Opinion

Howard, Yolanda v. Unum

  • 2015 TN WC App. 8
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Apr 8, 2015
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.4%

The opinion

TENNESSEE DIVISION OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Employee: Yolanda Howard ) Docket No. 2015-01-0005

)

Employer: Unum ) State File No. 84357-2014

In accordance with Rule 0800-02-22-.02(6), please find attached the Workers’

Compensation Appeals Board’s Opinion Affirming and Remanding Interlocutory Order

of Court of Workers' Compensation Claims in the referenced case.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Opinion Affirming and Remanding

Interlocutory Order of Court of Workers' Compensation Claims was sent to the following

recipients by the following methods of service on this the 8th day of April, 2015.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Yolanda Howard X yhoward127@yahoo.com

Gerry Siciliano X gms@lutheranderson.com

Thomas Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Jeanette Baird

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-0064

Electronic Mail: Jeanette.Baird@tn.gov

FILED

April 8, 2015

TENNESSEE

\YORI~RS'C'Ol\IPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

Time : 1: 13 Pl\I

TENNESSEE DIVISION OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

WORKERS' COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Employee: Yolanda Howard ) Docket No. 2015-01-0005

)

Employer: Unum ) State File No. 84357-2014

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers' )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas Wyatt, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded - Filed April 8, 2015

OPINION AFFIRMING AND REMANDING INTERLOCUTORY

ORDER OF COURT OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION CLAIMS

This interlocutory appeal involves an employee who alleges that she developed bilateral

carpal tunnel syndrome due to performing repetitive activities while working for the

employer. The employer denied the claim on several grounds, including lack of evidence

that the employee's condition arose primarily out of her employment. Following an

expedited hearing, the trial court denied employee's claim for temporary disability

benefits, concluding that the employee had not come forward with sufficient evidence

that employee's condition arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of her

employment. The employee timely filed a notice of appeal. Having carefully reviewed

the record, which did not include a transcript of the expedited hearing or a statement of

the evidence, we affirm the decision of the Court of Workers' Compensation Claims.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which Judge

Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley, joined.

Yolanda Howard, Chattanooga, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

Gerry Siciliano, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Unum

Factual and Procedural Background

The employee, Yolanda Howard ("Employee"), is a 46 year old resident of

Hamilton County, Tennessee. She worked for Unum ("Employer") as a customer service

representative and claims specialist. 1 Her job required repetitive use of her arms, hands,

and fingers while using a computer and telephone. Beginning in 2012, Employee noticed

pain and numbness in her upper extremities. In an effort to alleviate her symptoms,

Employer replaced her keyboard. Employee also took anti-inflammatory medications

and wore wrist splints. In June 2014, Employee resigned her position. The trial court

concluded that her resignation was due to "multiple factors, including workplace stress

caused by alleged unfair management practices." On October 21, 2014, Employee gave

notice that she intended to pursue a workers' compensation claim for bilateral carpal

tunnel syndrome. On December 1, 2014, Dr. Marshall Jemison, a hand specialist

practicing in Chattanooga, diagnosed "probable bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome and

cubital tunnel syndrome." In his report, Dr. Jemison commented that "she has had

diabetes for several years and is on Metformin." Employer filed its Notice of Denial on

December 30, 2014. An EMG/nerve conduction study confirmed a diagnosis of carpal

tunnel syndrome and Dr. Jemison performed a left carpal tunnel release on January 27,

2015.

On January 14, 2015, Employee filed a Petition for Benefit Determination.

Following the issuance of a Dispute Certification Notice on February 9, 2015, Employee

filed a Request for Expedited Hearing. Following the hearing on March 6, 2015, the trial

court entered its Expedited Hearing Order denying Employee's request for benefits on

March 12, 2015. Employee filed her Notice of Appeal on March 18, 2015. The case was

received by the Clerk of the Appeals Board on April 2, 2015.

Standard of Review

The standard of review applicable in reviewing a trial court's decision is

statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, "[t]here shall be a presumption

that the findings and conclusions of the workers' compensation judge are correct, unless

the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7)

(2014 ). The trial court's decision must be upheld unless "the rights of the party seeking

review have been prejudiced because findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a

workers' compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers' compensation judge;

1

No transcript of the expedited hearing or statement of the evidence has been filed. We have gleaned the factual

background from the pleadings, the exhibits introduced at the expedited hearing, and the trial court's order entered

following the expedited hearing.

2

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly unwarranted exercise of discretion; or

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material in the

light of the entire record.

Tenn. Code Ann.§ 50-6-217(a)(2) (2014).

In applying the standard set forth in subparagraph (E) above, courts have

construed "substantial and material" evidence to mean "such relevant evidence as a

reasonable mind might accept to support a rational conclusion and such as to furnish a

reasonably sound basis for the action under consideration." Clay County Manor, Inc. v.

State of Tennessee, 849 S.W.2d 755, 759 (Tenn. 1993) (quoting Southern Railway Co. v.

State Bd. of Equalization, 682 S.W.2d 196, 199 (Tenn. 1984)). Like other courts

applying the standard embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(2), we will not disturb the

decision of the trial court absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

An appellant has the burden to ensure that an adequate record is prepared on

appeal. As the Supreme Court's Special Workers' Compensation Appeals Panel

explained in Vulcan Materials Co. v. Watson, No. M2003-00975-WC-R3-CV, 2004

Tenn. LEXIS 451 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel May 19, 2004):

The appellant has the duty of preparing a record that conveys a fair,

accurate and complete account of the proceedings in the trial court with

respect to the issues on appeal. Tenn. R. App. P. 24(b). We are provided

with only the trial court's findings of facts and conclusions of law rendered

from the bench and the exhibits introduced at the trial of this cause, which

include three doctor's depositions. We do not have a record of the lay

testimony presented to the trial court. In the absence of an adequate record

on appeal, this Court must presume the trial court's rulings were supported

by sufficient evidence.

Id. at *6-7 (citing Manufacturers Consol. Service v. Rodell, 42 S.W.3d 846, 865 (Tenn.

Ct. App. 2000)). We have noted in prior opinions that including a transcript or statement

of the evidence as part of the record on appeal promotes meaningful appellate review

and, in turn, public confidence in the integrity and fairness of the process. See, e.g.,

Payne v. D and D Electric, No. 2014-01-0023 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. Dec.

17, 2014). "Full appellate consideration of a trial court's determination ... is part of the

process designed to achieve an accurate and just decision .... " In re Adoption ofJ.D. W.,

No. M2000-00151-COA-R3-CV, 2000 Tenn. App. LEXIS 546, at *12 (Tenn. Ct. App.

Aug. 16, 2000). "Without a transcript or a statement of the evidence, the appellate court

3

cannot know what evidence was presented to the trial court, and there is no means by

which we can evaluate the appellant's assertion that the evidence did not support the trial

court's decision." Britt v. Chambers, No. W2006-00061-COA-R3-CV, 2007 Tenn. App.

LEXIS 38, at *8 (Tenn. Ct. App. Jan. 25, 2007). Because no transcript or statement of

the evidence was provided by the appellant in this case, we must presume that the trial

court's findings were supported by sufficient evidence.

Moreover, to be entitled to benefits at an expedited hearing, an employee must

come forward with sufficient evidence from which the trial court reasonably can

determine that the employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits. See Tenn.

Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(l) (2014). As discussed by the trial court, the Tennessee

Workers' Compensation Law, as amended on July 1, 2014, requires an employee to

establish that his or her condition arose "primarily out of and in the course and scope of

employment." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(13) (2014). In order to satisfy this standard,

the employee must show "by a preponderance of the evidence that the employment

contributed more than fifty percent (50%) in causing the injury, considering all causes."

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(13)(B) (2014). In the present case, the only evidence

regarding medical causation was offered by Employer, who provided an opinion from the

treating physician, Dr. Jemison, that Employee's condition was "not primarily related" to

her work activities (emphasis added). In the absence of any evidence from Employee

addressing medical causation, we find that the record supports the trial court's

determination on this issue.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the evidence does not preponderate against

the trial court's finding that Employee did not come forward with sufficient evidence to

show that her medical condition arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of

employment. Accordingly, the trial court's decision is affinned and the case is remanded

for any further proceedings that may be necessary.

Tim thy . Conner, Judge

s' Compensation Appeals Board

4

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.