Opinion

Hale, Sherry v. Prime Package & Label, LLC

  • 2015 TN WC App. 19
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Jul 16, 2015
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.4%

"In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee."

How later courts described this case

  • "In the absence of a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the appellee."

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Employee: Sherry Hale ) Docket No. 2015-06-0150

)

Employer: Prime Package & Label, LLC ) State File No. 22815-2015

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 16th day of July, 2015.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Sherry Hale X X shale1865@gmail.com

804 Virginia Ave.

Nashville, TN 37216

Robyn Owens X robyn.owens@libertymutual.com

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: Matthew.Salyer@tn.gov

FILED

July 16, 2015

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION Time: 9:30AM

WORKERS' COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Employee: Sherry Hale ) Docket No. 2015-06-0150

)

Employer: Prime Package & Label, LLC ) State File No. 22815-2015

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers' )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

Mfirmed and Remanded -Filed July 16, 2015

OPINION AFFIRMING AND REMANDING INTERLOCUTORY ORDER OF

COURT OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION CLAIMS

This interlocutory appeal involves an employee with a preexisting shoulder condition

who alleges to have reinjured her shoulder at work. The employee sought medical care

through private insurance and continued treating with her selected physician after giving

notice of her alleged work injury. Following surgical repair ofthe employee's shoulder,

the employer denied the claim contending the employee did not meet her burden of

proving that the employment caused her injury. The trial court determined that the

employee established sufficient proof of an injury, but did not produce sufficient proof of

causation to establish the injury to be compensable. Stating that the employee has a right

to a causation opinion, the trial court ordered the employer to authorize an evaluation so

the treating physician could provide an opinion on causation. The trial court denied the

employee's request for additional medical and temporary disability benefits. The

employee has appealed. Having carefully reviewed the record, we affirm the denial of

additional medical and temporary benefits and remand the case for further proceedings as

may be necessary.

1

Judge David F. Hensley delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which Judge

Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge Timothy W. Conner, joined.

Sherry Hale, Nashville, Tennessee, employee-appellant, prose

Robyn L. Owens, Brentwood, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Prime Package &

Label, LLC

Factual and Procedural Background

Sherry Hale ("Employee") is a fifty-year-old resident of Davidson County,

Tennessee. She was hired by Prime Package & Label, LLC ("Employer") in October

2013, as a rewinder. Her work duties required that she lift and remove rolls of product,

which she stated required her to lean her shoulder against equipment when she pulls rolls

of product from the equipment. Several months before she began working with

Employer, Employee experienced symptoms in her right shoulder and sought and

received medical care in January 2013 from Dr. Malcolm Baxter. He identified two

conditions in his assessment including "Rotator Cuff Tear, Non-Trauma," and

"Impingement Syndrome." His "Plan" included a steroid injection in Employee's

shoulder and an MRI study. A January 28, 2013 MRI study indicated "rotator cuff

tendinosis without tendon tear," and "[p]robable small tear of the posterosuperior

labrum." Upon Employee's return to Dr. Baxter on February 1, 2013, the doctor noted

that "rhler MRI demonstrates tendinitis with no rotator cuff tear." Dr. Baxter

administered a second steroid injection and additionally prescribed an oral steroid and

physical therapy. Employee concedes that when she began working with Employer on

October 23, 2013, she suffered from tendinitis in her right shoulder. However, according

to the trial court's order, she testified "she was 'fully functioning' with her shoulder, and

could not have performed her job duties otherwise." 1

In April 2014 Employee experienced increased pain in her right shoulder that

prompted her to seek additional medical care. She testified she received a steroid

injection; however, no medical records addressing the care Employee received in April

2014, or an April 2014 steroid injection, were admitted into evidence at the June 2015

expedited hearing. Employee testified that in October 20 14 she began experiencing what

she described as a "totally different" pain in her right shoulder, prompting her to see her

primary care physician. In a March 19, 2015 Petition for Benefit Determination,

Employee alleges that in October 2014, "I noticed a big difference in pain from

tendonitis[.] I ask[ed] my primary physician to please direct me to [an] orthopedic to see

1

No transcript of the proceedings in the trial court or statement of the evidence was submitted by the pro se

appellant. We have gleaned the facts from the trial court's expedited hearing order and the exhibits introduced at the

June 15, 2015 expedited hearing.

2

what was going on." Employee's primary care physician referred her to Dr. Charles

Kaelin, an orthopedic surgeon. Dr. Kaelin's initial report, dated November 6, 2014,

includes the following history:

The patient presents with upper extremity pain. . . . The pain

occurred years [sic]. The context of the pain: occurred with

movement and in association with work. . . . Prior treatment

consists of immobilization, PT, injections and medication ....

49 year old healthy active right hand dominant Sherry Hale is

here with a several year history of progressive pain in the

right shoulder. In the past she has had three steroid

injections. She had one that provided her with significant

relief. The other two did not help. She has had exercises and

medication. She has a physically demanding job and she is

having a hard time performing there because of the shoulder

pam.

Dr. Kaelin recommended an MRI study, which was completed on November 7,

2014. The MRI study revealed "tendinosis" and "non-distracted tear of the posterior

labrum." Employee testified that on November 10, 2014, she informed her immediate

supervisor, Barry Nichols, and two other individuals at Employer that her MRI indicated

she had a labral tear in her right shoulder. Employer does not contest Employee's

statement that she provided notice of the labral tear to her immediate supervisor.

Employer did not provide Employee a panel of physicians or otherwise arrange for

Employee to receive medical care for her alleged shoulder injury. Employee testified she

filed a claim under her private health insurance for medical care for her shoulder.

Employee testified that she continued working and that she had difficulty "lifting

rolls" due to her pain. The trial court's order includes the following testimony by

Employee:

[T]he rolls with the UV coating off of it - I would have to lean my shoulder

up against the machine just to be able to pull it off. I mean, it was terrible ..

. . Even slicing the rolls, I would have to hold it right there [pointing to her

right shoulder].

Employee testified that during the fourth week after she reported the injury, her employer

gave her "the heaviest rolls to do .... They call them 'five ups.' It doesn't-- You can't

get no more wide [sic] across them [sic] steel spools. . . . I did bad quality work that

week because I was in so much pain lifting them [sic] rolls." Employee did not return to

work after December 3, 2014.

3

Dr. Kaelin surgically repaired Employee's right shoulder on December 5, 2014.

Both the preoperative and postoperative diagnoses included a rotator cuff tear and labral

tear. Employee continued treating with Dr. Kaelin following her surgery.

Employer denied the claim on March 9, 2015, stating the basis in the Notice of

Denial of Claim for Compensation as "[m]edical notes do not describe a work related

injury." Documents admitted into evidence at the expedited hearing included a "Medical

Certificate" signed by Dr. Kaelin on March 26, 2015. The certificate indicates the

document is a form provided by the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce

Development, Unemployment Insurance Division, for the purpose of filing for

unemployment insurance benefits. The form includes the question, "[w]as the injury or

condition caused by the individual's last period of employment?" Dr. Kaelin circled "Y"

indicating an affirmative response to the question.

Employee filed a request for an expedited hearing on April29, 2015. The hearing

was held on June 15, 2015. Employee testified that her injury happened "somehow," but

she stated that she does not know how it occurred. She testified, without objection, that

Dr. Kaelin indicated she currently needs additional treatment. Employee testified that

when she saw Dr. Baxter on February 1, 2013, Dr. Baxter did not discuss a "probable

labral tear" with her and only told her about tendinitis in her shoulder.

On cross-examination, Employee testified she hurt her right shoulder before she

began working with Employer when she fell while sleepwalking in late 2012. She

conceded that when she first saw Dr. Kaelin she told him her shoulder pain lasted for

"years," but she testified that was incorrect. She explained, "[w]hen you have a pain, it's

hard to say how long you've had a pain," and "I'm not one to remember dates."

Employee agreed there were no witnesses to her alleged work injury.

Employee additionally conceded on cross-examination that she does not know

when she became injured. She testified the pain from her tendinitis was in a different

area of her shoulder than the pain from her alleged work injury. She testified, "[a]ll I

know is the pain is completely different from tendinitis. Completely." She testified the

pain changed in October 2014, while she was "either at home or at work." In an effort to

clarify this testimony, Employee further testified, "I was working third shift. I was either

trying to go to sleep or work," and, "I was either sleeping or pulling on paper. Trying to

sleep. It ... was very hard to do either one."

On June 25, 2015, the trial court issued its order requiring Employer to authorize

Dr. Kaelin to perform an evaluation of Employee's right shoulder "so that he may opine

whether it is his belief, to a reasonable degree of medical certainty, that [Employee's]

work ... contributed more than fifty percent (50%) in causing her need for medical

treatment, considering all causes." The order further provided that "[i]n the event

medical causation is established, [Employer] shall provide continuing reasonable and

4

necessary care under Dr. Kaelin's direction until such time as [Employee] either returns

to work or attains Maximum Medical Improvement." The June 25, 2015 order denied

Employee's "requests for additional medical and temporary disability benefits ... at this

time."

Employee timely filed a notice of appeal on June 30, 2015, identifying the issues

on appeal to include the denial of past and future medical expenses and temporary

disability benefits. Employer has not appealed. The record was provided to the Appeals

Board on July 13, 2015.

Standard of Review

The standard of review to be applied by the Appeals Board in reviewing a trial

court's decision is statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, "[t]here shall

be a presumption that the fmdings and conclusions of the workers' compensation judge

are correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. §

50-6-239(c)(7) (2014). The limited circumstances warranting reversal or modification of

a trial court's decision are specified in the statute:

The workers' compensation appeals board may reverse or modify

and remand the decision of the workers' compensation judge if the rights of

any party have been prejudiced because fmdings, inferences, conclusions,

or decisions of a workers' compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers' compensation

judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion; or

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and

material in the light of the entire record.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). In applying the standard set forth in

subparagraph (E) above, courts have construed "substantial and material" evidence to

mean "such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept to support a rational

conclusion and such as to furnish a reasonably sound basis for the action under

consideration." Clay Cnty. Manor, Inc. v. State, Dep't of Health & Env't, 849 S.W.2d

755, 759 (Tenn. 1993) (quoting Southern Ry. Co. v. State Bd. of Equalization, 682

S.W.2d 196, 199 (Tenn. 1984)). Like other courts applying the standard embodied in

section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court absent the

limited circumstances identified in the statute.

5

Analysis

The appellant bears the burden of showing that the evidence presented in the trial

court preponderates against the trial court's findings. Manufacturers Consolidation

Serv., Inc. v. Rodell, 42 S.W.3d 846, 865 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2000). Likewise, the appellant

has the burden to ensure that an adequate record is prepared on appeal. As the Supreme

Court's Special Workers' Compensation Appeals Panel explained in Vulcan Materials

Co. v. Watson, No. M2003-00975-WC-R3-CV, 2004 Tenn. LEXIS 451, at *6-7 (Tenn.

Workers' Comp. Panel May 19, 2004) (citing Manufacturers Consolidation Serv., Inc.,

42 S.W.3d at 865):

The appellant has the duty of preparing a record that conveys a fair,

accurate and complete account of the proceedings in the trial court with

respect to the issues on appeal. Tenn. R. App. P. 24(b ). We are provided

with only the trial court's findings of facts and conclusions of law rendered

from the bench and the exhibits introduced at the trial of this cause, which

include three doctor's depositions. We do not have a record of the lay

testimony presented to the trial court. In the absence of an adequate record

on appeal, this Court must presume the trial court's rulings were supported

by sufficient evidence.

Without a transcript or a statement of the evidence, the Appeals Board cannot

know what evidence was presented to the trial court beyond the exhibits that were

admitted into evidence and the testimony as stated in the trial court's order. See Britt v.

Chambers, No. W2006-00061-COA-R3-CV, 2007 Tenn. App. LEXIS 38, at *8 (Tenn.

Ct. App. Jan. 25, 2007). When the review of a trial court's decision is accompanied by a

presumption that the findings are correct, "it is essential that the appellate court be

provided with a transcript of the trial proceedings or a statement of the evidence . . . ."

!d. at *7. See also Estate of Cockrill, No. M2010-00663-COA-R3-CV, 2010 Tenn. App.

LEXIS 754, at * 11-12 (Tenn. Ct. App. Dec. 2, 2010) ("In cases where no transcript or

statement of the evidence is filed, the appellate court is required to presume that the

record, had it been properly preserved, would have supported the action of the trial

court."); Leek v. Powell, 884 S.W.2d 118, 121 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1994) ("In the absence of

a transcript or a statement of the evidence, we must conclusively presume that every fact

admissible under the pleadings was found or should have been found favorably to the

appellee."). As noted by the Tennessee Court of Appeals, "[a]n incomplete appellate

record is fatal to an appeal on the facts," Piper v. Piper, No. M2005-02541-COA-R3-CV,

2007 Tenn. App. LEXIS 70, at * 11 (Tenn. Ct. App. Feb. 1, 2007), and a reviewing court

"must conclusively presume that the evidence presented supported the facts as found by

the trial court." Whitesell v. Moore, No. M2011-02745-COA-R3-CV, 2012 Tenn. App.

LEXIS 894, at *10 (Tenn. Ct. App. Dec. 21, 2012).

6

Mindful of the foregoing principles, we note that Employee asserts in the notice of

appeal that "[a]n injury occurred while employed with company." Based on this

assertion, Employee contends she is due past and future medical expenses and temporary

disability benefits.

The trial court found that Employee suffered from tendinitis in her right shoulder

in 20 13 when her employment began, but that she reported "a different type of pain in her

right shoulder in October 2014," and that the November 7, 2014 MRI "revealed

'tendinosis' and 'non-distracted tear of the posterior labrum."' The trial court notes that

Employee credibly testified that when she started working for Employer she was "fully

functioning" with her right shoulder, but began to experience a "totally different" degree

of pain in October 2014, "and that the pain originated from a different location in her

right shoulder." Furthermore, the trial court observed that "Dr. Kaelin unambiguously

concluded that [Employee's] injury or condition was caused by her last period of

employment." Based on Employee's testimony and the medical records, the trial court

determined that Employee "has proven that she sustained an injury," and that she

satisfied her burden of producing "sufficient evidence [of an injury] from which the trial

judge could conclude that the employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits."

Thus, Employer was directed to authorize an evaluation so that Dr. Kaelin could provide

an opinion on causation. Employer has not challenged this determination, and we need

not address it.

Although the trial court denied Employee's requests for additional medical and

temporary disability benefits, which Employee challenges, we have been provided with

no record of any testimony taken during the expedited hearing beyond what is included in

the June 25, 2015 expedited hearing order. Nor have we been provided with a statement

of the evidence. Under these circumstances, we must presume that the trial court's

rulings were supported by sufficient evidence.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate

against the trial court's denial of additional medical and temporary disability benefits.

Additionally, we find that the trial court's decision does not violate any of the standards

identified in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Accordingly, the

trial court's decision is affirmed and the case is remanded for any further proceedings that

may be necessary.

David F. Hensley, Judg

Workers' Compensation ppeals Board

7

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.