Opinion

Burleson v. Germantown Partners Supercuts

  • 2017 TN WC App. 47
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 15, 2017
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Walter Burleson ) Docket No. 2016-08-1241

)

v. ) State File No. 78490-2016

)

Germantown Partners Supercuts, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded - Filed August 15, 2017

The employee, a stylist at a hair salon, alleges he suffered an injury to his low back when

he assisted a client out of a chair. The employer denied the claim, asserting the employee

did not suffer a specific incident that resulted in his alleged injury. Following an

expedited hearing, the trial court denied temporary disability and medical benefits,

concluding the employee presented insufficient proof that he would likely prevail at trial

in establishing an injury arising primarily out of his employment. The employee has

appealed. We affirm the trial court’s decision and remand the case to the trial court for

any additional proceedings that may be necessary.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Monica R. Rejaei, Memphis, Tennessee, for the employee-appellant, Walter Burleson

Gordon C. Aulgur, Lansing, Michigan, for the employer-appellee, Germantown Partners

Supercuts

Memorandum Opinion1

Walter Burleson (“Employee”) alleged suffering an injury to his low back on

September 20, 2016, while assisting a client out of a chair in the course and scope of his

1

“The Appeals Board may, in an effort to secure a just and speedy determination of matters on appeal and

with the concurrence of all judges, decide an appeal by an abbreviated order or by memorandum opinion,

whichever the Appeals Board deems appropriate, in cases that are not legally and/or factually novel or

complex.” Appeals Bd. Prac. & Proc. § 1.3.

1

employment as a stylist with Germantown Partners Supercuts (“Employer”). In an

expedited hearing, he testified he had finished washing the client’s hair and, when the

client stood up, she was unsteady. He stated that when he caught her to prevent her from

falling, his “back gave.” He described feeling immediate pain in his low back and, after

completing the services provided to the client, lying down on the floor in the office at the

rear of the business to seek relief from his pain.

Employee testified the receptionist was standing by the wash station when the

incident occurred and that she saw and talked to him when he was lying down. He

remained at work after the incident, but in the afternoon he asked the assistant manager if

he could leave early. Employee testified he told the assistant manager he needed to leave

because he had injured his back. The assistant manager, who also testified at the

expedited hearing, acknowledged Employee asked to leave work early that day, but stated

he made no mention of having suffered any injury precipitating the request. The assistant

manager further testified that it was not uncommon for Employee to ask to leave early if

business was slow.

Employee testified he went home and lay on his couch and that his symptoms

worsened over the course of the evening and night. He stated he tried to pick up his

daughter but was unable to do so because of the pain, so he sought medical care. He

testified he first sought medical treatment the day following the incident, September 21,

at Baptist Memorial Hospital. The emergency department check-in sheet for that visit

was marked to indicate that the reason for the visit was not work-related. The attending

medical care provider’s notes stated that Employee had felt pain in his back the day

before and that he felt his back “give way” the morning of the visit. The record also

reflected that Employee had seen a doctor that morning and that Employee had

experienced this problem in the past. Employee denied experiencing back problems prior

to the September 20, 2016 incident at work.

The parties agree that Employee called Employer on September 21 to notify

Employer he would not be in to work that day. The manager with whom Employee

spoke denied that Employee indicated his absence was related to a work injury.

Employee, on the other hand, testified he discussed the work injury in this conversation

with his manager. No report of injury was completed at that time. The manager, also a

witness at the expedited hearing, stated that when he learned about the alleged injury he

undertook an investigation of Employee’s claim. In the course of the investigation, he

determined which client Employee was helping at the time of the alleged incident and

interviewed her.2 He stated he also interviewed the receptionist and that neither the client

nor the receptionist reported witnessing any type of incident or injury. According to the

2

Employee testified that he did not remember the name of the client and that he could not confirm

whether the client to whom the manager spoke was the correct person. The manager testified he

determined who the client was by looking at the business records for the day in question.

2

manager, the client stated that she did not fall, that Employee did not grab her, that

Employee did not report an injury to her, and that she did not observe anything wrong

with Employee on the day in question. Neither the client nor the receptionist testified at

the expedited hearing.

Employee was seen by a chiropractor on September 22. The note from that visit

reflects that the chiropractor performed a “re-evaluation,” but it makes no mention of a

work-related injury or any mechanism of injury. The following day, September 23, 2016,

Employee was seen by Dr. Douglas Cannon at Campbell Clinic Orthopedics. The record

of that visit states that Employee “was noticing a little aching Tuesday, and Wednesday

he picked up his daughter and just developed severe pain.”3 Employee testified that Dr.

Cannon’s records were inaccurate and that, rather than picking up his daughter and

feeling pain, he had been unable to pick her up due to his pain. When Employee returned

to Dr. Cannon on September 30, 2016, he reported he was no better. Dr. Cannon

suspected an acute disc herniation and recommended physical therapy, telling Employee

that his insurance company likely would not approve an MRI.

Employee attended physical therapy on October 3, 2016. The record of that visit

is the first indication in the medical records that Employee’s condition was work-related,

stating Employee “reports that about 2 or 3 weeks ago, he was working at his job as a

stylist and was trying to help a woman out of the chair, bent over and felt immediate pain

in his back.” On October 5, 2016, Employee returned to the emergency department at

Baptist Hospital reporting worsening pain. On this visit the emergency department

check-in sheet was marked to indicate that the visit was work-related. An MRI was

performed during Employee’s visit that revealed “L4-5 left paracentral disc herniation

with left lateral recess stenosis and moderate encroachment on the traversing left L5

nerve root.” The October 5, 2016 emergency department report indicated that the

emergency room physician consulted with Dr. Kenan Arnautovic, a neurosurgeon, who

recommended that Employee follow up with him.

Employee saw Dr. Arnautovic on October 11, 2016. Following the doctor’s

examination and review of the MRI films, he indicated that a disc extrusion at L4-5 was

probably the source of Employee’s pain. He recommended surgery, but would not

proceed until it was determined whether Employee’s workers’ compensation claim would

be accepted as compensable. On October 21, 2016, Employer denied the claim, asserting

the alleged injury “did not arise out of or within the scope of employment.”

Employee returned to Dr. Cannon on January 20, 2017, complaining of continued

pain. Dr. Cannon reviewed the October 2016 MRI films and noted multilevel disc

degeneration and small disc herniations at L4-S1. He offered conservative care,

including an epidural steroid injection, and noted the likelihood of future surgical

3

As noted by the trial court, “Tuesday” in this record would correspond to September 20, 2016.

3

intervention. Employee returned to Dr. Cannon two weeks after receiving the epidural

injection and reported brief improvement followed by a worsening of his symptoms. Dr.

Cannon ordered additional diagnostic testing and, after discussing the test results with

Employee, referred him to a surgeon.

Employee was seen by Dr. Francis Camillo, an orthopedic surgeon at Campbell

Clinic, on March 6, 2017. Dr. Camillo’s initial report stated that Employee “was helping

one of his clients out of a chair, and she fell, and he went to grab her.” Dr. Camillo

performed surgery on March 28, 2017.

Following an expedited hearing, the trial court denied the benefits Employee had

requested, concluding Employee failed to present sufficient evidence to show he would

likely prevail at trial in establishing his injury arose primarily out of his employment.

The trial court found that Employee had not established the occurrence of a specific

incident at work resulting in injury. Employee has appealed, asserting the trial court

erred “as to [the] weight given to Employer [sic] witnesses in light of their full testimony

[as] compared with Employee [sic] testimony.” Additionally, Employee asserts that the

medical records “contain sufficient language to meet the statutory definition of injury,

and as such, Employee is entitled to medical and temporary disability benefits.” For the

reasons that follow, we find no merit in Employee’s assertions.

We review a trial court’s decision with “a presumption that the findings and

conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of

the evidence is otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2016). At an expedited

hearing, an employee need not prove every element of his or her claim by a

preponderance of the evidence, but must come forward with sufficient evidence from

which the trial judge can determine he or she is likely to prevail at a hearing on the

merits. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(1); McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing,

No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers’

Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). Thus, an injured worker retains the burden of proof,

albeit a lesser burden, at an expedited hearing. Buchanan v. Carlex Glass Co., No. 2015-

01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at * 6 (Tenn. Workers. Comp. App.

Bd. Sept. 29, 2015). “To satisfy that burden, an employee must offer evidence of a

‘specific incident, or set of incidents, . . . identifiable by time and place of occurrence.’”

Id. at *14. Moreover, “[w]hen [issues of] credibility and weight to be given testimony

are involved, considerable deference is given to the trial court when the trial judge has

had the opportunity to observe the witness’ demeanor and to hear in-court testimony.”

Foreman v. Automatic Sys., Inc., 272 S.W.3d 560, 571 (Tenn. 2008).

Similar to the present case, Buchanan concerned an employee who alleged a

work-related accident that he claimed to have resulted in a compensable injury. The

employer presented evidence that the event did not occur as the employee reported, and

we held that, even at an expedited hearing, an injured worker must still present sufficient

4

proof that an accident resulting in injury occurred for the trial judge to conclude the

employee is likely to prevail at trial. Buchanan, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS

39, at *14. Here, Employer conducted an investigation, which included speaking with

two individuals who were identified as having witnessed the incident. Based on its

investigation, Employer concluded that the alleged accident did not occur as Employee

claimed. Its investigation further indicated that neither the receptionist nor the client with

whom Employee was working at the time of the purported incident acknowledged

witnessing any event as described by Employee. The medical records immediately

following the alleged incident made no reference to an injury occurring at work or to the

mechanism of injury described by Employee. Rather, they indicated the reason for

Employee’s visits was not work-related and that Employee’s severe pain complaints

began when he picked up his daughter. Two of the medical records referenced possible

prior treatment of Employee’s low back, one of which also suggested Employee had

experienced similar problems in the past. Both Employee’s assistant manager and

manager testified that Employee’s initial communications with them immediately

following the alleged incident made no mention of a work-related injury.

The trial court carefully considered the proof, including the testimony presented at

the expedited hearing, and concluded Employee’s testimony was contradicted and

outweighed by Employer’s witnesses’ testimony. As we have previously observed,

where, as here, there is conflicting evidence, factual findings often hinge on

credibility determinations. As such, “[w]hen the trial court has heard in-

court testimony, considerable deference must be afforded in reviewing the

trial court’s findings of credibility and assessment of the weight to be given

to that testimony.” Tryon v. Saturn Corp., 254 S.W.3d 321, 327 (Tenn.

2008). . . . See Clark v. Willamette Indus., Inc., No. E1999-02693-WC-R3-

CV, 2001 Tenn. LEXIS 138, at *6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Feb. 27,

2001) (“The issue of the credibility of the live witnesses, one of whom was

the [employee], was of critical importance to the case. The trial judge

clearly made a judgment about this issue, as was his prerogative, and his

judgment must be given considerable deference.”); Neas v. Neas, No.

E2015-00292-COA-R3-CV, 2015 Tenn. App. LEXIS 968, at *14 (Tenn.

Ct. App. Dec. 15, 2015) (“The Trial Court, to some extent, implicitly did

not credit [a party’s] explanation. This was within the Trial Court’s

prerogative as the determiner of credibility, and we give strong deference to

trial courts’ credibility determinations.”).

Willis v. Express Towing, No. 2016-06-0702, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 15,

at *14-15 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Feb. 9, 2017). Based on the foregoing, we

decline to disturb the trial court’s findings.

5

Having determined the trial court did not err in concluding Employee failed to

present sufficient evidence that he will likely prevail at trial in establishing a work-related

incident resulting in an injury, neither an assessment of the medical proof nor

consideration of Employee’s request for an award of attorney’s fees is necessary.

Accordingly, we affirm the trial court’s order and remand the case for any further

proceedings that may be necessary.

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Walter Burleson ) Docket No. 2016-08-1241

)

v. ) State File No. 78490-2016

)

Germantown Partners Supercuts, et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 15th day of August, 2017.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Monica Rejaei X mrejaei@nstlaw.com

Gordon Aulgur X gordon.aulgur@accidentfund.com

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.