Opinion

Frye, Annette v. Vincent Printing Co.

  • 2016 TN WC App. 35
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 2, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

WORKERS' COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Annette Frye ) Docket No. 2016-06-0327

)

v. ) State File No. 4185-2016

)

Vincent Printing Co., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers' )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas Wyatt, Judge )

Affirmed in Part, Vacated in Part,

and Remanded - Filed August 2, 2016

In this interlocutory appeal, both parties appeal the trial court's order awarding medical

benefits and some temporary disability benefits. The employee alleges she sustained

injuries after a workplace chemical exposure caused her to become dizzy and fall. The

employer denied the claim on the basis that the fall was idiopathic and, therefore, not

compensable. Following an expedited hearing, the trial court ordered the employer to

provide medical benefits, pay bills related to emergency room treatment, and pay some

temporary disability benefits. The employer appealed, arguing the trial court erred in

determining the employee's injury was not idiopathic and in ordering benefits. The

employee also appealed, asserting she is entitled to additional temporary disability

benefits. Having carefully reviewed the record, we affirm the trial court's decision in

part, vacate in part, and remand the case for further proceedings as may be necessary.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which Judge

Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

Ronald J. Berke, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employee-appellant, Annette Frye

Gordon C. Aulgur, Lansing, Michigan, for the employer-appellee, Vincent Printing Co.

1

Factual and Procedural Background

Annette Frye ("Employee"), a fifty-six-year-old resident of Hamilton County,

Tennessee, alleges she suffered injuries arising primarily out of and in the course and

scope of her employment with Vincent Printing Company ("Employer"). Employee

testified her primary job was to operate the "welding tape machine," which required

monitoring to ensure the product was being manufactured and handled appropriately.

Additionally, she was tasked with cleaning the "clip machine" with a substance called

denatured alcohol. Employee testified that the smell of the denatured alcohol was strong

and that she asked for a mask to wear while using it. Her supervisor refused to provide

her a mask and, while she was cleaning the clip machine, she began experiencing

shortness of breath, coughing, and difficulty breathing, which she attributed to inhaling

fumes from the denatured alcohol. She went outside to get fresh air and noticed an

improvement in her symptoms. After retrieving an inhaler from her vehicle, which she

testified she used occasionally when she experienced shortness of breath due to pollen

exposure or excessive heat, she reentered the workplace. When Employee resumed

cleaning the machine, she again experienced tightness in her chest and difficulty

breathing. To alleviate her symptoms, she used her inhaler.

Employee testified that in order to adjust the machine on which she was working,

she had to lean over. As she stood up, she experienced dizziness, which caused her to

lose her balance and fall. Employee stated that, when she felt herself begin to fall, she

tried to catch herself, resulting in her falling against the machine and striking the right

side of her body and her head. An ambulance was summoned, and Employee was

transported to Parkridge East Hospital Emergency Department ("Parkridge"). The report

from Hamilton County EMS reflects Employee complained to the first responders that

she felt dizzy from exposure to cleaning chemicals just before she fell.

At Parkridge, the attending provider noted Employee had fallen just prior to

arrival and complained of pain in her arm, back, and hip. X-rays of her hip and back

revealed no acute injuries, and she was diagnosed with a contusion to her hip and lumbar

strain. She was prescribed medications and given an excuse from work for January 14,

2016 through January 17, 2016.

Employer provided Employee a panel of physicians, and Employee chose Dr.

Terry Smith, whom she first saw on January 26, 2016. She told Dr. Smith she was

injured when the smell of denatured alcohol she was using to clean machinery caused her

to become dizzy and fall. She stated the smell was very strong, and she experienced

shortness of breath. She described hitting her head and the right side of her back and hip.

Although the pain in her head had resolved, she continued to suffer pain in her right

lower back. Dr. Smith assigned restrictions of occasional lifting of ten pounds or less,

pushing and pulling of ten pounds or less, occasional bending at the waist, and no

2

squatting or kneeling. He also instructed her to be cautious driving and "working around

machinery" while taking certain medications, and he referred her to physical therapy.

On February 1, 2016, Employee completed an "Employee's Report of Injury" for

Employer's workers' compensation insurer, stating that the "fumes made [her] dizzy and

fall over." She indicated she needed her inhaler on the day of the fall due to shortness of

breath. She returned to Dr. Smith on February 8, 2016 with ongoing complaints of back

pain. She reported little improvement over the course of three weeks and indicated that,

although Employer attempted to return her to work, the job did not comply with the

restrictions assigned at the January 26, 2016 appointment. Dr. Smith continued the

restrictions he had previously assigned and again referred Employee for physical therapy.

Employee returned to Dr. Smith several weeks later with continuing complaints of

pain and stiffness. Dr. Smith noted that he had personally faxed the referral for physical

therapy to the adjuster and had received confirmation that the fax had successfully

transmitted, but the physical therapy still had not been approved. He indicated his intent

to resubmit the request for physical therapy and continued Employee's restrictions.

On February 29, 2016, Employer sent correspondence to Employee indicating that

it had offered her light duty work within her restrictions, and that she had declined the

offer. At the expedited hearing, Employee testified she understood the offer of

employment to be a return to her usual job, which was outside her restrictions, and she

therefore declined to attempt the work. Employer's representative testified he had

spoken to Employee to offer her the modified work and had indicated to her that the job

would be within her restrictions. He further testified he was going to allow her to

perform her job seated in a chair and would instruct other employees to assist her as

needed with the portions of the job that fell outside her restrictions.

Employee last saw Dr. Smith on March 7, 2016, at which time she reported she

experienced a significant flare-up of her back pain while changing the sheets on her bed.

She went to the emergency room and received medication for the flare-up. She told Dr.

Smith that Employer still had not approved the recommended physical therapy and that

she still had pain on a daily basis. Dr. Smith noted that several attempts to schedule

physical therapy with the adjuster had gone unanswered and indicated that he would,

again, seek approval for physical therapy. He also encouraged Employee to contact the

adjuster herself. He continued the previously assigned restrictions and, on the "Statement

of Activity Work Status," made the notation "[s]till no PT approval! Needs PT B4

returns."

Thereafter, Employer denied the claim in its entirety, asserting that Employee's

injuries did arise out of or within the scope of employment and resulted from an

idiopathic fall. Employee filed a petition for benefit determination, and after

unsuccessful mediation and the issuance of a dispute certification notice, Employee filed

3

a request for an expedited hearing. Following a May 24, 2016 hearing, the trial court

determined that Employee had presented sufficient evidence to establish she would likely

succeed on the merits of her claim with respect to medical benefits and temporary

disability benefits from January 15, 2016 to February 22, 2016. The court denied

Employee's request for temporary disability benefits from February 22, 2016 to the

present, finding Employee had not presented sufficient evidence to establish entitlement

to those benefits. Both parties appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard of review to be applied by this Board in reviewing a trial court's

decision is statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, "[t]here shall be a

presumption that the findings and conclusions of the workers' compensation judge are

correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-

6-239(c)(7) (2015). The trial court's decision must be upheld unless the rights of a party

"have been prejudiced because findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a

workers' compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers' compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion; or

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record."

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standards

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

On appeal, Employer asserts that the trial court erred in awarding medical and

temporary disability benefits because Employee's injuries were the result of an idiopathic

fall. Employee asserts that the trial court erred in denying temporary disability benefits

from February 22, 2016 to the present.

Employer's Appeal

Employer argues that the trial court's reliance on our prior decision in McCaffery

v. Cardinal Logistics, No. 2015-08-0218, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 50

(Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Dec. 10, 2015), was misplaced. Specifically,

Employer asserts that the trial court "failed to establish a condition of [Employee's]

4

employment which presented a peculiar hazard or additional hazard and how this

condition created a risk of injury which was the immediate cause of Employee's

injuries." While we agree with the trial court's determination that Employee came

forward with sufficient evidence to show she is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits

of her claim, we arrive at that conclusion by a rationale somewhat different than that of

the trial court.

It is well-settled that an injured worker has the burden of proof on every essential

element of his or her claim. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(6) (2015); see also

Buchanan v. Car lex Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 39, at *5 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015). However, at an

expedited hearing, an employee need not prove every element of his or her claim by a

preponderance of the evidence but must come forward with sufficient evidence from

which the trial court can determine that the employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on

the merits consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(l) (2014).

McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp.

App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). This lesser

evidentiary standard "does not relieve an employee of the burden of producing evidence

of an injury by accident that arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of

employment at an expedited hearing, but allows some relief to be granted if that evidence

does not rise to the level of a 'preponderance of the evidence."' Buchanan, 2015 TN

Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *6.

Furthermore, there is a presumption "that the findings and conclusions of the

workers' compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is

otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2015). Determining where the

preponderance of the evidence lies requires that we carefully weigh the trial court's

factual findings and conclusions. See Carter v. Volunteer Apparel, Inc., 833 S.W.2d 492,

494 (Tenn. 1992).

In Tennessee, a compensable injury is "an injury by accident ... arising primarily

out of and in the course and scope of employment, that causes death, disablement or the

need for medical treatment." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14) (2015). An injury is

accidental if it is "caused by a specific incident, or set of incidents, arising primarily out

of and in the course and scope of employment, and is identifiable by time and place of

occurrence." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-201(14)(A). "An idiopathic injury is one that has

an unexplained origin or cause, and generally does not arise out of the employment

unless 'some condition of the employment presents a peculiar or additional hazard."'

Veler v. Wackenhut Servs., No. E2010-00965-WC-R3-WC, 2011 Tenn. LEXIS 78, at *9

(Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel Jan. 28, 2011) (quoting Shearon v. Seaman, 198 S.W.3d

209, 215 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2005)). Moreover, an injury resulting from an idiopathic

condition is compensable "if an employment hazard causes or exacerbates the injury."

Phillips v. A&H Constr. Co., 134 S.W.3d 145, 148 (Tenn. 2004). "Cause" in this context

5

is not "proximate cause" as used in the law of negligence; rather, "cause" means that the

accident originated in the hazards to which the employee was exposed as a result of

performing his or her job duties. Id. at 150.

In the present case, Employer's primary argument is that Employee's use of her

inhaler "was just as likely to have caused her dizziness as the denatured alcohol." Thus,

in Employer's view, these "equally likely" scenarios render it unlikely that Employee

will prove the compensability of her injury at a trial on the merits. Employer's argument

is unpersuasive for two reasons. First, Employer fails to take into account Employee's

unrefuted testimony that her use of the inhaler in this instance was, itself, the result of the

alleged chemical exposure. Employee specifically testified that after she experienced

symptoms while using the denatured alcohol, she went to her car to retrieve her inhaler.

Thus, whether her dizziness was caused by the exposure directly, or was caused by her

use of an inhaler due to symptoms resulting from the exposure, both circumstances are

sufficiently related to a particular work hazard, i.e., the use of denatured alcohol to clean

the machine, to support an order for benefits at this interlocutory stage.

Second, as we explained in McCaffery, the relevant inquiry is not what caused the

alleged idiopathic condition or event, but what caused the injury. In McCaffery, the

employer argued that a sneeze of unknown origin caused the motor vehicle accident

which resulted in the employee's injuries. McCaffery, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 50, at *4-5. Thus, in the employer's view, the accident was idiopathic and not

compensable. Id. at *8. We rejected that argument, explaining that "[t]he focus is on the

causal link between the employment and the accident or injury, rather than a causal link

between the employment and the idiopathic episode." Id. at *11. "[A]n accidental injury

arises out of employment when there is apparent to the rational mind, upon consideration

of all the circumstances, a causal connection between the conditions under which the

work is required to be performed and the resulting injury." Phillips, 134 S.W.3d at 151.

Here, Employee testified that, when she became dizzy after her exposure to denatured

alcohol, she lost her balance and fell against the machine on which she was working.

Although Employer attempted to discredit that testimony on cross-examination,

Employee's testimony was consistent throughout the hearing and the trial court accepted

that testimony. Employer presented no evidence to the contrary on this point.

Employer offered what it views as an alternative theory as to what caused

Employee's dizziness and her resulting injury. Yet, Employee presented sufficient

evidence that her injury was causally related to symptoms resulting from the use of

denatured alcohol in the course and scope of her employment. Under the facts presented,

it does not change the outcome even if Employee's dizziness was caused by her use of an

inhaler rather than the chemical exposure itself since the use of the inhaler was causally

related to the occupational exposure. Thus, as in McCaffery, we find that Employee

came forward with sufficient evidence at the expedited hearing to establish that she will

likely prove a compensable injury at a hearing on the merits.

6

Employee's Appeal

Employee contends she is entitled to ongoing temporary disability benefits as of

February 22, 2016. The trial court ordered temporary disability benefits from January 15,

2016 through February 22, 2016, reasoning that Dr. Smith's prescription for narcotics

during that time period supported Employee's assertion that she was unable to work the

light duty position offered by Employer. However, the trial court denied temporary

disability benefits after that date, as Employee was no longer being prescribed narcotic

medications and Employer's representative testified he had offered Employee a job

within her restrictions.

An injured worker may be entitled to temporary partial disability benefits when

the temporary disability resulting from a work-related injury is not total. See Tenn. Code

Ann. § 50-6-207(1)-(2) (2015). As the Tennessee Supreme Court's Special Workers'

Compensation Appeals Panel observed, "[t]emporary partial disability refers to the time,

if any, during which the injured employee is able to resume some gainful employment

but has not reached maximum recovery." Williams v. Saturn Corp., No. M2004-01215-

WC-R3-CV, 2005 Tenn. LEXIS 1032, at *6 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel Nov. 15,

2005). Temporary restrictions assigned by physicians during an injured worker's medical

treatment do not establish an entitlement to continued temporary disability benefits if the

employee is able to work without loss of income. See Long v. Mid-Tenn. Ford Truck

Sales, 160 S.W.3d 504, 511 (Tenn. 2005); Vinson v. Firestone Tire and Rubber Co., 655

S.W.2d 931, 933 (Tenn. 1983).

Whether an employee is entitled to temporary partial disability benefits even after

a light duty job offer has been made hinges on the reasonableness of the employer's

action in offering a light duty position and the reasonableness of the employee in

declining the offer. See, e.g., Kelley v. D & S Residential Holdings, No. E2011-02392-

WC-R3-WC, 2012 Tenn. LEXIS 632 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel Sept. 4, 2012)

(employee not entitled to temporary partial disability benefits where employee made no

good faith effort to return to work despite employer's willingness to provide work within

employee's restrictions); cf Williams, 2005 Tenn. LEXIS 1032 (injured worker was

entitled to temporary disability benefits where she made a good faith effort to return to

work but the employer did not provide work within her restrictions). This analytical

framework is similar to the consideration of whether an employee has made a

"meaningful return to work." With respect to that issue, the Tennessee Supreme Court

observed:

There will be a variety of factual situations wherein the courts will be

required to construe the meaning of the words [meaningful return to work].

The ultimate resolution of their meaning will be leavened by an assessment

of the reasonableness of the employer in attempting to return the employee

to work and the reasonableness of the employee in failing to return to work.

7

Newton v. Scott Health Care Ctr., 914 S.W.2d 884, 886 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel

Dec. 15, 1995). If an injured worker is unable to continue working because of the injury,

there will not have been a meaningful return to work in most circumstances. "However,

if the employee returns to work and sometime thereafter stops working due to personal

reasons or other reasons not related to the work injury, then such circumstances are

considered as making a meaningful return to work in the sense of our statute." Suits v.

Mars, No. E2004-02368-WC-R3-CV, 2005 Tenn. LEXIS 823, at *10-11 (Tenn.

Workers' Comp. Panel Oct. 5, 2005). Moreover, an employee's subjective belief that she

will be unable to perform the assigned job duties, standing alone, is "not a reasonable

basis upon which to award disability benefits." Kelley, 2012 Tenn. LEXIS 632, at *30.

Ultimately, "[t]he resolution of what is reasonable must rest upon the facts of each case

and be determined thereby." Newton, 914 S.W.2d at 886.

Here, the trial court found Employee's refusal to attempt the light duty work

unreasonable. Although Employee testified she believed the job Employer offered was

beyond her medical restrictions, Employer's testimony that it would have provided

assistance to Employee to accommodate her restrictions was uncontroverted. To the

extent that the findings and conclusions on this point are based upon the trial court's

assessment of the witnesses' credibility, the trial court's factual findings are entitled to

great deference. See Tryon v. Saturn Corp., 254 S.W.3d 321, 327 (Tenn. 2008). We find

insufficient evidence in the record to overturn the trial court's credibility determinations.

In sum, Employee's refusal to attempt the light duty job deprived Employer of the

opportunity to provide modified duty within the medical restrictions assigned by the

treating physician. The preponderance of the evidence supports the trial court's

conclusion that Employee's refusal to accept Employer's offer of light duty work was

unreasonable, and the denial of temporary disability benefits after February 22, 2016 is

affirmed.

Findings o/Compensability

Before concluding, we are compelled to address several of the trial court's

findings. After analyzing the relevant testimony regarding what caused Employee's fall,

the trial court concluded "her injury arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of

employment." Thereafter, the trial court determined that "it was unnecessary for

[Employee] to establish by expert medical opinion why she fell." In addition, the trial

court repeatedly stated that Employee "will prevail" at a hearing on the merits. Such

findings are premature at the expedited hearing stage. Pursuant to Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(l), the standard of proof at an expedited hearing is

whether an employee "would likely prevail at a hearing on the merits." Tenn. Code Ann.

§ 50-6-239(d)(l) (2015) (emphasis added). At an interlocutory stage of the process,

neither party is required to offer the extent of its evidence or present its final case.

Typically, discovery is not complete at the time an expedited hearing occurs. Moreover,

8

any interlocutory order is subject to revision at any time prior to a final judgment in the

case. See Tenn. R. Civ. P. 54.02. Thus, it is inappropriate to include findings in an

expedited hearing order that appear to resolve ultimate issues in a case, especially a

finding that one party or the other "will prevail" at trial.

Furthermore, although an employee may present sufficient evidence at an

expedited hearing to support an order for medical benefits prior to trial, such a finding

does not relieve an employee of his or her ultimate burden of proof at a hearing on the

merits. Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(14) makes clear the employee has

the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that the employment

"contributed more than fifty percent (50%) in causing the injury, considering all causes."

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(B) (2015). In addition, such proof must be "to a

reasonable degree of medical certainty," which means that, "in the opinion of the

physician, it is more likely than not considering all causes, as opposed to speculation or

possibility." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(C)-(D) (emphasis added). Thus, to the

extent the trial judge suggested that Employee need not establish at a final hearing on the

merits that her injury is causally related to her employment by expert medical opinion,

such a finding was error. See Sirkin v. Trans Carriers, Inc., No. 2015-08-0292, 2016 TN

Work. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 22, at *7 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. May 9, 2016)

("to the extent the trial court found that Employee's claim is compensable at this stage of

the case, that finding is premature and, as such, is vacated"). Therefore, those portions of

the expedited hearing order indicating that Employee has satisfied her burden of proving

a compensable injury by a preponderance of the evidence and those portions indicating

that she "will prevail" at trial must be vacated.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate against

the trial court's decision to award medical benefits and certain temporary disability

benefits and to deny other temporary disability benefits at this interlocutory stage of the

case. To the extent that the expedited hearing order suggests that Employee has proven a

compensable injury by a preponderance of the evidence, the order is vacated. The case is

remanded for any further proceedings that may be necessary.

W. Conner, Judge

s' Compensation Appeals Board

9

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Annette Frye ) Docket No. 2016-06-0327

)

v. )

) State File No. 4185-2016

Vincent Printing Co., et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 2nd day of August, 2016.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Ronald J. Berke X ronnie@berkeattys.com;

margo@berkeattys.com

Gordon C. Aulger X gordon.aulgur@accidentfund.com

Thomas Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: Matthew.Salyer@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.