Opinion

Skinner, John Matthew v. Marion Environmental, Inc.

  • 2017 TN WC 193
Court
Tennessee Court of Workers' Compensation Claims
Filed
Oct 16, 2017
Status
Published
On the bench
Pamela B. Johnson
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

FILED

October 16,2017

TN COURT OF

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

CLAIMS

Time: 4:30 PM

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

IN THE COURT OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CLAIMS

AT KNOXVILLE

JOHN MATTHEW SKINNER, ) Docket No.: 2016-03-1322

Employee, )

V. )

MARION ENVIRONMENTAL, INC., ) State File No.: 94447-2016

Employer, )

And )

GREENWICH INSURANCE CoO., ) Judge Pamela B. Johnson

Carrier. )

EXPEDITED HEARING ORDER GRANTING BENEFITS

(Decision on the Record)

This matter came before the undersigned Workers’ Compensation Judge for an

Expedited Hearing. John Matthew Skinner filed a Request for Expedited Hearing on July

24, 2017, seeking a decision on the record instead of convening an evidentiary hearing.

Marion Environmental, Inc. filed its response on August 18, 2017, but did not request an

evidentiary hearing. The Court issued a Docketing Notice on August 24, 2017, listing the

documents filed. The Court gave the parties until September 5, 2017, to file position

statements and any objection to the admissibility of the listed documents. Marion filed

Objections to Admissibility on September 5, 2017, and, with leave of Court, Mr. Skinner

filed his response to the admissibility objections on September 26, 2017.

Upon careful consideration of the record, this Court finds it needs no additional

information to determine whether Mr. Skinner is likely to prevail at a hearing on the

merits of the claim. Therefore, under Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(2)

(2016) and Tennessee Compilation Rules and Regulations 0800-02-21-.14(1)(c) (2016),

the Court decides this matter upon a review of the written materials.

The central legal issue is whether Mr. Skinner is likely to prevail at a hearing on

the merits regarding entitlement to medical and temporary total disability benefits, and

attorney’s fees. For the reasons set forth below, the Court holds Mr. Skinner came

forward with sufficient evidence demonstrating he is likely to prevail at a hearing on the

!

|

merits that he provided proper notice of his injury and entitled to a panel of physicians.

This Court concludes Mr. Skinner is not entitled to any of the other requested benefits at

this time.

History of Claim

A review of the written materials revealed the following facts.’ Mr. Skinner

worked for Marion as an Emergency Manager/ Incident Commander/ Hazmat Response

Technician and the Knoxville Branch Manager for approximately ten years. During his

employment, his work projects exposed him to many hazardous and toxic materials,

including but not limited to: molds, heavy metals, petroleum-based substances, fungal

contamination, and other chemical and biological materials. He alleged exposure to

fungal contamination, through investigations and remediations, on more than 200

occasions from mid-2011 through June 2016.

Marion disputed Mr. Skinner’s alleged exposures. Ellen Gallant, owner and

president of Marion, contended 95% of Mr. Skinner’s job did not involve mold or toxic

waste but most often involved analytical and administrative functions. Ms. Gallant stated

that when Mr. Skinner’s work involved mold or toxic waste, the appropriate personal

protective equipment (PPE) and safety protocols protected him. Drake Taylor, a Marion

employee whom Mr. Skinner supervised, stated Mr. Skinner always used the proper PPE

when working on a job site. Ms. Gallant and Mr. Taylor also indicated Mr. Skinner

purchased a home in 2011 with extensive black mold in the basement, which he

remediated himself? Mr. Taylor additionally stated Mr. Skinner built a living space in

the basement of the home where he currently resides while his son lives in the upper level

of the home.

Mr. Skinner alleged he was reasonably healthy with only sinus issues becoming

problematic in the last three to five years. In March 2014, he experienced an

unexplainable pulmonary embolism, which caused scarring in his lungs and pulmonary

hypertension. On May 1, 2016, he was Project Manager over the remediation of a 1,000-

person homeless camp. The project lasted two weeks and required the removal by hand

of personal belongings and debris, including water-soaked clothing, bedding, trash,

hypodermic needles, and other waste. He suffered problems with sinus drainage,

inability to focus, memory, disconnection, and balance through December 2016.

'Marion raised objections to the admissibility of several documents that Mr. Skinner submitted. The

Court considered those objections and Mr. Skinner’s responses and ruled on each in the attached

Appendix.

*Thomas B. Lasley confirmed Ms. Gallant’s and Mr. Taylor’s statements that Mr. Skinner remediated a

home with extensive black mold.

In late November or early December 2016, Mr. Skinner notified Ms. Gallant? that

he experienced ongoing health problems and requested a panel of physicians to evaluate

his health problems. Mr. Skinner claimed his chronic sinus problems resulted in

debilitating gagging and vomiting of clear mucus, sores in his naval cavity and on his

neck and ears, nosebleeds, nausea, fatigue, and sensitivity to environmental changes.

Marion denied the request due to lack of substantiation of illness and exposure.

The parties offered contrasting explanations regarding the basis of Mr. Skinner’s

separation from Marion. Mr. Skinner reported to his medical providers that he retired

June 1, 2016, due to his health problems. Marion representatives indicated it terminated

Mr. Skinner on June 23, 2016, due to intoxication on a job site and possible driving of the

company vehicle while under the influence. Marion offered an optional alcohol

rehabilitation program for potential rehire; Mr. Skinner declined.

Mr. Skinner filed his Petition for Benefit Determination (PBD) on December 8,

2016, and, during the mediation process, Marion purportedly offered Mr. Skinner a panel

of physicians for evaluation of his condition. He declined to select a physician.

Mr. Skinner sought medical treatment on his own from Dr. John L. Wilson, Jr. at

Great Smokies Medical Center (GSMC) on January 4, 2017. Mr. Skinner reported a

twenty-five-year history of hazmat remediation and specifically noted his recent

homeless-camp-cleanup project “seemed to be the tipping point in his health.” Dr.

Wilson concluded that Mr. Skinner developed chronic inflammatory response syndrome

(CIRS). Additionally, Dr. Wilson found that Mr. Skinner’s exposure to numerous and

varied toxins including mold and mycotoxins over the course of years of hazmat work

was the most likely cause of his CIRS. Dr. Wilson charged Mr. Skinner $5,773.95 from

January 4, 2017, through June 12, 2017 for his services.’

Dr. Wilson referred him to Dr. Cynthia Libert, a GSMC colleague, for additional

testing. Dr. Libert treated Mr. Skinner for epistaxis, contact with, and (suspected)

exposure to mold (toxic), postnasal drip, and unspecified chronic sinusitis. Dr. Libert

noted a history of occupational exposure to toxic mold and stated she suspected the mold

exposure contributed to the development of both Mr. Skinner’s chronic sinus problems

and current medical problems. Dr. Libert referred him to Dr. R.J. Oenbrink, a physician

trained and certified in treatment of CIRS, for further evaluation and management.

*In his PBD, Mr. Skinner noted he reported the injury to Ms. Gallant on November 30, 2016. In his

Affidavit, Mr. Skinner stated he reported his ongoing health problem to Ms. Gallant on December 5,

2016. The First Report of Work Injury noted Mr. Skinner notified Marion on November 30, 2016.

“Mr. Skinner’s charges included expenses for office visits, testing, telephone evaluations, special letters,

and copies.

a ed

Mr. Skinner first saw Dr. Oenbrink on April 13, 2017. Dr. Oenbrink diagnosed a

myriad of conditions and noted the word “maybe” in the section of his report pertaining

to CIRS. However, in follow-up visits, Dr. Oenbrink diagnosed CIRS. In his response to

a questionnaire from Mr. Skinner’s attorney, Dr. Oenbrink indicated Mr. Skinner’s CIRS

was a natural incident of his work at Marion due to exposure to toxic mold substances.

Dr. Oenbrink further indicated that it is very unlikely that Mr. Skinner’s illnesses

originated from a hazard to which he was equally exposed outside of his employment.

Stated another way, Dr. Oenbrink said Mr. Skinner’s illnesses were incidental to the

character of his employment as a mold specialist at Marion and not independent of his

employment relationship.”

Marion introduced Dr. Oenbrink’s disciplinary record from the North Carolina

Medical Board (NCMB). On September 12, 2014, the NCMB indefinitely suspended his

medical license for unprofessional conduct and making of false statements. The NCMB

stayed the suspension on Dr. Oenbrink’s satisfaction of certain conditions including

physical presence of a chaperone for all patient encounters and utilization of a practice

mentor.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

The following legal principles govern this case. Because this case is in a posture

of an Expedited Hearing, Mr. Skinner need not prove every element of his claim by a

preponderance of the evidence in order to obtain relief. McCord v. Advantage Human

Resourcing, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *7-8, 9 (Mar. 27, 2015).

Instead, he must come forward with sufficient evidence from which this Court might

determine he is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits. Jd.; Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

239(d)(1).

Notice

The Workers’ Compensation Law provides that “[w]ithin thirty (30) days after the

first distinct manifestation of an occupational disease, the employee . . . shall give written

notice thereof to the employer[.]” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-305(a). The notice

requirement exists so that an employer “will have the opportunity to make a timely

investigation of the facts while still readily accessible, and to enable the employer to

provide timely and proper treatment for the injured employee.” Pool v. Jarmon D&Q

Transp., 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. 9, at *7-8 (Feb. 18, 2016). Thus, “the giving of

statutory notice to the employer is an absolute prerequisite to the right of an employee to

°The medical records indicated Mr. Skinner and Dr. Oenbrink exchanged numerous emails discussing

both Mr. Skinner’s medical status and their personal lives. In an email to Mr. Skinner, Dr. Oenbrink

commented, “So many folks getting screwed by attorneys, insurers, no way out after paying premiums for

prolonged periods of time, essentially receiving a death sentence that involves prolonged suffering and

debility.”

recover compensation under the workers’ compensation law. Jd. The Tennessee

Supreme Court noted the time to provide notice to the employer starts to “run in [an]

occupational disease case from the time the employee . . . knew or had reason to believe

that he was suffering from an occupational disease and that there was a causal connection

between his disability and occupation.” Christopher v. Consol. Coal Co., 440 S.W.2d

281, 286 (Tenn. 1969). “It is for the same reason that our Courts hold that before the

statute begins to run there must be knowledge upon the part of the employee, or

knowledge that he should have had, that he has an occupational disease and that it has

affected his capacity to work to a compensable extent.” Adams v. Am. Zinc Co., 326

S.W.2d 425, 427 (Tenn. 1959).

In Pool, the Appeals Board considered the notice requirement in a similar mold

exposure case resulting in illness. The Appeals Board stated the employee was required

to report his occupational illness when he knew or should have known that he had such a

condition and that it was caused by workplace exposures. The Appeals Board also noted

an employee may report his belief that he suffers from an occupational illness before an

actual diagnosis from a physician. Further, the Appeals Board stated, “[e]ven though

notice is not given and the employer is without knowledge this will not bar a claim, as a

rule, unless the employer has been prejudiced by lack of notice.” /d. at *10-11.

Here, a dispute exists concerning the reason for Mr. Skinner’s separation from

Marion in June 2016. The medical records indicate Mr. Skinner reported to Marion that

his symptoms forced him to retire. Conversely, Marion claimed it terminated Mr.

Skinner due to his intoxication while at a job site. As such, the date his illness

manifested itself and affected his capacity to work is unclear. However, the record is

clear that Marion received notice of Mr. Skinner’s alleged occupational illness on

November 30, 2016, or December 1, 2016, prior to his diagnosis of CIRS. Marion did

not establish it was prejudiced by the purported delay even assuming Mr. Skinner was

required to provide notice thirty days following his separation from Marion in June 2016.

Accordingly, this Court concludes Mr. Skinner came forward with sufficient evidence

demonstrating he is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits that he provided sufficient

notice of his occupational illness.

Causation

To be compensable, an injury must arise primarily out of and occur in the course

and scope of the employment. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14). An injury means “an

occupational disease . . . arising primarily out of and in the course and scope of

employment, that causes death, disablement or the need for medical treatment of the

employee.” Jd. For an injury to be accidental, it must be “caused by a specific incident,

or set of incidents, arising primarily out of and in the course and scope of employment,

and is identifiable by time and place of occurrence, and shall not include the aggravation

of a preexisting disease, condition or ailment unless it can be shown to a reasonable

5

degree of medical certainty that the aggravation arose primarily out of and in the course

and scope of employment.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(A).

An injury is deemed to arise primarily out of and in the course and scope of

employment “only if it has been shown by a preponderance of the evidence that the

employment contributed more than fifty percent (50%) in causing the injury, considering

all causes.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(B). Further, “[a]n injury causes death,

disablement or the need for medical treatment only if it has been shown to a reasonable

degree of medical certainty that it contributed more than fifty percent (50%) in causing

the death, disablement or need for medical treatment, considering all causes.” Tenn.

Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(C). An injury is shown to a reasonable degree of medical

certainty if “in the opinion of the physician, it is more likely than not considering all

causes, as opposed to speculation or possibility.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14).

Here, the issue is whether Mr. Skinner’s symptoms arose primarily out of the work

he performed at Marion. While Mr. Skinner produced documentation from his physician

stating a diagnosis of CIRS related to his employment, Dr. Oenbrink’s records are silent

as to the black mold remediation Mr. Skinner performed at his home. Additionally, this

Court finds Marion successfully attacked Dr. Oenbrink’s credibility based upon the

physician’s NCMB disciplinary report finding Dr. Oenbrink made a false statement and

engaged in unprofessional conduct. Dr. Oenbrink himself suggested bias against insurers

in his email commentary to Mr. Skinner.

Marion admitted it offered Mr. Skinner a selection from a qualified panel of

physicians in the Knoxville area to evaluate his alleged occupational illness and its causal

relationship to his employment at Marion. However, Mr. Skinner purportedly declined

the proffered panel.

Upon careful review of the written materials, the Court concludes Mr. Skinner did

not come forward with sufficient evidence that he is likely to prevail at a hearing on the

merits that his alleged occupational illness arose primarily out of and in the course and

scope of his employment with Marion at this time. However, this Court holds Mr.

Skinner established sufficient notice of his alleged occupational illness, which entitles

him to a panel of physicians for the evaluation and treatment of a work-related

occupational illness. Therefore, Mr. Skinner shall select a physician from the panel

previously provided by Marion, and this selected physician shall become the authorized

treating physician.

In light of this Court’s conclusions above, Mr. Skinner’s claims for reimbursement

of past medical expenses, temporary disability benefits, and attorney’s fees are denied at

this time. Mr. Skinner shall have the right to pursue these benefits at a later Expedited or

Compensation Hearing.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED as follows:

l.

Mr. Skinner shall select a physician from the previously offered panel for

evaluation and treatment of his alleged occupational illness. The physician

selected from the panel shall become the authorized treating physician under

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204.

Mr. Skinner’s claim for reimbursement of past medical expenses, temporary

disability benefits, and attorney’s fees is denied at this time, but he retains the right

to pursue these benefits at a later date.

This matter is set for a Scheduling Hearing on November 20, 2017, at 1:30 p.m.

Eastern Time. The parties must call (865) 594-0091 or (toll-free) (855) 543-5041

to participate in the Scheduling Hearing. Failure to appear by telephone may

result in a determination of the issues without your participation.

Unless interlocutory appeal of the Expedited Hearing Order is filed, compliance

with this Order must occur no later than seven business days from the date of entry

of this Order as required by Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(3).

The Carrier must submit confirmation of compliance with this Order to the Bureau

by email to WCCompliance.Program@tn.gov no later than the seventh business

day after entry of this Order. Failure to submit the necessary confirmation within

the period of compliance may result in a penalty assessment for non-compliance.

For questions regarding compliance, please contact the Workers’ Compensation

Compliance Unit via email WCCompliance.Program(@tn.gov.

ENTERED the 16th day of October, 2017.

2 te P) Moor

PAMELA B. JOHNSON, JUDGE

Court of Worker’s Compensation Claims

APPENDIX

The Court reviewed the entire case file in reaching its decision. Specifically, the

Court reviewed the following documents, marked as exhibits for ease of reference:

Exhibits:

1. Petition for Benefit Determination

2. Dispute Certification Notice

a.

Petition for Benefit Determination

b. First Report of Work Injury, Form C-20

mo Ao

Se

1

NAN ERY

Wage Statement, Form C-41

Notice of Denial of Claim for Compensation

Emails to/from Mediator and Mr. Skinner

IDENTIFICATION PURPOSES ONLY: Mold Calendar Search®

IDENTIFICATION PURPOSES ONLY: AmeriSci Bio-Chem

Analytical Data’

Medical Source Statement of Ability to Do Work-Related Activities®

Marion’s Position Statement

Show Cause Order

Order Setting Deadline to File Request for Hearing

Request for Scheduling Order

Order Setting Status Conference

Request for Expedited Hearing

a.

b.

Affidavit of John Matthew Skinner

IDENTIFICATION PURPOSES ONLY: Analytical Data Sheets (REH

Exhibits 1.1-1.4)’

IDENTIFICATION PURPOSES ONLY: 2013-2016 Calendar (REH

Exhibits 2-5)!°

°Marion objected on the bases of relevance, hearsay, confusing the issues and cumulative, and lack of

authentication. Mr. Skinner responded and argued the document was relevant, a statement made by the

declarant at the hearing level, and authenticated by his affidavit. The Court sustained the objections on

the bases of hearsay and lack of authentication.

"Marion objected to admissibility on the bases of relevance and lack of authentication. Mr. Skinner

responded and argued the document was relevant, a business record, and authenticated by his affidavit.

The Court sustained the objection based on lack of authentication.

’Marion objected to admissibility based on relevancy. Mr. Skinner responded and argued the statement

regarding his health and ability to work is relevant to his workers’ compensation claim. The Court agreed

and overruled the objection.

*Marion objected to admissibility on the bases of relevance and lack of authentication. Mr. Skinner

responded and argued the document was relevant, a business record, and authenticated by his affidavit.

The Court sustained the objection based on lack of authentication.

8. Notice of Filing Additional Medical Records

“G@monogsp

Table of Contents

Great Smokies Medical Center Medical Record Certification

Great Smokies Medical Center Medical Records

R.J. Oenbrink, D.O., Letter of Causation

R.J. Oenbrink, D.O., Medical Record Certification

R.J. Oenbrink, D.O., Medical Records

Great Smokies Medical Center Letter of Care, dated 05/04/17

9. Marion’: s Motion for Extension of Time

10. Agreed Order Allowing Extension of Time

11.Marion’s Response to Mr. Skinner’s Request for Expedited Hearing

j.

“Pr TWmeaocrp

First Report of Work Injury, Form C-20

Wage Statement, Form C-41

Panel of Physician, Form C-42

Affidavit of Ellen Gallant

Affidavit of Drake Taylor

Affidavit of Thomas B. Lasley

North Carolina Medical Board Record of Dr. Raymond Joseph

Oenbrink, D.O.

Dr. Oenbrink Letter to North Carolina Governor Pat McCrory

Charges under the Maryland Medical Practice Act, Case Nos. 2010-

0765 and 2010-0912

Department of Health and Human Services Letter to Ritchie C.

Shoemaker, M.D.

12. Marion’s Objections to Admissibility

13.Mr. Skinner’s Motion for Additional Time

14. Marion’s Response to Mr. Skinner’s Motion for Additional Time

15. Order Granting Mr. Skinner’s Motion for Additional Time

16.Mr. Skinner’s Responses to Marion’s Objections to Admissibility

Marion objected on the bases of relevance, hearsay, lack of original document, and lack of

authentication. Mr. Skinner responded and argued the document was relevant, a statement made by the

declarant at the hearing level, and authenticated by his affidavit. The Court sustained the objections on

the bases of hearsay, lack of original document, and lack of authentication.

9

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Expedited Hearing Order was

sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on the 16th day of

October, 2017.

Name Certified | Fax | Email | Service sent to:

Mail

Jonathan W. Doolan, xX jonathan(@collinsdoolan.com

Employee’s Attorney

Heather H. Douglas, xX hdouglas@manierherod.com

Employer’s Attorney

Larix Aarne

PENNY SARUM, Court Clerk

WC.Court

10

erk(@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.