Opinion

Thomas, Horace v. Zipp Express

  • 2016 TN WC App. 36
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 2, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

WORKERS' COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Horace Wade Thomas ) Docket No. 2015-06-0546

)

V. ) State File No. 57850-2015

)

Zipp Express, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers' )

Compensation Claims )

Joshua D. Baker; Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded - Filed August 2, 2016

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee alleges he was injured in a fall after

experiencing an episode of syncope due to sleep deprivation resulting from his job duties.

The employer denied the claim, asserting the fall was idiopathic and that there was

insufficient medical evidence to establish a causal relationship between the syncopal

episode and the employment. Following an expedited hearing, the trial court ordered the

employer to provide a panel of physicians from which the employee could select a

physician for evaluation and treatment of any work-related injuries, but denied the

employee's request for temporary disability benefits and payment of medical expenses

already incurred. The employer has appealed. Having carefully reviewed the record, we

affirm the trial court's decision and remand the case for further proceedings as may be

necessary.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which Judge

Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

B. Duane Willis, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Zipp Express

Horace Wade Thomas, Lebanon, Tennessee, employee-appellee, prose

Factual and Procedural Background

Horace Wade Thomas ("Employee"), a sixty-year-old resident of Wilson County,

Tennessee, was employed by Zipp Express ("Employer") as a truck driver on February

1

19, 2015, when he suffered injuries that he alleges are work-related! He asserts that he

suffered sleep deprivation as a result of his employment and, consequently, experienced

an episode of syncope resulting in a fall and head laceration that required medical

treatment. Specifically, on February 17, 2015, Employee had delivered a load to a

location in Wisconsin and was instructed by a dispatcher to pick up another load in Green

Bay, Wisconsin for delivery to Salem, Virginia. Employee testified that he questioned

the dispatcher, stating that he understood the area he would have to travel to complete the

delivery was expecting bad weather. Employee stated that the dispatcher confirmed the

instructions to pick up and deliver the load. After picking up the cargo, he stopped for

the night in Gary, Indiana, having logged eleven hours of driving that day. 2

The following day, February 18, 2015, Employee began driving at about 9:15 in

the morning. While driving in West Virginia on his way to Salem, Virginia, bad weather

and road closures caused him to become stranded on the road. He called Employer at

about 6:00 p.m. to report that he was stuck on the roadway, and he testified that he was

there "all night just not moving." He explained that he needed to stay awake while

stranded even though the truck was not moving because he did not know when traffic

would be able to move, and he could not risk going to sleep and being the cause of

additional traffic delays. When the traffic resumed moving about 5:30 the next morning,

he notified dispatch that he would be stopping because he was "give out" and needed rest.

He made his way to a rest area where he slept until about 7:15 a.m., finally aniving at the

Salem, Virginia delivery destination at 7:47 a.m. on February 19, 2015. 3 Unloading was

completed just after 10:00 a.m., and Employee was informed that he needed to pick up

another load at another location. He testified that when he informed his dispatcher that

he was tired and needed to stop, the dispatcher instructed him to pick up the load before

stopping. As directed, Employee proceeded to Waynesboro, Virginia, arriving at

approximately 2:00 p.m. His log indicates he left the Waynesboro pick-up location at

approximately 4:30 p.m. en route to Shelbyville, Tennessee. He stopped for the evening

sometime before 6:00 p.m. at a truck stop.

Employee testified that upon arriving at the truck stop he ''was hungry, went

inside, and walked in - up to the cooler and grabbed two bottles of water and turned then

1

In its June 14, 2016 expedited hearing order, the trial court states that Employee is fifty years of age and

that the dates involved in Employee's trip and syncopal episode occurred in January 2015. However, it is

clear in the record that Employee is sixty years of age and that the dates of Employee's trip and his

syncopal episode were in February 2015.

2

The testimony is uncontroverted that pursuant to Department of Transportation ("DOT") regulations, a

commercial truck driver is allowed to drive a maximum of eleven hours and then is required to have a

ten-hour rest.

3

The testimony is also uncontroverted that time spent on the road when the truck is not moving, but is not

shut down, is a "gray" area for which DOT regulations provide little or no guidance.

2

to walk out . . . and that's when everything just went black." He testified he has no

recollection of passing out or of subsequent events until he woke up in the "ambulance."4

Employee received emergency medical care at Roanoke Memorial Hospital, where

he was admitted on February 19, 2015. The record of a neurology consult on February

21, 2015 states that Employee "fainted after losing a lot of sleep and is living under [an]

enormous amount of stress." His neurological examination was "normal (except for

peripheral neuropathy, distal symmetrical, likely due to his uncontrolled diabetes)." In

addition to stress, the report listed the "Impression" as including "[ s]yncope, probably

due to sleep loss, question if there is superimposed sleep apnea." The "Impression" in a

cardiology consult note of the same date included "Syncope [of] undetermined etiology.

[History] not suggestive ofvaso-vagal syncope, no preceding prodrome."

After comprehensive objective testing, Employee was discharged from the

hospital on February 22, 2015 with multiple diagnoses including syncope, uncontrolled

diabetes, and previously undiagnosed high blood pressure, for which he was instructed to

begin a medication regimen.

Employee followed up with his primary care provider in Tennessee for his

diabetes, although there is no indication he received any treatment for injuries or

symptoms related to his fall. At Employer's request, Dr. Blake Garside performed a

records review and provided a report addressing questions presented by Employer. In

addition to the available medical records, Dr. Garside also considered surveillance video

obtained from the truck stop that showed Employee's syncopal episode. After reviewing

the information, Dr. Garside issued a report on May 27, 2016, which reflected his

opinions as follows:

Question # 1: Based upon review of your medical records and information

provided along with the video, can you articulate the cause of the

employee's fall based upon the manner or direction in which he fell?

It appears the patient suffered a syncopal episode while in the truck stop. It

did not appear to be a trip or fall. He appears to fall unprovoked backwards

striking his head and remains unconscious on the floor.

Question #2: What was the cause, and secondarily, was that cause more

than 50% related to his work as a truck driver in light of other diagnoses

and medical issues identified as a syncope event, unknown etiology,

diabetes mellitus, high blood pressure or potential sleep apnea [that] could

have been the cause[]?

4

Employee's reference to an "ambulance" appears to refer to a medical transport flight rather than a

ground ambulance.

3

Syncopal episodes occur due to global hypoperfusion. There are multiple

causes ranging from cardiac to neurologic issues most likely due to

decreased blood flow to the brain. These can include cardiac syncope,

vascular disease, arrhythmias, cardiac outflow obstruction, acute

[myocardial infarctions], aneurisms, and pulmonary embolus. Also

vasovagal syncope of which this event did not appear consistent based on

the video and cardiology assessment. Syncope can also be caused by

orthostatic hypotension and dehydration, neurologic issues such as seizure

disorders or intracerebral hemorrhages. Sleep deprivation is not

consistently demonstrated in the literature as a primary or secondary cause

of syncopal episodes. Therefore it is unlikely that the sleep deprivation

noted by [Employee] contributed more than 50% in causing this injury or

episode.

Employer denied the claim, stating in a Notice of Controversy that the "[i]njury is

not considered compensable due to the lack of a timely notice and information gathered

supporting the injury did not occur within the course and scope of employment." 5

Employee filed a petition for benefit determination and, following unsuccessful

mediation, a dispute certification notice was issued. An expedited hearing was held on

May 31, 2016, after which the trial court issued an order requiring Employer to provide

"medical treatment for [Employee's] injuries ... to be initiated by [Employer] providing .

. . a panel of neurological specialists." The trial court denied E mployee' s request for

temporary disability benefits and payment of past medical expenses. 6 Employer has

appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court's decision is statutorily mandated

and limited in scope. Specifically, "[t]here shall be a presumption that the findings and

conclusions of the workers' compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of

the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2015). The trial court's

decision must be upheld unless the rights of a party "have been prejudiced because

findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a workers' compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers' compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

5

Although Employer raised notice as a defense in the trial court, Employer has not made any argument on

appeal that timely notice was not given. Thus, we decline to address the issue.

6

Employee did not appeal the trial court's denial of temporary disability benefits or payment of medical

expenses. Therefore, we need not address those issues.

4

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion; or

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record."

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standards

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

Employer presents the following issue in its brief on appeal: "Whether the

evidence preponderates against the Court's conclusion that Employee is entitled to

medical benefits as a result of his alleged injury." In its argument, Employer asserts the

trial court "came to two specific findings that were in error." First, it asserts the trial

court erred in finding that Employee presented sufficient evidence that his syncopal

episode was caused by sleep deprivation. Finally, Employer asserts the trial court erred

in finding that Employer did not establish that Employee's injury was idiopathic.

We have previously addressed the standard of proof required in expedited

hearings. At an expedited hearing, an employee need not prove each and every element

of his or her claim by a preponderance of the evidence in order to obtain temporary

disability benefits or medical benefits. E.g., McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing,

No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers'

Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). Instead, an employee has the burden to come forward

with sufficient evidence from which the trial court can determine that the employee is

likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-239(d)(l). Id. Thus, while an injured worker retains the burden of proof at

all stages of a workers' compensation claim, a trial court can grant relief at an expedited

hearing if the court is satisfied that the employee has met the burden of showing that he

or she is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(l)

(2015).

"This lesser evidentiary standard ... does not relieve an employee of the burden of

producing evidence of an injury by accident that arose primarily out of and in the course

and scope of employment at an expedited hearing, but allows some relief to be granted if

that evidence does not rise to the level of a 'preponderance of the evidence."' Buchanan

v. Car/ex Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at* 6

(Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015). It is our responsibility to conduct an

in-depth examination of the trial court's factual findings and conclusions, see Wilhelm v.

Krogers, 235 S.W.3d 122, 126 (Tenn. 2007), within the mandate set out in Tennessee

Code Annotated sections 50-6-217(a)(3) and 50-6-239(c)(7) (2015). Section 50-6-

239(c)(7) provides a presumption ''that the findings and conclusions of the workers'

5

compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise."

Furthermore, when the trial court has seen and heard the witnesses, considerable

deference must be given to the trial court's factual findings. Tryon v. Saturn Corp., 254

S.W.3d 321,327 (Tenn. 2008).

In addition, a trial judge "has the discretion to conclude that the opinion of one

expert should be accepted over that of another expert." Reagan v. Tennplasco, No.

M2005-02020-WC-R3-CV, 2006 Tenn. LEXIS 1209, at *10 (Tenn. Workers' Comp.

Panel Dec. 27, 2006). As stated by the Tennessee Supreme Court, "[w]hen faced ...

with conflicting medical testimony . . ., it is within the discretion of the trial judge to

conclude that the opinion of certain experts should be accepted over that of other experts

and that it contains the more probable explanation." Thomas v. Aetna Life and Cas. Co.,

812 S.W.2d 278,283 (Tenn. 1991) (internal quotation marks omitted).

In the instant case, the trial court determined that Employee presented sufficient

evidence that he would likely succeed at a hearing on the merits in establishing the

compensability of his claim. The trial court noted that the medical records of Employee's

treatment at Roanoke Memorial Hospital "characterized the event as work-related," and

that these records "noted [Employee's] syncopal episode likely occurred due to lack of

sleep." The medical records included stress as an "Impression," as well as "peripheral

neuropathy ... likely due to mild diabetes." The "Impression" also included "[s]yncope,

probably due to sleep loss, question if there is superimposed sleep apnea." In addition,

the record of Employee's cardiology consultation during his hospitalization indicated his

syncopal episode was of "undetermined etiology." While the medical records alone fall

short of establishing compensability by a preponderance of the evidence, when such

reports are considered in combination with Employee's testimony, which the trial court

found to be credible, the evidence is sufficient to support the trial court's order for a

panel of physicians. Given Employee's unrefuted testimony that his dispatcher instructed

him to retrieve additional loads despite his lack of sleep, we find that at this stage of the

proceedings the testimony and the record as a whole support the trial court's

determination that Employee is entitled to a panel of physicians.

Employer asserts that the trial court "should have placed greater weight [on] the

medical records review performed by Dr. Garside." Arguing that Employee's medical

proof "should have been classified as equivocal and not sufficient to meet his burden of

[proving] a prima facie case," Employer concludes that it was error "[t]o dismiss Dr.

Garside's report because of the fact it was only a medical records review." As noted

above, a trial judge has the discretion to conclude that one medical opinion should be

accepted over that of another. Thomas, 812 S.W.2d at 283. Furthermore, lay testimony

can serve to bolster the opinion of one medical care provider over that of another.

Williams v. Tecumseh Products Co., 978 S.W.2d 932, 935 (Tenn. 1998). Here, the trial

court noted that "Dr. Garside never examined or even spoke with [Employee] before

preparing the report . . . [and] essentially had no connection with [Employee] or

6

involvement in his treatment," which persuaded the trial court to "place[] little weight on

his report." Dr. Garside answered specific questions concerning causation and provided

opinions "based on reasonable medical probability," concluding that "it is unlikely that

the sleep deprivation ... contributed more than 50% in causing this injury or episode."

While Employee's proof may or may not be sufficient to establish causation by a

preponderance of the evidence at trial, we cannot say that Employee failed to present

sufficient evidence to support the trial court's determination that he is entitled to a panel

of physicians. However, the trial court's determination of this issue does not relieve

Employee of the burden of establishing medical causation by a preponderance of the

evidence at a hearing on the merits.

Finally, we address Employer's assertion that the trial court erred in determining

that Employee's injury was not idiopathic. "An idiopathic injury is one that has an

unexplained origin or cause, and generally does not arise out of the employment unless

'some condition of the employment presents a peculiar or additional hazard."' Ve/er v.

Wackenhut Servs., No. E2010-00965-WC-R3-WC, 2011 Tenn. LEXIS 78, at *9 (Tenn.

Workers' Comp. Panel Jan. 28, 2011) (quoting Shearon v. Seaman, 198 S.W.3d 209, 215

(Tenn. Ct. App. 2005)). See also McCa.ffery v. Cardinal Logistics, No. 2015-08-0218,

2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 50, at *9 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Dec.

10, 2015). Here, Employer asserts that "[w]ithout [a] medical explanation to his syncopal

episode ... this is a classic case of an idiopathic injury in line with [Sudduth v. Williams,

517 S.W.2d 520 (Tenn. 1974)]." In Sudduth, the employee suffered a seizure at his place

of employment described in the emergency room records as an alcoholic seizure, which

caused Employee to fall and strike his head. Id. at 521. The proof was disputed

concerning whether the employee struck his head only on the floor or whether he struck it

on a piece of machinery as he fell. Id. The employee was released from the emergency

room and was found a short time later unconscious at a nearby intersection. Id. He was

taken back to the hospital where he later died of what an autopsy revealed was a subdural

hematoma. Id. The Tennessee Supreme Court affirmed the trial court's determination

that the injury was idiopathic based on medical records reflecting a recent seizure

disorder diagnosis. Id. at 523. Also, the Supreme Court determined the evidence was

sufficient to support a finding that there was no hazard incident to the employment that

caused the fall. Id.

In the present case, the trial court found the facts surrounding Employee's injury

to be distinguishable from those in Sudduth. Employee may, indeed, have simply fallen

without having tripped or slipped. Although the discussion in the trial court's June 14,

2016 order concerning Employer's idiopathic injury defense is not entirely clear, we

interpret the trial court's order to mean Employee established that a hazard to which he

was exposed as a result of his employment, specifically sleep deprivation, was causally

related to his syncopal episode and injury. The trial court concluded that Employee's

"activity was rationally connected to, and therefore arose primarily out of, his

employment." Whether a particular activity is "rationally connected to" the employment

7

does not answer the ultimate question of whether an injury resulting from such activity

arose primarily out of the employment as contemplated in Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-102(14). Nevertheless, we cannot say that the trial court erred in

determining that Employee came forward with sufficient evidence at this stage of the

proceedings to support an order for medical benefits.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate against

the trial court's finding that Employee's injury was not idiopathic. We further hold that

the evidence does not preponderate against the trial court's decision to order Employer to

provide a panel of physicians from which Employee can select a physician for evaluation

and to provide medical care made reasonably necessary to treat any injuries determined

to have arisen primarily out of and in the course and scope of the employment as

contemplated in section 50-6-102(14). Finally, we hold that the trial court's decision

does not violate any of the standards set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

217(a)(3). Accordingly, the trial court's decision is affirmed, and the case is remanded

for any further proceedings that may be necessary.

&~~

David F. Henstey,iodg

Workers' Compensation Appeals Board

8

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Horace Wade Thomas ) Docket No. 2015-06-0546

)

v. )

) State File No. 57850-2015

Zipp Express, et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 2nd day of August, 2016.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Horace Wade Thomas X X 7888 Cairo Bend Rd

Lebanon, TN 37087

wadestruck@live.com

B. Duane Willis X dwillis@morganakins.com

Joshua D. Baker X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.