Opinion

Perrault, Katherine v. Gem Care, Inc.

  • 2015 TN WC App. 41
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Nov 12, 2015
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.4%

The opinion

FILED

November 12, 2015

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

Time: 10:11 AM

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

WORKERS' COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Katherine Perrault ) Docket No. 2015-02-0210

)

v. )

) State File No. 51173-2015

Gem Care, Inc. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers' )

Compensation Claims )

Brian K. Addington, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded -November 12, 2015

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee alleges she developed a hiatal hernia,

hemorrhoids, and acute appendicitis as a result of an incident of heavy lifting at work.

The employer denied her claim, asserting there was no evidence that her alleged medical

conditions arose primarily from the reported episode of heavy lifting at work. Following

an expedited hearing, the trial court declined to order temporary disability or medical

benefits, concluding that the employee had not met her burden of showing that she is

likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits. Having carefully reviewed the record, we

affirm and remand the case for further proceedings as may be necessary.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which Judge

Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

William F. Evans, Clinton, Tennessee, for the employee-appellant, Katherine Perrault

Joseph Lynch, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Gem Care, Inc.

1

Factual and Procedural Background

The employee, Katherine Perrault ("Employee"), a forty-six-year-old resident of

Jefferson County, Tennessee, was employed by Gem Care, Inc. ("Employer"), a staffing

agency. On May 4, 2015, Employee was assigned to work at Timken, a manufacturing

facility, as an unloader and press operator. On Monday, June 8, 2015, while lifting a

metal cast onto a machine, she felt pain under her breastbone as well as an urgent need to

use the restroom. Employee testified that following the incident, which occurred

approximately one hour after her shift started, she experienced multiple episodes of rectal

bleeding throughout her shift. She was able to complete her shift that day but sought

assistance from co-workers when heavy lifting was required.

Employee did not report this incident to her supervisor or the on-site Gem Care

representative, Iris Jordan, on the day of its occurrence. The following day, she called

and texted Ms. Jordan to inform her that she was going to an emergency room due to

rectal bleeding and vomiting and that she would not be at work that day. Employee

acknowledged that she did not tell Ms. Jordan she believed this to be a work-related

condition at that time. The plant was closed Wednesday through Friday that week.

Employee alleged that she reported her condition as a work-related injury on

Monday, June 15, 2015, during a telephone conversation with Ms. Jordan, who admitted

that Employee alleged she was told by her physician that "it was because of lifting heavy

weights." Ms. Jordan also acknowledged that, as a result of the June 15 telephone

conversation with Employee, she completed a work accident report. No panel of

physicians was provided to Employee.

When Employee reported to the emergency room the day after the alleged

incident, she was evaluated by Dr. Jill Robinson. Dr. Robinson noted a history of rectal

bleeding "off and on x 1 year" and "solid problems with the bleeding for the past 5 days."

During her testimony, Employee denied or did not recall making these statements. In a

consultation report completed by Dr. Linas Adams, he noted, "[s]he apparently has been

passing this blood on and off now for well over a year according to her husband and

herself .... " Both Employee and her husband denied making these statements to Dr.

Adams.

Employee was hospitalized for two days immediately after the alleged work

incident. Due to a family history of colon cancer, Employee was unsure of the cause of

her rectal bleeding during her hospitalization. However, after a conversation with Dr.

Adams, she came to believe her condition was a work-related injury due to the pain and

symptoms she experienced after lifting the metal cast on June 8. Employer did not

authorize any medical treatment or pay any workers' compensation benefits. Employee

did not return to work for Employer.

2

Thereafter, Employee filed a Petition for Benefit Determination seeking temporary

disability and medical benefits. Following unsuccessful mediation efforts, a Dispute

Certification Notice was issued listing compensability, medical benefits, and temporary

disability benefits as disputed issues. Employee then filed a Request for Expedited

Hearing, with an affidavit, which sought a decision from the trial court without an

evidentiary hearing. Although the record is silent on this issue, the trial judge apparently

determined that the case merited an in-person evidentiary hearing, as one was conducted

on September 18, 20 15. The trial court then issued an Expedited Hearing Order Denying

Requested Benefits, concluding that Employee "has not come forward with sufficient

evidence at this time from which the Court can determine she is likely to succeed at a

hearing on the merits." Employee appealed, and the record was received by the Clerk of

the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board on November 4, 2015.

Standard of Review

The standard of review to be applied by the Appeals Board in reviewing a trial

court's decision is statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, "[t]here shall

be a presumption that the findings and conclusions of the workers' compensation judge

are correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. §

50-6-239(c)(7) (2014). The trial court's decision must be upheld unless the rights of a

party "have been prejudiced because findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a

workers' compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers' compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion;

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record."

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standards

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

At an expedited hearing, an employee need not prove every element of his or her

claim by a preponderance of the evidence, but must come forward with sufficient

evidence from which the trial court can determine that the employee is likely to prevail at

a hearing on the merits, consistent with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

239(d)(l) (2014). McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015

TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27,

3

20 15). This lesser evidentiary standard "does not relieve an employee of the burden of

producing evidence of an injury by accident that arose primarily out of and in the course

and scope of employment at an expedited hearing, but allows some relief to be granted if

that evidence does not rise to the level of a 'preponderance of the evidence.'" Buchanan

v. Car/ex Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *6

(Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015).

In cases involving an alleged hernia, a trial court must also consider the

requirements of Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-212(a) (2014). That section

expressly applies "in all claims for compensation for hernia or rupture" and includes five

elements, which "must be definitely proven to the satisfaction of the court:"

( 1) There was an injury resulting in hernia or rupture;

(2) The hernia or rupture appeared suddenly;

(3) It was accompanied by pain;

(4) The hernia or rupture immediately followed the accident; and

(5) The hernia or rupture did not exist prior to the accident for which

compensation is claimed.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-212(a) (2014). Moreover, unlike hernia claims which arose

prior to July 1, 2014, the hernia must arise ''primarily out of and in the course and scope

ofthe employee's employment." ld. (emphasis added).

In the present case, Employee has alleged three distinct medical conditions which

she contends are related to the lifting incident at work on June 8, 2015: a hiatal hernia,

hemorrhoids, and appendicitis. With respect to the hemorrhoids and appendicitis,

Employee had the burden at the expedited hearing to come forward with sufficient

evidence that she is likely to prove at a hearing on the merits that those conditions arose

primarily from the lifting incident at work. With respect to the hiatal hernia, Employee

also had to come forward with sufficient evidence that she is likely to prove the five

elements mandated by section 50-6-212.

In its expedited hearing order, the trial court concluded that Employee's testimony

"is insufficient to establish she suffered a work-related injury." In so holding, the trial

court emphasized several inconsistencies between Employee's testimony and the

recorded histories as reflected in the medical records, concluding that "[t]he variations in

the extent and length of her prior medical conditions and any possible connection to her

present alleged injury are too significant to ignore." Such determinations of witness

credibility are entitled to deference on appeal. Townsend v. State, 826 S.W.2d 434, 437

(Tenn. 1992); Durant v. Saturn Corp., No. M2003-00566-WC-R3-CV, 2004 Tenn.

LEXIS 353, at *9 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel Apr. 30, 2004). We conclude from our

review of the record that the evidence does not preponderate against this finding.

4

Moreover, with respect to the alleged hiatal hernia, Employee presented no

testimony or other evidence indicating that the hiatal hernia "appeared suddenly" or that

it "immediately followed the accident" as required by Tennessee Code Annotated section

50-6-212(a). This lack of evidence supports the trial court's conclusion that Employee

failed to meet the standard of proof required at an expedited hearing.

As we have explained previously:

[M]ere notice of an alleged workplace accident, in and of itself, does not

trigger an employer's duty to provide medical benefits in every case,

without regard to the particular circumstances presented. If an employer

chooses to deny the claim following its initial investigation, the employee

must come forward with sufficient evidence from which the trial court can

determine that the employee likely will prove a compensable "injury by

accident" at a hearing on the merits in accordance with section 50-6-

239(d)(l).

McCord, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *13. Based on our review of the

record in this case, we cannot conclude that the evidence preponderates against the trial

court's determination.

Conclusion

The trial court's expedited hearing order denying medical and/or temporary

disability benefits is affirmed. This case is remanded to the trial court for any further

proceedings as may be necessary.

. Conner, Judge

Compensation Appeals Board

5

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Katherine Perrault ) Docket No. 2015-02-0210

)

v. )

) State File No. 51173-2015

Gem Care, Inc. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 12th day of November, 2015.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

William Evans X williamevansesq@gmail.com

Joe Lynch X jlynch@wimberlylawson.com

Brian Addington X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Deputy Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.