Opinion

T.L. Macauley v. UCBR

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Jan 28, 2020
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Leavitt, President Judge ~ Dissenting Opinion by Wojcik, J.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 10.8%

holding that where the notice of hearing indicated that the specific issue to be considered was whether the claimant’s unemployment was the result of willful misconduct, the claimant was duly informed of the defense prior to the hearing and was not unfairly surprised

How later courts described this case

  • holding that where the notice of hearing indicated that the specific issue to be considered was whether the claimant’s unemployment was the result of willful misconduct, the claimant was duly informed of the defense prior to the hearing and was not unfairly surprised
  • “The referee then dismissed the claimant’s appeal because of her nonappearance. We believe this was error.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Terri L. Macauley, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 858 C.D. 2017

: Submitted: March 13, 2019

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE CHRISTINE FIZZANO CANNON, Judge

HONORABLE ELLEN CEISLER, Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION BY

PRESIDENT JUDGE LEAVITT1 FILED: January 28, 2020

Terri Macauley (Claimant), pro se, petitions this Court for review of an

adjudication of the Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board) that

affirmed the decision of the Referee to deny Claimant’s claim for unemployment

benefits on the ground that she was ineligible for benefits under Section 402(h) of the

Unemployment Compensation Law (Law).2 Claimant presents two issues for this

Court’s review: (1) whether the Board erred by affirming the Referee’s ruling that

Claimant was ineligible for benefits when Claimant appealed only the benefit

1

This matter was assigned to the authoring judge on September 19, 2019.

2

Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex. Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, 43 P.S. §802(h)

(relating to self-employment).

amount; and (2) whether Claimant had proper cause for not appearing at the Referee

hearing.3 After review, we vacate and remand.

Claimant filed an application for unemployment benefits, wherein she

reported that she was laid off from her employment with Goodwill Keystone Area

(Employer). Claimant sent the Indiana Unemployment Compensation (UC) Service

Center a copy of Schedule C to her 2016 federal tax return, which reported a net

profit of $1,781.00 from her sole proprietorship. The UC Service Center determined

that Claimant was entitled to unemployment compensation benefits under Section

402(h) of the Law, subject to a deduction of $71.54 per week for her sideline business

income.

Claimant appealed the notice of determination. In her appeal petition,

Claimant stated that in 2016 a referee had determined that her self-employment was a

sideline business and that she was eligible for unemployment benefits under Section

402(h).4 Claimant asserted that the referee who issued the 2016 decision calculated

her prorated deduction based on the net profit reported on line 31 of her 2015

Schedule C. Claimant further asserted that in the instant claim, the UC Service

Center erred in calculating her deduction by using her gross income from the sideline

3

Claimant included a third issue in her Statement of Questions Involved: whether the Board erred

by finding Claimant ineligible for unemployment compensation benefits based on her sideline

business. This issue is subsumed in the Court’s restatement of the issues.

4

The referee decision from 2016 was not included in the certified record in this case.

2

business reported on line 7 of Schedule C as opposed to the net profit reported on line

31.5

On March 21, 2017, the Referee conducted a hearing. Claimant did not

appear. The Referee specifically noted and accepted into the record the documents in

Claimant’s file.6 On March 22, 2017, the Referee issued a decision that stated:

The claimant failed to appear at the hearing to offer competent

evidence that she qualifies for the sideline business exception to

the [L]aw that disallows collection of unemployment

compensation benefits by someone who is self-employed;

consequently the claimant is not eligible for benefits under

Section 402(h) [of the Law].

Referee Decision at 2. The Referee reversed the UC Service Center’s eligibility

determination, and Claimant appealed to the Board.

The Board adopted the Referee’s findings and conclusions. It

determined that Claimant did not have proper cause for her nonappearance at the

5

It is apparent that the UC Service Center applied Section 65.121 of the Department of Labor and

Industry’s (Department) regulations, 34 Pa. Code §65.121, to calculate Claimant’s deduction by

using her gross income from her sideline business rather than her net earnings. This Court recently

declared Section 65.121 to be unreasonable and that, for purposes of calculating “net earnings” for a

sideline business, the Department must deduct all of a claimant’s business expenses from her gross

revenue. Lerch v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 180 A.3d 545, 552 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2018). This Court issued Lerch on March 12, 2018. Because Claimant argued that her deduction

should have been based on her net earnings, not her gross earnings, and the Board used an

unauthorized, unreasonable regulation in performing its calculation, this matter must be remanded

to the Board, on this basis alone, to recalculate Claimant’s deduction in accordance with Lerch. See

Smith v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 850 C.D. 2017, filed

March 21, 2018), slip op. at 6. (“[B]ecause the Department calculated [the c]laimant’s deductible

using an unauthorized, unreasonable regulation, this Court remands the matter to the [Board] to

recalculate [the c]laimant’s deductible in accordance with Lerch.”).

6

The documents included, inter alia, Claimant’s Internet Initial Claims form and her 2016 Schedule

C tax form.

3

Referee hearing and affirmed the Referee’s decision. Claimant petitioned for this

Court’s review.7

Claimant asserts that she appealed only the calculation of the deduction

for her sideline business income and, thus, the Referee erred by sua sponte raising an

issue that was not appealed, i.e., her eligibility for unemployment benefits. She

argues that the Board erred in affirming the Referee’s ruling that she is ineligible for

benefits. The Board responds that because the UC Service Center decided that

Claimant was eligible for benefits, the eligibility issue was before the Referee.

Further, because Claimant did not appear at the Referee hearing, the Board contends

she failed to meet her burden of proving that her business was a sideline business for

purposes of Section 402(h) of the Law.

We begin with the language of Section 402(h) of the Law, which

provides that an employee is ineligible for unemployment compensation benefits for

any week

[i]n which he is engaged in self-employment: Provided,

however, That an employe who is able and available for

full-time work shall be deemed not engaged in self-

employment by reason of continued participation without

substantial change during a period of unemployment in any

activity including farming operations undertaken while

customarily employed by an employer in full-time work

whether or not such work is in ‘employment’ as defined in

this act and continued subsequent to separation from such

work when such activity is not engaged in as a primary

source of livelihood. Net earnings received by the employe

with respect to such activity shall be deemed remuneration

7

“Our scope of review is limited to determining whether constitutional rights were violated,

whether an error of law was committed, or whether the findings of fact were unsupported by

substantial evidence. Section 704 of the Administrative Agency Law, 2 Pa.C.S. § 704.” Turgeon v.

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 64 A.3d 729, 731 n.3 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2013).

4

paid or payable with respect to such period as shall be

determined by rules and regulations of the department.

43 P.S. §802(h).

Here, Claimant applied for unemployment benefits and received the UC

Service Center’s determination that she was eligible for unemployment benefits under

Section 402(h) of the Law and that the deduction from her weekly benefit payment

would be $71.54. Because Claimant believed the deduction calculation was

incorrect, she appealed the determination to the Referee on that singular issue.

Claimant, who was pro se, was not informed that her appeal of the deduction amount

would place her very eligibility for benefits at issue.

Today, an en banc panel of this Court has addressed the nearly identical

scenario in Quigley v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, __ A.3d __

(Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1449 C.D. 2017, filed January 28, 2020). In Quigley, the UC

Service Center found the claimant eligible for unemployment benefits under Section

402(h) of the Law. The claimant appealed, arguing that the UC Service Center had

erred in calculating the deduction for her sideline business income. She did not

appear at the referee’s hearing. After reviewing the documents in the claimant’s file,

the referee affirmed the UC Service Center’s determination with a modification to the

amount of the deduction. The claimant appealed to the Board, again challenging only

the calculation of the deduction and not her eligibility to receive unemployment

benefits. The Board reversed the referee’s decision, holding that the claimant failed

to meet her burden of proving she engaged in a sideline business activity under

Section 402(h). On the claimant’s appeal to this Court, we considered whether the

Board has the authority to change, sua sponte, the scope of a claimant’s appeal to

address an issue not raised by the separating employer, the claimant or the

Department of Labor and Industry (Department). We held that the Board lacks such

authority.

5

In so holding, we observed that the claimant was not aggrieved by the

determination of the UC Service Center and the referee that she was eligible for

benefits. Rather than decide the controversy before it on appeal, i.e., the calculation

of the claimant’s benefit, the Board transformed the nature of the controversy to one

of benefit eligibility.8 We held that this process deprived the claimant of notice and

an opportunity to be heard on the eligibility issue; contravened the Law’s stated

objective to provide workers unemployed through no fault of their own with some

measure of economic security; and frustrated the principle that remedial legislation

must be liberally construed. Finally, we concluded that the Board had improperly

commingled the Department’s prosecutorial and adjudicatory functions.

We limited our holding to the circumstances presented in Quigley, i.e.,

“where the claimant, through no fault of her own, becomes unemployed; where the

claimant is found to be eligible for unemployment benefits and no party challenges

her eligibility; and where, on review of the claimant’s appeal of the computation of

her unemployment benefit amount, the Board sua sponte raises the issue of her

eligibility for benefits.” Quigley, __ A.3d at __, slip op. at 11-12. We noted that our

holding “applies equally to a case where the referee sua sponte revisits the UC

Service Center’s determination that the claimant is eligible for benefits and does not

allow the claimant to present evidence.” Id. at __, n.11, slip op. at 12, n.11. That is

the situation presented in the case sub judice.

8

The cases cited by the dissent are distinguishable on this point. In both Mazur v. Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review, 193 A.3d 1132 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2018), and Lenz v. Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review, 432 A.2d 1149 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1981), the issue in the proceeding

was the claimant’s eligibility for unemployment compensation benefits. By contrast, here,

Claimant’s eligibility was never in dispute. The UC Service Center held that she was eligible for

benefits because her self-employment was limited to a sideline activity. Her former employer did

not contest her eligibility, and neither did the Department. Rather than decide the controversy

presented, which pertained to benefit calculation, the Referee transformed the nature of the

controversy to one of benefit eligibility. Claimant had no notice that the Referee would do so.

6

Accordingly, for the reasons set forth more fully in Quigley, we hold that

the Referee violated Claimant’s fundamental due process rights of notice and the

opportunity to be heard, and improperly commingled the prosecutorial and

adjudicatory functions of the Department.

We briefly consider the Board’s argument that Claimant’s

nonappearance at the Referee hearing is dispositive of her appeal. This Court

rejected this argument in Quigley, noting that it was based upon an overly technical

reading of the Department’s procedural rules that is “not appropriate where a

remedial statute such as the Law is involved.” Id. at __, slip op. at 10. See also

Gadsden v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 479 A.2d 74, 76 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1984) (“The referee then dismissed the claimant’s appeal because of her

nonappearance. We believe this was error.”). We also rejected a similar argument in

Clairton Municipal Authority v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 639

A.2d 921 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1994). In that case, neither party appeared at the referee

hearing. The referee, and the Board, held that the employer’s nonappearance

constituted a failure to prove that the claimant was discharged for willful misconduct.

This Court reversed, holding that the Board erred by basing its decision on the

employer’s nonappearance. Once the referee decided to proceed in the absence of the

7

parties, “it was incumbent upon the referee and Board to render a decision based on

the ‘pertinent available records[.]’” Id. at 923 (quoting 34 Pa. Code §101.51).9

Here, the Referee committed the same legal error by holding that

Claimant’s nonappearance at the hearing was dispositive. The record contained

evidence to support the UC Service Center’s determination that Claimant was

engaged in a sideline activity. Significantly, the Referee stated: “The documents the

claimant submitted show that she owned her own business called Unique Solutions.

The claimant failed to appear at the hearing to offer competent evidence that she

qualifies for the sideline business exception to the [L]aw ….” Referee Decision at 2.

Under Gadsden and Clairton Municipal Authority, the Referee should have

considered all of the “pertinent available records,” which included not only

Claimant’s Schedule C tax form but also the Internet Initial Claims form and Sideline

Business supplement. The supplement contained evidence that Claimant’s self-

employment income had not changed and that her self-employment was not her

primary source of income. Certified Record, Item No. 2, at 4-5. The record evidence

would have informed the Referee’s consideration of whether Claimant was correct in

9

See also Davis v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 339 C.D.

2017, filed December 11, 2017) (Board’s determination based on, inter alia, claimant’s

questionnaire because neither party appeared at referee hearing); Cabrera-Kuilan v. Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 463 C.D. 2013, filed August 29, 2013) (Board’s

decision based on employer’s and claimant’s completed UC Service Center questionnaires and oral

interviews because neither party appeared at referee hearing); Butler v. Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1478 C.D. 2011, filed April 4, 2012) (Board’s

determination based on employer’s separation information and claimant’s oral interview because

neither party appeared at referee hearing). An unreported memorandum opinion of this Court may

be cited “for its persuasive value, but not as binding precedent.” Section 414(a) of the

Commonwealth Court’s Internal Operating Procedures, 210 Pa. Code §69.414(a).

8

her assertion that the Department used the wrong line item on Schedule C to her

federal tax return to calculate her deduction.10

For all of the above reasons, the Board’s order is vacated and the matter

is remanded to the Board to remand to a referee to determine whether Claimant’s

sideline activity deduction was properly calculated.11

_____________________________________

MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

10

The dissent states that “based on the referee’s legal conclusion, the Majority infers that he failed

to conduct a careful review of the competent documentary evidence.” __ A.3d at __, slip op. at 10

(Wojcik, J., dissenting). The Referee’s decision contained the boilerplate and self-serving

phraseology that he conducted a “careful review of the competent documentary evidence,” but the

decision itself does not bear this out. Referee Decision at 2. The only factual finding based on the

documents was that Claimant owned her own business called Unique Solutions. The Referee made

no reference to Claimant’s Schedule C tax form, Internet Initial Claims form or Sideline Business

supplement. This is particularly problematic with respect to Claimant’s Schedule C tax form

because Claimant’s appeal asserted that the UC Service Center took the gross income number from

that form and not the net income number, which was the only number relevant to her benefit

calculation. At a minimum, the Referee should have explained why the information in the

documents he omitted from his decision was deficient or entitled to little weight.

It bears noting that if a referee is unable to reach a decision based on the pertinent available

records, the proper disposition is to dismiss the appeal rather than rule on the merits based on a lack

of evidence. At most, therefore, the Referee could have dismissed Claimant’s appeal, as opposed to

reducing her benefits to zero.

11

Based on the disposition of Claimant’s first issue, we do not reach Claimant’s second issue

regarding whether she had good cause for not attending the Referee’s hearing. Because the Referee

and the Board both failed to base their decisions on the pertinent available records, and both

addressed the eligibility issue (which was not raised), whether Claimant had proper cause for not

appearing at the Referee hearing is inconsequential to our decision.

9

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Terri L. Macauley, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 858 C.D. 2017

:

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 28th day of January, 2020, the Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review’s (Board) May 15, 2017, order is vacated, and the

matter is remanded to the Board to remand to a referee to determine whether Terri L.

Macauley’s sideline activity deduction was properly calculated.

Jurisdiction relinquished.

_____________________________________

MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Terri L. Macauley, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 858 C.D. 2017

: Submitted: March 13, 2019

:

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE CHRISTINE FIZZANO CANNON, Judge

HONORABLE ELLEN CEISLER, Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

DISSENTING OPINION

BY JUDGE WOJCIK FILED: January 28, 2020

Respectfully, I dissent.

Terri L. Macauley (Claimant) petitions pro se for review of the May

15, 2017 order of the Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board)

affirming a referee’s determination and holding that Claimant was ineligible for

benefits under Section 402(h) of the Unemployment Compensation Law (Law).1

The essence of Claimant’s argument is that the determination of her eligibility was

1

Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex. Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, 43 P.S.

§802(h).

made by a referee in 2016 and should not have been revisited in 2017, when she

sought review only of the job center’s calculation of her benefits. After Claimant

appealed the job center’s determination, she failed to attend the referee’s hearing.

As a result, she did not present sufficient evidence to meet her burden of proving

eligibility under Section 402(h). Claimant did not ask the Board to reopen the

record, and she does not argue that the Board erred in denying her an opportunity to

present evidence. She cites no authority to support a remand. Nevertheless, the

Majority holds that Claimant was precluded from appealing the issue of her

eligibility, vacates the decision below, and remands the matter to the Board to

determine whether income from Claimant’s sideline activity was properly

calculated. In contrast to the Majority’s analysis, I would follow longstanding and

binding precedent to affirm the Board’s order, recognizing that even a minor

deviation from settled law in order to remedy a perceived injustice for one appellant

will surely result in a denial of justice for those prospective parties who, at a

minimum, seek to rely on such precedent.

When Claimant applied for unemployment compensation benefits in

January 2017, she noted that she was engaged in self-employment. The local service

center determined that Claimant was not ineligible for benefits under Section 402(h)

because her self-employment was a sideline business. The local service center then

relied on Claimant’s gross income, as reflected on Schedule C of her 2016 tax form,

to determine the prorated weekly amount to be deducted from Claimant’s benefits.

Claimant appealed, asserting that the local service center had calculated

her prorated weekly deductible incorrectly. Specifically, Claimant cited a March

2016 referee’s decision that calculated her weekly deductible based on her net

income, as reflected on her 2015 1040 Schedule C, line 31. Claimant asserted that

MHW - 2

the local service center erred in its 2017 determination by relying instead on her

gross income to calculate her weekly deductible.

Claimant received a notice of hearing, dated March 7, 2017, informing

her of the appeal hearing’s scheduled date and time. The notice clearly stated that

the specific issue to be considered at the appeal hearing was whether Claimant was

engaged in self-employment. Claimant bore the burden to show that her self-

employment falls under what is commonly known as the “sideline business

exception” pursuant to Section 402(h).2 O’Hara v. Unemployment Compensation

Board of Review, 648 A.2d 1311, 1313 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1994).

Claimant did not appear at the referee’s hearing.3 Citing his review of

the “competent documentary evidence,” the referee made two findings of fact: 1)

Claimant owns a business, Unique Selections; and 2) Claimant applied for

unemployment compensation benefits on January 15, 2017. Referee’s decision at 2.

The referee determined that the documents Claimant submitted establish that she

owns a business, but that Claimant failed to offer evidence that she qualifies for the

sideline business exception under Section 402(h). Therefore, the referee concluded

2

A claimant engaged in self-employment may not be disqualified from receiving

unemployment compensation benefits under Section 402(h) of the Law if the following conditions

are satisfied: (1) the self-employment began prior to the termination of the claimant’s full-time

employment; (2) the self-employment continued without substantial change after termination; (3)

the claimant remained available for full-time employment; and (4) the self-employment was not

the primary source of the claimant’s livelihood. FSI Trading Co. v. Unemployment Compensation

Board of Review, 627 A.2d 270, 272 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1993).

3

“If a party notified of the date, hour and place of a hearing fails to attend a hearing without

proper cause, the hearing may be held in his absence. In the absence of all parties, the decision

may be based upon the pertinent available records. The tribunal may take such other action as

may be deemed appropriate.” 34 Pa. Code §101.51.

MHW - 3

that Claimant was ineligible for unemployment compensation benefits and reversed

the service center’s determination.

Claimant appealed to the Board. In her appeal petition, she stated:

I was unable to attend my 3-21-17 hearing and I sincerely

apologize. However, my appeal was for a clarification of

[the] weekly amount I was receiving and as a result my

benefits were revoked. I was approved for benefits on 3-

16-2016 at a hearing so I am confused.

Record Item 10 (emphasis added). Unfortunately, Claimant did not provide any

reason for her non-appearance. Also unfortunately, Claimant did not request another

opportunity to offer evidence.4 Consequently, Claimant did not present any

testimony or other competent evidence regarding whether she satisfied the four-part

test that her self-employment business was non-disqualifying. See FSI Trading Co.

v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 627 A.2d 270, 272 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1993).

The Board affirmed the referee’s decision, adopting and incorporating

the referee’s findings and conclusions of law. Our scope of review requires that we

affirm the Board’s decision unless constitutional rights were violated, an error of law

was committed, or necessary findings of fact are not supported by substantial

evidence. Section 704 of the Administrative Agency Law, 2 Pa. C.S. §704; Simmons

v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 565 A.2d 829, 832 n.4 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1989). Given the absence of competent record evidence that the time

Claimant devoted to her self-employment had not significantly increased, that

Claimant’s self-employment income had not changed, and that her self-employment

4

The Board may grant a request for reconsideration and rehearing where there is good

cause. 34 Pa. Code §101.111.

MHW - 4

was not her primary source of income, the Board’s determination is supported by the

record. FSI Trading Co.

The Majority contends that the referee “[did] not allow [Claimant] to

present evidence.” Majority, slip op. at 6. As this statement confirms, the Majority

misinterprets the unfortunate result of Claimant’s inaction as reflecting a denial of

due process.5 In doing so, the Majority reasons that Claimant, who was pro se, “was

not informed” that her appeal of the deduction amount “would place her very

eligibility for benefits at issue.” Majority slip op. at 4-5 (emphasis added).

However, the record belies this statement, as the hearing notice expressly informed

Claimant that the specific issue to be considered in the appeal hearing was whether

Claimant was engaged in self-employment. Record Item 5.

5

The Pennsylvania Unemployment Compensation Handbook, informs claimants as

follows:

You may appeal a UC service center determination within 15 days

of the mailing date of the determination. Follow the appeal

instructions that accompany the determination. Your appeal will

result in a hearing before a referee, usually within 30 days after you

file your appeal. Approximately seven to ten days before the

hearing date, the referee’s office will mail you a hearing notice with

the date and time of your hearing and other instructions. The referee

will make a decision based on the testimony and [other] evidence

presented at the hearing. You should present all of your evidence at

the hearing because it is your only opportunity to do so. You should

receive a decision from the referee within two weeks of the hearing

date. . . .

The UC Board of Review will render a decision based upon the

evidence that was presented at the hearing before the Referee.

https://www.uc.pa.gov/unemployment-benefits/handbook/Pages/default.aspx (Last visited

December 16, 2019.)

MHW - 5

In Claimant’s petition for review, she asserts that a referee found her

eligible for benefits in 2016 and calculated her net income properly under 34 Pa.

Code §65.121. She contends that when she applied again in 2017, the referee

calculated the weekly deduction incorrectly and failed to rely on the net income

reflected on her 2016 Schedule C.6 Claimant asserts that she appealed in order “to

clarify a math miscalculation, not to determine my benefit eligibility.” Petition for

Review ¶¶1-4.

In her appellate brief, Claimant raises three issues: 1) whether the Board

erred in misunderstanding the nature of her appeal request; 2) whether the Board

erred in finding that she is ineligible for benefits based on her sideline business; and

3) whether Claimant was able to attend the hearing scheduled for March 21, 2017.7

Claimant’s brief, Statement of Questions Involved.

Claimant argues that the Board erred in misunderstanding the nature of

her appeal and that the issue decided by the referee was different from, and irrelevant

to, the issue stated on her appeal form. Addressing this issue, the Majority reasons

6

Citing Lerch v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 180 A.3d 545 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2018), the Majority concludes that this matter “must be remanded” because “it is

apparent” that the local service center relied on an unauthorized and unreasonable regulation in

calculating Claimant’s deduction. Majority slip op. at 2-3 n.5 (emphasis added). However, in

contrast to the facts before us, the claimant in Lerch specifically challenged the validity of the

regulation at 34 Pa. Code §65.121, which limited the deductions from gross income that could be

used to calculate net income. Here, the Majority sua sponte raises the holding in Lerch. It then

determines that a case regarding the computation of net income applies to Claimant’s different

contention, which is that her net income, rather than gross income, should have been used in the

calculation of her deductible.

7

For the first time, Claimant contends that her absence at the referee’s hearing was the

result of her daughter’s school delay, which required her to drive her daughter to school and caused

her to miss the hearing. Had Claimant presented these assertions in her appeal to the Board, the

Board might have construed her argument as a request for a rehearing or reopening of the record.

34 Pa. Code §101.111. However, Claimant failed to raise this issue in her appeal to the Board. As

a result, this issue is waived on appeal to this Court. Pa. R.A.P. 1551(a).

MHW - 6

that because Claimant was unaware that filing an appeal to the referee would risk

her eligibility determination, this Court may deviate from that well-settled law.

It is well-established that on appeal from a determination of the local

service center, the referee or Board is limited to consideration of “the issues

expressly ruled upon” by the local service center, unless the parties agree otherwise.

34 Pa. Code §101.87; Bilsing v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 382

A.2d 1279, 1280-81 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1978).

The regulation states:

When an appeal is taken from a decision of the

Department, the Department shall be deemed to have ruled

upon all matters and questions pertaining to the claim. In

hearing the appeal the tribunal shall consider the issues

expressly ruled upon in the decision from which the appeal

was filed. However, any issue in the case may, with the

approval of the parties, be heard, if the speedy

administration of justice, without prejudice to any party,

will be substantially served thereby.

34 Pa. Code §101.87. Additionally, when the notice of hearing advises a claimant

of the specific issue to be considered at the referee’s hearing, the claimant has been

apprised of the issue and is not unfairly surprised. See Simmons v. Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review, 565 A.2d 829, 831-32 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1989) (holding

that where the notice of hearing indicated that the specific issue to be considered was

whether the claimant’s unemployment was the result of willful misconduct, the

claimant was duly informed of the defense prior to the hearing and was not unfairly

surprised).

In Lenz v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 432 A.2d

1149 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1981), the local service center ruled that the claimant was not

ineligible for benefits under Section 402(b) of the Law because she had good cause

for voluntarily leaving her employment, but held that she was ineligible under

MHW - 7

Section 401(d)(1) because she was not available for work. The claimant appealed,

and a referee concluded that the claimant was ineligible under Section 402(b) of the

Law. The Board affirmed the referee’s decision.

On further appeal, this Court affirmed, stating:

We recognize that the claimant probably did not intend to

reopen the inquiry into her cause for leaving employment,

for that issue involving Section 402(b) had been resolved

in her favor by [the local job center], but this issue had

been expressly ruled upon by the [local service center] in

its determination notice, and, according to 34 Pa. Code

§101.87, it was therefore a proper area for inquiry at the

referee’s decision.

432 A.2d at 1150 (emphasis added).

In Mazur v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 193 A.3d

1132, 1135 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2018), this Court explained:

Section 101.87 of the [Board’s] Regulations specifies that,

“[i]n hearing the appeal [from the UC Service Center’s

determination,] the tribunal shall consider the issues

expressly ruled upon in the decision from which the appeal

was filed.” 34 Pa. Code §101.87. This Court has

specifically declared that although the UC Service Center

concludes in a claimant’s favor that she voluntarily left her

employment with cause of a necessitous and compelling

nature and the claimant did not intend to reopen that issue,

it remains a proper area of inquiry for the referee. Lenz v.

Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, [432 A.2d 1149 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1981)]. Moreover, Section 101.107(b) of the

[Board’s] Regulations further specifies, in relevant part:

“The [Board] shall consider the issues expressly ruled

upon in the decision from which the appeal was filed.” 34

Pa. Code §101.107(b). Based thereon, this Court has held

that when a referee expressly rules on an issue, the [Board]

has jurisdiction to rule on it. Jordan v. Unemployment

Comp. Bd. of Review, [547 A.2d 811, 813 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1988)]. Accordingly, the [r]eferee in the instant matter

MHW - 8

properly considered whether [the claimant] had a

necessitous and compelling reason for quitting, and the

[Board] properly reviewed the [r]eferee’s decision.

193 A.3d at 1135. See also Thiessen v. Unemployment Compensation Board of

Review, 178 A.3d 255, 259-60 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2018); Ductmate Industries, Inc. v.

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 949 A.2d 338, 343 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2008); Black Lick Trucking, Inc. v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review,

667 A.2d 454, 458 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1995); Jordan, 547 A.2d at 813; Wilder & Miller,

P.C. v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 525 A.2d 852, 855 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1987).

Similarly, here, although Claimant intended to appeal only the prorated

deductible amount, the local service center determined her ineligibility under

Section 402(h) and made findings to that effect. Therefore, the referee did not err in

analyzing her ineligibility under Section 402(h), and the Board properly affirmed the

referee’s decision. The Majority’s holding, insofar as it establishes an “enlarging

the scope of appeal” doctrine, squarely conflicts with our precedent, which, I submit,

remains binding unless and until it is expressly overruled.

Claimant’s remaining argument is that the Board erred in determining

that she was ineligible under Section 402(h).8 In support of this argument, Claimant

8

Section 402(h) provides that an employee shall be ineligible for compensation for any

week:

(h) In which he is engaged in self-employment: Provided, however,

That an employe who is able and available for full-time work shall

be deemed not engaged in self-employment by reason of continued

participation without substantial change during a period of

unemployment in any activity . . . undertaken while customarily

employed by an employer in full-time work . . . and continued

subsequent to separation from such work when such activity is not

engaged in as a primary source of livelihood. Net earnings received

MHW - 9

relies on the March 16, 2016 referee’s determination that her business was a non-

disqualifying sideline business. That decision is not a part of this record, nor is the

evidence upon which it is based. Moreover, a decision as to eligibility in one claim

period is not conclusive as to eligibility in a separate and distinct claim period. High

v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 479 A.2d 967, 968-69 (Pa.

1984).9

The Majority recognizes the referee’s authority to decide a matter based

upon the pertinent available records. 34 Pa. Code §101.51. However, based on the

referee’s legal conclusion, the Majority infers that he failed to conduct a careful

review of the competent documentary evidence. But see Referee’s decision at 2. I

believe the Majority misinterprets the referee’s assessment of hearsay statements as

a capricious disregard of competent evidence. Further, in doing so the Majority

implicitly determines that the hearsay statements in Claimant’s initial claims form

would, if credited, support additional findings of fact.

The propriety of that analysis aside, the records submitted to the

Department included Claimant’s 2016 1040, Schedule C tax form, which was

consistent with Claimant’s representations about the income she had derived from

her self-employment. The Majority does not identify competent evidence regarding

the time Claimant spent on her self-employment business after her separation from

by the employe with respect to such activity shall be deemed

remuneration paid or payable with respect to such period as shall be

determined by rules and regulations of the department.

43 P.S. §802(h).

9

Accepting Claimant’s argument that the 2016 referee’s decision already decided that her

self-employment was a sideline business activity would disregard this well-settled principle and

would render her not disqualified for benefits under section 402(h) in perpetuity.

MHW - 10

Goodwill. See Risse v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 35 A.3d 79,

82 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2012); LaChance v. Unemployment Compensation Board of

Review, 987 A.2d 167, 171 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2009).10 Absent evidence reflecting that

Claimant’s self-employment continued without substantial change, a remand for

reconsideration of that same evidence is unwarranted and would serve no purpose.

Risse; LaChance.

To overcome the evidentiary deficiency, the Majority relies on Quigley

v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, ___ A.3d ___ (Pa. Cmwlth. No.

1449 C.D. 2017, filed January 28, 2020), which, in my view, inexplicably held that

imputing knowledge of the Board’s published regulations to a claimant frustrates the

Law’s remedial and humanitarian purposes.11 As in Quigley, the Majority holds that

10

In Risse, we explained that in determining whether a claimant’s self-employment

substantially changed after his full-time employment ended, the focus is on whether the claimant

was working in the sideline activity for significantly more hours than he did prior to his separation.

We held that the Board erred in relying on the significant increase in the claimant’s earnings from

his sideline activity and that, where there was no change in the claimant’s self-employment

activities, the increase in earnings after his separation was not sufficient to establish that the

claimant was transitioning a sideline activity to full-time employment.

In LaChance, we acknowledged the rule that “claimants who engage in business

and the solicitation of clients have been viewed as self-employed, regardless of whether the

claimants received any income from those efforts.” 987 A.2d at 173 (citation omitted). We held

that where the claimant had significantly increased the amount of time he spent in his sideline

business, the fact that he generated no income did not preclude a determination that he was

ineligible for unemployment benefits under Section 402(h) of the Law. Id.

11

In Quigley, the claimant appealed the calculation of an award of benefits under Section

402(h) but did not appear at the referee’s hearing. The referee affirmed, and the claimant appealed

to the Board, challenging only the benefit amount. The Board reversed the referee’s decision,

holding that, because the claimant failed to present evidence at the hearing, she did not meet her

burden to demonstrate eligibility under section 402(h) of the Law.

The claimant in Quigley did not, as the Majority states, argue that the Board lacks the

authority to sua sponte change the scope of a claimant’s appeal. Indeed, in Quigley the claimant’s

MHW - 11

an appellant who fails to attend a scheduled hearing and does not request another

opportunity to present evidence has been deprived of her right to due process. This

is absurd.

Ironically, after alleging the referee erred by sua sponte addressing

Claimant’s eligibility for benefits, and despite this Court’s limited scope of appellate

review, the Majority sua sponte holds that by addressing the issue of Claimant’s

eligibility, the referee acted in a prosecutorial role and improperly comingled the

prosecutorial and adjudicatory functions of the Department. Again, this is a

conclusion squarely in conflict with our precedent under 34 Pa. Code §101.87.12

Finally, overlooking Claimant’s opportunities to present evidence (such

as by attending the hearing, requesting a continuance, requesting reopening of the

record) as well as her failure to raise a cognizable issue to the Board, the Majority

inexplicably disregards the fundamental precept of issue preservation. Pa. R.A.P.

1551. That Claimant is pro se does not support excusing her legally insufficient

effort to correct the error she alleges. Simply, the inadequacy of a pro se litigant’s

efforts does not compel the conclusion that due process was denied. Indeed, we have

repeatedly held that a pro se litigant is not entitled to more deference than a

counseled party.

petition for review asserted that the Board’s decision “was not fair,” and her brief argued that the

Board’s determination that she was ineligible for benefits “was incorrect.” Ironically, the majority

opinion in Quigley sua sponte raises both the question of the Board’s authority and the comingling

of prosecutorial functions.

12

See also Powell v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Pa. Cmwlth., No.

1418 C.D. 2017, filed February 1, 2019) (rejecting the assertion that the relationships among the

department, referees and Board implicate due process concerns under Lyness v. State Board of

Medicine, 605 A.2d 1204 (Pa. 1992)).

MHW - 12

Here, however, the Majority sympathetically responds to the result of

Claimant’s uncounseled efforts by overlooking the remedies that were available to

her, and by absolving Claimant from consequences of rules that would

unquestionably apply to a counseled litigant. I submit that such straining of

applicable legal principles to offer relief risks injury to the law and implicates equal

protection.

I note that while the Law itself is comparatively straightforward, its

application frequently involves sympathetic claimants and circumstances in which

this Court “is constrained” to be faithful to the statute and this Court’s precedent.

This is another such case.

Accordingly, I would affirm the Board’s decision.

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

Judge Cohn Jubelirer joins in this dissent.

MHW - 13

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.