Opinion

Love, Sarah v. Delta Faucet, Co.

  • 2016 TN WC App. 45
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Sep 19, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Sarah Love ) Docket No. 2015-07-0195

)

v. ) State File No. 55816-2015

)

Delta Faucet Company, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Allen Phillips, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded—Filed September 19, 2016

In this interlocutory appeal, the employer challenges the trial court’s award of medical

and temporary disability benefits with respect to the employee’s right shoulder injury,

which she alleges occurred when she lifted a tray of parts while working on the

employer’s assembly line. The employer, after initially accepting the claim, denied

further benefits, asserting the employee had prior problems with her shoulder and that her

current complaints were not related to her employment. Following an expedited hearing,

the trial court found the employee presented sufficient proof to establish she would likely

prevail at a hearing on the merits and awarded medical and temporary disability benefits.

The employer has appealed. We affirm the trial court’s decision and remand the case.

Presiding Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in

which Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Art Crews, Jackson, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Delta Faucet Company

James Krenis, Jackson, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Sarah Love

Factual and Procedural Background

Sarah Love (“Employee”), a resident of Madison County, Tennessee, alleged

suffering an injury to her right shoulder while working for Delta Faucet Company

(“Employer”) on July 17, 2015. She described lifting a tray of parts while in the course

of her duties and feeling a “pop” in her shoulder accompanied by immediate pain. She

1

reported the injury immediately, completed an incident report, and was provided a panel

of physicians from which she selected Dr. Gregory Wolf, an orthopedic surgeon. When

Employee saw Dr. Wolf, she complained of pain in her right shoulder since lifting the

tray of parts on July 17, 2015 and, after ordering an MRI, Dr. Wolf diagnosed a biceps

tendon rupture and rotator cuff tear and recommended surgery.

Employer sent Dr. Wolf a letter dated August 6, 2015, requesting his opinion with

respect to causation. He replied on September 25, 2015, after seeing Employee and

reviewing the MRI results, that Employee’s complaints arose “100%” out of her

employment. Employer sent Dr. Wolf another letter dated October 5, 2015, providing a

detailed recitation of Employee’s medical history related to her right shoulder beginning

in the 1990’s. The letter asserted that Employee had provided an inaccurate history to

Dr. Wolf and asked him to “re-visit” his prior opinion. Dr. Wolf responded on November

5, 2015, by checking a box indicating he could not say within a reasonable degree of

medical certainty that Employee’s complaints were primarily related to her employment.

Upon receipt of this opinion, Employer denied the claim.

On January 12, 2016, Dr. Wolf reiterated his recommendation for surgery and

noted that Employee’s shoulder problem appeared to be a “clear cut” case of a work-

related injury. In response to another inquiry from Employer, however, Dr. Wolf added a

note to his file dated March 25, 2016, indicating that he could not say within a reasonable

degree of medical certainty that Employee’s problems were primarily related to the work

incident at issue.

Subsequently, on April 21, 2016, Dr. Wolf saw Employee, discussed her history of

shoulder pain, and came to the conclusion that the injury was in fact causally related to

her work accident. Employee denied suffering from significant pain in the past and

reported to Dr. Wolf that she was doing well until she felt the pop in her shoulder at

work. Dr. Wolf observed that most of Employee’s right shoulder complaints prior to her

date of injury were documented in the late 1990’s, that there had never been any

objective studies performed relative to Employee’s prior complaints, and that she had

been working without difficulty prior to the subject injury.

Employer obtained a records review from Dr. David Sickle, sending him a letter

dated May 31, 2016, which again recited in detail Employee’s medical history with

respect to her shoulder complaints, attached the medical records Employer deemed

relevant, and asserted that Dr. Wolf’s reasoning in arriving at his conclusions was

“frankly, flawed.” In response, Dr. Sickle checked a box indicating that he could not say

within a reasonable degree of medical certainty that Employee’s complaints were

causally related to her employment.

Employee, the only witness to testify at the expedited hearing, testified that she

experienced a pop in her shoulder accompanied by pain lifting a tray of parts while

2

working on Employer’s assembly line. She acknowledged having experienced pain in

her right shoulder previously for which she sought medical care, but she denied having

suffered a right shoulder injury prior to the incident giving rise to this claim. She also

described seeking prior treatment for an area of her arm just above her elbow. On cross-

examination, Employee acknowledged that medical records from her primary care

physician reflected complaints of right shoulder pain, but she maintained that she was

actually seeking treatment for right arm pain. She denied having suffered an injury to her

right shoulder prior to the work injury at issue.

Employer also questioned Employee about an intake form she completed at Dr.

Wolf’s office and about the incident report she filled out for Employer on which she

denied having been treated for “this condition” in the past. Employee testified that she

was being truthful when she completed these forms, as she had never suffered an injury

to her right shoulder or received medical care for right shoulder complaints prior to this

injury. Despite prolonged questioning, she was steadfast in her assertion that she had

been treated for right arm pain rather than right shoulder pain.

Following the expedited hearing, the trial court issued a detailed order awarding

Employee medical and temporary disability benefits. The court explained the basis for its

decision as follows:

The Court finds Dr. Wolf’s explanation convincing. Conspicuously absent

from any of the prior medical records, from any time in the past, is a

diagnosis of a rotator cuff tear or biceps tendon rupture, a record of an MRI

demonstrating such conditions, or any indication of [Employee’s primary

care physician] restricting [Employee] from work. While [Employee] may

have complained of shoulder pain in the more recent past than that

described by Dr. Wolf, the uncontroverted proof is that [Employee] worked

in production at [Employer] with “perfect attendance” for five years before

her injury. She described her job as “fast” and “repetitive,” with her

handling 140 faucets per hour and being required to lift and load parts. The

Court finds such consistent job performance is inconsistent with an

individual with a serious issue in her shoulder. . . . Given the facts as

presented, and regardless of [Employee’s] less than ideal memory, the

Court finds the evidence of prior shoulder issues does not in and of itself

preponderate against a finding that [Employee] sustained an injury at

[work].

With regard to the medical proof in particular, the trial court credited Dr. Wolf’s

opinion over Dr. Sickle’s opinion, explaining:

The Court rejects [Employer’s] premise that Dr. Wolf is less than credible

because of his reversals of opinion. His initial thought was that [Employee]

3

suffered a shoulder injury based upon her history and his last thought was

that she suffered a shoulder injury based upon her history. His departure

from these affirmative opinions occurred once when he replied to

[Employer’s] correspondence of October 5, 2015, which led him to the

conclusion intended by the author and again when he reconsidered the

correspondence that was kept in a separate portion of his file on March 25,

2016. These two departures from an affirmative opinion do not counteract

his April 21, 2016 explanation of why he believes the injury is related,

namely his consideration of [Employee’s] current and past history

juxtaposed against her current diagnoses.

The trial court went on to explain that “Dr. Wolf offers the more probable explanation of

[Employee’s] shoulder injury. Notably, he saw [Employee] on five occasions whereas

Dr. Sickle merely reviewed records.” According to the trial court, Dr. Wolf’s opinion

“comports with the factual chronology established in the evidence. [Employee] had pain

in her shoulder for years but [Employee’s primary care physician] never diagnosed the

anatomic lesions at issue, did not restrict her from work, or refer her to an orthopedic

specialist.” Also, Employee “worked for five years at [Employer] with perfect

attendance until sustaining an incident prompting orthopedic care concomitantly resulting

for the first time in a recommendation for surgery and in disablement.” Employer has

appealed the trial court’s award of benefits.

Standard of Review

The standard of review to be applied by this Board in reviewing a trial court’s

decision is statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, “[t]here shall be a

presumption that the findings and conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are

correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-

6-239(c)(7) (2015). The trial court’s decision must be upheld unless the rights of a party

“have been prejudiced because findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a

workers’ compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers’ compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion; or

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record.”

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standards

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

4

Analysis

A.

Initially, we note that this case exemplifies a common problem, the submission of

irrelevant medical records and the failure to comply with Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-

02-21-.16(6) (2015). Parties are charged with the responsibility of submitting evidence to

the trial court in a specific manner, which is designed to make processing and deciding

cases more efficient and expedient. Rule 0800-02-21-.16(6)(c), which addresses the

submission of medical records in the trial court, mandates that a party submitting medical

records in excess of ten pages “shall include a chronological table of contents.”

Moreover, “each of the records shall be identified by author and date and numbered as in

the table of contents.” Id.

The record in this case, which exceeds seven hundred pages, contains numerous

medical records unrelated to any issue in the case. Among other irrelevant records

introduced as evidence, these include:

 copies of insurance cards

 chest pain records from 1992

 skin/rash records from twenty-one years ago

 instructions on how to properly take a water pill

 sinus/throat infection records from sixteen years ago

 prescription refill orders that are at least seven years old

 CT scans of Employee’s head seventeen years ago

 numerous pages of heart monitor readings

 mammogram studies

 blood test results showing cholesterol levels

 old chest x-ray results

 thumb injury records from twenty-four years ago

 hypertension records

 gallbladder records

 fertility procedure records

 illegible records

 tuberculosis screening questionnaire from 2009, and even

 records from when Employee delivered her children that document the procedures

used and how healthy the babies were nearly thirty years ago

In addition to voluminous medical records that have nothing to do with Employee’s

injury, there are multiple duplicative records, and there is no table of contents as required

by Rule 0800-02-21-.16(6)(c).

5

As a result of these deficiencies, appellate review in this case has been rendered

“unnecessarily cumbersome and time-consuming.” James v. Landair Transport, Inc.,

No. 2015-02-0024, 2015 TN Wrk Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 28, at *9 (Tenn. Workers’

Comp. App. Bd. Aug. 26, 2015). Having to sift through hundreds of pages of medical

records to glean what is pertinent to the issues to be decided is no small matter given that

an expedited appeal must be decided within seven days of receiving the record on appeal.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(2)(A) (2015). Rather than summarily vacating the

trial court’s decision and remanding this case for the purpose of creating a proper record,

we will, on this occasion, address the merits of the appeal.

B.

Employer argues that the trial court’s decision should be reversed because the

court “ignored” evidence supportive of Employer’s position, including “overwhelming

evidence that the Employee is not credible.” Taken as a whole, Employer disagrees with

the trial court’s determination of which medical opinion to accept and its weighing of the

evidence in awarding benefits. Employee filed an untimely responsive brief, which we

have declined to consider.1

Our analysis of this case is guided by several well-established principles. First, at

an expedited hearing, an employee need not prove every element of his or her claim by a

preponderance of the evidence but, instead, must come forward with sufficient evidence

from which the trial court can determine that the employee is likely to prevail at a hearing

on the merits consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(1) (2014).

McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp.

App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). This lesser

evidentiary standard “does not relieve an employee of the burden of producing evidence

of an injury by accident that arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of

employment at an expedited hearing, but allows some relief to be granted if that evidence

does not rise to the level of a ‘preponderance of the evidence.’” Buchanan v. Carlex

Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *6 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015). The Tennessee Workers’ Compensation Law

also provides that “there shall be a presumption that the findings and conclusions of the

workers’ compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is

otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2015).

In addition, it is well-established that a “trial judge has the discretion to determine

which testimony to accept when presented with conflicting expert opinions.” Payne v.

1

Employee’s appellate brief, which was due on or before September 6, 2016, was filed September 13,

2016. No motion has been made to accept Employee’s late-filed brief and no explanation has been

provided for why it was submitted less than a week before an opinion had to be filed resolving this

appeal.

6

UPS, No. M2013-02363-SC-R3-WC, 2014 Tenn. LEXIS 1112, at *18 (Tenn. Workers’

Comp. Panel Dec. 30, 2014). When there are conflicting medical opinions, as in this

case, “the trial judge must obviously choose which view to believe. In doing so, [the trial

judge] is allowed, among other things, to consider the qualifications of the experts, the

circumstances of their examination, the information available to them, and the evaluation

of the importance of that information by other experts.” Orman v. Williams Sonoma,

Inc., 803 S.W.2d 672, 676 (Tenn. 1991). When one of those experts is an authorized

treating physician, that expert’s opinion is afforded a presumption of correctness on the

issue of causation. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(E) (2015).

Here, the trial court chose to accept the opinion of Dr. Wolf, the authorized

treating physician. While Dr. Wolf did vacillate in his opinion regarding causation, he

ultimately concluded that Employee’s right shoulder complaints were causally related to

her work with Employer. He did so after reviewing the records from Employee’s

primary care physician, meeting with Employee, and considering his prior opinions. He

acknowledged having rendered conflicting opinions with respect to causation, for which

he expressed regret, but he explained in some detail the rationale behind his final opinion

given on April 21, 2016, which, as noted by the trial court, was the same opinion he

expressed at the outset.

Employer argues that Dr. Sickle’s opinion should be given more weight than Dr.

Wolf’s opinion because Dr. Wolf’s opinion is unreliable due to his equivocation. The

totality of Dr. Sickle’s opinion consisted of a checked box in response to correspondence

that, as the trial court observed, “begged a negative answer to its causation question.”

That opinion was rendered after performing a records review and without having

examined Employee. The trial court determined the presumption of correctness afforded

the authorized treating physician’s opinion was not rebutted by Dr. Sickle’s review of the

records. The evidence does not preponderate otherwise.

Employer also argues that the trial court stepped outside its proper role by

“implicitly [finding] that the information Dr. Wolf did not take into account (i.e. several

doctor’s visits that were not recognized in Dr. Wolf’s timeline) was not significant.”

Employer reasons that, in accepting Dr. Wolf’s opinion, the trial court must have

considered the medical proof allegedly not considered by Dr. Wolf and found it

irrelevant. We agree with Employer that judges, like lawyers, are poorly positioned to

formulate expert medical opinions. See Scott v. Integrity Staffing Solutions, No. 2015-01-

0055, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 24, at *8 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd.

Aug. 18, 2015) (“Judges are not well-suited to second-guess a medical expert’s treatment,

recommendations, and/or diagnoses absent some conflicting medical evidence or some

other countervailing evidence properly admitted into the record.”). However, contrary to

Employer’s contentions, the trial court did not overstep its bounds in this case. Rather,

the trial court considered the two expert opinions, acknowledged the information upon

which each opinion was based, and selected the opinion it deemed more reliable, a task

7

judges must perform when confronted with conflicting medical proof. The trial court’s

determination of this issue was well within the bounds of the medical opinions contained

in the record.

Finally, Employer asserts that Employee’s testimony “demonstrated an utter lack

of trustworthiness.” Employer relies upon Employee’s denials of prior shoulder

problems and her failure to inform Dr. Wolf or Employer that she had a history of

shoulder complaints.2 From our perspective, however, the trial court reviewed the record,

considered the information adduced by Employer on cross-examination, and accepted

Employee’s testimony as sufficient to entitle her to benefits at this interlocutory stage of

the claim. The law is clear that “[w]hen the trial court has heard in-court testimony,

considerable deference must be afforded in reviewing the trial court’s findings of

credibility and assessment of the weight to be given to that testimony.” Tryon v. Saturn

Corp., 254 S.W.3d 321, 327 (Tenn. 2008). While there are inconsistencies between the

medical records and Employee’s testimony, the trial court, in a thorough order,

considered the strengths and weaknesses of all the relevant evidence. Based upon our

review of the record, we cannot conclude that the evidence preponderates against the trial

court’s decision.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate against

the trial court’s decision. Nor does the trial court’s decision violate any of the standards

set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-217(a)(3). Accordingly, the trial

court’s decision is affirmed. The case is remanded for any further proceedings that may

be necessary.

2

Employer also attempted to challenge Employee’s credibility by questioning her regarding her having

retained other counsel prior to retaining her current attorney and regarding her filing a petition for benefit

determination, withdrawing it, and filing another. It is unclear what, if any, bearing either of these points

has on Employee’s credibility.

8

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Sarah Love ) Docket No. 2015-07-0195

)

v. ) State File No. 55816-2015

)

Delta Faucet, Co., et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 19th day of September, 2016.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

James Krenis X James.krenislaw@outlook.com

Leslie.krenislaw@outlook.com

Art Crews X Crewsa@waldrophall.com

Allen Phillips, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeaentte Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.