Opinion

Walton Sr., Lee v. Averitt Express, Inc. Docket No. 2015-08-0306

  • 2017 TN WC App. 35
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Jun 2, 2017
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

“In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”

How later courts described this case

  • “In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Lee A. Walton, Sr. ) Docket No. 2015-08-0306

)

v. )

) State File No. 60505-2015

Averitt Express, Inc. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Allen Phillips, Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final – Filed June 2, 2017

The employee alleged an acute injury or compensable aggravation of his pre-existing

neck and back condition after jumping or falling from the back of a trailer at work.

Following an expedited hearing at which the trial court declined to order the initiation of

benefits, the parties proceeded to a final compensation hearing. The trial court issued a

compensation order denying the employee’s claim for benefits, and the employee has

appealed. We affirm the trial court’s decision, dismiss the employee’s case, and certify

the trial court’s order as final.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

Lee A. Walton, Sr., Brighton, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

Gregory C. Morton, Southaven, Mississippi, for the employer-appellee, Averitt Express,

Inc.

1

Memorandum Opinion 1

Lee Walton (“Employee”) worked for Averitt Express (“Employer”) as a truck

driver. In August 2014, he suffered injuries to his neck and back. After returning to

work, he reported suffering another accident on January 15, 2015, when he jumped or fell

from a trailer while attempting to avoid a heavy rolling container. 2 It is this second

alleged accident that was the subject of Employee’s petition for benefit determination. In

his affidavit, Employee asserted he suffered increased pain and other symptoms after the

second accident. He further alleged that he underwent a cervical fusion as a result of the

January 2015 accident. Employer denied the claim, asserting that Employee failed to

come forward with evidence that his medical condition arose primarily out of his

employment.

In early 2016, Employee filed a request for an expedited hearing, seeking

temporary disability and medical benefits. The trial court issued an order denying the

requested benefits on March 7, 2016. 3 Subsequently, after several continuances, the

court conducted a final compensation hearing on February 8, 2017. We have no record

of the testimony offered at the compensation hearing. Thereafter, the trial court issued a

compensation order denying benefits. Employee has appealed.

As we have noted in the past, our ability to conduct meaningful appellate review is

significantly hampered when an appellant fails to provide a transcript of the hearing or

statement of the evidence, and fails to offer any substantive argument on appeal. Without

a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we cannot know what evidence was presented

to the trial court beyond the exhibits that were admitted into evidence and the testimony

as summarized in the trial court’s order. See Britt v. Chambers, No. W2006-00061-

COA-R3-CV, 2007 Tenn. App. LEXIS 38, at *8 (Tenn. Ct. App. Jan. 25, 2007). Review

of a trial court’s decision is accompanied by a presumption that the factual findings are

correct. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2016). Accordingly, “it is essential that the

appellate court be provided with a transcript of the trial proceedings or a statement of the

evidence.” Britt, 2007 Tenn. App. LEXIS 38, at *7. See also Estate of Cockrill, No.

M2010-00663-COA-R3-CV, 2010 Tenn. App. LEXIS 754, at *11-12 (Tenn. Ct. App.

Dec. 2, 2010) (“In cases where no transcript or statement of the evidence is filed, the

appellate court is required to presume that the record, had it been properly preserved,

1

“The Appeals Board may, in an effort to secure a just and speedy determination of matters on appeal and

with the concurrence of all judges, decide an appeal by an abbreviated order or by memorandum opinion,

whichever the Appeals Board deems appropriate, in cases that are not legally and/or factually novel or

complex.” Appeals Bd. Prac. & Proc. § 1.3.

2

The parties did not provide a transcript of the compensation hearing. We have gleaned the facts from

the pleadings, Employee’s affidavit, exhibits, and the trial court’s compensation order.

3

The trial court’s expedited hearing order is not included in the record on appeal.

2

would have supported the action of the trial court.”); Leek v. Powell, 884 S.W.2d 118,

121 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1994) (“In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence,

we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found

or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”). As noted by the Tennessee Court

of Appeals, “[a]n incomplete appellate record is fatal to an appeal on the facts,” Piper v.

Piper, No. M2005-02541-COA-R3-CV, 2007 Tenn. App. LEXIS 70, at *11 (Tenn. Ct.

App. Feb. 1, 2007), and a reviewing court “must conclusively presume that the evidence

presented supported the facts as found by the trial court,” Whitesell v. Moore, No.

M2011-02745-COA-R3-CV, 2012 Tenn. App. LEXIS 894, at *10 (Tenn. Ct. App. Dec.

21, 2012).

Moreover, Employee has offered no substantive argument explaining how he

believes the trial court erred in denying his claim. Attached to his notice of appeal was

an email in which Employee asserted that the “trial judge erred in his decision,” that the

“reason was unfair,” and that Employer had wrongly “denied [him] medical treatment.”

The remainder of the email contains no recitation of the facts of the case, no issues

presented for review, and no substantive legal argument. In short, Employee has not

made any argument in support of his appeal, and we decline to do so for him. We note

that Employee is self-represented in this appeal, as he was in the trial court. Parties who

decide to represent themselves are entitled to fair and equal treatment by the courts.

Whitaker v. Whirlpool Corp., 32 S.W.3d 222, 227 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2000). Yet, as

explained by the Tennessee Court of Appeals:

The courts should take into account that many pro se litigants have no legal

training and little familiarity with the judicial system. However, the courts

must also be mindful of the boundary between fairness to a pro se litigant

and unfairness to the pro se litigant’s adversary. Thus, the courts must not

excuse pro se litigants from complying with the same substantive and

procedural rules that represented parties are expected to observe. . . . Pro se

litigants should not be permitted to shift the burden of the litigation to the

courts or to their adversaries.

Hessmer v. Hessmer, 138 S.W.3d 901, 903-04 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2003) (citations omitted).

The trial court in this case concluded that Employee had failed to present any expert

medical opinion supporting his assertion that his medical conditions and his need for

surgery arose primarily out of the January 15, 2015 work accident. Employee has not

alleged on appeal that the trial court disregarded any such expert medical opinion or that

any other evidence offered at trial supported his claim. Consistent with established

Tennessee law, we presume the trial court’s decision is supported by the evidence.

The trial court’s order is affirmed, Employee’s case is dismissed, and the order is

hereby certified as final.

3

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Lee A. Walton, Sr. ) Docket No. 2015-08-0306

)

v. ) State File No. 60505-2015

)

Averitt Express, Inc. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 2nd day of June, 2017.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Lee A. Walton, Sr. X leewltn@gmail.com

Gregory C. Morton X greg@sparkman-zummach.com

Allen Phillips, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.