Opinion

Briceno, Tonja v. Resource Manufacturing, et. al

  • 2016 TN WC App. 58
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Nov 4, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Tonja Briceno ) Docket No. 2016-05-0386

)

v. ) State File No. 38680-2015

)

Resource Manufacturing, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Robert V. Durham, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded - Filed November 4, 2016

This interlocutory appeal involves the employer’s challenge to the trial court’s finding

that the employee presented sufficient proof to establish she is entitled to medical and

temporary disability benefits for a shoulder injury. The employer initially provided those

benefits but then denied the claim on the basis that inconsistent histories in the

employee’s medical records contradicted her contention that her condition was work-

related. Following an expedited hearing, the trial court found the employee was likely to

prevail at a trial on the merits and ordered medical and temporary disability benefits. The

employer has appealed, arguing that the employee failed to prove causation. We affirm

the trial court’s decision and remand the case.

Presiding Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in

which Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Mary Dee Allen, Cookeville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Resource

Manufacturing

Michael Fisher, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Tonja Briceno

1

Memorandum Opinion1

Tonja Briceno (“Employee”) reported suffering an injury to her right shoulder on

May 8, 2015, while employed by Resource Manufacturing (“Employer”) in its

manufacturing facility. On that day, Employee felt a “pull” when she reached for parts

over her head and, while pulling a cart loaded with parts, experienced a “pop” in her back

accompanied by pain. On the same day, she received medical treatment at Fast Pace

Medical Clinic where she reported reaching for parts and feeling a pull in her back. She

also reported that a short time later, while pulling a cart, she felt a pop in her back. X-

rays were normal, and she was diagnosed with a sprain to her thoracic spine and muscle

spasms.

Employee returned to Fast Pace Medical Clinic on May 29, 2015, complaining of

pain in her back for the past two weeks accompanied by muscle pain, joint pain, and

tingling in her right arm and hand. She was diagnosed with a strain or sprain of the

thoracic spine and muscle spasms and was taken off work until she was re-evaluated.

Employee returned to Fast Pace Medical Clinic a few days later. The record of that visit

reflects she was being seen for right shoulder pain and that she had been “seen in clinic

twice for this same issue.” She was referred to a specialist.

Employer provided Employee a panel of physicians from which she chose Dr.

Derek Riley, whom she saw on June 12, 2015 with complaints of right shoulder, back,

and neck pain. Employee described to Dr. Riley experiencing a pop under her right

shoulder blade on May 8, 2015. She returned to Dr. Riley on July 13, 2015 for follow-up

after an MRI, and Dr. Riley diagnosed her with a rotator cuff tear. Dr. Riley saw

Employee again on August 5, 2015 with continued complaints of right shoulder pain. He

ordered an EMG, which was normal, as was a cervical MRI.

Employee returned to Dr. Riley on September 4, 2015, at which time he observed

that her complaints were unchanged over the course of the past several months and that a

follow-up right shoulder MRI was negative for a rotator cuff tear. He noted that her

complaints were out of proportion to the objective findings, diagnosed her with right

shoulder pain, and encouraged her to seek a second opinion. Employer authorized a

second opinion with Dr. Jeffrey Adams, who saw Employee on October 1, 2015.

According to Dr. Adams, an MRI on July 28, 2015 revealed a significant rotator cuff tear

in Employee’s right shoulder, and he recommended surgery.

Employer wrote Dr. Adams seeking his opinion regarding the cause of

Employee’s right shoulder condition. In that correspondence, Employer set out

1

“The Appeals Board may, in an effort to secure a just and speedy determination of matters on appeal and

with the concurrence of all judges, decide an appeal by an abbreviated order or by memorandum opinion,

whichever the Appeals Board deems appropriate, in cases that are not legally and/or factually novel or

complex.” Appeals Bd. Prac. & Proc. § 1.3.

2

Employee’s medical history and asked Dr. Adams whether he agreed that the history

provided to Employer and to Fast Pace Medical Clinic was inconsistent with the

information she had given him. He agreed the histories were inconsistent and that, in

light of those inconsistencies, it did not appear that the shoulder complaints arose

primarily out of the May 8, 2015 work event.

Employee countered with her own correspondence to Dr. Adams, in which she

asked him to provide a causation opinion assuming she had given him an accurate

history. Dr. Adams responded “yes” to a question concerning whether her right shoulder

injury arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of her employment. He also

indicated Employee would need surgery to correct the problem. In a subsequent

deposition, Dr. Adams testified consistently with his responses to the two letters and

explained his opinions in light of his review of the medical records, Employee’s history,

test results, and examinations.

Following an expedited hearing, the trial court ordered Employer to provide

medical benefits, including the surgery recommended by Dr. Adams, and temporary

disability benefits from March 29, 2016 onward. Employer urges us to reverse the trial

court’s decision, asserting that Employee failed to present medical proof sufficient to

establish she will likely prevail at trial. Employer points out that Dr. Adams, the

authorized treating physician, opined that, in light of the inconsistencies between

Employee’s initial complaints and the complaints she related to him, the right shoulder

injury was not related to her employment. The trial court found the medical proof

sufficient to entitle Employee to benefits at this interlocutory stage of the claim, and we

agree.

The trial court considered the medical proof as a whole in conjunction with

Employee’s testimony at the expedited hearing and concluded that the evidence was

sufficient to entitle her to the requested benefits.2 The trial court relied on the medical

records which, with the exception of the May 8, 2015 Fast Pace Medical Clinic record,

reflect complaints of right shoulder pain. Moreover, the Fast Pace Medical Clinic record

from June 2, 2015, which was Employee’s third visit to that facility, noted Employee had

been “seen in clinic twice for this same issue,” implying a certain consistency in

Employee’s complaints from the first visit to the third. Moreover, Dr. Adams testified he

had no reason to doubt Employee’s credibility aside from disproportionate complaints of

pain and that her description of the work accident and her reported mechanism of injury

were consistent with the type of injury she sustained.

2

At an expedited hearing, an employee is not required to prove every element of his or her claim by a

preponderance of the evidence. Rather the employee must come forward with sufficient proof such that

the trial court can determine the employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits. McCord v.

Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015).

3

We also note that the trial court found Employee to be a credible witness and

observed that the case “boils down to whether the Court believes [Employee’s] testimony

that, in addition to pain in her mid-back, she also had pain in her right shoulder following

her work incident of May 8, 2015.” The trial court observed that Employee testified she

had never experienced shoulder pain before May 8, 2015 and that she was able to

perform her job without difficulty before that time. The resolution of this case depends

heavily upon Employee’s credibility which, as noted, the trial court determined in her

favor.3

Based upon our review of the record, we cannot conclude that the evidence

preponderates against the trial court’s decision at this interlocutory stage of the case. Nor

does the trial court’s decision violate any of the standards set forth in Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-217(a)(3). Accordingly, the trial court’s decision is affirmed.

The case is remanded for any further proceedings that may be necessary.

3

In cases such as this one that turn on the resolution of factual disputes or witness credibility in which

“the trial court has heard in-court testimony, considerable deference must be afforded in reviewing the

trial court’s findings of credibility and assessment of the weight to be given to that testimony.” Sirkin v.

Trans Carriers, Inc., No. 2015-08-0292, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 22, at *8-9 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 9, 2016).

4

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Tonja Briceno ) Docket No. 2016-05-0386

)

v. ) State File No. 38680-2015

)

Resource Manufacturing, et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 4th day of November, 2016.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Michael Fisher X mfisher@ddzlaw.com

Mary Dee Allen X mallen@wimberlylawson.com

Robert V. Durham, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.