Opinion

Stallion, Samuel v. TruGreen, L.P.

  • 2017 TN WC App. 11
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Feb 2, 2017
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Samuel Stallion ) Docket No. 2016-01-0292

)

v. ) State File No. 29403-2016

)

TruGreen, L.P., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas Wyatt, Judge )

Reversed and Remanded - Filed February 2, 2017

At issue in this interlocutory appeal is whether the evidence presented in an expedited

hearing was sufficient for the trial court to determine that the injured employee would

likely prevail at trial in establishing entitlement to additional medical care for his work-

related injury. The trial court concluded the employee had presented sufficient evidence

and ordered the employer to provide a panel of physicians from which the employee

could select a doctor to provide ongoing care. The employer has appealed, asserting the

evidence was insufficient to support that conclusion. We agree and reverse the trial

court’s decision and remand the case.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Charles W. Poss, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, TruGreen, L.P.

Samuel Stallion, Fayetteville, North Carolina, employee-appellee, pro se

Factual and Procedural Background

Samuel Stallion (“Employee”) suffered an injury to his low back on February 25,

2016, as a result of lifting the rear gate on a landscaping truck while working for

TruGreen, L.P. (“Employer”). He reported that the cable-assist mechanism on the truck’s

tailgate was malfunctioning, requiring him to lift the gate without the assistance of the

mechanism. At an expedited hearing, he initially testified the gate weighed between 700

1

and 1,000 pounds. On cross-examination, he acknowledged that he did not know how

much the gate weighed, testifying “it felt like” it weighed 700 pounds to him.

Employer’s representative testified the gate weighed approximately 150 pounds. Aside

from discrepancies in the description of the weight of the gate and the degree of the

incline on which the truck was parked, Employee’s description of the incident and the

mechanism of injury has been consistent. Specifically, he asserted that the cable-assist

mechanism on the gate was not working and he had to lift the entire weight of the gate

himself, resulting in pain in his low back that radiates to his right leg and foot.

Employee testified he told his supervisor about the incident and was told to “go

take a drug test” and that no panel of doctors was provided to him. On February 29,

2016, he sought emergency care at Parkridge East Hospital and thereafter began treating

at Physicians Care on March 1, 2016, after being directed there by Employer. He denied

any history of prior back problems and was diagnosed with lumbago with sciatica. He

was returned to work with restrictions that he testified, without contradiction, were not

accommodated. He continued to treat at Physicians Care for his complaints through May

2016. When physical therapy did not alleviate his symptoms, the attending medical care

provider at Physicians Care referred Employee for a lumbar MRI on April 19, 2016.

That referral was reiterated at a follow-up appointment one week later on April 26, 2016,

and again on May 3, 2016.

The MRI was performed on May 9, 2016, revealing mild canal and bilateral

foraminal stenosis at L3-4 and L4-5. On May 10, 2016, the medical care provider at

Physicians Care referred Employee for an orthopedic consult, and Employee continued to

treat at Physicians Care until an appointment was scheduled with Dr. Jay Jolley, an

orthopedist selected by Employee from a panel of physicians.

Employee first saw Dr. Jolley on June 27, 2016, complaining of back pain and

right leg pain with numbness and tingling in the right leg and foot, weakness in his back,

and loss of bowel/bladder control. Dr. Jolley diagnosed Employee with low back pain,

sprain, and mild degenerative disc disease at L3-5. The report states there were “[n]o

surgical indications,” but he was given a trigger point steroidal injection. Dr. Jolley

assigned work restrictions and instructed Employee to follow up in five weeks. The

report indicated Employee would “likely” reach maximum medical improvement “soon.”

Employer’s representative sent a June 10, 2016 letter to Dr. Jolley asking him to

address causation by answering three questions. In response to the questions, Dr. Jolley

indicated that Employee’s degenerative disc disease was not “caused by his work injury

by more than 51% as opposed to any other contributing factors or health condition”; that

60% of “the need for further medical treatment [was] directly related to his work comp

injury,” with 40% being attributed to Employee’s “Arthritis/Degenerative Condition”;

and that “further treatment of [Employee’s] continued complaints of low back pain” was

“warranted under Workers’ Compensation related to the 25-Feb-2016 injury.”

2

Employee’s second and final visit with Dr. Jolley was on August 1, 2016.

Employee reported his symptoms were unchanged, but he indicated his current pain

complaints “as a 7 out of 10 on the pain scale,” as compared to his report of “a 5 out of

10” at the initial visit. Dr. Jolley’s assessment included discogenic low back pain, L3-5

degenerative disc disease, and “resolving” sprain. The report states that “[a]fter looking

at films again, L3-4, L4-5 appear degenerative enough to cause pain, but the degeneration

isn’t work related.” He returned Employee to work with a 20 pound lifting restriction

and indicated that Employee may need an “L3-5 fusion under private insurance.” On

August 9, 2016, Dr. Jolley issued an addendum “prepared to replace information set out

in the Office Note dated August 1, 2016, under the heading PLAN, item number 3.” The

new information indicated that Employee had reached maximum medical improvement

on August 1, 2016 and could return to work with no restrictions.

On September 26, 2016, Employer’s attorney sent a letter to Dr. Jolley inquiring

as to his opinion regarding whether Employee needed further medical treatment “for his

back sprain injury.” Enclosed with the letter was a Final Medical Report Form C-30A,

which the attorney requested Dr. Jolley complete “to indicate whether or not [Employee]

retains any permanent medical impairment for the sprain.” Dr. Jolley placed a check in

the blank next to a question on the letter to indicate his opinion that Employee “does not

need any further medical treatment for his back sprain injury.” The question included the

statement that “[i]f any further medical treatment for [Employee’s] back is needed, this

treatment would be for the degenerative disc disease which is not work related.” The

undated response was admitted into evidence with the completed and signed Form C-30A

indicating Employee was returned to regular duty work, that he reached maximum

medical improvement on August 1, 2016, and that the injury did not result in permanent

impairment.

Following the expedited hearing at which Employee and Employer’s

representative testified, the trial court concluded that Employee had presented sufficient

evidence to establish he would likely prevail at a hearing on the merits in establishing he

suffered a compensable aggravation of a pre-existing disease. It ordered Employer to

provide a panel of physicians in North Carolina, where Employee resided at the time, and

to pay temporary disability benefits. Employer paid the temporary disability benefits, but

appealed the portion of the order compelling it to provide Employee a panel of physicians

in North Carolina.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision is statutorily mandated

and limited in scope. Specifically, “[t]here shall be a presumption that the findings and

conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of

the evidence is otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2015). The trial court’s

3

decision may be reversed or modified if the rights of a party “have been prejudiced

because findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a workers’ compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers’ compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion; or

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record.”

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015).

Analysis

Employer presents the following issue, which it describes as the “sole issue” on

appeal: “Did the Court err in concluding that [Employee] was entitled to further medical

treatment for an aggravation of a pre-existing condition when the only proof before the

Court was that [Employee] had only a back sprain as a result of his work activities and

that the back sprain had resolved and required no further medical treatment?” Employer

addresses the issue from multiple perspectives, but the focus of its arguments concern

whether Employee presented sufficient evidence for the trial court to determine that he

would likely prevail at a hearing on the merits in establishing a need for further medical

treatment for his work-related injury. 1 The trial court concluded that he did. We

disagree.

As we have said before, although an injured worker has the burden of proof on

every essential element of his or her claim, at an expedited hearing an employee need not

prove every element by a preponderance of the evidence, but must come forward with

sufficient evidence from which the trial court can determine that the employee would

likely prevail at a hearing on the merits consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-239(d)(1) (2015). McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-

0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd.

Mar. 27, 2015). We have described the burden of proof at an expedited hearing as a

lesser evidentiary standard that “does not relieve an employee of the burden of producing

evidence of an injury by accident that arose primarily out of and in the course and scope

of employment . . ., but allows some relief to be granted if that evidence does not rise to

the level of a ‘preponderance of the evidence.’” Buchanan v. Carlex Glass Co., No.

1

On December 20, 2016, Employer filed a motion for extension of time to file a transcript of the

proceedings in the trial court. We grant Employer’s motion and accept as part of the record the transcript

filed on January 4, 2017.

4

2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp.

App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015).

Thus, the issue presented in our review of the trial court’s expedited hearing order

requires that we determine whether the preponderance of the evidence supports the trial

court’s conclusion that Employee would likely prevail at trial in establishing that

additional medical treatment is reasonably necessary for his work-related injury. In its

brief on appeal, Employer states that “[f]or purposes of this appeal only, [it] does not

dispute that [Employee] suffered a compensable injury at work – that injury being limited

to a back sprain as diagnosed by Dr. Jolley.” Employer does, however, dispute that

Employee’s degenerative disc disease is compensable. Employer’s arguments on appeal,

similar to its “sole” issue on appeal, arduously differentiate Employee’s lumbar sprain,

which the medical records establish Dr. Jolley diagnosed, from the trial court’s

determination that “Dr. Jolley diagnosed [Employee] with a back sprain superimposed on

preexisting lumbar degenerative disc.” However, the absence of any medical evidence

suggesting the need for additional medical treatment for Employee’s work-related injury

obviates our need to address the two “diagnoses” separately.

Dr. Jolley’s initial “Assessment” included low back pain, sprain, and mild L3-5

degenerative disc disease. His initial “Plan” stated there were “no surgical indications,”

and his initial treatment included a trigger point steroidal injection. Prior to Employee’s

second and final visit with Dr. Jolley, the doctor responded to Employer’s letter

identifying Employee’s “sprain component” as being “more than 51%” caused by his

work injury, but it identified the degenerative disc disease as not being more than 51%

caused by the work injury. Dr. Jolley was asked whether “the need for further medical

treatment [is] directly related to his work comp injury or are there other another [sic]

major contributing factors,” and the question presented two factors, identified as

“Arthritis/Degenerative Condition” and Employee’s “Workers’ Compensation Injury.”

Dr. Jolley responded by indicating 60% of the need for additional treatment was

attributable to “the sprain component” of the “Workers’ Compensation Injury,” and 40%

to the “Arthritis/Degenerative Condition.”

At the final visit five weeks following Employee’s initial visit with Dr. Jolley,

Employee’s symptoms were reported to be the same, and Dr. Jolley’s assessment was

unchanged, except for noting that Employee’s sprain was “resolving.” After looking at

the MRI films again, Dr. Jolley noted that L3-5 “appear degenerative enough to cause

pain, but the degeneration isn’t work related.” He noted in the “Plan” portion of the

report that Employee “will followup [sic] with workman’s’ [sic] compensation doctor in

North Carolina,” and additionally included “L3-5 fusion under private insurance [as

needed].” Eight days later, Dr. Jolley signed an addendum “prepared to replace

information set out in the Office Note dated August 1, 2016, under the heading PLAN,

item 3 [concerning work status],” which read “No restrictions. Patient at maximum

medical improvement.” Thereafter, on October 6, 2016, Dr. Jolley responded to a letter

5

from Employer’s attorney by completing a Form C-30A Final Medical Report indicating

Employee had reached maximum medical improvement on August 1, 2016, and that his

work injury did not result in any permanent impairment or work restrictions. In addition,

he agreed with the statement in the letter indicating that Employee “does not need any

further medical treatment for his back sprain injury. If any further medical treatment for

[Employee’s] back is needed, this treatment would be for the degenerative disc disease

which is not work related.”

Dr. Jolley was selected by Employee from a panel of physicians as his authorized

treating doctor. “The opinion of the treating physician, selected by the employee from

the employer’s designated panel of physicians . . . shall be presumed correct on the issue

of causation but this presumption shall be rebuttable by a preponderance of the

evidence.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(E) (2016). Here, there is no medical

opinion addressing the issues of medical causation and the need for medical treatment

other than Dr. Jolley’s opinions. Employee offered no evidence, aside from his assertion

that he did not have back pain prior to the injury, to support a finding that there was a

compensable aggravation of a pre-existing condition. He offered no medical evidence to

support his assertion that he is entitled to additional medical care for his work injury.

While Employee may ultimately succeed in presenting sufficient evidence for the trial

court to conclude he is entitled to additional medical care for his work injury, at this time

there is no medical evidence that contradicts Dr. Jolley’s opinion or suggests that

Employee is in need of additional treatment for his work injury.

Finally, we note that the trial court relied on our decisions in Miller v. Lowe’s

Home Centers, Inc., No. 2015-05-0158, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 40

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Oct. 21, 2015); Sanker v. Nacarato Trucks, Inc., No.

2016-06-0101, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 27 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App.

Bd. July 6, 2016); and White v. Boles Trucking, No. 2016-04-0074, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp.

App. Bd. LEXIS 86 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Nov. 14, 2016) in concluding that

Employee was likely to prevail in proving he suffered an aggravation of a pre-existing

condition. While our opinion in the instant case does not resolve the ultimate issue of

whether Employee’s February 25, 2016 work injury caused an aggravation of his pre-

existing degenerative disc disease, we note there is an important distinction between

these three cases and the matter presently before us. In each of those cases, there was

medical proof at an expedited hearing to support a finding of an aggravation of a pre-

existing condition. In each case, a physician had rendered an opinion that satisfied the

statutory requirements necessary to establish a compensable aggravation. Here, the

record does not include a medical opinion to support a conclusion that Employee’s

current complaints are caused by an aggravation of a pre-existing condition or that any

such aggravation is causally related to the employment. Thus, the cases relied upon by

the trial court are distinguishable.

6

Conclusion

We hold that, at this stage of the case, the preponderance of the evidence does not

support the trial court’s decision to order Employer to provide additional medical care for

Employee’s work-related injury. Accordingly, the trial court’s decision is reversed, and

the case is remanded for any further proceedings that may be necessary.

7

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Samuel Stallion ) Docket No. 2016-01-0292

)

v. ) State File No. 29403-2016

)

TruGreen, L.P., et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 2nd day of February, 2017.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Samuel Stallion X sstallion@live.com

Charles W. Poss X charlie.poss@leitnerfirm.com

Thomas Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.