Opinion

Harper, Randall v. USF Holland Trucking Co.

  • 2015 TN WC App. 49
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Dec 18, 2015
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.4%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Randall Harper ) Docket No. 2015-06-1067

)

v. )

) State File No. 47262-2015

USF Holland Trucking Company )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Robert Durham, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded – Filed December 18, 2015

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee contends that he developed cellulitis from a

spider or insect bite in a Michigan motel while in the course of his employment as a truck

driver. Although the employee initially received authorized medical treatment, the

employer ultimately denied the claim. Following a review of the record without an

evidentiary hearing, the trial court determined that the employee had not presented

sufficient proof of an injury arising primarily out of and in the course and scope of his

employment to warrant the payment of benefits prior to trial. After a careful review of

the record, we affirm.

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which

Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Randall Harper, Lebanon, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

Stephen Heard, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, USF Holland Trucking

Company

Factual and Procedural Background

Randall Harper (“Employee”), a fifty-two-year-old resident of Wilson County,

Tennessee, worked for USF Holland Trucking Company (“Employer”) as an over-the-

1

road truck driver. On June 16, 2015, Employee was staying in a motel in Michigan while

on a route for Employer when he began to feel sick and lightheaded, and he informed his

dispatcher that he would not be able to drive. The following morning, Employee was

examined at a Michigan clinic called Med 1. Employee’s affidavit submitted with his

Request for Expedited Hearing reflects that he showed the attending physician a spot on

his leg and the doctor informed him that he “had been bitten by something.” He was

prescribed antibiotics and released to drive home to see his primary care physician.

Employer instructed Employee to continue on his route. Thus, the following day,

June 18, 2015, Employee was in Ohio when his condition worsened. He contacted

Employer and was instructed to seek emergency medical care. Accordingly, he went to a

hospital where he was admitted and given antibiotics. When he appeared at the

emergency room, his chief complaint was “[t]here is something wrong with my leg. Not

sure if I got bit by something or what.” The treating physician at the hospital, Dr. Allison

Dollman, noted that Employee reported feeling nauseated and fatigued. Employee

informed Dr. Dollman that he was a truck driver and, when he removed his socks on June

17, 2015, he saw redness and swelling in his left leg. He denied having suffered any

recent trauma or injury, though he did have a previous fracture in the same leg.

Employee was diagnosed with cellulitis and a skin infection, and he remained in the

hospital until June 20, 2015, at which time he was sent home for follow-up with his

primary care physician.

Employee returned to Tennessee and was directed by Employer to see a physician

at Concentra on June 22, 2015 for an evaluation of his ability to drive. The attending

physician determined that Employee was at maximum medical improvement but

restricted him from driving until he was cleared by his primary care physician as a result

of “functional limitations.”

On June 26, 2015, Employee saw his primary care physician, Dr. Lisa Kellogg,

who kept him off work and referred him to Sumner Wound Care. Employee began

treating with Dr. John Pinkston at Sumner Wound Care on June 30, 2015. Dr. Pinkston’s

record of that date reflects that Employee “got what was a small bite he thought on his

left lower extremity. It became infected.” Dr. Pinkston provided wound care through the

end of July when, on July 31, 2015, he returned Employee to work without restrictions

and placed him at maximum medical improvement.

Employer denied further benefits, and Employee filed a Petition for Benefit

Determination. After performing a record review at Employee’s request, the trial court

denied benefits based on a finding that Employee had not presented sufficient evidence

regarding whether he suffered an injury arising primarily out of and in the course and

scope of his employment to prevail at a hearing on the merits. Employee appealed.

2

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision is statutorily mandated

and limited in scope. Specifically, “[t]here shall be a presumption that the findings and

conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of

the evidence is otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2014). The trial court’s

decision must be upheld unless the rights of a party “have been prejudiced because

findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a workers’ compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers’ compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion;

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record.”

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standards

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

Employee has not filed a brief or position statement in support of his appeal as

permitted by Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-22-.02(1) (2015) and Section 5.1 of the

Appeals Board’s Practices and Procedures. Thus, the only indication we have of his

position on appeal is a handwritten comment on the notice of appeal: “Med 1 doc’s

where [sic] never used to show initial problem (cause).” It is unclear exactly what

Employee meant by this comment, but we infer that he means medical records from the

Med 1 clinic in Michigan should have been considered by the trial court.

The record on appeal contains an exam report from Med 1 filed on November 4,

2015, one day before the trial court’s decision was filed on November 5, 2015.1 The

report was not made an exhibit and is not otherwise mentioned in the trial court’s

decision. Indeed, the trial court’s order reflects that, other than a prescription, the court

was not provided with any records from Med 1. Based on his statement in the notice of

appeal, Employee apparently believes that the Med 1 record filed on November 4, 2015

should have been considered by the trial court. Assuming for the sake of analysis

Employee is correct, we find that the information contained in the Med 1 note merely

1

The report reflects that Employee was examined on June 17, 2015 and had a “[r]ash secondary to some

type of bite[.] Rx given for antibiotics for cellulitis [and Employee] is capable to drive back home.”

3

corroborates other information in the record and its consideration likely would not have

altered the outcome. Thus, any error in this regard was harmless error.

Other than the vague issue raised in the notice of appeal regarding the records

from Med 1, Employee makes no argument as to how the trial court erred in deciding the

case. Thus, we have no way of knowing the nature of his contentions on appeal. As

stated by the Tennessee Supreme Court, “[i]t is not the role of the courts, trial or

appellate, to research or construct a litigant’s case or arguments for him or her.” Sneed v.

Bd. of Prof’l Responsibility of the Sup. Ct. of Tenn., 301 S.W.3d 603, 615 (Tenn. 2010).

Indeed, were we to search the record for possible errors and raise issues and arguments

for Employee, we would essentially be acting as his counsel, something the law clearly

prohibits us from doing. As explained by one court, appellate courts will not “dig

through the record in an attempt to discover arguments or issues that [a pro se party] may

have made had [that party] been represented by counsel” because doing so “would place

[the opposing party] in a distinct and likely insurmountable and unfair disadvantage.”

Webb v. Sherrell, No. E2013-02724-COA-R3-CV, 2015 Tenn. App. LEXIS 645, at *5

(Tenn. Ct. App. Aug. 12, 2015). Accordingly, we decline to search the record in an

attempt to discover errors that might benefit either party. See McEarl v. City of

Brownsville, No. W2015-00077-COA-R3-CV, 2015 Tenn. App. LEXIS 894, at *7 (Tenn.

Ct. App. Nov. 6, 2015).

The trial court determined that Employee did not present sufficient evidence to

establish that his cellulitis resulted from an insect bite or that such a bite, if one did occur,

arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of his employment. While it is not

necessary for an injured worker to prove every element of his or her claim by a

preponderance of the evidence in order to obtain relief prior to trial at an expedited

hearing, it is necessary for the injured worker to come forward with sufficient evidence

from which the trial court can determine the employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on

the merits consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(1). McCord v.

Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 6, at *7-8, 9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). The trial court

concluded that Employee failed to meet that burden. The record does not preponderate

against that finding. Thus, the trial court’s decision is affirmed.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we conclude that the evidence does not preponderate

against the trial court’s decision or violate any of the standards identified in Tennessee

Code Annotated section 50-6-217(a)(3). Accordingly, we affirm the trial court’s decision

and remand the case for any further proceedings that may be necessary.

4

5

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Randall Harper ) Docket No. 2015-06-1067

)

v. )

) State File No. 47262-2015

USF Holland Trucking Company )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 18th day of December, 2015.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Randy Harper X randharper2@gmail.com

Stephen Heard X skheard@cornelius-collins.com

Robert Durham X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn,gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.