Opinion

Pool, Ronald v. Jarmon D&Q Transport

  • 2016 TN WC App. 8
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Feb 18, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.4%

“Even though notice is not given and the employer is without knowledge this will not bar a claim, as a rule, unless the employer has been prejudiced by lack of notice.”

How later courts described this case

  • “Even though notice is not given and the employer is without knowledge this will not bar a claim, as a rule, unless the employer has been prejudiced by lack of notice.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Ronald Pool ) Docket No. 2015-06-0510

)

v. ) State File No. 48782-2015

)

Jarmon D&Q Transport, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded - Filed February 18, 2016

In this second interlocutory appeal of this case, the employer appeals the trial court’s

decision requiring it to provide medical treatment for the employee’s alleged

occupational illness resulting from exposure to mold while working as a shuttle van

driver. A prior order entered by the trial court directed that medical benefits be provided

to the employee, but that order was vacated and the case remanded for consideration of

the employer’s notice defense in light of Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-305(a).

Upon remand, the trial court determined that notice was timely and issued an order for

medical benefits. The employer has appealed. We affirm the trial court’s decision and

remand the case.

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which

Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Duane Willis, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Jarmon D&Q Transport

Ronald Pool, Clarksville, Tennessee, employee-appellee, pro se

1

Factual and Procedural Background

This is the second interlocutory appeal of this case. We previously issued an

opinion on January 4, 2016, containing the factual history of the case, which we adopt as

set out below:

Ronald Pool (“Employee”) is a forty-seven-year-old resident of

Montgomery County, Tennessee, who began working as a shuttle van

driver with Jarmon D&Q Transport (“Employer”) in July 2014. For

approximately five weeks from September 19, 2014 to October 25, 2014,

Employee worked primarily for another company driving shuttle vans, but

he also worked on weekends during this period for Employer. Thereafter,

he returned to full-time work with Employer. He claims he began

experiencing severe headaches and respiratory problems, including

frequently recurring sinus infections, as a result of inhaling mold in the

shuttle vehicles he operated for Employer.

In an affidavit filed in support of his Request for Expedited Hearing,

Employee stated that at the end of 2014 and in January 2015, he began

having upper respiratory symptoms “from mold in the vehicles at work.”

In February 2015, Employee was diagnosed with asthma and was

prescribed inhalers by providers at the Tennessee Department of Health

(“Health Department”) in Clarksville where he was seen with a complaint

of shortness of breath. At a subsequent visit to the Health Department on

March 30, 2015, he complained of shortness of breath and a “sinus

infection” for three weeks. On April 25, 2015, he sought emergency care at

Gateway Medical Center (“Gateway”) due to complaints of “chest pain

[and] shortness of breath.” The Gateway report states that the “[m]ost

likely cause of his pain is pneumonia,” and that he “does have cardiac risk

factors and I cannot exclude a cardiac source for his pain.” Employee

testified that soon after his treatment at Gateway “my fears set in and I

started my own investigation in private.”

Employee testified that on June 25, 2015, he “sought help from my

immediate supervisor Tim Hembree,” telling him that he “required medical

treatment with a workers’ compensation doctor.” According to Employee,

“I brought to his attention evidence of mold in a petri tray and – in petri

trays and results that I had from my investigation on the vehicle that I was

hired to work in.” Employer completed a First Report of Work Injury on

the same date, which described how the “injury” occurred as follows:

“[Employee] came to the supervisor with mold samples that he got from the

vans that is causing [Employee] an allergic reaction to sinus area.”

2

Employer provided a panel of physicians on June 25, 2015, and

Employee was seen the following day by Dr. Giriprasadarao Korivi, whom

Employee selected from the panel. The history of present illness in Dr.

Korivi’s June 26, 2015 report states that Employee “has had recurrent

‘sinus problems’ [and] sinus infections off and on,” and notes that

Employee “feels fine when he is not working.” The report states that

Employee “says it is an indoor air quality issue at work and is causing his

allergies and repeated sinus infections.” Employee was diagnosed at the

June 26, 2015 visit with “[a]llergic rhinitis, cause unspecified.” The

assessment states “[w]orker in work-related accident,” and includes an

“allergy & immunology referral.” Employee was released to work, but was

instructed to “[a]void allergen exposure.”

Employer offered a panel of allergists on July 2, 2015, from which

Employee chose Dr. John Overholt. Before Employee could see Dr.

Overholt, Employer denied the claim on July 7, 2015, stating in a letter to

Employee that his claim was not compensable due to a “[l]ack of [i]njury

as defined by [Tennessee Code Annotated] Section 50-6-301.”

The trial court initially determined that Employee presented sufficient evidence

from which the court concluded he was likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits

regarding notice and ordered Employer to provide an evaluation by Dr. Overholt, the

allergist Employee selected from the panel. On January 4, 2016, we vacated the trial

court’s decision and remanded the case for consideration of Employer’s notice defense in

light of Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-305, the statute that addresses notice in

occupational disease cases. On remand, the trial court determined that no additional

evidence was necessary, notice was timely provided, and that Employee was entitled to

medical benefits. Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard of review to be applied by this Board in reviewing a trial court’s

decision is statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, “[t]here shall be a

presumption that the findings and conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are

correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-

6-239(c)(7) (2014). The trial court’s decision must be upheld unless the rights of a party

“have been prejudiced because findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a

workers’ compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers’ compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

3

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion;

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record.”

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standards

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

Employer maintains that Employee is not entitled to medical benefits because he

(1) failed to provide timely notice of his purported occupational injury as required by

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-305(a), (2) did not meet his burden of proof at

the expedited hearing, and (3) did not provide medical evidence of causation. The trial

court found otherwise, concluding that Employee satisfied the notice requirement for

reporting an occupational disease and had presented sufficient evidence to entitle him to

medical benefits prior to trial. Based upon our review of the record, we find no error.

The controlling statute, Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-305(a), provides

that “[w]ithin thirty (30) days after the first distinct manifestation of an occupational

disease, the employee, or someone in the employee’s behalf, shall give written notice

thereof to the employer in the same manner as is provided in the case of a compensable

accidental injury.” The notice requirement exists so that an employer “will have the

opportunity to make a timely investigation of the facts while still readily accessible, and

to enable the employer to provide timely and proper treatment for the injured employee.”

Jones v. Sterling Last Corp., 962 S.W.2d 469, 471 (Tenn. 1998). Consequently, “the

giving of statutory notice to the employer is an absolute prerequisite to the right of an

employee to recover compensation under the workers’ compensation law.” Bogus v.

Manpower Temp. Serv., 823 S.W.2d 544, 546 (Tenn. 1992).

The Tennessee Supreme Court has observed that, in occupational disease cases,

“[t]he ideal rule . . . would postpone the running of the time [to give notice] until actual

disability and a reasonably sufficient opportunity to discover the disease and its relation

to the employment occur; in fact, that is the substance of the rule applied in many of the

cases.” Christopher v. Consol. Coal Co., 440 S.W.2d 281, 284 (Tenn. 1969). Indeed, the

Court has held that the time to provide notice to the employer starts to “run in [an]

occupational disease case from the time the employee . . . knew or had reason to believe

that he was suffering from an occupational disease and that there was a causal connection

between his disability and occupation.” Id. at 286. The rationale for the rule is that

because an occupational disease “develops slowly and . . . full knowledge of it may exist

long before a compensable disability develops[,] [i]t is injury from the disease, rather

than the disease, which entitles an employee to compensation.” Adams v. Am. Zinc Co.,

4

326 S.W.2d 425, 427 (Tenn. 1959). “It is for the same reason that our Courts hold that

before the statute begins to run there must be knowledge upon the part of the employee,

or knowledge that he should have had, that he has an occupational disease and that it has

affected his capacity to work to a compensable extent.” Id.

The approach adopted by the Supreme Court decades ago has been followed in

more recent occupational disease cases. For example, the Special Workers’

Compensation Appeals Panel has observed that “[t]he ‘first distinct manifestation’ is

when the employee knows or should know that the injury is an occupational disease.”

Clifton v. Nissan N. Am., No. M2008-01640-WC-R3-WC, 2009 Tenn. LEXIS 507, at *12

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Aug. 18, 2009). Thus, “[a]ctual notice of the

manifestation of an occupational disease is sufficient” to trigger the notice period. Id.

This rule, adopted before the 2013 Workers’ Compensation Reform Act, does not rely on

a remedial interpretation of the law but, rather, on the common-sense notion that an

employee must know or have reason to know that the workplace exposure resulted in an

occupational illness before he or she can be expected to give notice of it.

In the present case, Employee asserts that he suffers from a work-related mold

exposure resulting in an illness. Pursuant to section 50-6-305(a), he was required to

report his condition within thirty days after the “first distinct manifestation.” This

requirement, as construed by the Supreme Court in Christopher and its progeny, required

that Employee report his occupational illness when he knew or should have known that

he had such a condition and that it was caused by workplace exposure(s). Employee

apprised his supervisor on June 25, 2015, that his investigation revealed mold in the van

he was assigned to drive and that he needed medical treatment from a “workers’

compensation doctor.” The next day, he was diagnosed by his authorized treating

physician, Dr. Korivi, with “[a]llergic rhinitis, cause unspecified,” though Dr. Korivi’s

assessment states “[w]orker in work-related accident.” Before Employee could see an

allergist based on Dr. Korivi’s referral, Employer denied his claim. Under these

circumstances, it is difficult to envision how Employer was prejudiced by Employee

providing notice of his alleged injury on June 25, 2015. See Crane Enamelware Co. v.

Dotson, 277 S.W. 902, 905 (Tenn. 1925) (“Even though notice is not given and the

employer is without knowledge this will not bar a claim, as a rule, unless the employer

has been prejudiced by lack of notice.”).

Employer argues that, without a diagnosis of an occupational disease by a

physician, there is no injury and, thus, no claim. However, once an employee has

experienced a distinct manifestation of an occupational disease as discussed above, he or

she has thirty days to report it under section 50-6-305(a). There is no prohibition against

an employee reporting the employee’s belief that he or she presently suffers from an

occupational illness prior to an actual diagnosis from a physician. Employer cites no

authority, and we are aware of none, that renders notice ineffective merely because it pre-

dates a physician’s formal diagnosis.

5

Employer also argues that the trial court erred in ordering medical benefits

because the authorized physician, Dr. Korivi, noted in his assessment “allergic rhinitis,

cause unspecified.” However, Dr. Korivi’s assessment also states “[w]orker in work-

related accident,” and includes an “allergy & immunology referral” for respiratory

problems employee experiences “at work.” He also instructed Employee to “[a]void

allergen exposure.” Further, as noted above, Employee’s claim was denied before he

could see an allergist pursuant to the referral made by Dr. Korivi, the authorized treating

doctor.

At an expedited hearing where pre-trial benefits are at issue, an employee need not

establish medical causation by a preponderance of the evidence, but must come forward

with sufficient evidence from which the trial court can determine that he or she is likely

to prevail at a hearing on the merits consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated section

50-6-239(d)(1). See McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015

TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *7-8, 9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27,

2015). While the evidence supporting the trial court’s decision in this case can hardly be

described as overwhelming, this alone is not a basis for us to substitute our judgment for

that of the trial court merely because we might have chosen another alternative in the first

instance. See Neely v. Federated Rural Elec. Ins. Corp., No. 03S01-9410-CH-00099,

1995 Tenn. LEXIS 435, at *2 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Aug. 21, 1995). Instead, we

are obligated to make our own determination regarding where the preponderance of the

evidence lies and, having done so here, cannot at this stage of the case conclude that the

trial court erred in ordering medical benefits.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate against

the trial court’s decision at this interlocutory stage of the case. Nor does the trial court’s

decision violate any of the standards set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

217(a)(3). Accordingly, the trial court’s decision is affirmed. The case is remanded for

any further proceedings that may be necessary.

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Ronald Pool ) Docket No. 2015-06-0510

)

v. )

) State File No. 48782-2015

Jarmon D&Q Transport )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 18th day of February, 2016.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Ronald Pool X ronaldleepool@aol.com

Duane Willis X dwillis@morganakins.com

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: Matthew.Salyer@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.