Opinion

Scott, Susan v. Integrity Staffing Solutions

  • 2015 TN WC App. 23
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 18, 2015
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.4%

discussing the employer's "right to control the provision of treatment"

How later courts described this case

  • discussing the employer's "right to control the provision of treatment"

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Employee: Susan Scott ) Docket No. 2015-01-0055

)

Employer: Integrity Staffing Solutions ) State File No. 14509-2015

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 18th day of August, 2015.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Susan Scott X X susanlscott01@gmail.com

Charlie Poss X charlie.poss@leitnerfirm.com

Thomas Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: Matthew.Salyer@tn.gov

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

WORKERS' COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

FILED

August 18, 2015

Employee: Susan Scott ) DocketNo. 2015-01-0055

TENNESSEE

) WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

Employer: Integrity Staffing Solutions ) State File No. 14509-2015 Time: 3:00 PM

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers' )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas Wyatt, Judge )

Affirmed in Part, Reversed in Part, and Remanded- August 18, 2015

OPINION AFFIRMING IN PART, REVERSING IN PART, AND

REMANDING INTERLOCUTORY ORDER OF COURT OF WORKERS'

COMPENSATION CLAIMS

The employee alleges that she sustained an injury to her left shoulder when she pushed a

cart into a pallet at work. The physician selected from the employer's panel opined that

the employee did not sustain any injury arising from the work accident and that her

symptoms related to preexisting chronic back problems. The trial court disregarded the

physician's causation opinion and, relying on the employee's lay testimony, ordered the

employer to provide medical benefits with a physician other than the original panel

physician. The trial court also denied the employee's claim for temporary disability

benefits. Both parties appealed. Having carefully reviewed the record, we reverse the

trial court's order for medical benefits and affirm the trial court's denial of temporary

disability benefits.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which Judge

Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley, joined.

Charles W. Poss, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant/appellee, Integrity

Staffing Solutions

Susan Scott, Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, appellee/appellant, pro se

Factual and Procedural Background

The employee, Susan Scott ("Employee"), is a fifty year-old resident of Hamilton

County, Tennessee. She was employed by Integrity Staffing Solutions ("Employer") and

was assigned to work at an Amazon.com warehouse in Chattanooga. Employee alleges

that on or about February 10, 2015, she was pushing a cart at a "rapid pace" when she

struck a pallet containing heavy items. She further alleges that this incident ''jammed"

her left arm and caused pain and symptoms in her left shoulder. She reported the incident

to her supervisor and was seen at Amazon' s on-site clinic, "AmCare," where she received

medication and a treatment called "Biofreeze."

Over time, her symptoms did not abate. She returned to AmCare and learned that

an accident report had not been completed. During an interview with a company

representative approximately two weeks after the incident, she explained that she could

not recall the exact date of the occurrence. Employer provided Employee a panel of

physicians. Employee initially chose one physician but, on her way home, decided she

would rather treat with one of the other panel physicians, Dr. Neil Spitalny, because his

office was closer to her home. Employer allowed her to change her panel selection to Dr.

Spitalny.

Dr. Spitalny's March 3, 2015 report indicates that he took a history of the work

accident, discussed with Employee her past medical history, and conducted a physical

examination, including a neurological examination and range-of-motion testing. Dr.

Spitalny then opined, "I feel she sustained no injury at all from the alleged February 10,

2015 injury and that all of her problems are related to chronic back or deconditioning or

lack of mobility of the cervical spine, her osteoporosis, and mild preexisting shoulder

degenerative changes." He also recommended that she be weaned from narcotic

analgesics.

Dr. Spitalny also completed a "Request for Medical Information" form given to

him by Employer. Under a section entitled, "State the approximate duration of the period

1

of incapacity," Dr. Spitalny wrote "pt. released to reg. duty from 2/13/ 15 incident."

Under the section entitled "Health Care Provider Recommendations," one option is

labeled "Return to Work With No Limitations." Although the box is not marked, Dr.

Spitalny hand-wrote "[secondary to] 2/13/15 injury." He marked the box labeled "Return

to Work With Limitations" and hand-wrote "[secondary to] chronic back pain, narcotic

2

usage." No other medical records were introduced at the Expedited Hearing.

1

It is unclear who completed the first section of the Request for Medical Information form, which lists the date of

the work accident as "2/ 13/ 15."

2

Although the transcript of the proceedings refers to the medical records of Dr. Jimmy Davis on several occasions,

these records were not admitted into evidence.

2

On May 30, 2015, Employee filed a Petition for Benefit Determination, alleging

that Dr. Spitalny "gave me no treatment for my left shoulder other than exercises." She

sought an order for temporary disability benefits and medical benefits. Following

unsuccessful mediation efforts, a Dispute Certification Notice ("DCN") was issued

listing, among other issues, "whether Employee is entitled to additional medical care as

3

recommended by a physician. " Following the expedited hearing, the trial court issued

an order compelling Employer to provide additional medical benefits with a physician

other than Dr. Spitalny. The court also denied Employee's claim for temporary disability

benefits. Both parties appealed and the record was received by the Clerk of the Workers'

Compensation Appeals Board on August 10, 2015.

Standard of Review

The standard of review to be applied by the Appeals Board in reviewing a trial

court's decision is statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, "[t]here shall

be a presumption that the findings and conclusions of the workers' compensation judge

are correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. §

50-6-239(c)(7) (2014). The limited circumstances warranting reversal or modification of

a trial court's decision are specified in the statute:

The workers' compensation appeals board may reverse or modify

and remand the decision of the workers' compensation judge if the rights of

any party have been prejudiced because findings, inferences, conclusions,

or decisions of a workers' compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers' compensation

judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion,

or clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion; or

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and

material in the light of the entire record.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standard

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

3

We note that the mediator did not mark as an issue on the DCN "[w]hether Employee is entitled to an evaluation

by another physician."

3

Analysis

It is well-settled that the employee in a workers' compensation claim has the

burden of proof on all essential elements of a claim. Tindall v. Waring Park Ass 'n, 725

S.W.2d 935, 937 (Tenn. 1987). At an expedited hearing, however, an employee need not

prove every element of his or her claim by a preponderance of the evidence in order to

obtain relief. McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN

Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6 at *4, 5 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27,

20 15). Instead, an employee has the burden to come forward with sufficient evidence

from which the trial court can determine that the employee is likely to prevail at a hearing

on the merits. !d.

Presumption of Correctness as to Medical Causation Opinion

Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3)(A)(i) (2014), an

injured worker is given the opportunity to select "the treating physician" from the

employer's designated panel of "physicians, surgeons, chiropractors or specialty practice

groups." Moreover, Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(13)(E) expressly states

that "the opinion of the treating physician, selected by the employee from the employer's

designated panel of physicians pursuant to§ 50-6-204(a)(3), shall be presumed correct on

the issue of causation but this presumption shall be rebuttable by a preponderance of the

evidence." Neither of these provisions preconditions the "treating physician"

designation, or the application of the presumption of correctness, on a court's perception

of whether the treatment provided at any given medical appointment was appropriate or

adequate.

Tennessee courts have long held that the employer in a workers' compensation

case generally has the right to control medical treatment, assuming that the employer has

complied with the requirements of Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204. See,

e.g., Banks v. UPS, Inc., 170 S.W.3d 556, 562 (Tenn. 2005) (discussing the employer's

"right to control the provision of treatment"); Todd v. Blvd. Terrace Rehab. & Nursing

Ctr., No. M2003-01357-WC-R3-CV, 2004 Tenn. LEXIS 358, at *6 (Tenn. Workers'

Comp. Panel Apr. 30, 2004). Once an employer offers the injured worker a panel of

physicians in accordance with the statute, then the selected physician is designated the

"treating physician," and that physician's opinion on causation is entitled to a rebuttable

presumption of correctness. The assessment by a court of the appropriateness of medical

treatment offered at a medical appointment with an authorized treating physician adds a

purely subjective element to the analysis that finds no support in the language of the

statute. Judges are not well-suited to second-guess a medical expert's treatment,

recommendations, and/or diagnoses absent some conflicting medical evidence or some

other countervailing evidence properly admitted into the record. This record contains no

such evidence. Therefore, it was error for the trial court to completely disregard the

opinions of Dr. Spitalny based on the court's analysis of the quality of Dr. Spitalny's

4

physical examination or the court's conclusion that his report lacked "empirical evidence

to corroborate" his opinions.

In the present case, it is undisputed that Dr. Spitalny was selected from a panel of

physicians offered by Employer. Employee did not object to the panel or allege that it

was legally insufficient. The DCN does not indicate that Employee raised as an issue

"whether the panel of physicians provided by Employer was in compliance with the law."

Thus, the evidence supports a conclusion that Employer complied with its obligations

under Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3) (2014) and that Dr. Spitalny

was properly designated as the authorized treating physician.

Moreover, we find that Dr. Spitalny did not "decline to accept the employee as a

patient for the purpose of providing treatment to the employee" as determined by the trial

court pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3)(G) (2014). The

undisputed medical evidence shows that Dr. Spitalny met with Employee, took a medical

history, conducted a physical examination, and offered medical opinions on her

condition. He further stated that he would offer a particular course of treatment,

including "to wean her from narcotic analgesics, give her [a] cardiovascular rehabilitation

type program, trapezial and left upper extremity strengthening, and see her as needed."

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3)(G) contemplates a scenario in which

the physician selected from the employer's panel refuses to "accept the employee as a

patient." Dr. Spitalny did not refuse to accept Employee as a patient, but opined, after

conducting a physical examination, that she did not suffer a work-related injury. He then

offered her a course of treatment for what he believed to be her non-work-related medical

conditions. Section 204(a)(3)(G) is simply inapplicable under the particular facts of this

case. Therefore, while the trial court's Expedited Hearing Order does not expressly

address the presumption of correctness, we find that the causation opinion offered by Dr.

Spitalny, as the authorized treating physician, is entitled to a rebuttable presumption of

correctness.

Role ofLay Testimony in Establishing Medical Causation

With respect to the element of medical causation, it was traditionally the

employee's burden to offer expert medical proof of causation "[e]xcept in the most

obvious, simple and routine cases." Cloyd v. Hartco Flooring Co., 274 S.W.3d 638, 643

(Tenn. 2008) (quoting Orman v. Williams Sonoma, Inc., 803 S.W.2d 672, 676 (Tenn.

1991)). Prior to the 2013 reforms to the Workers' Compensation Law, Tennessee courts

routinely held that an injured employee could satisfy the burden of proof with respect to

the element of medical causation by offering expert medical testimony that a work

accident "could be" the cause of the employee's medical condition, when there was

corroborating lay testimony from which it could reasonably be inferred that the incident

was in fact the cause of the injury. See, e.g., Hill v. Eagle Bend Mfg., 942 S.W.2d 483

(Tenn. 1997). The analysis in such cases was predicated on expert medical testimony

5

combined with corroborative lay testimony. Thus, even under pre-reform law, lay

testimony alone was insufficient in most cases to establish adequate evidence of medical

causation.

The 2013 Workers' Compensation Reform Act substantially altered this standard.

In Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(13), the general assembly amended the

definition of "injury" to include the following: "(C) An injury causes death, disablement

or the need for medical treatment only if it has been shown to a reasonable degree of

medical certainty that it contributed more than fifty percent (50%) in causing the death,

disablement or need for medical treatment, considering all causes." Tenn. Code Ann. §

50-6-102(13)(C) (2014) (emphasis added). Moreover, in subsection (D), the statute now

provides that the phrase "'[s]hown to a reasonable degree of medical certainty' means

that, in the opinion of the physician, it is more likely than not considering all causes, as

opposed to speculation or possibility." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-1 02(13)(D) (2014)

(emphasis added). Therefore, we find that Employee's lay testimony in this case, without

corroborative expert testimony, did not constitute adequate evidence of medical

causation. We further find that Employee's lay testimony did not overcome the

presumption of correctness to which Dr. Spitalny's causation opinion is entitled.

Rule 703 of the Tennessee Rules ofEvidence

The trial court concluded that the opinions offered by Dr. Spitalny, which were the

only expert medical opinions offered at the expedited hearing, "lack trustworthiness and

do not assist the Court." In reaching this conclusion, the trial court relied on Rule 703 of

the Tennessee Rules of Evidence. However, Rule 703 governs the admissibility of expert

testimony, not the weight such testimony is to be afforded in any given case. See Craven

v. Carr. Corp. of Am., No. W2005-01537-SC-WCM-CV, 2006 Tenn. LEXIS 972, at *22

(Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel Oct. 26, 2006) ("Rule 703 of the Tennessee Rules of

Evidence govern[s] the admissibility of expert and scientific evidence.") (emphasis

added).

In the present case, the parties stipulated to the admissibility of Dr. Spitalny's

March 3, 2015 report and the Request for Medical Information form he signed. In fact, it

was Employee who indicated to the court that she intended to introduce Dr. Spitalny's

report as evidence and counsel for Employer did not object. Thus, the issue of the

admissibility of Dr. Spitalny's medical report was not before the trial court, making the

court's reliance on Rule 703 inapposite.

In sum, the only medical documents admitted into evidence during the expedited

hearing were the March 3, 2015 report of Dr. Spitalny and the Request for Medical

Information form signed by Dr. Spitalny. It was his stated opinion that the February 10,

2015 incident at work did not cause any injury. This opinion is entitled to a presumption

of correctness. Given that Employee offered no expert medical evidence to rebut Dr.

6

Spitalny's opinion, we conclude that the trial court erred in determining that Employee is

likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits on the issue of medical causation. We further

find, pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-217(a)(3)(A) (2015), that the

trial court erred in accepting Employee's lay testimony to rebut Dr. Spitalny's causation

opinion and in ordering Employer to provide additional medical benefits with a different

physician.

Eligibility for Temporary Total Disability Benefits

Given our conclusion that Employee did not come forward with sufficient

evidence from which the trial court could determine that she is likely to prevail at a

hearing on the merits with respect to the issue of medical causation, we agree with the

trial court's denial of Employee's request for temporary disability benefits.

Conclusion

Based on the foregoing, we reverse the decision of the trial court ordering

Employer to provide medical benefits with a different physician and affirm the trial

court's conclusion that Employee is not eligible for temporary disability benefits at this

time. The case is remanded for any further proceedings as may be necessary .

. Conner, Judge

' Compensation Appeals Board

7

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.