Opinion

Thurmond, Tommy v. Yates Services

  • 2015 TN WC App. 29
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Sep 8, 2015
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.4%

“In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”

How later courts described this case

  • “In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Tommy Thurmond ) Docket No. 2015-06-0240

)

v. )

) State File No. 96769-2014

Yates Services )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 8th day of September, 2015.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Tommy Thurmond X tommythurmond@yahoo.com

John R. Rucker, Jr. X jrucker@ruckerlaw.com

Robert Durham, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: Matthew.Salyer@tn.gov

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Tommy Thurmond ) Docket No. 2015-06-0240

)

v. ) State File No. 96769-2014

)

Yates Services )

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Robert Durham, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded—Filed September 8, 2015

This interlocutory appeal involves an employee who alleges injuries to his neck and

shoulders stemming from his work activities on an assembly line. The employer initially

provided medical care but stopped doing so once the employee was placed at maximum

medical improvement. The trial court determined that, although the employee was

entitled to medical benefits, he was not entitled to temporary disability benefits or the

payment of unauthorized medical expenses. The employee has appealed. We affirm the

trial court’s decision and remand the case for further proceedings as may be necessary.

Judge Marshall L. Davidson, III, delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which

Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Timothy W. Conner joined.

Tommy Thurmond, Nashville, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

John R. Rucker, Murfreesboro, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Yates Services

1

Factual and Procedural Background

Tommy Thurmond (“Employee”), an employee of Yates Services (“Employer”),

alleges injuries to his neck and shoulders as a result of performing overhead work on

December 7, 2014, at Nissan’s plant in Smyrna, Tennessee.1 Upon being notified of the

injury, Employer provided a panel of physicians, and Employee chose Comprehensive

Health Services (“CHS”), Nissan’s on-site medical clinic. He was evaluated at CHS on

December 9, 2014, and was diagnosed with bilateral trapezius myalgias and a right

shoulder strain. The attending nurse practitioner determined that these injuries were

primarily related to the employment, placed Employee on work restrictions, and ordered

physical therapy.

Employee participated in physical therapy through January 2015. Thereafter, the

attending physician at CHS noted that Employee was “practically” at maximum medical

improvement, released him to full-duty, and terminated his physical therapy. Employee

subsequently returned to CHS where he saw a different physician who observed that

Employee’s trapezius strain had resolved and that his complaints of pain were related to

osteoarthritis that was not work-related. Employee was again released to work without

restrictions. He returned to work but alleges he was unable to perform his job as a result

of complaints associated with his injuries. He voluntarily resigned his employment on

February 20, 2015.

Employee continued to experience pain related to his work injury, and Employer

provided a second panel of physicians. Employee chose Dr. Joseph Speake at Concentra,

who diagnosed cervical and trapezius strains, prescribed medication, and recommended

physical therapy. Dr. Speake eventually placed Employee at maximum medical

improvement with no work restrictions, released him from his care, and instructed him to

return to Concentra as needed. Later, after Employer declined to authorize additional

visits with Dr. Speake, Employee sought treatment from Vanderbilt University Medical

Center where the attending physician took him off work for two days and assigned work

restrictions for two weeks. At a return visit to Vanderbilt, he was diagnosed with neck

pain and discharged. He received bills for those two visits.

The trial court determined that, although Employee was entitled to additional

medical care with Dr. Speake, he failed to establish that the emergency room treatment at

Vanderbilt or the charges for that treatment were reasonable or necessary.2 As a result,

the trial court denied Employee’s request for payment of those unauthorized bills. The

1

No transcript of the expedited hearing or statement of the evidence has been filed. Thus, we have taken

the factual background from the pleadings, exhibits introduced at the expedited hearing, and the trial

court’s order entered after the hearing.

2

Employer has not appealed the trial court’s resolution of the medical treatment issue and, therefore, we

need not address it.

2

trial court also declined to award temporary disability benefits because Employee had not

been totally disabled for a period of time sufficient to trigger the beginning of temporary

total disability benefits and because any period of temporary partial disability was the

result of his voluntary termination rather than his work injury. Employee appealed, and

the record was received by the Clerk of the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board on

September 1, 2015.

Standard of Review

The standard of review to be applied by this Board in reviewing a trial court’s

decision is statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, “[t]here shall be a

presumption that the findings and conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are

correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-

6-239(c)(7) (2014). The trial court’s decision must be upheld unless the rights of a party

“have been prejudiced because findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a

workers’ compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers’ compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion;

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record.”

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standards

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

A.

Employee has elected to proceed pro se throughout the proceedings in the trial

court and on appeal, which is his right. However, it is well-settled that self-represented

litigants must comply with the same standards to which parties with legal counsel must

adhere. Watson v. City of Jackson, 448 S.W.3d 919, 926 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2014). As one

court has observed,

[p]arties who decide to represent themselves are entitled to fair and equal

treatment by the courts. The courts should take into account that many pro

se litigants have no legal training and little familiarity with the judicial

system. However, the courts must also be mindful of the boundary between

3

fairness to a pro se litigant and unfairness to the pro se litigant’s adversary.

Thus, the courts must not excuse pro se litigants from complying with the

same substantive and procedural rules that represented parties are expected

to observe.

Akard v. Akard, No. E2013-00818-COA-R3-CV, 2014 Tenn. App. LEXIS 766, at *11

(Tenn. Ct. App. Nov. 25, 2014) (quoting Hessmer v. Hessmer, 138 S.W.3d 901, 903

(Tenn. Ct. App. 2003)). Accordingly, appellate courts will not “dig through the record in

an attempt to discover arguments or issues that [a pro se party] may have made had [that

party] been represented by counsel. To do so would place [the opposing party] in a

distinct and likely insurmountable and unfair disadvantage,” as the appellate court would

essentially be acting as counsel for the unrepresented party. Webb v. Sherrell, No.

E2013-02724-COA-R3-CV, 2015 Tenn. App. LEXIS 645, at *5 (Tenn. Ct. App. Aug. 12,

2015).

B.

With the foregoing principles in mind, we turn to the sufficiency of the record on

appeal. Tennessee law is clear that the appealing party is responsible for ensuring that an

adequate record is prepared on appeal. As explained by one court,

[t]he appellant has the duty of preparing a record that conveys a fair,

accurate and complete account of the proceedings in the trial court with

respect to the issues on appeal. We are provided with only the trial court’s

findings of facts and conclusions of law rendered from the bench and the

exhibits introduced at the trial of this cause, which include three doctor’s

depositions. We do not have a record of the lay testimony presented to the

trial court. In the absence of an adequate record on appeal, this Court must

presume the trial court’s rulings were supported by sufficient evidence.

Vulcan Materials Co. v. Watson, No. M2003-00975-WC-R3-CV, 2004 Tenn. LEXIS

451, at *6-7 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel May 19, 2004) (citation omitted). See also

Jernigan v. Hunter, No. M2013-01860-COA-R3-CV, 2014 Tenn. App. LEXIS 617, at *5

(Tenn. Ct. App. Sept. 30, 2014) (“It is the duty of the appellant to prepare a record which

conveys a fair, accurate, and complete account of what has transpired in the trial court

with respect to the issues that form the basis of the appeal.”).

Further, including a transcript or statement of the evidence as part of the record on

appeal promotes meaningful appellate review and, in turn, public confidence in the

integrity and fairness of the process. As one court has observed, “[f]ull appellate

consideration of a trial court’s determination . . . is part of the process designed to

achieve an accurate and just decision . . . .” In re Adoption of J.D.W., No. M2000-00151-

COA-R3-CV, 2000 Tenn. App. LEXIS 546, at *12 (Tenn. Ct. App. Aug. 16, 2000).

4

Indeed, “[w]ithout a transcript or a statement of the evidence, the appellate court cannot

know what evidence was presented to the trial court, and there is no means by which we

can evaluate the appellant’s assertion that the evidence did not support the trial court’s

decision.” Britt v. Chambers, No. W2006-00061-COA-R3-CV, 2007 Tenn. App. LEXIS

38, at *8 (Tenn. Ct. App. Jan. 25, 2007). Accordingly, “it is essential that the appellate

court be provided with a transcript of the trial proceedings or a statement of the evidence

. . . .” Id. at 7.

After conducting a hearing at which Employee testified, the trial court determined

that there was sufficient evidence to establish he would likely succeed on the merits of

his claim regarding his request for additional medical benefits. See Tenn. Code Ann. §

50-6-239(d)(1) (2014) (“[A] workers’ compensation judge may . . . enter an interlocutory

order upon determining that the injured employee would likely prevail at a hearing on the

merits.”). However, the trial court also determined that Employee had not presented

sufficient evidence to support his claim for temporary disability benefits or the payment

of unauthorized medical treatment at Vanderbilt.

We have been provided with no record of any testimony taken during the

expedited hearing which, according to the trial court’s order, was relied upon by the court

to resolve the issues. Further, no statement of the evidence has been submitted. Thus,

the totality of the evidence introduced in the trial court is unknown, and we decline to

speculate as to the nature and extent of the proof presented to the trial court. Instead,

consistent with established Tennessee law, we presume that the trial court’s decision was

supported by sufficient evidence. See Leek v. Powell, 884 S.W.2d 118, 121 (Tenn. Ct.

App. 1996) (“In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must

conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should

have been found favorably to the appellee.”).

C.

Employee asserts in his notice of appeal that more than 200 pages of

“documents/evidence” were “withheld” from the trial court during the expedited

hearing. He also asserts that Employer engaged in fraudulent activities designed to deny

him benefits to which he is entitled. In a document submitted with his notice of appeal,

Employee also claims that Employer provided false information to his medical providers

and to the Bureau. Further, he claims that his medical providers were negligent and

falsified and destroyed pertinent medical records. However, the trial judge made no

reference to any of these allegations, and there is no indication in the record that these

issues were raised at the expedited hearing. Issues raised for the first time on appeal are

waived. Long v. Hamilton-Ryker, No. 2015-07-0023, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 23, at *14 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. July 31, 2015). Thus, we refrain

from addressing these contentions as they have not been properly preserved for review on

appeal.

5

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate against

the trial court’s decision. Further, the trial court’s decision does not violate any of the

standards set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-217(a)(3). Accordingly,

the trial court’s decision is affirmed. The case is remanded for any further proceedings

that may be necessary.

6

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.