Opinion

Glynn v. Super. Ct.

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Nov 13, 2019
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 9.5%

The opinion

Filed 11/13/19

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION FOUR

JOHN GLYNN, B296735

Petitioner, (Los Angeles County

Super. Ct. No.

v. BC636862)

THE SUPERIOR COURT OF LOS

ANGELES COUNTY,

Respondent;

ALLERGAN, INC., et al.,

Real Parties in Interest.

ORIGINAL PROCEEDINGS; petition for writ of mandate.

Stephanie M. Bowick, Judge. Petition granted in part and denied

in part.

Magnanimo & Dean, Frank A. Magnanimo; Alexander

Krakow & Glick LLP, Tracy L. Fehr for Petitioner.

Paul Hastings, Stephen L. Berry and Blake R. Bertagna for

Real Parties in Interest.

INTRODUCTION

A temporary corporate benefits staffer mistakenly thinks

an employee has transitioned from short term disability (STD) to

long term disability (LTD) and is unable to work with or without

an accommodation. She fires him. The terminated employee tries

to correct the misunderstandings, but for months the corporation

ignores his entreaties. Does this constitute direct evidence of

disability discrimination under the Fair Employment and

Housing Act (FEHA) (Government Code § 12900 et seq.)? For the

reasons described below, we decide it does, and therefore reverse

the portion of the trial court’s order granting the corporation’s

motion for summary adjudication of the employee’s disability

discrimination cause of action. We also reverse the portions of the

order granting summary adjudication of the employee’s

retaliation, failure to prevent discrimination, and wrongful

termination causes of action. We publish to clarify that even a

legitimate company policy, if mistakenly applied, may engender

FEHA disability discrimination liability.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Petitioner John Glynn worked for real parties in interest

Allergan, Inc. and Allergan USA, Inc. (collectively, Allergan) as a

pharmaceutical sales representative. His primary duties involved

driving to doctors’ offices to promote Allergan’s pharmaceutical

products. In January 2016, Glynn requested, and Allergan

approved, a medical leave of absence for a serious eye condition

(myopic macular degeneration). Glynn’s doctor provided a

medical certification designating Glynn’s work status as “no

work” because Glynn “can’t safely drive.”

2

Allergan’s reasonable accommodation policy lists

“reassignment to a vacant position” as a potential

accommodation. Thus, while on medical leave, Glynn repeatedly

asked for help getting a new job within the company that did not

require driving, and applied for several open positions, but

Allergan never reassigned him.

On July 20, 2016, a temporary Allergan benefits

department employee, Anne Marie Perosino, sent a letter to

Glynn informing him that his employment was being terminated

effective July 20, 2016: “We received notification from Matrix

System of your approval for Long Term Disability, effective July

20, 2016. According to the Allergan Family and Medical Leave

(AFML) policy, you will no longer be eligible to remain on

Inactive Status and your employment has ended on 07/20/16, due

to your inability to return to work by a certain date with or

without some reasonable workplace accommodation.” Perosino

mistakenly believed that Glynn’s termination was required under

Allergan’s policy and practice. Allergan’s actual policy, however,

is that termination is required once the employee has applied,

and been approved, for LTD benefits; not, as Perosino believed,

once an employee’s “transition date” from STD to LTD benefits

(i.e. the date the employee becomes eligible for LTD benefits) has

passed. At no point did Glynn apply for LTD, and it is undisputed

that he could have returned to work with reasonable

accommodation. The day after his termination, Glynn emailed a

letter to the members of the Allergan Human Resources

Department, including its director, stating he never applied for

LTD, that he could work in any position that did not require

driving, and protesting the mistaken decision to terminate him.

3

Glynn was not reinstated, so he sued Allergan alleging

eight causes of action: (1) disability discrimination; (2) failure to

engage in the interactive process; (3) failure to accommodate

disability; (4) retaliation; (5) failure to prevent discrimination and

harassment; (6) retaliation in violation of Labor Code section

1102.5; (7) wrongful termination/adverse treatment in violation

of public policy; and (8) intentional infliction of emotional

distress.

Nine months after Glynn informed Allergan he was not on

LTD and was ready and willing to work in a suitable position,

and after he filed suit, Allergan’s Chief Human Resources Officer,

Karen Ling, sent Glynn a letter stating her belief that “the

human resources personnel involved . . . sincerely believed the

actions taken were appropriate . . . [but that the reasonable

accommodation] process could and should have been handled

better,” and conceding “[his] employment should not have been

ended.” Ling offered to reinstate Glynn unconditionally with full

back pay and to continue his pay and benefits at the level he was

receiving before he went out on medical leave while he identified

a job to which he wanted to be assigned and for which he was

qualified. Glynn responded by rejecting Allergan’s offer of

reinstatement because Ling’s letter did not identify any specific

position being offered or the compensation, and Glynn’s stated

belief that Allergan would continue to mistreat him and fail to

place him in an open position. Ling sent another letter to Glynn

asking him to reconsider his rejection of her reinstatement offer.

Glynn responded to Ling’s second letter, again rejecting the

reinstatement offer because he did not “believe [her] offer was

made in good faith.” Glynn’s treating psychologist also declared

Glynn’s psychological well-being would have been negatively

4

affected had he returned to Allergan. Glynn’s rejection of Ling’s

reinstatement offers became the basis for Allergan’s failure to

mitigate damages affirmative defense.

Allergan moved for summary judgment or, alternatively,

summary adjudication of each cause of action. It also moved for

summary adjudication of its failure to mitigate damages

affirmative defense and Glynn’s request for punitive damages. In

a lengthy and detailed ruling, the trial court denied Allergan’s

motion for summary judgment, but granted summary

adjudication in favor of Allergan on Glynn’s causes of action for:

(1) disability discrimination; (2) retaliation; (3) failure to prevent

discrimination and harassment; (4) retaliation in violation of

Labor Code section 1102.5; (5) wrongful termination/adverse

treatment in violation of public policy; and (6) intentional

infliction of emotional distress. It also granted Allergan’s motion

for summary adjudication of its failure to mitigate affirmative

defense and the unavailability of punitive damages. The court

denied Allergan’s motion for summary adjudication of Glynn’s

causes of action for (1) failure to engage in the interactive process

and (2) failure to reasonably accommodate his disability.

Glynn filed a petition for writ of mandate in this court to

reverse the trial court’s summary adjudication on all causes of

action and defenses except summary adjudication of his claims

for Labor Code section 1102.5 retaliation and intentional

infliction of emotional distress. We issued an alternative writ

ordering the court to either: (1) vacate its summary adjudication

order and instead enter a new order denying the motion on the

following causes of action: the first cause of action for disability

discrimination on the ground Glynn has shown direct evidence of

disability discrimination; the fourth cause of action for disability-

5

related retaliation on the ground Glynn demonstrated triable

issues of material fact; the fifth cause of action for failure to

prevent discrimination and harassment; and the seventh cause of

action for wrongful termination/adverse treatment in violation of

public policy on the ground that these causes of action are

dependent on or derivative of the first cause of action; or, in the

alternative (2) show cause why a peremptory writ of mandate

should not issue. The trial court did not change its order.

Allergan filed a return to the writ and Glynn filed a reply.

DISCUSSION

I. Allergan is Not Entitled to Summary Adjudication of

Glynn’s First Cause of Action for Disability

Discrimination

California has adopted the three-stage burden-shifting test

for discrimination claims set forth in McDonnell Douglas Corp. v.

Green (1973) 411 U.S. 792 [93 S. Ct. 1817, 36 L. Ed 2d 688]

(McDonnell Douglas). (Guz v. Bechtel National, Inc. (2000) 24

Cal.4th 317, 354 [100 Cal. Rptr. 2d 352] (Guz).) The plaintiff has

the initial burden to make a prima facie showing of employment

discrimination.1 (Ibid.) If the plaintiff establishes a prima facie

1 The elements of a disparate treatment disability discrimination

claim are that the plaintiff (1) suffered from a disability or was

regarded as suffering from a disability, (2) could perform the

essential duties of a job with or without reasonable

accommodations, and (3) was subjected to an adverse

employment action because of the disability or perceived

disability. (Sandell v. Taylor-Listug, Inc. (2010) 188 Cal.App.4th

297, 310.)

6

case, the burden shifts to the employer to produce evidence of a

legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason for the adverse employment

action. (Id. at p. 355.) If the employer sustains this burden, the

plaintiff must then have the opportunity to attack the employer’s

proffered reasons as pretexts for discrimination, or to offer any

other evidence of discriminatory motive. (Id. at p. 356)

The McDonnell Douglas three-stage framework does not

apply, however, where the plaintiff presents direct evidence of

discrimination. Thus, in disability discrimination cases, the

threshold issue is “whether there is direct evidence that the

motive for the employer’s conduct was related to the employee’s

physical or mental condition.” (Wallace v. County of Stanislaus

(2016) 245 Cal.App.4th 109, 123 (Wallace).) “[A] plaintiff alleging

disability discrimination can establish the requisite employer

intent to discriminate by proving (1) the employer knew that

plaintiff had a physical condition that limited a major life

activity, or perceived him to have such a condition, and (2) the

plaintiff’s actual or perceived physical condition was a

substantial motivating reason for the defendant’s decision to

subject the plaintiff to an adverse employment action.” (Id. at p.

129.) Relying on Wallace, Glynn contends he provided direct

evidence of disability discrimination, making the McDonnell

Douglas framework inapplicable. We agree.

In Wallace, the county removed a deputy sheriff from his

job as a bailiff and placed him on an unpaid leave of absence

based on its good faith—but incorrect—assessment that he could

not safely perform his duties as a bailiff even with reasonable

accommodation. (Wallace, supra, 245 Cal.App.4th at p. 115.) The

court held the trial court erred in instructing the jury that

animus or ill will was required to prove discriminatory intent.

7

(Ibid.) The court explained: “California law does not require an

employee with an actual or perceived disability to prove that the

employer’s adverse employment action was motivated by

animosity or ill will against the employee. Instead, California’s

statutory scheme protects employees from an employer’s

erroneous or mistaken beliefs about the employee’s physical

condition. ([Gov. Code,] § 12926.1, subd. (d).) In short, the

Legislature decided that the financial consequences of an

employer’s mistaken belief that an employee is unable to safely

perform a job’s essential functions should be borne by the

employer, not the employee, even if the employer’s mistake was

reasonable and made in good faith.” (Ibid.)

Here, neither party contends Glynn could reasonably be

categorized as totally disabled and unable to perform any job at

Allergan with or without reasonable accommodation. That’s how

he was categorized, however. The evidence demonstrates

Perosino mistakenly believed Glynn transitioned to LTD, from

which she erroneously concluded Glynn was unable to work, with

or without an accommodation. As noted above, Perosino’s

termination letter to Glynn states in part, “your employment has

ended on 07/20/16, due to your inability to return to work by a

certain date with or without some reasonable workplace

accommodation.” Glynn recognizes Allergan’s actual policy is to

terminate employees only after they have applied, and been

approved, for LTD benefits. That presumably is because a policy

automatically requiring termination of a disabled employee who

goes on LTD can only be lawful if the employee certifies he or she

is unable to work with or without an accommodation. (See e.g.

Nadaf-Rahrov v. Neiman Marcus Group, Inc. (2008) 166

Cal.App.4th 952, 976 [the plain language of Government Code

8

section 12940(a) “clearly states that an employer is not liable for

discharging a person with a disability because of the disability if

the person is unable to perform the essential functions of the job

with or without reasonable accommodations.”]; see also Hanson v.

Lucky Stores, Inc. (1999) 74 Cal.App.4th 215, 226-227

[“‘Reasonable accommodation does not require the employer to

wait indefinitely for an employee’s medical condition to be

corrected.’”].)

Even assuming Perosino’s mistakes were reasonable and

made in good faith, a lack of animus does not preclude liability

for a disability discrimination claim. (Wallace, supra, 245

Cal.App.4th at p. 115.) Accordingly, we conclude Glynn provided

direct evidence of disability discrimination—Allergan terminated

him because Perosino mistakenly believed he was totally disabled

and unable to work. This is enough to defeat a motion for

summary adjudication.

II. Allergan is Not Entitled to Summary Adjudication of

Glynn’s Fourth Cause of Action for Retaliation

The McDonnell Douglas three-stage framework applies to a

FEHA retaliation cause of action. (Yanowitz v. L’Oreal USA, Inc.

(2005) 36 Cal.4th 1028, 1042 (Yanowitz).) Under McDonnell

Douglas, the plaintiff has the burden of establishing a prima facie

case of retaliation by showing: (1) he engaged in “protected

activity”; (2) he was subjected to an adverse employment action;

and (3) there is a causal link between the protected activity and

the adverse employment action. (Yanowitz, supra, 36 Cal.4th at

p. 1052.) “Although an employee need not formally file a charge

in order to qualify as being engaged in protected opposing

9

activity, such activity must oppose activity the employee

reasonably believes constitutes unlawful discrimination, and

complaints about personal grievances or vague or conclusory

remarks that fail to put an employer on notice as to what conduct

it should investigate will not suffice to establish protected

conduct.” (Id. at pp. 1046-1047, fn. omitted.) “‘The relevant

question . . . is not whether a formal accusation of discrimination

is made but whether the employee’s communications to the

employer sufficiently convey the employee’s reasonable concerns

that the employer has acted or is acting in an unlawful

discriminatory manner.’” (Id. at p. 1047.)

Glynn relies on four emails to demonstrate he engaged in

“protected activity” by complaining he was not being

accommodated for his disability. For example, in an email dated

May 19, 2016 to Perosino and other Allergan human resources

employees, Glynn wrote, “Given the amount of time that has

passed and the minimal response I have received from the entire

Human Resources Department, I feel that my current condition

has been ignored.” He further expressed, “I have identified

several appropriate open positions on the Allergan Career Job

Board over this time frame, but no action ever appears to take

place.” In a June 8, 2016 email to Luwaine Defreese, an employee

in Allergan’s Human Resources department, Glynn stated “I have

been previously told by you . . . that disability is an alternative

accommodation in lieu of work. It is not. I have been requesting

to return to work for over four months. . . . . I had hoped that

after months of being ignored this note would expedite my return

to work. It hasn’t. The company cannot just allow me to languish

on disability. [¶] I no longer believe you or the company are

10

sincere in accommodating me and returning me to work in a

comparable position. . . .”

We disagree with the trial court’s conclusion that these

emails do not constitute complaints. The emails would permit a

reasonable trier of fact to find Glynn sufficiently communicated

to Allergan that he believed the way he was being treated (i.e.

ignored and not accommodated for his disability) was

discriminatory. The evidence also demonstrates Glynn was

terminated two months after he complained. Temporal proximity

between the protected activity and the adverse action is sufficient

to shift the burden to the employer to articulate a

nondiscriminatory reason for the adverse employment action.

(See Serri v. Santa Clara University (2014) 226 Cal.App.4th 830,

868.) Further, there are disputed issues of fact with respect to

whether Allergan acted in good faith in attempting to find a job

for Glynn within the company. Moreover, Allergan was

immediately made aware of Perosino’s error in terminating

Glynn contrary to Allergan’s policy, yet waited nine months to

offer reinstatement. Based on these facts, a jury could infer the

termination was retaliatory.

As noted above, Allergan has not articulated a legitimate

nondiscriminatory reason for Glynn’s termination. Although

Perosino was mistaken in her application of Allergan’s policy,

underlying her mistake was an unfounded determination that

Glynn was completely disabled and unable to work with or

without an accommodation. (Wallace, supra, 245 Cal.App.4th at

p. 115 [“an employer’s mistaken belief that an employee is unable

to . . . perform a job’s essential functions should be borne by the

employer, not the employee . . .”].

11

Thus, we conclude the trial court erred in granting

Allergan’s motion for summary adjudication of Glynn’s FEHA

retaliation cause of action.

III. Glynn’s Fifth Cause of Action for Failure to Prevent

Discrimination and Seventh Cause of Action for

Wrongful Termination in Violation of Public Policy

Should Survive Summary Adjudication for the Same

Reasons as His Causes of Action for Discrimination

and Retaliation

Allergan concedes Glynn’s causes of action for failure to

prevent discrimination and wrongful termination are derivative

of Glynn’s FEHA disability discrimination and retaliation causes

of action. We therefore conclude Allergan is not entitled to

summary adjudication of these claims for the same reasons it is

not entitled to summary adjudication of Glynn’s FEHA disability

and retaliation claims.

12

DISPOSITION

Let a peremptory writ of mandate issue directing respondent

court to vacate its March 11, 2019 order to the extent it granted

summary adjudication of Glynn’s (1) first cause of action for

disability discrimination, (2) fourth cause of action for retaliation,

(3) fifth cause of action for failure to prevent discrimination, and

(4) seventh cause of action for wrongful termination in violation

of public policy, and enter a new order denying summary

adjudication of those causes of action. The balance of the trial

court’s March 11, 2019 order is unaffected by our decision, and

we express no view on it at this time. Glynn is awarded his costs

in this proceeding.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

CURREY, J.

WE CONCUR:

MANELLA, P. J.

WILLHITE, J.

13

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.