Opinion

Butler, Larry v. AAA Cooper Transportation

  • 2017 TN WC App. 52
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Sep 12, 2017
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

(HEARD AUGUST 30, 2017, AT MEMPHIS)

Larry Butler ) Docket No. 2016-07-0459

)

v. ) State File No. 43507-2016

)

AAA Cooper Transportation, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Allen Phillips, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded—Filed September 12, 2017

The employee, a truck driver, suffered injuries when the tractor trailer he was driving left

the roadway and overturned. An in-cab video recording system showed the employee

slumped over, suggesting he was either asleep or unconscious, at the time the truck left

the roadway. The employer denied the claim on the bases that the employee’s injury was

idiopathic or was the result of his willful failure to perform a duty required by law as set

out in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-110(a)(5) (2016). The sole issue on

appeal is whether the employer presented sufficient evidence to establish its affirmative

defense of willful failure to perform a duty required by law. The trial court found that it

did not and ordered medical benefits. The employer has appealed. We affirm the trial

court’s decision and remand the case.

Presiding Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in

which Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Christopher M. Myatt, Memphis, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, AAA Cooper

Transportation

Emily Bragg, Memphis, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Larry Butler

Factual and Procedural Background

Larry Butler (“Employee”) worked for AAA Cooper Transportation (“Employer”)

as a truck driver. On May 22, 2016, while driving in Alabama on his assigned route to

1

Florida from Employer’s terminal in Memphis, Tennessee, Employee was involved in an

accident in which his truck left the roadway, crossed the median and the westbound lanes

of the interstate, traveled down an embankment, and ultimately came to rest on its side.

Employee was able to extricate himself from the truck and call 911. He was transported

from the accident scene to the hospital. There is no dispute that Employee was within the

course of his employment at the time of the accident and that he suffered injuries as a

result of the accident.

The Employer had recently installed a camera system that provided video of both

the inside of the cab as well as the roadway immediately in front of the truck. The video

appears to show Employee in an unconscious state immediately before and throughout

the course of the accident. Employer denied the claim, asserting Employee’s injuries

were idiopathic in nature or were the result of his willful failure to perform a duty

required by law.

At the expedited hearing, Employee was the only witness to testify. He described

feeling the truck pulling to the left and stated he was unable to bring it back under

control. He denied falling asleep and stated that if he had passed out, it had come on

suddenly and with no warning. He stated that he “didn’t blackout [sic] because there

[was] nothing, no warning, and [he] was awake going down with that truck and going

through all those trees and bushes.” He acknowledged that “anything’s a possibility,” but

reiterated his belief that he did not black out while driving. When questioned about

whether he had gotten a good night’s sleep the night before, he testified that he had and

that he had taken a nap the afternoon before as well. He described feeling good when he

left Employer’s terminal in Memphis. Employee testified that, had he felt tired or

fatigued while driving, he would have taken a break. He denied feeling fatigued or in any

way impaired prior to the accident.

Because Employer denied the claim, Employee sought treatment with his primary

care physician, Dr. David Guthrie. A medical record from the day after the accident

reflects that Employee reported experiencing some dizziness prior to the accident and

described having some fatigue as a result of new stressors in his life. When questioned

about these symptoms at the expedited hearing, Employee explained that, with respect to

his report of experiencing dizziness, Dr. Guthrie had “asked [him] if [he] got dizzy.” In

response, Employee said he was “just like everybody else. Once in a while you’ll get up

and turn around. That’s the only time . . . like if you get up too fast or something and

[he] didn’t want to lie to him and say no.” He explained that he “didn’t mean at the

wreck.” Furthermore, regarding the report of fatigue due to recent stressors, Employee

explained he meant stressors resulting from having just been in the accident and facing

uncertainty over his employment, not any new stressors before the accident.

2

After the expedited hearing, the trial court concluded Employee’s injury was not

idiopathic and that he had not willfully failed to perform a duty required by law and

ordered medical benefits.1 Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2016) (“There shall be a presumption that the

findings and conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are correct, unless the

preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.”). However, we review questions of law de

novo with no presumption of correctness. See Am. Mining Ins. Co. v. Campbell, No.

M2015-01478-SC-R3-WC, 2016 Tenn. LEXIS 907, at *18 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel

Dec. 9, 2016) (“A trial court’s conclusions of law are reviewed de novo upon the record

with no presumption of correctness.”). Moreover, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations concerns issues of law, which we review de novo with no

presumption of correctness afforded to the trial court’s findings. See Seiber v. Reeves

Logging, 284 S.W.3d 294, 298 (Tenn. 2009); Hadzic v. Averitt Express, No. 2014-02-

0064, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App Bd. LEXIS 14, at *9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd.

May 18, 2015).

Analysis

Initially, we note that Employer cites Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

217(a)(3) (2016) (repealed 2017) in support of its argument that the trial court’s decision

is not supported by substantial and material evidence. Section 50-6-217(a)(3) authorized

us to reverse or modify a trial court’s decision if the rights of a party were prejudiced

because the findings of the trial judge were “not supported by evidence that is both

substantial and material in light of the entire record.” However, this code section was

deleted effective May 9, 2017. Consequently, as noted above, the standard we apply in

reviewing the trial court’s decision presumes that the trial judge’s factual findings are

correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

239(c)(7).

Turning to the merits of the appeal, although Employer asserted at the expedited

hearing that Employee’s claim was barred because his injury was idiopathic and he had

willfully failed to perform a duty required by law, only the latter defense has been raised

as an issue on appeal. Employer argues that Employee willfully operated the truck while

feeling fatigued or impaired, violating federal and state law with respect to truck drivers

and their obligation to remain alert while operating their vehicles. In asserting this

1

The trial court denied Employee’s request for temporary disability benefits but, because Employee does

not raise this as an issue on appeal, we forego any discussion of that issue.

3

defense, Employer relies on Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-110(a)(5) (2016),

which states that “[n]o compensation shall be allowed for an injury or death due to . . .

[t]he employee’s willful failure to perform a duty required by law.” With respect to this

argument, the trial court concluded there was “no evidence [Employee] willfully drove

the truck on the day of the accident knowing he was too fatigued or impaired to safely

operate the truck.” We agree.

There is no dispute that the state and federal regulations relied upon by Employer

apply to Employee in his capacity as a truck driver. Furthermore, there is no dispute that

the camera system in Employee’s truck shows him slumped over, apparently asleep or

unconscious, immediately prior to and during the accident. However, there is no proof in

the record before us that Employee intentionally operated the truck in a fatigued or

impaired state. Although the video evidence may support a conclusion that he fell asleep

or was rendered unconscious for an unknown reason, it does not support an inference that

he willfully failed to perform a duty required by law. He testified he had gotten a good

night’s sleep the night before and had taken a nap the afternoon before picking up his

truck, and he felt good when leaving Employer’s terminal. He described the extensive

driving he has done over the course of his career with no similar incidents. He stated

that, had he begun to feel fatigued or ill, he would have stopped and taken a break. The

video system, while showing Employee slumped over immediately prior to the accident,

does not show how he came to be that way.

Employer insists that the trial court incorrectly focused on whether Employee’s

falling asleep or becoming unconscious was “intentional,” rather than on whether

Employee “intentionally elected to drive the commercial motor vehicle” in an impaired

state. Yet, Employer points to no evidence in the record that supports its theory. Instead,

Employer asks us to infer that because the video showed Employee either asleep or

unconscious, he must have known he was operating the truck in an impaired state prior to

the accident. The trial court declined to draw such an inference, and we agree with this

determination. In short, the record is devoid of proof that Employee took any action,

willful or otherwise, in contravention of either federal or state law applicable to truck

drivers.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate against

the trial court’s decision at this interlocutory stage of the case. Accordingly, the trial

court’s decision is affirmed, and the case is remanded for any further proceedings that

may be necessary.

4

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Larry Butler ) Docket No. 2016-07-0459

)

v. ) State File No. 43507-2016

)

AAA Cooper Transportation, et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 12th day of September, 2017.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Emily B. Bragg X ebragg@forthepeople.com

tschumpert@forthepeople.com

Christopher M. Myatt X cmyatt@spicerfirm.com

tlamer@spicerfirm.com

Allen Phillips, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.