Opinion

Helgerson, Mitchel v. Packer Sanitation Services, Inc.

  • 2015 TN WC App. 33
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Sep 23, 2015
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.4%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Mitchel Helgerson ) Docket No. 2014-03-0023

)

v. )

) State File No. 65382-2014

Packer Sanitation Services, Inc. )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 23rd day of September, 2015.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

D. David Sexton X dsexton@sextonandwykoff.com

megan@sextonandwykoff.com

Charles W. Gilbreath II X cgilbreath@noogalaw.com

Pamela B. Johnson, X Via Electronic Mail

Judge

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: Matthew.Salyer@tn.gov

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

WORKERS' COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

FILED

September 23, 2015

Mitchel Helgerson ) Docket No. 2014-03-0023

TENNESSEE

) WORKERS ' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

v. ) Time: 7:40 A.M.

) State File No. 65382-2014

Packer Sanitation Services, Inc. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers' )

Compensation Claims )

Pamela B. Johnson, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded- Filed September 23, 2015

The employee reported that his right knee popped and he felt immediate pain when he

stepped down from a stool at work. The employer initially authorized medical treatment,

but denied the claim approximately five weeks later. Following an expedited hearing, the

trial court issued an interlocutory order for medical benefits requiring the employer to

provide a panel of orthopedic physicians to the employee. On appeal, the employer

asserts that the employee is not entitled to additional medical benefits since he failed to

satisfy his burden of proof as to whether the knee condition arose primarily out of and in

the course and scope of employment. The employer additionally contests the trial court's

credibility determinations. Having carefully reviewed the record, we affirm the trial

court's judgment and remand the case for any further proceedings as may be necessary.

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which Judge

Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Charles W. Gilbreath, II, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Packer

Sanitation Services, Inc.

D. David Sexton, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Mitchel Helgerson

1

Factual and Procedural Background

Mitchel Helgerson ("Employee") is a thirty-seven-year-old resident of Knox

County, Tennessee. He was employed as a machine cleaner by Packer Sanitation

Services, Inc. ("Employer"), in July 2013, before being promoted to leader in May 2014.

Employer provides cleaning services for industrial plants, and Employee was assigned to

a food production facility in Knoxville, Tennessee.

On August 8, 2014, Employee reported for work at 10:30 p.m. Approximately

three hours later, which was soon after midnight on August 9, 2014, Employee was

cleaning overhead pipes that ran along the ceiling, which required him to use elevated

grates, a ladder, or a step stool. Employee reported that while stepping down from an

eighteen-inch stool, he slipped "a little bit" due to food residue on the floor, twisted, and

felt a pop in his right knee. Although acknowledging a 2002 right knee injury, he denied

having any problems with his right leg or knee immediately prior to the August 9, 2014

incident.

Following the incident, Employee ''took a break," during which he called his

father and asked him to bring a knee brace to the work site. Employee alleges that, while

on break, he informed a supervisor, Adam Welch, that he had hurt his knee. He did not

seek immediate medical attention because he thought he only had a sprain, and he hoped

his symptoms would abate. Although Employee worked the following night, he called in

the next two nights and advised his direct supervisor, Jason Sharp, that he was unable to

work.

When Employee returned to work on the evening of August 13, 2014, he spoke to

Mr. Sharp and asked that a workers' compensation claim be initiated. He and Mr. Sharp

then participated in a teleconference with Medcor, a company that accepts and processes

reports of work injuries on behalf of Employer. During this call, Employee described the

incident and his symptoms. He also acknowledged a prior injury involving the same

knee that occurred approximately twelve years earlier. The Medcor representative

referred Employee to Knoxville Medical Center without offering Employee a choice of

physicians.

Employee was evaluated and treated on four occasions by Dr. J. Donald King, Jr.

The records document that Employee was initially seen on August 14, 2014, at which

time he described an August 9, 2014 work-related injury when "he stepped off a step

stool and twisted his [right] knee and felt it pop." Dr. King prescribed medication and

recommended that Employee begin physical therapy and continue icing his knee and

wearing the "private knee brace." The diagnoses in the initial report included ( 1)

"[d]erangement of anterior hom of medial meniscus," (2) right leg effusion of joint, and

(3) "[s]prain of medial collateral ligament of knee." Dr. King imposed work restrictions

2

limiting specified activities to a maximum of one hour per day. Employer accommodated

the restrictions, and Employee continued working modified duties.

Employee's second visit with Dr. King occurred on August 25, 2014, at which

time Employee reported that his symptoms "have remained the same." Dr. King

continued physical therapy and the medication and recommended Employee continue

icing his knee. He also continued Employee's work restrictions. On August 28, 2014,

Employee returned to Dr. King. The report of the visit states that Employee "had an

episode in [physical therapy] yesterday with weight shifts and popping catch on medial

aspect of [right] knee causing increased pain." Employee reported an increase in pain

and other symptoms. Dr. King's report noted that Employee's range of motion decreased

and that his "gait has decreased [with] more pain on ambulation." Dr. King continued

physical therapy, medication and icing, and he recommended an MRI study of the right

knee, which was completed on August 30, 2014.

The August 30, 2014 MRI revealed (1) a large bucket handle tear of the medial

meniscus, (2) a one centimeter cyst, "ganglion versus parameniscal cyst adjacent to the

anterior root medial meniscus," (3) a "[h]igh-grade ACL tear" that the report states

"[s]uspect chronic," (4) "[s]mall to moderate joint effusion," and (5) "[m]inimal

chondromalacia." Employee returned to Dr. King on September 5, 2014, reporting no

improvement. Dr. King reviewed the results of the MRI and recommended that

Employee continue his program of conservative care. Dr. King also referred Employee

for orthopedic consultation.

On September 17,2014, Employer completed a "Notice of Change or Termination

of Compensation Benefits" form and a "Notice of Controversy" form indicating that

Employee was notified on September 15, 2014 that benefits were terminated. The forms

state the reason for the termination of benefits and the matter in dispute as "Employer's

[sic] report of mechanism of injury is inconsistent with the previous report to supervisor

and injuries as identified by the authorized doctor."

On October 28, 2014, Employee filed a petition for benefit determination

requesting temporary disability benefits and medical benefits. On June 1, 2015,

Employee requested an expedited hearing and asked that the trial court issue a ruling

based on a record review without an evidentiary hearing. Employer filed a motion to

quash the request, asserting it did not have "the vast majority of the medical records from

[Employee's] prior knee injury." Employer filed a separate response in opposition to

Employee's request for expedited hearing asking the court to hold an in-person

evidentiary hearing if the court did not grant its motion to quash. On July 2, 2015, the

trial court denied the motion to quash and scheduled an in-person evidentiary hearing for

July 31, 2015.

3

Employee and his supervisor, Mr. Sharp, testified at the hearing, offering differing

accounts of when and how Employee reported his injury, whether Employee attributed

his complaints to an old injury, and the circumstances of Employee's termination. On

August 20, 2015, the trial court issued its Expedited Hearing Order for Medical Benefits

ordering Employer to provide Employee "a panel of orthopedic physicians from which he

may select a physician for evaluation and treatment of any work-related injury pursuant

to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204."

Employer timely filed a notice of appeal on August 31, 2015, asserting (1)

Employee did not offer medical proof that his injury more likely than not occurred in the

course and scope of his employment, (2) the trial court erred in determining that

Employee was credible, (3) Employee voluntarily resigned his employment, and (4) the

trial court erred in failing to determine which of two First Reports of Injury is controlling.

The record was received by the Clerk of the Appeals Board on September 14, 2015.

Standard of Review

The standard of review to be applied by the Appeals Board in reviewing a trial

court's decision is statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, "[t]here shall

be a presumption that the fmdings and conclusions of the workers' compensation judge

are correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. §

50-6-239(c)(7) (2014). The limited circumstances warranting reversal or modification of

a trial court's decision are specified in the statute:

The workers' compensation appeals board may reverse or modify and

remand the decision of the workers' compensation judge if the rights of any

party have been prejudiced because findings, inferences, conclusions, or

decisions of a workers' compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers' compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or clearly

an unwarranted exercise of discretion; or

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material in the

light of the entire record.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015).

In applying the standard set forth in subparagraph (E) above, courts have

construed "substantial and material" evidence to mean "such relevant evidence as a

reasonable mind might accept to support a rational conclusion and such as to furnish a

reasonably sound basis for the action under consideration." Clay Cnty. Manor, Inc. v.

4

State, Dep't ofHealth & Env't, 849 S.W.2d 755, 759 (Tenn. 1993) (quoting Southern Ry.

Co. v. State Bd. of Equalization, 682 S.W.2d 196, 199 (Tenn. 1984)). Like other courts

applying the standard embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the

decision of the trial court absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

The primary issue on appeal is whether Employee presented sufficient evidence to

support the trial court's order for medical benefits requiring Employer to provide a panel

of orthopedic physicians as recommended by the authorized treating physician, Dr. King.

Employer also raises a credibility issue, asserting the trial court erred in finding

Employee credible "in the face of testimony, records, and recordings that contradicted his

version of the events." Additionally, Employer presents as issues whether Employee

voluntarily resigned his employment by refusing to comply with Employer's requirement

that he return a Family Medical Leave Act form within five days, and whether the trial

court erred in failing to determine which of two First Reports of Injury controls in the

case. We decline to address the latter two issues as they are immaterial to the trial court's

August 20, 2015 order for medical benefits.

The Award of Medical Benefits

Citing Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(c), Employer asserts that an

employee is not entitled to medical benefits unless the employee proves to a reasonable

degree of medical certainty that the injury at issue primarily arose out of and in the course

and scope of the employment. Relying on the trial court's finding that "Dr. King,

however, does not provide an opinion on causation to allow this Court to determine

whether [Employee's] right-knee injury of August 9, 2014, arose primarily out of and in

the course and scope of his employment," Employer asserts that Employee's evidence

was insufficient to establish a right to medical benefits. We find no merit in Employer's

position.

Employer overlooks the applicable standard for a trial court to enter an

interlocutory order concerning the provision of temporary disability or medical benefits

as is stated in the trial court's August 20, 2015 order. "[A]n employee need not prove

each and every element of his or her claim by a preponderance of the evidence at an

expedited hearing to be entitled to temporary disability or medical benefits, but must

instead present evidence sufficient for the trial court to conclude that the employee would

likely prevail at a hearing on the merits in accordance with the express terms of

[Tennessee Code Annotated] section 50-6-239(d)(l)." McCord v. Advantage Human

Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *7-8, 9 (Tenn.

Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). Here, the trial court expressly determined that

while Employee has not proven by a preponderance of the evidence that he suffered an

5

injury arising primarily out of and in the course and scope of his employment, "he has

shown that he is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits."

Credibility

Employer also asserts that the trial court erred in finding Employee credible.

Employer requests that we fmd Employee "to be incredible, and credit the testimony of

Mr. Sharp." As the Tennessee Supreme Court has observed many times, reviewing

courts must conduct an in-depth examination of the trial court's factual findings and

conclusions. Wilhelm v. Krogers, 235 S.W.3d 122, 126 (Tenn. 2007). As noted above,

our review of a trial court's order is governed by Tennessee Code Annotated sections 50-

6-217(a)(3) (2015) and 50-6-239(c)(7) (2014). Section 50-6-239(c)(7) provides a

presumption "that the findings and conclusions of the workers' compensation judge are

correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." When the trial court has

seen and heard the witnesses, considerable deference must be afforded the trial court's

factual findings. Tyron v. Saturn Corp., 254 S.W.3d 321, 327 (Tenn. 2008). No similar

deference need be afforded the trial court's fmdings based on documentary evidence.

Glisson v. Mohon Int'l Inc., 185 S.W.3d 348, 353 (Tenn. 2006). Despite the deferential

standard of review for live testimony, we must still assess independently where the

preponderance of the evidence lies. See Tenn. Code Ann.§ 50-6-239(c)(7).

After independently reviewing the record and guided by the above principles, we

conclude that the evidence does not preponderate against the trial court's findings with

respect to Employee's credibility. The trial court heard the testimony of Employee and

his supervisor, Mr. Sharp. Additionally, the trial court heard the recorded telephone

conversation involving Employee, his supervisor and the Medcor representative. The

trial court expressly found Employee to be credible, stating that "[a]ny inconsistencies in

his report of the August 9, 2014 work incident were minor and caused by the fact that the

work incident occurred during an overnight shift, which encompassed two calendar

days." Moreover, as stated by the trial court, "[t]he medical records of the authorized

treating physician, Dr. King, support [Employee's] description of the work incident."

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the trial court's judgment is affirmed and the case is

remanded for such additional proceedings as may be necessary.

David F. Hensley, Judge

Workers' Compensatio Appeals Board

6

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.