See Helgerson v. Packer Sanitation Servs., Inc., No.

2014-03-0023, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 38, at *10-11 (Tenn. Workers’

4

Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 23, 2015); Lallo v. Marion Environmental, Inc., No. 2015-06-

0287, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 32, at *6-7 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App.

Bd. Sept. 4, 2015).

Here, the trial court determined that Employee “has shown he is likely to prevail at

a hearing on the merits regarding his claim for benefits,” which is the appropriate

standard of proof applicable to an employee at the expedited hearing stage of litigation.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(1). However, this evidentiary standard, by its very

terms, is applicable to an employee seeking temporary disability or medical benefits on an

expedited basis. Nothing in section 50-6-239 addresses an employer’s affirmative

defenses or the standard of proof applicable in establishing those defenses at an expedited

hearing. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239.

Employer’s defense relies on Tennessee Code Annotated sections 50-6-110(a)(1)

and (4), which provide that no compensation “shall be allowed for an injury” due to the

employee’s “willful misconduct” or the employee’s “willful failure or refusal to use a

safety device.” Section 50-6-110(b) provides that if an employer defends on either of

these grounds “the burden of proof shall be on the employer to establish the defense.”

Irrespective of the burden of proof placed upon an employer at a trial on the merits who

asserts an affirmative defense pursuant to section 50-6-110(a), section 50-6-239(d)(1)

provides that the standard applicable in determining whether an employee is entitled to

benefits at an expedited hearing is whether the evidence is sufficient for the court to

determine “that the employee would likely prevail at a hearing on the merits.” Tenn.

Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(1).

We previously applied the test set out in Mitchell v. Fayetteville Public Utilities,

368 S.W.3d 442 (Tenn. 2012), for determining whether an injured worker committed

willful misconduct or willfully failed or refused to use a safety device. See Roper v.

Allegis Group, No. 2016-01-0546, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 14 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Feb. 10, 2017). In Roper, we reiterated the four elements of a

successful defense based on section 50-6-110(a): “(1) the employee’s actual, as opposed

to constructive, notice of the rule; (2) the employee’s understanding of the danger

involved in violating the rule; (3) the employer’s bona fide enforcement of the rule; and

(4) the employee’s lack of a valid excuse for violating the rule.” Id. at *7. Additionally,

we have observed that “it stands to reason that the existence of a violation must occur to

successfully invoke this defense.” Neal v. Connect Express, LLC, No. 2016-06-1872,

2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 9, at *10 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan.

30, 2017).

In the instant case, Employee’s signed statement reflects that, when he was

preparing to depart for Birmingham, he “added the needed additional straps and [four]

pipe stakes for securement of the load.” Neither of Employer’s witnesses at the

expedited hearing actually saw the accident occur or investigated the accident on the day

5

of its occurrence. Neither investigated the accident while the truck and trailer were

present at the accident location. Photographs admitted into evidence show the purported

accident scene, but the person who took the photographs did not testify. The only

testimony concerning those photos was provided by Mr. Sellers, who was able to testify

only as to how he received the photographs. By the time Mr. Sellers examined the truck

and trailer, the steel pipes had been unloaded from the trailer and the truck and trailer had

been moved to Employer’s Birmingham facility. Mr. Sellers offered no testimony as to

how the pipe stakes came to be placed in the storage area on the truck and trailer.

The trial court analyzed the facts consistently with Mitchell and determined that

Employer “failed to present evidence to overcome [Employee’s] assertion that he used

the pipe stakes.” In short, although there was circumstantial evidence to the contrary, the

trial court accepted Employee’s account that he added the four pipe stakes. The trial

court rejected Employer’s defense and concluded Employee “did not ‘willfully’ violate a

safety rule or commit ‘willful’ misconduct.” Based on these determinations, the trial

court found that Employee “has shown he is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits

regarding his claim for benefits.” The preponderance of the evidence supports the trial

court’s determinations at this interlocutory stage of the case.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s decision and remand the case

for any further proceedings that may be necessary.

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Jay Burnett ) Docket No. 2017-08-0409

)

v. ) State File No. 14753-2017

)

Builders Transportation, et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 8th day of February, 2018.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Shannon L. Toon X stoon@taylortoon.com

Michael W. Jones X mjones@wimberlylawson.com

Deana C. Seymour, X Via Electronic Mail

Judge

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.