Opinion

Riley, Patrick v. Group Electric

  • 2016 TN WC App. 28
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Jul 5, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

WORKERS' COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Patrick Riley ) Docket No. 2015-06-0886

)

V. ) State File No. 48657-2015

)

Group Electric, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers' )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded - Filed July 5, 2016

In this interlocutory appeal, the employer disputes whether it should be required to

provide medical benefits for the employee's alleged work-related injury. The employee

reported suffering an injury to his left wrist and hand arising primarily out of and

occurring in the course of his employment as a journeyman electrician. The employer

denied the claim, asserting there is no evidence that a work injury actually occurred.

Following an expedited hearing, the trial court ordered the employer to provide a panel of

orthopedic physicians to treat the employee's injury, reserved ruling on the employee's

request for temporary disability benefits, and denied the employee's request for

reimbursement of past medical and mileage expenses. The employer has appealed.

Having carefully reviewed the record, we affirm the trial court's decision and remand the

case for further proceedings as may be necessary.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which Judge

Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

T. Ryan Malone, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Group Electric

Michael Fisher, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Patrick Riley

Factual and Procedural Background

Patrick Riley ("Employee") alleges he injured his left hand and wrist on June 8,

2015, while working for Group Electric ("Employer") as a journeyman electrician. He

1

testified at the expedited hearing that he was installing new wiring in a school building

and, while stripping wires to connect them in the main disconnect box, his left hand

slipped, causing him to strike his left wrist against the disconnect box. Employer offered

no witness testimony to contradict Employee's description of the accident. Employee

also testified he completed the job that day, but noticed swelling in his hand that evening

and in his fingers by the following morning. He testified he reported the injury to his

superintendent the next morning and advised the superintendent that he had to "go to the

hospital" at nine o'clock that morning.

Employee sought care at Summit Medical Center Emergency Room for left wrist

pain on June 9, 2015. Medical records from that date reflect that he "denies injury," that

he complained of ''wrist injury (pain w/o injury)," that the mechanism of injury was

"unknown," and that Employee had experienced pain and swelling in his left wrist for

three days. The emergency room record also indicates the injury was not work-related.

When confronted with this information at the expedited hearing, Employee

testified he had told the attending medical care providers at the emergency room that his

left elbow had been sore for about three days, but he denied telling them his hand and

wrist had been injured three days prior to his visit. He further testified that he informed

all the providers at the emergency room that he had injured his wrist at work. He was

released from the emergency room with a diagnosis of arthritis and bursitis with possible

gout of the left wrist. In addition to being referred for an orthopedic consult, the record

indicates a follow-up ''with Dr. Dube has been arranged and [patient] is in agreement."

Employee testified that the emergency room provider "recommended that [he] go to Dr.

Dube to have fluid drawn off [his] wrist," and that because ''they wanted either $300 cash

up front or insurance" he was not able to get the recommended treatment.

Employer filed a Notice of Controversy on June 25, 2015, which stated there were

"[n]o medical records received to support compensability." Employee testified, however,

that the project manager came to the worksite "several weeks" after the alleged injury and

instructed him to seek treatment at Concentra Medical Center. The first of Employee's

visits to Concentra occurred on June 30, 2015, at which time the treating nurse

practitioner noted Employee had a left wrist injury as a result of blunt trauma sustained

while installing wiring. The record from that visit reflects the injury was ''the result of a

direct blow. Occurred while at work." Despite its June 25, 2015 Notice of Controversy,

Employer provided a panel of physicians from which Employee chose Dr. Rosa Stone on

July 1, 2015.

Employee returned to Concentra on July 3, 2015, and was seen by Dr. Joseph

Speake, who, although agreeing with the assessment from the previous visit, observed

that Employee became defensive when questioned about his injury. The medical record

states that the "[s]tory of injury and exam don't seem to correlate very well." Employee

acknowledged in his testimony at the expedited hearing that he became defensive with

2

Dr. Speake, but explained that he felt Dr. Speake was attempting to discredit his version

of events instead of providing meaningful treatment. Employee saw Dr. Saritha Reddy at

his third and final visit to Concentra on July 10, 2015. Dr. Reddy ordered an MRI.

Employee ultimately saw the panel physician, Dr. Stone, on one occasion on July

23, 2015, at which time she noted Employee had injured his left wrist when he hit it on a

piece of machinery on June 8, 2015. The record of the visit did not address causation.

Although Employee had an MRI on June 29, 2015, he never discussed the results of that

test with Dr. Stone because she declined to continue treating him. Employer filed a

Notice of Denial of Claim for Compensation on August 19, 2015, stating "[n]o

compensable accident. Does not meet statutory definition of accident." Employee has

not received medical care for his injury since the August 19, 2015 denial of the claim.

In August 2015, Employee's counsel sent a letter to Dr. Speake asking him

whether, "assuming the patient's history is accurate," Employee's left hand and wrist

injury "arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of employment on or about

June 8, 2015." Dr. Speake replied to the question by checking "yes" and drew an arrow

to and circled the phrase "assuming the patient's history is accurate." On October 23,

2015, Dr. Reddy signed an affidavit that expressed, among other things, her opinion "to a

reasonable degree of medical certainty that the necessity for the treatment reflected in the

Concentra medical records to [Employee's] left hand and wrist is causally related to and

results from his work-related injury of June 8, 2015."

Following Employee's filing of a petition for benefit determination and the

parties' unsuccessful mediation, Employee requested an expedited hearing, which was

held on April 26, 2016. The trial court subsequently issued an order requiring Employer

to provide Employee a panel of orthopedic specialists. The trial court reserved ruling on

Employee's request for temporary disability benefits and denied Employee's request for

reimbursement of medical and mileage expenses, finding Employee had presented

insufficient evidence to establish his entitlement to those benefits. 1 Employer has

appealed the trial court's order.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court's decision is statutorily mandated

and limited in scope. Specifically, "[t]here shall be a presumption that the findings and

conclusions of the workers' compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of

the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2015). The trial court's

1

Employee has not appealed the trial court's ruling reserving the issue of temporary disability benefits or

its denial of Employee's request for reimbursement of medical and mileage expenses. Thus, we need not

address these issues at this time.

3

decision must be upheld unless the rights of a party "have been prejudiced because

findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a workers' compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers' compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion;

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record."

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standards

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

Employer identified several issues in its notice of appeal; however, in its brief on

appeal, Employer limited the disputed issues to whether Employee "carried his burden of

establishing causation," and to whether the trial court erred in admitting Dr. Speake's

"opinion letter' and Dr. Reddy's affidavit into evidence. 2 With respect to the latter issue,

in its order granting medical benefits, the trial court addressed in detail Employer's

objections to Dr. Speake's "opinion letter" and its objections to Dr. Reddy's affidavit.

Although it admitted both documents into evidence, the trial court agreed with Employer

that Dr. Speake's "opinion letter" was "of little or no probative value" and placed "no

weight upon it." Similarly, the trial court admitted Dr. Reddy's affidavit into evidence,

but "place[d] no weight upon it due to its inaccuracies." Based on the trial court's

determination to place no weight on either exhibit, the error, if any, in admitting those

exhibits was harmless.3

With respect to the first stated issue, Employer asserts two separate arguments

concerning whether Employee "carried his burden of establishing causation." First,

Employer argues the trial court erred in determining that Employee carried his burden of

2

In addition to the issues specified and argued in its brief on appeal, Employer asserted in its notice of

appeal that the trial court erred in "refusing to permit the Employer to obtain an [independent medical

examination]" and in "finding that the Employer failed to introduce evidence rebutting the claimant's

version of how the injury occurred." These issues are not discussed or mentioned in Employer's brief

and, therefore, we assume Employer has abandoned them. See Appeals Board Prac. & Proc. § 5.1 ("All

briefs pertaining to the appeal of an interlocutory order "shall include . . . a statement of the issue( s)

presented for review on appeal" and "an argument, citing appropriate statutes, case law, or other

authority.").

3

We do not intend to suggest that the trial court erred in admitting either document. Rather, we simply

decline to address the merits of these issues as they are unnecessary for a resolution of the appeal.

4

proof "despite reaching the contrary holding that [Employee's] only causation opinions

carried 'no weight."' Second, Employer asserts error in the trial court's "finding

[Employee] carried his burden of establishing causation despite the medical records

undercutting his claim."

As an initial matter, we note that the burden of proof at an expedited hearing is

different than the burden of proof at a compensation hearing. McCord v. Advantage

Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9

(Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). Specifically, we have determined that,

at an expedited hearing, an employee need not prove each and every element of his or her

claim by a preponderance of the evidence in order to obtain temporary disability benefits

or medical benefits. Id. Instead, we have emphasized that, at the expedited hearing

stage, an employee has the burden to come forward with sufficient evidence from which

the trial court can determine that the employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on the

merits consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(l). Id. Thus,

while an injured worker retains the burden of proof at all stages of a workers'

compensation claim, a trial court can grant relief at an expedited hearing if the court is

satisfied that an employee has met the burden of showing that he or she is likely to

prevail at a hearing on the merits. Tenn. Code Ann.§ 50-6-239(d)(l) (2014).

However, "[t]his lesser evidentiary standard ... does not relieve an employee of

the burden of producing evidence of an injury by accident that arose primarily out of and

in the course and scope of employment at an expedited hearing, but allows some relief to

be granted if that evidence does not rise to the level of a 'preponderance of the

evidence."' Buchanan v. Carlex Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp.

App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *6 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015). It is our

responsibility to conduct an in-depth examination of the trial court's factual findings and

conclusions, see Wilhelm v. Krogers, 235 S.W.3d 122, 126 (Tenn. 2007), within the

mandate set out in Tennessee Code Annotated sections 50-6-217(a)(3), as referenced

above, and 50-6-239(c)(7) (2015). Section 50-6-239(c)(7) provides a presumption "that

the findings and conclusions of the workers' compensation judge are correct, unless the

preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." Furthermore, when the trial court has seen

and heard the witnesses, considerable deference must be afforded the trial court's factual

findings. Tryon v. Saturn Corp., 254 S.W.3d 321, 327 (Tenn. 2008).

Thus, in the instant case, the issue before the trial court was not whether Employee

established medical causation by a preponderance of the evidence or whether he

presented competent medical proof establishing that he suffered a workplace injury.

Rather, the issue for the trial court was whether Employee presented sufficient evidence

to show that he would likely prevail at a hearing on the merits in establishing the

occurrence of a compensable injury as prescribed in Tennessee Code Annotated section

50-6-239(d)( 1). On appeal, we must assess whether the evidence presented in the trial

5

court preponderates against the trial court's determination that Employee would likely

prevail at a hearing on the merits. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7).

The trial court was presented with, among other documents, medical records

detailing Employee's treatment for his left hand and wrist injury, as well as Employee's

testimony regarding how the injury occurred. Employee testified as to the mechanism of

injury, stating that his left hand slipped while stripping wires, causing him to strike his

left wrist against the electrical disconnect box, and that he informed his supervisor on the

morning after the injury that he had hurt himself. Employer presented no testimony from

Employer's supervisor or any other witness that the injury did not occur at work or that it

occurred in some manner other than as Employee testified. Rather, Employer relied on

the medical records from Employee's visit to the emergency room to support its assertion

that Employee was not injured at work. Employee testified regarding the information in

those medical records, and the trial court accepted his testimony, finding him to be

credible. While there are discrepancies between the account of the injury in the

emergency room records and Employee's description of how the injury occurred, the trial

court was aware of those discrepancies and chose to accredit Employee's testimony

concerning the incident. The trial court considered the documentary evidence in

conjunction with Employee's testimony and determined Employee was a credible witness

and had met the "lesser evidentiary standard" required at an expedited hearing.

Accordingly, having independently assessed where the preponderance of the evidence

lies, we find no error in the trial court's order.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate against

the trial court's decision at this interlocutory stage of the case. Nor does the trial court's

decision violate any of the standards set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

217(a)(3). The trial court's decision is affirmed and the case is remanded for any further

proceedings that may be necessary.

(2r4~/

David F. Hensley, Judge 1'

Workers' Compensation Appeals Board

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Patrick Riley ) Docket No. 2015-06-0886

)

v. )

) State File No. 48657-2015

Group Electric )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 5thdate day of July, 2016.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Michael Fisher X mfisher@ddzlaw.com

Nicholas J. Peterson X nicholas.peterson@petersonwhite.com

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.