Opinion

Sirkin, Shawn v. Trans Carriers, Inc., et al.

  • 2016 TN WC App. 21
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
May 9, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.5%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Shawn Sirkin ) Docket No. 2015-08-0292

)

v. ) State File No. 44984-2015

)

Trans Carriers, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Jim Umsted, Judge )

Affirmed in Part, Vacated in Part, and Remanded - Filed May 9, 2016

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee, a truck driver, injured her shoulder when she

slipped getting out of the employer’s truck after checking the on-board computer system

to determine whether she had been assigned a load. The employer denied the claim and

terminated the employee for failing to report for work. Following an expedited hearing,

the trial court found that the employee’s injury arose primarily out of and in the course

and scope of her employment and ordered medical benefits in the form of a panel of

physicians. The trial court also found that the evidence was insufficient to award

temporary disability benefits or past medical expenses. The employer has appealed the

trial court’s award of medical benefits. We affirm the trial court’s decision to the extent

it orders a panel of physicians but vacate the trial court’s finding regarding

compensability of the claim at this stage of the case.

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which

Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

B. Duane Willis, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Trans Carriers, Inc.

Shawn Sirkin, Brooksville, Florida, employee-appellee, pro se

1

Factual and Procedural Background

Shawn Sirkin (“Employee”) was employed as a truck driver by Trans Carriers,

Inc. (“Employer”). On May 20, 2015, Employee walked across the street from her home

to her assigned tractor trailer to check the truck’s on-board computer system,

“Qualcomm,” to determine whether she had been assigned a load to deliver. She also

went to jump-start the truck’s batteries per the suggestion of her supervisor and

dispatcher, Jennifer Mohundro.1 As Employee was climbing down from the truck, she

reported slipping on a wet step and injuring her right shoulder. According to Employee,

this was the third work-related incident in six weeks involving her shoulder.

Employee had been off of work and was scheduled to return on May 18, 2015.

However, she asked for and received permission to resume working on May 19, 2015.

On that date, she requested another day off. In response to Employee’s request, Ms.

Mohundro responded that she was “struggling” as a result of Employee’s continued

absence and that Employee had been scheduled a “good pre-plan.”2 She further stated,

“I’ll push it out until you let me know you are coming back.”

The following day, May 20, 2015, Employee went to her truck to check

Qualcomm, the on-board computer system linked to Employer’s dispatch system, and to

attend to the truck’s dead batteries as had been suggested by Ms. Mohundro the day

before. Although the evidence was conflicting, Employee testified that a driver could

accept or reject a load only by indicating that decision in Qualcomm. Regardless, she

discovered that she had not been assigned a load and, while exiting the truck, slipped on a

step. She caught herself with her arm and felt pain and tearing in her right shoulder.

Employee texted Ms. Mohundro at 6:50 a.m. on May 20, 2015, stating that she

“was getting out the [sic] and slipped and fell[.] I am going to urgent care[.]”3 Employee

never received a panel of physicians or any authorized treatment from Employer and was

terminated due to “no show/no call.” Ms. Mohundro, along with Kathy Ward,

Employer’s human resources representative, testified that Employee had no reason to go

to her truck on May 20, 2015, because she did not have a load to deliver and was not

scheduled to work. Both witnesses testified that Employee did not tell them on May 20,

2015, that her shoulder injury was work-related.

1

In a text message dated May 19, 2015, Employee informed Ms. Mohundro that the batteries on the truck

were dead. Ms. Mohundro responded, “[w]hy not have it fixed while you are off so[] you will be ready to

go.”

2

It appears from the record that a pre-plan is an assignment to pick-up and/or deliver a load.

3

According to a “Physician’s Report of Work Ability” contained in the record, Employee was diagnosed

with a right shoulder sprain and was restricted from driving. There is no medical proof in the record that

addresses causation.

2

The trial court found that Employee was “a reasonable and honest witness” and

that “her account of the May 20, 2015 incident [was] believable.” Accordingly, the trial

court concluded that Employee’s shoulder injury “occurred when she slipped and fell

while leaving the truck while completing a work-related action of checking the

Qualcomm on the truck,” warranting medical benefits in the form of a panel of

physicians. The trial court also concluded that Employee’s injury arose primarily out of

and in the course and scope of her employment, but that she had not presented sufficient

evidence to warrant an award of temporary disability benefits or payment of past medical

expenses. Thus, those requests were denied.4 Employer has appealed the award of

medical benefits.

Standard of Review

The standard of review to be applied by this Board in reviewing a trial court’s

decision is statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, “[t]here shall be a

presumption that the findings and conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are

correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-

6-239(c)(7) (2015). The trial court’s decision must be upheld unless the rights of a party

“have been prejudiced because findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a

workers’ compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers’ compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion;

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record.”

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standards

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

Employer asserts that the trial court erred in finding Employee was within the

course of her employment when she injured her shoulder on May 20, 2015. Employer

relies on Ms. Mohundro’s and Ms. Ward’s testimony that communicating about loads

4

Employee has not appealed the trial court’s denial of temporary disability benefits or the payment of past

medical expenses. Thus, we need not address those issues.

3

through Qualcomm was not required and that Employee had no reason to be at her truck

on May 20, 2015.

An injury occurs in the course of employment if it takes place while the employee

was performing a duty he or she was employed to perform. Fink v. Caudle, 856 S.W.2d

952, 958 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel 1993). Thus, the course of employment

requirement focuses on the time, place, and circumstances of the injury. Saylor v.

Lakeway Trucking, Inc., 181 S.W.3d 314, 318 (Tenn. 2005). An injured worker may be

granted medical or temporary disability benefits prior to trial when he or she presents

sufficient evidence to enable the trial court to conclude that the worker would likely

prevail at a hearing on the merits. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(1) (2015).

Here, the trial court concluded that Employee’s injury arose primarily out of and

in the course and scope of her employment. However, there is no medical proof in the

record that Employee’s shoulder condition is causally-related to the work incident on

May 20, 2015, a point the trial court acknowledged in its order. Accordingly, to the

extent the trial court found that Employee’s claim is compensable at this stage of the

case, that finding is premature and, as such, is vacated.

Nevertheless, we find that the record supports the trial court’s determination that

Employee is entitled to a panel of physicians. Employee testified that on May 20, 2015,

she went to her assigned truck for two reasons: (1) to determine if she had a delivery

waiting to be accepted in Qualcomm in light of Ms. Mohundro’s text message the day

before that she had been scheduled a “good pre-plan,” and (2) to attend to the truck’s

dead batteries. While Ms. Mohundro and Ms. Ward testified that communicating about

loads through Qualcomm was not the exclusive method of doing so, there was no

evidence that Employee’s use of the system to check for loads was unreasonable,

inappropriate, or prohibited. Moreover, Employee’s testimony that she went to the truck

to remedy the situation with the batteries is unrefuted. As noted above, this was done at

the suggestion of her supervisor, Ms. Mohundro.

In addition, Employee testified that checking for load information using

Qualcomm and attending to the truck’s batteries were work-related responsibilities. She

stated that she was “definitely there to do [her] duty,” and the trial judge believed her.

She also testified that accepting a load could not be done by phone or email, but only

through Qualcomm. To the extent there was a conflict in the testimony on this point, the

trial court resolved it in Employee’s favor, which is the trial court’s prerogative.5

5

Employer argues that Employee essentially removed herself from the driving roster indefinitely.

However, Employee’s text message sent to Ms. Mohundro on May 19, 2015, requested that her

availability be pushed “out until tomorrow,” which would have been May 20, 2015.

4

Finally, the record contains nothing that contradicts Employee’s testimony that she

slipped and injured her shoulder in the manner she described, i.e., exiting her truck on

May 20, 2015. The trial court found that Employee was “a reasonable and honest

witness” and that her version of events was credible. The law is clear that “[w]hen the

trial court has heard in-court testimony, considerable deference must be afforded in

reviewing the trial court’s findings of credibility and assessment of the weight to be given

to that testimony.” Tryon v. Saturn Corp., 254 S.W.3d 321, 327 (Tenn. 2008).

In short, we cannot conclude that the evidence preponderates against the trial

court’s decision to order a panel of physicians. Before concluding, however, we note that

Employee has submitted documents on appeal that were not presented to the trial court,

including a causation letter from a physician dated April 8, 2016. “Evaluating a trial

court’s decision on appeal necessarily entails taking into account information the trial

court had before it at the time the issues were decided by the court, as opposed to the

potentially open-ended universe of information parties may seek to present on appeal

following an adverse decision.” Hadzic v. Averitt Express, No. 2014-02-0064, 2015 TN

Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 14, at *13 n.4 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 18,

2015). Accordingly, “we will not consider on appeal testimony, exhibits, or other

materials that were not properly admitted into evidence at the hearing before the trial

judge.” Id.

We must also address several motions filed by the parties. First, Employer has

filed a motion to file the transcript of the expedited hearing under seal, shielding it from

Employee’s review and use because Employer paid for the transcript and Employee

apparently refused to share in the expense. Employer cites no authority to warrant the

unusual relief sought, and we are aware of none. Employer was certainly within its rights

to appeal the trial court’s decision, but it is Employer’s responsibility to bear the costs of

ensuring an adequate record on appeal. Accordingly, Employer’s motion is

denied. Second, Employer has filed a motion asking that we disregard Employee’s

position statement because it fails to meet the requirements of an appellate brief. This

motion is denied as well. Last, Employee has filed a motion to dismiss the appeal on the

basis that Employer’s brief, along with the transcript, were untimely filed and contain

inaccuracies. Neither assertion has merit and, therefore, Employee’s motion is likewise

denied.

Conclusion

The trial court’s decision directing Employer to provide a panel of physicians is

affirmed. To the extent the trial court determined that Employee’s claim is compensable,

that finding is premature and is vacated. The case is remanded for any further

proceedings that may be necessary.

5

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Shawn Sirkin ) Docket No. 2015-08-0292

)

v. )

) State File No. 44984-2015

Trans Carriers, Inc. , et al. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 9th day of May, 2016.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Shawn Sirkin X Shawns1960@yahoo.com

B. Duane Willis X dwillis@morganakins.com

Jim Umsted, WC Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.