Opinion

Kirk, Regina v. Amazon.com, Inc.

  • 2015 TN WC App. 42
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Nov 16, 2015
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.4%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS' COMPENSATI ON

WORKERS' COMPENSATI ON APPEALS BOARD

Regina Kirk ) Docket No. 2015-01-0036

)

v. ) State File No. 79228-2014

)

Amazon.com, Inc. )

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers' )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas Wyatt, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded- Filed November 16,2015

In this second interlocutory appeal of this case, the employee alleges a work-related left

shoulder injury. The frrst appeal followed an in-person evidentiary hearing that resulted

in the trial court's denial of medical and temporary disability benefits, which was

affirmed on appeal. The employee subsequently filed a second request for expedited

hearing that was supported by her orthopedic physician's responses to a letter from her

attorney. The second request sought a ruling on the record without an evidentiary

hearing. Following the trial court's review of the file, the court awarded medical and

temporary disability benefits, concluding that the employee would likely prevail at a

hearing on the merits in establishing her alleged injury arose primarily out of her

employment. The employer has appealed. After a careful review of the record, we

affirm the trial court's order and remand the case for such additional proceedings as may

be necessary.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which Judge

Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Carmen Y. Ware, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employee-appellant, Regina Kirk

Charles Pierce, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Amazon.com, Inc.

1

Factual and Procedural Background

Regina Kirk ("Employee") is a packer employed with Amazon.com, Inc.

("Employer"), in Chattanooga, Tennessee. On September 24, 2014, she reported a left

shoulder injury that occurred as she reached overhead for an item to pack in a box. 1 The

Employer's First Report of Work Injury, which was completed on the alleged injury date,

describes the injury as follows: "[l]eft shoulder strain developed gradual pain while

packing." Employer's safety form titled "Associate First Report of Injury," which

Employee signed on the alleged injury date, indicates the "Actual Incident Time" to be

"11 :30 AM," and the "Time Incident Reported" to be "2:45 PM." It states, "shoulder

popped while getting item to [place] in box [and] as day went on it feels like a pull to left

arm above neck."

Employee visited Employer's onsite medical facility, AmCare, at 2:45 on the

afternoon of the alleged injury. The initial Am Care report describes Employee's injury

similarly to the Associate First Report of Injury, stating ''while getting an item to place in

a box, her shoulder popped. " 2 It identifies the involved body parts to be "[l]eft upper

back/shoulder," and it indicates Employee received "ice therapy x 15 [minutes]." The

report states that Employee was to return to work without restrictions. Employee was

seen again at AmCare the following day where she received first-aid care described as

"ice for 15 minutes to left shoulder and [Biofreeze]." The AmCare records reflect

Employee also received "ice therapy for 15 [minutes]" on September 28 and 29, 2014 as

well.

Employee requested to see a medical doctor and was provided a panel of medical

providers from which she selected Workforce Corporate Health ("Workforce") on

September 30, 2014. She was seen at Workforce on one occasion on October 6, 2014, by

Dr. Jayant Eldurkar. The report from that visit states that Employee "says she has pain in

the left shoulder," and it notes "[n]o particular incident occurred, but she states from

reaching across and lifting at heights." Dr. Eldurkar's report notes numerous tests and

maneuvers performed in his clinical evaluation of Employee's shoulder, none of which

was reported to be positive. His examination of Employee's upper back revealed "some

tenderness at the left rhomboid." The assessment included in his October 6, 2014 report

1

The facts are taken from the Appeals Board's August 7, 2015 opinion affirming and remanding the trial

court's initial interlocutory order, the documents submitted in support of Employee's second request for

expedited hearing, and the transcript of the proceedings of the initial expedited hearing filed in the trial

court subsequent to Employer's filing of the notice of appeal. The facts included in the Appeals Board's

August 7, 2015 opinion were taken from the trial court's initial expedited hearing order and the exhibits

admitted into evidence at the initial expedited hearing.

2

Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.16(6)(b) (2015) provides that "medical records signed by a

physician or accompanied by a certification that the records are true and accurate . . . ," shall be

admissible. Although no such certification for the AmCare records was provided, the parties stipulated to

the admissibility of those records.

2

states '"[l]eft rhomboid sprain/strain, not work related." (Emphasis added.) Employee

was instructed to "[r]etum to work without restrictions," and to "[r]etum to clinic as

needed." The report states that Employee was "discharged from our clinic."

On the same date of Employee's examination by Dr. Eldurkar, the doctor dated

and signed an Employer-provided form identified as "Health Care Provider Request for

Medical Information." The document included a section to be completed by the health

care provider wherein the injury '"for which treatment is sought" was identified as "[left]

upper back spasm." The document also included an area for the provider to address

whether the injury is work-related by marking one of three boxes labeled "Work-

Related," '"Not Work-Related," or '"Undetermined." Consistent with the assessment

included in Dr. Eldurkar's report, he marked the box indicating Employee's injury was

"Not Work-Related." On October 17, 2014, Employer denied additional benefits, stating

as the basis for its denial, "[n]o medical evidence of a work related injury."

Employee's left shoulder pain worsened as she continued her work as a packer.

She sought medical treatment on her own, and on February 19, 2015, she was seen by Dr.

Jason Robertson, an orthopedic physician. He recorded that Employee "presents in the

office today with a complaint of left shoulder pain that began 09/23/2014." The report

noted Employee's statement "that she was reaching for something on a shelf when her

left shoulder popped." Dr. Robertson examined Employee's shoulder and performed

range of motion tests, strength tests and "Specialty Tests." He noted positive "Neer and

Hawkin's [sic]" tests, which Dr. Eldurkar had found to be negative at the time of his

October 6, 2014 clinical evaluation. Dr. Robertson ordered and reviewed left shoulder x-

rays, which were interpreted to show a "type III acromion and mild glenohumeral

degenerative joint disease." In addition to prescribing medication, Dr. Robertson ordered

a four-week physical therapy program and imposed restrictions against '"lifting over 10

[pounds] [l]eft upper extremity until follow up." He also advised Employee to return to

him in four weeks.

Prior to the issuance of the trial court's initial order denying benefits, Dr.

Robertson signed and dated three separate Employer-provided forms that were admitted

into evidence, which included his opinions concerning whether Employee's condition

was work-related. On February 23, 2015, he signed Employer's "Health Care Provider

Request for Medical Information," which stated that the document was "To Be Used For

Return to Work Verification or Restrictions." A box marked on the document indicated

that the condition for which Employee was examined on February 19, 2015, was "Not

Work-Related." A second copy of the document marked "REVISED 3/12/15," had the

"Not Work-Related" language marked through, and "Work-Related" was circled. Dr.

Robertson's initials and the date were handwritten beside the revisions. A second

Employer-provided form signed by Dr. Robertson titled "Attending Physician's

Statement of Work Capacity and Impairment" was also dated March 12, 2015. Dr.

Robertson identified the primary diagnosis on this document to be left shoulder

3

impingement. In the area for the doctor to indicate whether "the patient's primary

condition [is] due to injury or illness arising out of the patient's employment," the

document was marked, "[u]nknown." A third Employer-provided form requesting

medical information, which was dated March 27, 2015 by Dr. Robertson, stated it is "To

Be Used For Disability Accommodation & Fitness for Return to Work." It noted that

Employee was last seen by the doctor on March 19, 2015, and that work restrictions were

assigned at that visit. A box indicating the injury was "Work-Related" was marked, and

Dr. Robertson's signature was written in the same section following the statement

"overuse injury from overhead activity."

Employee's initial petition for benefit determination was filed on February 20,

2015. Following the filing of a request for expedited hearing, the trial court conducted an

expedited hearing on June 15, 2015. On July 7, 2015, the trial court issued an order

denying Employee's claim for medical and temporary disability benefits, concluding that

Employee "did not submit sufficient medical expert opinion to establish that, at a hearing

on the merits, she would likely prevail in establishing that her injury arose primarily out

of and in the course and scope of employment." Employee appealed and submitted a

position statement to which she attached correspondence dated July 9, 2015, from her

attorney to Dr. Robertson. The correspondence presented the attorney's summary

understanding of the reason for Dr. Robertson's differing causation opinions. It also

presented two questions intended to clarify the doctor's opinion concerning whether

Employee's alleged injury was work-related. We refused to consider the document in

rendering our August 7, 2015 opinion affirming the trial court's denial of benefits

because the document was not admitted into evidence at the expedited hearing.

Employee filed a second request for expedited hearing on August 18, 2015,

seeking a ruling on the record without an evidentiary hearing. 3 The July 9, 2015

correspondence with Dr. Robertson's responses and a "work slip" releasing Employee to

return to work as of June 23, 2015 were filed in support of Employee's request. Noting

that no affidavit was filed with Employee's second request for expedited hearing,

Employer objected to the request, asserting the administrative rules require that all

motions for expedited hearing be "accompanied by affidavits and any other information

demonstrating that the employee is entitled to temporary disability or medical benefits."

Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.14(l)(a) (2015). Employee subsequently refiled

the affidavit that was filed with her initial request for expedited hearing. Thereafter,

Employer filed a motion to dismiss Employee's claim, relying on Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(4) (2015) and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-

.14(3). Both the statute and the rule authorize a trial court to entertain a motion to

3

The trial court has the authority to "issue an interlocutory order either awarding or denying temporary

disability or medical benefits based on a review of the documents submitted and without convening a

formal hearing." Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.02(13) (2015). See also Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

239(d)(2) (2014).

4

dismiss an employee's claim where a motion for temporary disability or medical benefits

is denied on the basis that the claim is not compensable.

Following oral arguments on Employer's motion to dismiss and on its objection to

the second request for expedited hearing, the trial court denied Employer's motion to

dismiss, concluding that Employee addressed the evidentiary inadequacies identified in

the trial court's July 7, 2015 order by filing the July 9, 2015 correspondence that included

Dr. Robertson's causation opinion. The court also found Employer's objection to the

request for expedited hearing to be meritless, noting that Employee had already filed an

affidavit with her initial request for expedited hearing. Referencing "the spirit of [Rule

10.03 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure]," which provides that an exhibit filed

with a pleading "shall be a part of the pleading for all purposes," the trial court concluded

that Employee's failure to refile the affidavit at the time the second request was filed "did

not eliminate the Court's ability to decide the [request] on its merits."

After resolving the procedural matters, the trial court addressed the causation issue

and whether Employee established sufficient evidence from which the trial court could

determine that she would likely prevail at trial in rebutting Dr. Eldurkar's opinion that her

injury was not work-related. Finding that Dr. Robertson's opinion "more likely

represents an accurate causation assessment than Dr. Eldurkar's opinion," and finding

Employee's in-person testimony at the initial expedited hearing to be credible, the trial

court concluded that Employee "will likely prevail in rebutting Dr. Eldurkar's opinion ...

and in establishing that her left-shoulder injury arose primarily out of and in the course

and scope of her employment." The court ordered Employer to "pay for past treatment

and examination by Dr. Robertson and, at [Employee's] option, [she] may seek future

treatment of her work-related left-shoulder injury from Dr. Robertson or a physician

selected from a panel to be provided by [Employer]." Additionally, the trial court

awarded seventeen weeks and six days of temporary disability benefits based on

Employee's unrefuted testimony at the first expedited hearing addressing Employer's

inability to accommodate restrictions imposed by Dr. Robertson, and the ''work slip"

submitted by Employee with her second request for expedited hearing. The "work slip"

indicated that Dr. Robertson did not release Employee to return to unrestricted work until

June 23, 2015. Employer appeals the October 8, 2015 interlocutory order.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court's decision is statutorily mandated

and limited in scope. Specifically, "[t]here shall be a presumption that the findings and

conclusions of the workers' compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of

the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2014). The trial court's

decision must be upheld unless the rights of a party "have been prejudiced because

findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a workers' compensation judge:

5

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers' compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion;

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record."

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). In applying the standard set forth in

subparagraph (E) above, courts have construed "substantial and material" evidence to

mean "such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept to support a rational

conclusion and such as to furnish a reasonably sound basis for the action under

consideration." Clay Cnty. Manor, Inc. v. State, Dep't of Health & Env't, 849 S.W.2d

755, 759 (Tenn. 1993). Like other courts applying the standard embodied in section 50-

6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court absent the limited

circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

The dispositive issue in this interlocutory appeal is whether Employee presented

sufficient evidence from which the trial court could determine that she would likely

prevail at a hearing on the merits in overcoming the presumption afforded the authorized

treating physician's causation opinion. 4 The trial court determined that Employee would

likely prevail in establishing her injury to be work-related and awarded medical and

temporary disability benefits. Employer asserts that the trial court erred in three respects:

(1) by failing to dismiss the second request for expedited hearing for Employee's failure

to submit an affidavit with her request as required by Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-

21-.14(1)(a); (2) in determining that the questionnaire signed by Dr. Robertson was

sufficient to support the trial court's order for benefits; and (3) in determining that the

medical evidence rebutted the presumption of correctness afforded Dr. Eldurkar's

opinion that Employee's injury was not work-related. For the reasons addressed below,

we conclude that the trial court did not err in awarding benefits.

Requirement for Filing an Affidavit

Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.14(1)(a) (2015) requires that all motions for

expedited hearings "must be accompanied by affidavits and any other information

4

The trial court stated ''the central substantive issue presented for determination is whether [Employee]

sustained an injury arising primarily out of and in the course and scope of employment." We disagree

with the trial court's characterization of the issue. Given the procedural posture of the case, it is

premature to decide if Employee's injury arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of her

employment. Causation issues at expedited hearings concern whether the evidence is sufficient for the

trial court to determine that an employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits.

6

demonstrating that the employee is entitled to temporary disability or medical benefits."

Employee filed information with her second request for expedited hearing, but she did

not file an affidavit with her second request until after Employer objected to her request.

Citing Hadzic v. Averitt Express, No. 2014-02-0064, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 14 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. May 18, 2015), Employer asserts there are

no exceptions to the affidavit requirement, and that the affidavit Employee filed after

Employer filed its position statement with the trial court "does not cure the deficiency."

We fmd no merit in Employer's position, nor do we interpret Hadzic to establish that

"there are no exceptions to the affidavit requirement" as asserted by Employer. The

issue in Hadzic concerned whether the affidavit requirement was limited to cases in

which "the party intends to rely on the affidavit at the hearing." Id. at *6. The trial court

in Hadzic found the failure to file an affidavit to be inconsequential because the employee

testified in person at the hearing, stating that a "party is only required to file an affidavit

if the moving party intends to rely on the affidavit[] at the Expedited Hearing." !d. at *7.

We vacated the trial court's decision, concluding that it "incorrectly determined the filing

of an affidavit is unnecessary when the party seeking an expedited hearing testifies at the

hearing." !d. at* 12.

Here, Employee filed an affidavit with her initial request for expedited hearing,

which asserted that the injury occurred when she was "reaching for an item ... [at work]

when I felt my left shoulder pop followed by pain." The affidavit identified when the

work incident occurred, what medical providers examined Employee, what Employee

understood the providers' diagnoses to be, and whether the providers imposed work

restrictions. Without considering whether the inconvenience of attaching this affidavit to

the second request for expedited hearing outweighed the value of the affidavit, see Tenn.

R. Civ. P. 10.03 Advisory Commission Comment (2015), it is undisputed that (1)

Employer already had the affidavit; (2) the affidavit was already included in the court

file; and (3) Employee provided the responses from Dr. Robertson that were intended to

clarify his causation opinion with her second request for expedited hearing. Employer

has not shown or alleged any prejudice as a result of Employee's failure to refile the

affidavit with her new request or by Employee's refiling the affidavit following

Employer's objection to the request. Additionally, and as noted by the trial court,

Employee's "failure to refile the affidavit did not deprive [Employer] of information

needed to respond to the issues raised by the second [request]." Under the circumstances

presented, we conclude that the trial court did not err in declining to dismiss the second

request for expedited hearing.

Overcoming the Presumption of Correctness of the Treating Physician's

Causation Opinion

Employer contends that Dr. Robertson's July 14, 2015 responses to the questions

presented by Employee's attorney are insufficient to support the trial court's order for

benefits. Further, Employer asserts that the evidence does not overcome the presumption

7

that the authorized treating physician's causation opinion is correct. The authorized

treating physician, Dr. Eldurkar, examined Employee on a single occasion and diagnosed

her with a "[l]eft rhomboid sprain/strain, not work related." Consistent with this

statement, the separate "Health Care Provider Request for Medical Information" form

signed by Dr. Eldurkar on the date of his examination identifies Employee's injury as

"[left] upper back spasm" and was marked to indicate that Employee's injury was "Not

Work-Related." Whether the preponderance of the evidence overcomes the presumption

of correctness attached to Dr. Eldurkar's causation opinion subsumes the issue raised by

Employer regarding whether Dr. Robertson's responses were sufficient to support the

trial court's award of benefits. The trial court's award of benefits was not based solely on

Dr. Robertson's July 14, 2015 responses to the questions from Employee's attorney, nor

was the trial court's award of benefits based solely on the medical evidence.

At an expedited hearing, an employee need not prove every element of his or her

claim by a preponderance of the evidence, but must come forward with sufficient

evidence from which the trial court can determine that the employee is likely to prevail at

a hearing on the merits consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(l)

(2014). McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk.

Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 {Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). This

lesser evidentiary standard "does not relieve an employee of the burden of producing

evidence of an injury by accident that arose primarily out of and in the course and scope

of employment at an expedited hearing, but allows some relief to be granted if that

evidence does not rise to the level of a 'preponderance of the evidence.'" Buchanan v.

Carlex Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *6

(Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015).

Furthermore, "[t]he opinion of the treating physician, selected by the employee

from the employer's designated panel of physicians ... shall be presumed correct on the

issue of causation but this presumption shall be rebuttable by a preponderance of the

evidence." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(13)(E) (2014). Considering Employee's

testimony and the medical records admitted into evidence, the trial court concluded that

Employee "will likely prevail in rebutting Dr. Eldurkar's opinion of non-compensability

and in establishing that her left-shoulder injury arose primarily out of and in the course

and scope of her employment." While we disagree with the trial court's characterization

of Dr. Eldurkar's opinion as an "opinion of non-compensability" rather than a medical

opinion addressing causation, for the reasons addressed below we conclude that the trial

court did not err in awarding medical and temporary disability benefits.

The appellant bears the burden of showing that the evidence presented in the trial

court preponderates against the trial court's findings. Mfrs. Canso!. Serv., Inc. v. Rodell,

42 S.W.3d 846, 865 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2000). "For the evidence to preponderate against a

trial court's fmding of fact, it must support another fmding of fact with greater

convincing effect." Bridgewater v. Adamczyk, 421 S.W.3d 617, 627 (Tenn. Ct. App.

8

20 13) (citations omitted). Employee was the only witness to testify at the initial

expedited hearing, and the second expedited hearing was limited to the trial court's

review of the file in accordance with Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.14(l)(c)

(2015). In the order under review, the trial court found Employee's in-person testimony

at the initial expedited hearing to be credible. Based on Employee's testimony, the

exhibits admitted into evidence at the initial hearing, and the additional documents

submitted with Employee's second request for expedited hearing, the trial court

determined that Employee would likely prevail at a hearing on the merits in rebutting the

treating physician's opinion that Employee's injury is not work-related.

Reviewing courts must conduct an in-depth examination of the trial court's factual

findings and conclusions. Wilhelm v. Krogers, 235 S.W.3d 122, 126 (Tenn. 2007).

However, as noted above, "[t]here shall be a presumption that the findings and

conclusions of the workers' compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of

the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2014). When the trial

court has seen and heard witnesses, considerable deference must be afforded the trial

court's factual findings. Tyron v. Saturn Corp., 254 S.W.3d 321, 327 (Tenn. 2008). No

similar deference need be afforded the trial court's fmdings based upon documentary

evidence such as medical records. See Glisson v. Mohon Int'l. Inc., 185 S.W.3d 348, 353

(Tenn. 2006). Having carefully reviewed and considered the transcript of the June 15,

2015 expedited hearing, 5 we cannot say that the trial court's assessment of Employee's

credibility was incorrect. Indeed, Employer has not identified any testimony from the

initial hearing that it asserts to be inconsistent or unreliable.

Dr. Eldurkar's October 6, 2014 report indicates that he performed a physical

examination of Employee's left shoulder and upper back and identifies numerous tests

and maneuvers included in his examination. The report notes that Employee had full

range of motion in her left shoulder and that each test or maneuver performed during the

doctor's clinical evaluation was negative. The doctor's examination of Employee's upper

back revealed "some tenderness at the left rhomboid." The assessment included in the

report states "[l]eft rhomboid sprain/strain, not work related." Consistent with the

October 6, 2014 report, Dr. Eldurkar indicated on the Employer-provided request for

medical information that the "[left] upper back spasm" for which "treatment is sought"

was "Not Work-Related." As noted by the trial court, Dr. Eldurkar's medical practice

specialty, if any, is not identified in the record.

Dr. Robertson is an orthopedic surgeon. The records document that Employee had

two visits with Dr. Robertson in contrast to her single visit with Dr. Eldurkar. The

mechanism of injury recorded by Dr. Robertson was consistent with Employee's

5

We elected to review the transcript of the first expedited hearing filed by Employer because the trial

court expressly noted its reliance on the testimony in ruling on the second request without an evidentiary

hearing.

9

testimony as to how she injured her shoulder. Also, Dr. Robertson obtained and

reviewed current shoulder x-rays, which he noted revealed "a type III acromion and mild

glenohumeral degenerative joint disease." While Dr. Robertson prepared or signed

records with conflicting information addressing whether Employee's left shoulder

condition was work-related, his July 14, 2015 responses to the questions posed by

Employee's attorney clarified and affirmed his opinion that "the work related events of

9/24/14, more likely than not, contributed more than 50% to primarily result in the left

shoulder injury ... and the need for the prescribed treatment." (Emphasis in original.)

The trial court found that Dr. Robertson's causation opinion "more likely represents an

accurate causation assessment than Dr. Eldurkar's opinion because he recorded a more

accurate history and utilized diagnostic testing to diagnose [Employee's] injury."

Finding Employee's in-person testimony at the initial expedited hearing to be credible,

the trial court concluded from her testimony, in conjunction with the court's

determination that Dr. Robertson ''was better-positioned to assess causation than was Dr.

Eldurkar," 6 that Employee ''will likely prevail in rebutting Dr. Eldurkar's opinion ... and

in establishing that her left-shoulder injury arose primarily out of and in the course and

scope of her employment." Our review leads us to conclude that the preponderance of

the evidence supports the trial court's determination that Employee established she is

likely to prevail at a trial on the merits in overcoming the presumption of correctness

afforded Dr. Eldurkar's causation opinion and in establishing that her left shoulder injury

arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of her employment.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate

against the trial court's award of medical and temporary disability benefits. Additionally,

we find that the trial court's decision does not violate any of the standards identified in

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Accordingly, the trial court's

decision is affirmed and the case is remanded for any further proceedings that may be

necessary.

David F. Hensley, Judge

Workers' Compensation Appeals Board

6

The trial court found that "Dr. Robertson was in a better position to consider the causation [issue]

because he saw her almost five months after the date of injury." A physician's opinion should not

necessarily be given more weight the farther removed it is from the injury-producing event. Indeed, the

opposite may be true.

10

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Regina Kirk ) Docket No. 2015-01-0036

)

v. )

) State File No. 79228-2014

Amazon.com, Inc. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 16th day of November, 2015.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Carmen Ware X Cyware@thewarelawfirm.com

W. Troy Hart X wth@mijs.com

Thomas Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: Matthew.Salyer@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.