Opinion

Revnew, Deborah v. Amazon.com, Inc.

  • 2016 TN WC App. 51
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Oct 3, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

Issues raised for the first time on appeal will usually be deemed waived.

How later courts described this case

  • Issues raised for the first time on appeal will usually be deemed waived.

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Deborah Revnew ) Docket No. 2016-06-0320

)

v. ) State File No. 16063-2016

)

Amazon.com, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims, )

Joshua D. Baker, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded—Filed October 3, 2016

In this interlocutory appeal, the employer challenges the trial court’s decision to award

medical benefits to an employee alleging injuries resulting from chemical exposure

during the course of her employment. The trial court found the employee was likely to

succeed in establishing that she suffered a compensable injury and ordered the employer

to provide medical treatment. The employer has appealed, arguing that the evidence does

not support the trial court’s decision. We affirm the trial court and remand the case.

Presiding Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in

which Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Charles E. Pierce, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Amazon.com, Inc.

Deborah Revnew, Lebanon, Tennessee, employee-appellee, pro se

Factual and Procedural Background

Deborah Revnew (“Employee”) alleges that she sustained injuries as a result of

exposure to hazardous chemical fumes on January 29, 2016, while in the course and

scope of her employment with Amazon.com, Inc. (“Employer”). Employee was working

as a “picker” in a “HazMat” section of Employer’s facility when she was exposed to

toxic chemicals that had been improperly stored. Although Employee described herself

as “healthy” and “strong,” the fumes, which were being blown around by a fan, made her

eyes and lips burn, her heart race, and she developed a headache. Employee became

1

confused and got “really, really sick,” requiring her co-workers’ assistance in navigating

Employer’s facility. She reported the exposure at the time it occurred and sought first aid

at AmCare, Employer’s on-site medical clinic.

Employee was not offered a panel of physicians, and she sought treatment on her

own at CareSpot on January 30, 2016, complaining of dizziness, confusion, a bad cough,

and shortness of breath. After assessing dizziness, shortness of breath, and vision

problems, Dr. Michelle Cowden, the attending physician, referred Employee for

examination and testing at Summit Medical Center. That testing revealed no

abnormalities.

Employee returned to Dr. Cowden, at which time she was referred for neurology

and ophthalmology evaluations. Dr. Cowden prepared a report regarding Employee’s

exposure and indicated that her condition was causally related to her employment.

Employee saw Dr. Meredith Ezell for an ophthalmology evaluation on February 29,

2016, and she saw Dr. Shan-Ren Zhou for a neurological evaluation on March 15, 2016.

Dr. Zhou ordered an MRI of Employee’s brain, which revealed no intracranial

abnormality, but did reveal pansinusitis, or inflammation of the sinuses, and he referred

her to a neuropsychiatrist. Dr. Ezell diagnosed dry eyes and myopia with presbyopia of

both eyes. Employee has received no additional medical care.

At an expedited hearing, Employee was the only witness to testify, and her

description of the January 29, 2016 incident was uncontradicted. Following the hearing,

the trial court found Employee had presented sufficient evidence to establish she was

likely to succeed at trial and ordered medical benefits with Dr. Cowden, as well as the

payment of Employee’s incurred medical expenses. However, the trial court found

Employee had presented insufficient proof to establish entitlement to temporary disability

benefits or mileage reimbursement.1 Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision is statutorily mandated

and limited in scope. Specifically, “[t]here shall be a presumption that the findings and

conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of

the evidence is otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2015). The trial court’s

decision may be reversed or modified if the rights of a party “have been prejudiced

because findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a workers’ compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers’ compensation judge;

1

Employee has not appealed the trial court’s denial of temporary disability benefits or mileage and, thus,

we need not address those issues.

2

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or clearly an

unwarranted exercise of discretion; or

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material in the

light of the entire record.”

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015).

Analysis

A.

The first issue raised by Employer is “[w]hether the [e]mployee satisfied her

burden of proof to justify the trial court[’]s award of benefits when the employee did not

present sufficient evidence that would justify an award of benefits at a hearing on the

merits.” In conjunction with this argument, Employer asserts that the medical records

contain no opinion regarding causation and that a “mere notation in a medical record that

a patient described an on-the-job injury is insufficient to prove work-relatedness.” We

find Employee did satisfy the applicable burden of proof at the expedited hearing and,

consequently, we agree with the trial court’s award of medical benefits.

An injured worker has the burden of proof on every essential element of his or her

claim. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(6) (2015); see also Buchanan v. Carlex Glass

Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *5 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015). However, at an expedited hearing, an

employee need not prove every element of his or her claim by a preponderance of the

evidence but must come forward with sufficient evidence from which the trial court can

determine that the employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits consistent with

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(1) (2014). McCord v. Advantage Human

Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). This lesser evidentiary standard “does not

relieve an employee of the burden of producing evidence of an injury by accident that

arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of employment at an expedited

hearing, but allows some relief to be granted if that evidence does not rise to the level of

a ‘preponderance of the evidence.’” Buchanan, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS

39, at *6. In reviewing a trial court’s decision that the evidence presented at an expedited

hearing is sufficient to find an employee is likely to prevail at trial, we must determine

where the preponderance of the evidence lies.

Employer argues the trial court erred in awarding benefits because Employee “has

not shown that she is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits due to the fact that the

evidence proffered at the Expedited Hearing was insufficient to sustain an award of

benefits at a final hearing.” This argument is contrary to the principles set out above. If

3

an injured worker were required prior to trial to provide proof sufficient to “sustain an

award of benefits at a final hearing” as Employer suggests, the burden of proof at both

stages of a claim would be identical and the language “would likely prevail” in section

50-6-239(d)(1) would be superfluous. Again, at an expedited hearing where pre-trial

benefits are at issue, an employee need not prove every element of his or her claim by a

preponderance of the evidence, but must come forward with sufficient evidence from

which the trial court can determine that the employee is likely to prevail at trial consistent

with section 50-6-239(d)(1).

Here, it is uncontradicted that Employee was exposed to chemicals at work,

immediately began experiencing significant symptoms, and Dr. Cowden assessed

chemical exposure. Moreover, we note that the record contains a form dated February

27, 2016, on which Dr. Cowden indicates the Employee’s condition was causally related

to her employment. As Employer has presented no contrary medical proof, Dr.

Cowden’s opinion is the only medical opinion contained in the record. Accordingly, we

have no difficulty affirming the trial court’s decision to order medical benefits at this

interlocutory stage of the case.

B.

Employer’s second argument on appeal is that an expedited hearing is not a

meaningful process when discovery has not been completed and the evidence is

insufficient to award benefits at a compensation hearing. According to Employer, “a

workers’ compensation judge has the ability to compel an employer to provide benefits to

an employee following an Expedited Hearing even if it appears that the employee will not

prevail at a final hearing on the merits.” Thus, Employer maintains that the expedited

hearing process violates due process.2

The premise of employer’s due process argument – that a trial court may award

benefits at an expedited hearing “even if it appears that the employee will not prevail at a

final hearing on the merits” – is not the standard upon which a trial court determines

whether an employee is entitled to benefits prior to trial. If it appears to the trial court

that an employee is not likely to prevail at trial, the trial court should find that the

employee has not satisfied his or her burden of proof at the expedited hearing and deny

relief. Regardless, the constitutionality of the expedited hearing process was not raised in

the trial court and thus the trial court had no opportunity to render a decision regarding

the issue. Consequently, the issue is waived. Norton v. McCaskill, 12 S.W.3d 789, 795

(Tenn. 2000) (Issues raised for the first time on appeal will usually be deemed waived.);

Lawrence v. Stanford, 655 S.W.2d 927, 929 (Tenn. 1983) (“It has long been the general

rule that questions not raised in the trial court will not be entertained on appeal and this

2

Employer does not indicate whether it relies upon due process principles as embodied in the Tennessee

Constitution, the United States Constitution, or both.

4

rule applies to an attempt to make a constitutional attack.”); Gilliam v. State, No. 03-C-

01-9411-CR-00406, 1995 Tenn. Crim. App. LEXIS 351, at *7-8 (Tenn. Crim. App. Apr.

25, 1995) (“Consideration of an issue raised for the first time on appeal would be unfair

to the trial court” and “results in ‘ambushing’ the other party.”); see also Appeals Board

Prac. & Proc. § 5.5 (“Issues or arguments not raised in the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims will be deemed waived on appeal.”).

C.

Employer’s final issue on appeal concerns whether the trial court erred in

admitting certain medical records and in admitting statements that it alleges are

inadmissible under the Tennessee Rules of Evidence.

Regarding the medical records, with the exception of the records from Summit

Medical Center and Dr. Zhou, each set of medical records was accompanied by a medical

records custodian’s certification. Moreover, at the expedited hearing, Employer’s

attorney indicated that the parties had compiled a set of records “that leads off with

Summit Medical on the cover page, that we’ve agreed to.” (Emphasis added.)

Regardless, while Employer maintains that medical records were admitted into evidence

that should have been excluded, Employer does not identify those records, and we

decline to speculate as to what record or records Employer asserts should not have been

admitted. “It is not the role of the courts, trial or appellate, to research or construct a

litigant’s case or arguments for him or her,” Sneed v. Bd. of Prof’l Responsibility of the

Sup. Ct. of Tenn., 301 S.W.3d 603, 615 (Tenn. 2010), and we decline to search the record

in an attempt to discover errors that might benefit either party, see McEarl v. City of

Brownsville, No. W2015-00077-COA-R3-CV, 2015 Tenn. App. LEXIS 894, at *7 (Tenn.

Ct. App. Nov. 6, 2015).

With respect to statements Employer asserts were incorrectly admitted as hearsay,

Employer identifies statements contained in Employee’s testimony regarding what she

was told by others at Employer’s facility. Employer also argues that hearsay statements

contained in Employee’s affidavit were admitted in error. Employer lodged an objection

to Employee’s affidavit, and the trial court reserved ruling on that objection until issuance

of its order. While the trial court’s order does not address whether Employer’s objection

was sustained or overruled, there is no indication that, in rendering its decision, the judge

considered any of the statements Employer cites as objectionable, either in Employee’s

affidavit or in her testimony at the hearing. Thus, any error the trial court may have

committed in admitting these statements was harmless.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate against

the trial court’s decision at this interlocutory stage of the case. Nor does the trial court’s

5

decision violate any of the standards set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

217(a)(3). The trial court’s decision is affirmed, and the case is remanded for any further

proceedings that may be necessary.

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Deborah Revnew ) Docket No. 2016-06-0320

)

v. ) State File No. 16063-2016

)

Amazon.com, Inc., et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 3rd day of October, 2016.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Deborah Revnew X 198 Peace Ave.

Lebanon, TN 37087

W. Troy Hart X wth@mijs.com

Joshua Davis Baker, X Via Electronic Mail

Judge

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.