Opinion

McQuiddy, Jana v. Saint Thomas Midtown Hospital

  • 2016 TN WC App. 52
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Oct 7, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

“In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”

How later courts described this case

  • “In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Jana McQuiddy ) Docket No. 2015-06-0593

)

v. ) State File No. 21252-2015

)

Saint Thomas Midtown Hospital, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Joshua D. Baker, Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final - Filed October 7, 2016

The employee has appealed the trial court’s dismissal of her claim for failure to prove she

suffered an injury arising primarily out of and occurring in the course and scope of her

employment. The employee alleged that she was injured when she slipped in liquid on

her employer’s premises and fell. At trial, the employer moved to dismiss the case at the

close of the employee’s proof, and the trial court granted the motion on the basis that the

employee failed to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that she suffered an injury

arising primarily out of and in the course and scope of her employment. The employee

has appealed. We affirm the trial court’s decision and certify the trial court’s order

dismissing the case as final.

Presiding Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in

which Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Jana McQuiddy, Nashville, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

Lee Anne Murray, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Saint Thomas

Midtown Hospital

1

Memorandum Opinion1

Jana McQuiddy (“Employee”), a resident of Davidson County, Tennessee, was

employed as a phlebotomist by Saint Thomas Midtown Hospital (“Employer”) when she

allegedly suffered injuries in the course of her employment on March 11, 2015.2 On that

date, Employee claims she slipped in liquid that had been spilled on a floor and fell,

sustaining injuries to her hip, shoulder, and back. Employer initially accepted the claim

as compensable and provided medical treatment. Employee attempted to return to work

upon her release by the authorized treating physician, but her employment was

terminated.

Employee filed a petition for benefit determination seeking temporary and

permanent disability benefits. Employee, the only witness to testify at trial, testified

about her accident and her injuries. According to the trial court’s compensation hearing

order, Employee submitted medical records to the court, but Employer objected to the

court’s consideration of causation opinions contained in the records on the basis that they

were hearsay. The trial court sustained the objection.

At the close of Employee’s proof, Employer requested that the claim be dismissed

because Employee failed to carry her burden of proving she suffered a compensable

injury. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(6) (2015) (“[T]he employee shall bear the

burden of proving each and every element of the claim by a preponderance of the

evidence.”). The trial court granted the motion and dismissed the case, concluding that

Employee failed to establish by a preponderance of the evidence that her injury arose

primarily out of and in the course and scope of her employment.3 Employee has

appealed.

1

“The Appeals Board may, in an effort to secure a just and speedy determination of matters on appeal and

with the concurrence of all judges, decide an appeal by an abbreviated order or by memorandum opinion,

whichever the Appeals Board deems appropriate, in cases that are not legally and/or factually novel or

complex.” Appeals Bd. Prac. & Proc. § 1.3.

2

Because neither a transcript of the trial nor a statement of the evidence has been provided, we have

gleaned the facts from the pleadings and the trial court’s compensation hearing order.

3

We note that compensability was not identified as a disputed issue on the dispute certification notice

(“DCN”), and Employer did not list any defense on the DCN challenging the compensability of

Employee’s accident. The trial court’s authority is limited to adjudicating issues certified by a mediator

on the DCN unless a party seeking to add other issues satisfies certain statutory criteria. Tenn. Code Ann.

§ 50-6-239(b)(1) and (2) (2015). The trial court’s compensation hearing order does not indicate whether

these criteria were met. However, we have no transcript of the trial and will not speculate as to what may

have transpired at trial. Moreover, Employee has not raised this issue in either the trial court or on appeal

and, therefore, has waived the issue.

2

A.

This appeal suffers from two significant defects not uncommon in all types of

appeals filed by self-represented litigants: an inadequate record and little or no

meaningful argument concerning the factual or legal basis for the appeal. Either defect

significantly hampers appellate review but, when combined, effective review becomes

impractical. Such is the case here.

The first problem with this appeal is an inadequate record. Although there is no

requirement that a transcript or statement of the evidence be filed to properly perfect an

appeal, a party who elects not to submit either a transcript or a statement of the evidence

does so at his or her peril. Gilbert v. United Parcel Serv., No. 2016-06-0832, 2016 TN

Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 38, at *13 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Aug. 24,

2016). The reason, simply put, is that if the appellate court is not provided with a

transcript or a statement of the evidence, the “court cannot know what evidence was

presented to the trial court, and there is no means by which [it] can evaluate the

appellant’s assertion that the evidence did not support the trial court’s decision.” Britt v.

Chambers, No. W2006-00061-COA-R3-CV, 2007 Tenn. App. LEXIS 38, at *8 (Tenn.

Ct. App. Jan. 25, 2007).

In this case, testimony was presented to the trial court regarding the incident

forming the basis of Employee’s claim, as well as testimony concerning her injuries. The

trial court relied on this testimony in deciding the case, noting that it considered “the

evidence as a whole.” However, we have been provided with no record of this testimony.

Moreover, no statement of the evidence has been filed. Thus, the totality of the evidence

introduced in the trial court is unknown, and we decline to speculate as to the nature and

extent of the proof presented to the trial court. Instead, consistent with established

Tennessee law, we must presume that the trial court’s rulings were supported by

sufficient evidence. See Leek v. Powell, 884 S.W.2d 118, 121 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1994) (“In

the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume

that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found

favorably to the appellee.”).

The second obstacle to appellate review in this case is the lack of any meaningful

argument regarding the basis for the appeal. Specifically, in her notice of appeal,

Employee fails to identify any issues for review, asserting only that she has “documents

from Dr. on my condition & treatment plans.” Further, the brief she filed on appeal does

not identify any issues for review, make any argument, or otherwise explain how the trial

court erred in resolving the case. Thus, we have no way of knowing the nature of her

contentions on appeal.

As stated by the Tennessee Supreme Court, “[i]t is not the role of the courts, trial

or appellate, to research or construct a litigant’s case or arguments for him or her.” Sneed

3

v. Bd. of Prof’l Responsibility of the Sup. Ct. of Tenn., 301 S.W.3d 603, 615 (Tenn.

2010). Indeed, were we to search the record for possible errors and raise issues and

arguments for Employee, we would essentially be acting as her counsel. The law clearly

prohibits us from doing so, as appellate courts will not “dig through the record in an

attempt to discover arguments or issues that [a pro se party] may have made had [that

party] been represented by counsel” because doing so “would place [the opposing party]

in a distinct and likely insurmountable and unfair disadvantage.” Webb v. Sherrell, No.

E2013-02724-COA-R3-CV, 2015 Tenn. App. LEXIS 645, at *5 (Tenn. Ct. App. Aug. 12,

2015). Accordingly, we decline to conduct an “archaeological dig” into the record in an

attempt to discover errors that might benefit either party. McEarl v. City of Brownsville,

No. W2015-00077-COA-R3-CV, 2015 Tenn. App. LEXIS 894, at *7 (Tenn. Ct. App.

Nov. 6, 2015).

B.

Employee has filed numerous motions on appeal. These include (1) a “Motion for

No Transcript,” (2) a “Motion to Submit Medical Records,” (3) a “Motion to Dismiss”

regarding records of a particular physician, (4) a “Motion to Dismiss Impairment Rating,”

(5) a “Motion to Re-evaluate for Impairment Rating,” (6) a “Motion to Submit No

Misconduct,” (7) a “Motion to Submit as Physical Condition Evidence,” (8) a “Motion to

Submit Physical Evidence,” and (9) a “Motion to Submit [a] Medical Record.”

Most of Employee’s motions seek our consideration of medical records and other

information she argues establish that she suffered a compensable injury and is entitled to

benefits. However, none of the evidence she now seeks to introduce was provided to the

trial court for its consideration. “Evaluating a trial court’s decision on appeal necessarily

entails taking into account information the trial court had before it at the time the issues

were decided by the court, as opposed to the potentially open-ended universe of

information parties may seek to present on appeal following an adverse decision.”

Hadzic v. Averitt Express, No. 2014-02-0064, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 14,

at *13 n.4 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 18, 2015). Accordingly, “we will not

consider on appeal testimony, exhibits, or other materials that were not properly admitted

into evidence at the hearing before the trial judge.” Id. See also Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs.

0800-02-22-.04(1) (2015) (“Evidence not contained in the record submitted to the clerk

of the workers’ compensation appeals board shall not be considered on appeal.”).

Employee’s motions to submit medical records and other information not admitted at trial

are denied.

Employee’s “Motion for No Transcript” is likewise denied. Employee asserts that

there is no transcript because all the evidence was not presented at trial. To the extent

Employee maintains that it was somehow impossible to provide a transcript of the trial

because she failed to introduce all the evidence she could have introduced, Employee’s

assertion is incorrect. Regardless of any deficiencies in the proof, a transcript could have

4

been prepared and filed. To the extent Employee appears to request that she be relieved

of an obligation to submit a transcript, we reiterate that, although a transcript is an

important element of appellate review, the submission of a transcript on appeal is

permissive, not mandatory. Navyac v. Universal Health Servs., No. 2015-06-0677, 2016

TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 17, at *5 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 31,

2016). Employee’s “Motion to Submit No Misconduct,” “Motion to Dismiss” regarding

records of a physician, and “Motion to Dismiss Impairment Rating,” are denied as well.

The trial court’s decision is affirmed and the court’s order dismissing the case is

certified as final.

5

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Jana McQuiddy ) Docket No. 2015-06-0593

)

v. )

) State File No. 21252-2015

Saint Thomas Midtown Hospital, et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 7th day of October, 2016.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Jana McQuiddy X Jabmcquiddy@gmail.com

Lee Anne Murray X leeamurray@feeneymurray.com

Mary Head X mary@feeneymurray.com

Joshua Davis Baker, X Via Electronic Mail

Judge

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.