Opinion

B.A. D'Amour v. Lower Merion Twp.

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Aug 30, 2019
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Cohn Jubelirer, J.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 8.9%

stating that this Court “may affirm on other grounds where grounds for affirmance exist”

How later courts described this case

  • stating that this Court “may affirm on other grounds where grounds for affirmance exist”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Bernard A. D’Amour, William C. :

Boegly, Francis M. Higgins, Joseph :

Arrell, William Albany, George :

Clement, Henry Hasson, James Herzog, :

William Raquet and John Sheehan, :

Appellants :

:

v. : No. 957 C.D. 2018

: Argued: June 6, 2019

Lower Merion Township and :

Board of Commissioners of :

The Township of Lower Merion and :

Board of Trustees of The Township of :

Lower Merion Police Pension Fund :

BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge (P.)

HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION BY

JUDGE COHN JUBELIRER FILED: August 30, 2019

Bernard A. D’Amour, William C. Boegly, Francis M. Higgins, Joseph Arrell,

William Albany, George Clement, Henry Hasson, James Herzog, William Raquet,

and John Sheehan (collectively, Retirees) appeal from an Order of the Court of

Common Pleas of Montgomery County (trial court), denying Retirees’ Motion for

Post-Trial Relief (Motion). Retirees filed the Motion after the trial court entered an

order denying their complaint seeking declaratory judgment against Lower Merion

Township and the Board of Commissioners of The Township of Lower Merion, and

Board of Trustees of The Township of Lower Merion Police Pension Fund

(collectively, Township). Retirees sought a declaratory judgment that the Township

was required to include its non-elective contributions to the Deferred Compensation

Plan as part of Retirees’ salary for pension benefit calculations. We agree with

Retirees and reverse and remand this matter to the trial court to determine, in light

of the following opinion, what past contributions are owed to the Pension Fund and

when the cause of action accrued for each Retiree to ascertain whether any claims

are barred by the applicable four-year statute of limitations.

I. Factual Background

The parties submitted stipulated facts to the trial court as follows. The

Township is a First Class Township located in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania.

Retirees were all employed by the Township as police officers and, at the time of

their retirement,1 were members of the police department’s command staff.2 The

Township provides command staff with two sources of retirement income: a

Pension Fund, pursuant to the Police Pension Fund Act, commonly referred to as

1

The dates of hire, promotion to command staff, and retirement for each of the Retirees is

as follows: Hasson was hired in 1963, promoted in 1973, and retired in 1994; Herzog was hired

in 1967, promoted in 1996, and retired in 1999; Sheehan was hired in 1967, promoted in 1976, and

retired in 1993; Raquet was hired in 1969, promoted in 1988, and retired in 1997; Clement was

hired in 1970, promoted in 1983, and retired in 2001; Albany was hired in 1976, promoted in 1996,

and retired in 2004; D’Amour was hired in 1978, promoted in 1998, and retired in 2011; Higgins

was hired in 1979, promoted in 1998, and retired in 2015; Boegly was hired in 1979, promoted in

1997, and retired in 2016; Arrell was hired in 1984, promoted in 2000, and retired in 2012.

(Stipulation of Facts ¶ 4.) Herzog passed away on December 17, 2016.

2

Retirees became command staff upon attaining the rank of lieutenant, captain, or

superintendent. Command staff, such as Retirees, were not members of the Fraternal Order of

Police, Lodge 28 or subject to its collective bargaining agreement with the Township. (Id. ¶¶ 3,

21.)

2

Act 600,3 and a Deferred Compensation Plan, pursuant to Section 8.2 of the Fiscal

Code4 and Section 457 of the Internal Revenue Code, 26 U.S.C. § 457. The interplay

of these two types of compensation and the effect that interplay had on Retirees’

contributions to the Pension Fund and the amount of their pension benefits form the

basis for the current dispute.

a. Pension Fund

The Township created the Pension Fund by ordinance in 1966. Police officers

are required to pay into the Pension Fund a designated portion of their

“compensation on which social security taxes are payable,” although the percentage

of that compensation has changed over the years. (Stipulation of Facts ¶¶ 15-17.)

Upon retirement, an officer’s pension payment is “1/2 the [officer’s] monthly

average salary, not including longevity,” for the last 48 months of employment, for

those who became retired or disabled prior to January 1, 1979, or on or after January

1, 1982, and, for those who became retired or disabled on or after January 1, 1984,

pension payment is “1/2 the [officer’s] monthly salary, including longevity,” for the

last 36 months of employment.. (Id. ¶ 20.) This complies with the requirements of

Section 5(c) of Act 600, 53 P.S. § 771(c) (“Monthly pension or retirement benefits

. . . shall be computed at one-half the monthly average salary of such member . . . .”).

The Township, after enacting various amendments to the ordinances throughout the

years, enacted an ordinance in 2008 (2008 Ordinance) to move the provisions of the

Pension Fund into a comprehensive new plan document entitled the Pension Plan.

3

Act of May 29, 1956, P.L. (1955) 1804, as amended, 53 P.S. §§ 767-778.

4

Act of March 30, 1811, P.L. 145, as amended, added by Section 2 of the Act of November

6, 1987, P.L. 394, 72 P.S. § 4521.2.

3

b. Deferred Compensation Plan

By resolutions passed in 1974 and 1975, the Township established the

Deferred Compensation Plan for the benefit of management level employees, which

included Retirees upon their promotions to command staff. The purpose of the

Deferred Compensation Plan was “to provide retirement income and other deferred

benefits to” participants “in accordance with the provisions of Section 457 of the

Internal Revenue Code.” (Stipulation of Fact ¶ 23.) For those who elect to

participate in the Deferred Compensation Plan, the Township makes a non-elective

and non-discretionary5 contribution (Township Contribution) in “an amount equal

to 7% of the employee’s annual base salary.” (Id. ¶¶ 26, 31.) Participants may also

elect “to contribute into the [Deferred Compensation] Plan at their discretion”

(Participant Contribution), but such contribution is not required. (Id. ¶ 28.)

Participants cannot receive the Township Contribution unless it is deposited into the

Deferred Compensation Plan account. Social Security and Medicare taxes are

deducted from the Township Contribution and the Participant Contribution, and the

Township Contribution “is reported on the Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement.”

(Id. ¶¶ 38, 41.) The Township Contribution is not subject to federal income tax until

it is withdrawn from the Deferred Compensation Plan Account.

The Deferred Compensation Plan is administered in compliance with

Section 8.2 of the Fiscal Code, which provides the Township with the authority to

create and administer the plan and requires that income deferred thereunder be

included as “regular compensation” for retirement benefits. 72 P.S. § 4521.2(e)(5).

5

The Township Contribution is considered non-discretionary because it is made without

regard to whether or in what amount a participating employee makes an elective contribution.

(Stipulation of Facts ¶ 31.)

4

The Township also administers the Deferred Compensation Plan through two

governing documents: the Deferred Compensation Plan and Trust, and the Master

Trust Agreement. The Master Trust Agreement provides generally that the

Township and Deferred Compensation Plan participants agree to defer specified

amounts from the participants’ total compensation. (See Reproduced Record (R.R.)

at 371a-75a.) The Deferred Compensation Plan sets forth additional governing

procedures and the Township’s obligations under the Deferred Compensation Plan

and provides that participation in the Deferred Compensation Plan will not affect

benefits receivable under the Pension Fund. (See id. at 159a-65a.) These documents,

as well as the Fiscal Code and Internal Revenue Code provisions and corresponding

regulations (Federal regulations), control the Deferred Compensation Plan.

c. The Township’s Treatment of the Township Contribution

The Township Contribution has “never been included as compensation from

which the [c]ommand [s]taff made their member contributions to the” Pension Fund

nor has it been “included in ‘final average salary’ for the calculation of each

[participant’s pension] benefit.” (Stipulation of Facts ¶¶ 43-44.) Participant

Contributions, however, are included in a participant’s final average salary for

purposes of pension benefit calculations.

The Township prepares biannual actuarial reports for the Pension Fund as

required by Act 205.6 An actuarial study completed in 1995 stated that, for pension

purposes, average monthly pay was “defined as W-2 pay for purposes of the

6

Act of December 18, 1984, P.L. 1005, as amended, 53 P.S. §§ 895.301-895.307. Act 205

requires that municipalities conduct a study for cost estimates prior to the adoption of any

modification to a pension plan. Section 305 of Act 205, 53 P.S. § 895.305. This Court has held

that where an arbitrator award modifies a pension plan “in the absence of an Act 205 cost estimate,”

the award is “an illegal act necessitating vacation.” Shippensburg Police Ass’n v. Borough of

Shippensburg, 968 A.2d 246, 251 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2009).

5

Medicare portion of Social Security tax . . . .” (Id. ¶ 50.) A draft 1997 actuarial

report generated for the Township stated the same. This prompted a memorandum

from the then-assistant Township manager, who noted that the Township

Contribution should not be included in the definition of final average salary and this

“distinction” should be “clarif[ied]” when the Township next updated its Pension

Fund. (Id. ¶ 53.) The final 1997 actuarial report expressly provided “[p]ay does not

include the Township[ C]ontribution to any [Deferred Compensation Plan],” (R.R.

at 203a), and every actuarial report since then has stated the same, (Stipulation of

Facts ¶¶ 56-57).

After not being required to contribute to the Pension Fund from 1996 to 2004,

an amendment to the Pension Fund ordinance in 2005 required that all officers

contribute to the Pension Fund via biweekly payroll deductions. Shortly thereafter,

a payroll “malfunction” resulted in the Township Contribution being included in the

employees’ contributions to the Pension Fund. (Id. ¶ 59.) The Township discovered

and corrected the “error” by providing officers with a reimbursement for the

“mistakenly increased contribution” to the Pension Fund. (Id. ¶ 60.) Command staff

personnel then inquired as to why the Township Contribution was not being included

as final average salary for pension benefit calculations but were unable to reach a

resolution with the Township on this issue.

The Township then passed the 2008 Ordinance in July 2008, which included

a definition of “compensation/monthly average salary” that expressly excluded the

Township Contribution. (Id. ¶¶ 62, 64.) Those Retirees still employed with the

Township on August 1, 2008, notified the Township that they did not believe the

Township had the authority to change the definition of compensation for calculating

pension benefits.

6

II. Retirees’ Complaint and Trial Court Decision

Retirees filed their Complaint against the Township on November 25, 2008,

seeking a declaratory judgment that the Township had improperly calculated their

pension benefits by not including the Township Contribution as part of their salaries.

Following the Township’s Answer and New Matter and Retirees’ reply thereto, the

docket remained inactive until a notice to terminate was filed in 2013, which

prompted statements of intention to proceed and preparation for pretrial. Pursuant

to the trial court’s order, the case was submitted and considered on stipulated facts

in October 2017. The trial court issued an order in April 2018 denying Retirees’

action for declaratory judgment, concluding that the Township “was NOT required

to include [its] deferred compensation payments in the [Retirees’] ‘salary’ when

calculating the [Retirees’] Police Pension Fund benefit.” (Trial court Order, April

11, 2018 (emphasis omitted).)

Retirees filed the Motion, arguing the trial court’s April 11, 2018 order was

against the weight and sufficiency of evidence, was contrary to law, and that Retirees

had sustained their burden of proof. After argument, the trial court denied the

Motion. Retirees appealed and, at the trial court’s direction, filed their statement of

errors complained of on appeal (Statement) pursuant to Pennsylvania Rule of

Appellate Procedure 1925(b), Pa.R.A.P. 1925(b). In their Statement, Retirees

argued the trial court erred in its interpretation of the Fiscal Code and the governing

documents of the Deferred Compensation Plan, and therefore erred in denying

declaratory judgment and the Motion.

The trial court issued its opinion pursuant to Pennsylvania Rule of Appellate

Procedure 1925(a), Pa.R.A.P. 1925(a), explaining its decision as follows. Section

8.2(e)(5) of the Fiscal Code states “[a]ny income deferred under such authorized

7

agreement shall continue to be included as regular compensation for computing

retirement and benefits.” 72 P.S. § 4521.2(e)(5). The trial court interpreted the term

“income deferred” in that section as “income that the employee elected to receive at

a later time,” and not “additional compensation provided by the employer, for which

there was no salary reduction . . . [or] deferral of income.” (Rule 1925(a) Opinion

(Op.) at 4.) Additionally, the trial court examined Section 8.2(h)(1) of the Fiscal

Code, which provides that deferred compensation plans serve in addition to pension

plans, and a corresponding section in the Master Trust Agreement, stating that

participation in the Deferred Compensation Plan would not affect benefits receivable

under a retirement or pension plan. Based on these provisions, the trial court

reasoned that this deferred compensation “shall not be part of any retirement pension

system for officers or employees.” (Id.)

Relying upon Borough of Nazareth v. Nazareth Borough Police Association,

680 A.2d 830 (Pa. 1996) (Nazareth II), the trial court explained that “salary” denotes

base salary unless the parties agreed to expand that definition through past practice

or agreement. Because the Township has never included the Township Contribution

as salary for the purpose of calculating pension benefits, there was no past practice

or agreement justifying an expansion of the definition. Further, the trial court cited

as support the Township’s 2008 Ordinance that codified the Township’s past

practice by expressly excluding the Township Contribution from the term

compensation. For the foregoing reasons, the trial court concluded that it properly

denied Retirees’ declaratory relief and the Motion.

8

III. Issues on Appeal

On appeal,7 Retirees argue the trial court erred as a matter of law in finding

that the Township Contribution is not includable as salary for Pension Fund

purposes. The Township argues the trial court did not err in its conclusion, but also

asserts that Retirees’ claims are barred by the statute of limitations as an alternative

basis for affirming the trial court. Both Retirees and the Township seek counsel fees,

asserting that the other party has engaged in obdurate and/or vexatious conduct.

a. Whether the Township Contribution is salary for Pension Fund purposes.

1. Retirees’ Arguments

Retirees argue that the trial court erred in finding that the Fiscal Code does

not require the Township to include the Township Contribution in calculating

Retirees’ pension benefits as follows. Contrary to the trial court’s reasoning, the

language “[a]ny income deferred under [a deferred compensation plan] shall

continue to be included as regular compensation for computing retirement and

benefits earned” in Section 8.2(e)(5) explicitly creates a statutory obligation for the

Township Contribution to be included in the pension benefit calculation. (Retirees’

Brief (Br.) at 25-26 (emphasis omitted) (citing 72 P.S. § 4521.2(e)(5); Christiana v.

Pub. Sch. Emps.’ Ret. Bd., 669 A.2d 940, 945 n.3 (Pa. 1996)).) The trial court’s

reading of the phrase “income deferred” to conclude that the Township Contribution

was additional compensation is contrary to the statutory language, the Master Trust

Agreement, and the Deferred Compensation Plan and Trust.

7

Our review “regarding a denial of post-trial motions is whether the trial court abused its

discretion or committed an error of law.” Johnson v. City of Philadelphia, 808 A.2d 978, 980 n.1

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2002).

9

Retirees also argue that under the Internal Revenue Code, deferred

compensation is subject to state income tax and local earned tax when it is deposited

into the Deferred Compensation Plan account and subject to federal income taxation

when it is distributed to the employee. The Township Contribution is reported on

Retirees’ W-2 Forms and tax statements, Social Security and Medicare taxes are

deducted from it, and it is included for purposes of calculating state and local tax.

Thus, the Township Contribution is compensation that should be considered salary

for pension purposes.

Retirees also rely upon Act 600 and the Pension Fund ordinance. Although

Act 600 requires pension benefits be calculated based upon salary, it does not define

salary. However, the Pension Fund ordinance makes evident that the Township

Contribution should be considered salary, as it requires officers to pay into the fund

an amount based upon “compensation on which social security taxes are payable.”

(Retirees’ Br. at 43 (emphasis omitted).) Because those taxes are payable on the

Township Contribution, the Township Contribution is salary for pension purposes.

Further, pursuant to Borough of Nazareth v. Nazareth Borough Police Association,

636 A.2d 1289 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1994) (Nazareth I), aff’d, Nazareth II, 680 A.2d 830

(Pa. 1996), the term salary under Act 600 has been interpreted to include all forms

of compensation arising from the conditions of employment. The Township made

its contribution as part of its regular payroll on a biweekly basis; thus, it is salary

under case law interpreting Act 600. The trial court’s conclusion that the Township

never expanded the term salary beyond base salary to include the Township

Contribution is not accurate because, by the terms of the Pension Fund ordinance,

pensions are calculated on W-2 wages, which include more than simply base salary.

The Township’s ongoing failure to include the Township Contribution as salary and

10

its exclusion of the Township Contribution in the Act 205 actuarial studies beginning

in 1997 does not excuse its obligation to treat the Township Contribution as salary

for pension purposes.

2. Township’s Arguments

The Township responds that the Township Contribution is not “the type of

‘deferred compensation’” that Section 8.2 of the Fiscal Code or federal regulations

address. (The Township’s Br. at 19.) The provisions of Section 8.2 on the whole

relate to changing the amount of deferred compensation, ceasing deferrals, and

deferrals by payroll deductions, which can only be done with Participant

Contributions. Therefore, where Section 8.2 of the Fiscal Code uses the language

“income deferred,” it refers only to elective deferrals by employees. Section 457 of

the Internal Revenue Code and the federal regulations distinguish elective deferrals

and employer contributions by separately defining them and, thus, the distinction

should be recognized. Further, the Township Contribution, a fixed percentage, is

not a deferral of compensation presently due to Retirees, but is an additional

payment made directly to the Deferred Compensation Plan account. (Id. at 24-25

(citing Schuylkill Haven Borough v. Schuylkill Haven Police Officers Ass’n, 914

A.2d 936, 940 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2006)).).

With regard to the governing documents of the Deferred Compensation Plan

and Pension Fund ordinance, the Township argues those documents do not support

Retirees’ position. Because the Master Trust Agreement stated that participation in

the Deferred Compensation Plan would not affect the employees’ rights to

participate in other available pension plans, it is clear that the Township Contribution

would not affect, i.e., increase, the calculation of pension benefits. The Township

contends that although the Deferred Compensation Plan does not modify Act 600

11

pension funds, this should not allow employees to receive a windfall under the

Pension Fund for mere participation in the Deferred Compensation Plan.

The Township argues that the case law interpreting the term salary under Act

600 supports the trial court’s conclusion. Because Retirees never made contributions

to the Pension Fund based upon the Township Contribution, it should not be included

as final average salary now. Based upon precedent from this Court and the Supreme

Court, the term salary means base salary alone unless the parties have otherwise

agreed through past practice or agreement to include other compensation. (The

Township’s Br. at 48-51 (citing Nazareth II, 680 A.2d at 834; Palyok v. Borough of

W. Mifflin, 586 A.2d 366 (Pa. 1991)).) Accordingly, the Township Contribution is

not includable because it is not considered base salary and has not been included as

such through past practice or agreement.

Finally, the Township argues that we would be prohibited by Act 205 from

ordering the Township to include the Township Contribution in the calculation of

Retirees’ pension benefits because such a determination would be a modification of

the Pension Fund. The Township asserts that neither an arbitration panel nor

reviewing court can order the implementation of a Pension Fund modification

without an Act 205 actuarial study.

3. Analysis

The issue is whether the Township’s Contribution should be considered

“salary” under the Pension Plan. Therefore, we begin by reviewing the term salary

as it has been defined by Act 600 and the parties’ past practices and agreements

through the Pension Fund ordinance and the Deferred Compensation Plan. Until the

2008 Ordinance, which is not the controlling Pension Fund ordinance for most of

these Retirees, there was no definition of salary in the Pension Fund governing

12

documents. Moreover, as both parties agree, Act 600 does not define salary, but the

Supreme Court did in Nazareth II where it held that “the term ‘salary’ as embodied

in Act 600 denotes base salary and excludes other forms of compensation unless the

parties through past practice or agreement have expanded this definition.” 680 A.2d

at 834. Here, while the parties’ past practice has not expanded the definition, it

appears they may have done so by agreement. Nazareth II is instructive.

In Nazareth II, a borough appealed from an order upholding an Act 1118

interest arbitration award that required police pensions to be based on gross earnings.

This Court affirmed, interpreting the term salary as including all forms of

compensation. Nazareth I, 636 A.2d at 1292. The issue before the Supreme Court

on appeal was “whether pension benefits are to be calculated on the basis of a

pensioner’s gross earnings rather than merely that pensioner’s base salary when it is

found that there is no inequity between the income-driven bases upon which

pension contributions are paid.” Nazareth II, 680 A.2d at 831 (emphasis added).

The Court relied on prior case law interpreting the undefined term “salary”

under Act 600 to guide its analysis. The Supreme Court examined this Court’s

decision in Borough of Beaver v. Liston, 464 A.2d 679 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1983), where

this Court held that overtime pay was not salary when a retiree did not have pension

fund contributions deducted from that overtime pay. The Court also noted that it

addressed the same issue in Palyok, 586 A.2d at 368, wherein it similarly concluded

that overtime and extra work pay should be considered salary for pension benefits

when a retiree contributes to the pension fund based on those forms of compensation.

The Court emphasized that its decision in Palyok was “based on the premise that

‘[t]o permit the Borough to require contributions from the overtime and extra work

8

Act of June 24, 1968, P.L. 237, as amended, 43 P.S. §§ 217.1-217.10.

13

compensation while denying the advantage of the additional compensation in the

benefit formula would be inconsistent and inequitable.’” Nazareth II, 680 A.2d at

834 (quoting Palyok, 586 A.2d at 368) (emphasis added). Considering these

principles of consistency and equity, the Court defined salary as set forth above.

Applying that to the facts of the case, the Court found that the borough had

misrepresented that no contributions had been made and had not presented evidence

as to what had been included in member contributions to the pension fund in the

past. Without this information the Court could not determine whether there was

inequity between the basis upon which contributions were paid into the plan and

upon which pension benefits were paid out upon vesting. Id.

We understand Nazareth II as focusing on the parity between the

compensation upon which contributions to the pension fund are calculated and the

compensation upon which payments from the pension fund are calculated. Here,

Retirees have not made contributions into the Pension Fund from the Township

Contributions. (Stipulation of Facts ¶ 43.) However, under the terms of the Pension

Fund ordinance, Retirees’ contributions to the Pension Fund should have been

calculated as follows:

(1) [o]n compensation on which social security taxes are payable, at

a rate calculated by subtracting from 5% the product obtained by

multiplying 3% by their full social security old-age insurance benefit

offset of .50.

(2) [o]n compensation in excess of that on which social security taxes

are payable, if any, 5%.

(Id. ¶17; 1989 Police Pension Fund ordinance, R.R. at 133a (emphasis added).)

In contravention of these terms of the Pension Fund ordinance, Retirees’

contributions did not include the Township Contribution in the calculation even

14

though Retirees paid social security taxes on the Township Contribution. Instead,

the Township consistently excluded the Township Contribution from member

contributions paid into the Pension Fund and from members’ salaries upon which

the amount of their pension benefits would be calculated and paid out from the fund.

Therefore, while there is technically “no inequity here between the income-

driven bases upon which pension contributions [were] paid,” Nazareth II, 680 A.2d

at 831, this is only because the Township did not comply with the Pension Fund

ordinance.9 To focus on the parity between Retirees’ contribution and the pension

payments they receive overlooks and arguably condones the Township’s

noncompliance with the plain language of its own Pension Fund ordinance.

The Township is required to include the Township Contribution for both

member contributions to the Pension Fund and pension benefit calculations not only

by its own Pension Fund ordinance, but also the governing provisions of the Fiscal

Code, the federal regulations, and the Deferred Compensation Plan.

Section 8.2(e)(5) of the Fiscal Code provides that:

All deferred compensation plans shall be administered in compliance

with section 457 and any other provisions of the Internal Revenue Code

of 1986 (Public Law 99-514, 26 U.S.C. § 457) and applicable to the

plans. Any income deferred under such authorized agreement shall

continue to be included as regular compensation for computing

retirement and benefits earned by any Commonwealth, political

subdivision or municipal authority officer or employe, but any sum

deferred shall not be included in the computation of any Federal income

taxes to be withheld.

9

While there may not be inequity between the money contributed and the money paid out

as contemplated by the Supreme Court in Nazareth II, Retirees still experienced some inequity

from the Township’s treatment of the Township Contribution. The Township taxed the Township

Contribution to each Retirees’ Deferred Compensation Plan account as if it was a form of

compensation or salary but then did not include it as such for pension benefit calculations.

15

72 P.S. § 4521.2(e)(5) (emphasis added). Section 8.2(e)(5) makes no distinction

between income deferred via a Participant Contribution through payroll deduction

or an employer’s non-elective contribution.

The definitional sections of the Federal regulations and the Deferred

Compensation Plan governing documents expressly include both employer

contributions and employee deferrals in the relevant definitions of total

compensation or deferred compensation. For example, under the Federal

regulations, annual deferrals include “compensation deferred . . . whether by salary

reduction or by nonelective employer contribution.” 26 C.F.R. § 1.457-2(b), (k).

Further, the Master Trust Agreement states that total compensation is the total “paid

by the Employer for the services of the Employee, regardless of the terms used,”

including “base pay” and “employer’s contributions.” (Master Trust Agreement,

R.R. at 371a.) The Deferred Compensation Plan and Trust defines includible

compensation, as set forth in the Internal Revenue Code, to include both elective

deferrals by participants and employer contributions. (Deferred Compensation Plan

and Trust, R.R. at 137a (citing Section 415(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, 26

U.S.C. § 415(c)(3).10) The Deferred Compensation Plan treats all compensation the

same under the Plan.

Given this, we cannot conclude that the Township was not statutorily and

contractually required by the Fiscal Code, the Pension Fund ordinance, and Deferred

Compensation Plan to include the Township Contribution as salary, despite its past

practice to the contrary. The 1995 Act 205 actuarial study explicitly interpreted

“salary” in the Pension Fund as including the Township Contribution, as did the

10

Section 415 governs limitations on benefits and contributions for qualified plans,

including, among others, deferred compensation plans. Section 415 of the Internal Revenue Code,

26 U.S.C. § 415(c)(3).

16

initial calculation of member contributions in 2005, which was the first time since

1996 that members had to contribute to the Pension Fund. Thus, the Township’s

actions, through the memo from the then-assistant Township manager after the 1995

Act 205 actuarial study and through its correction of the “payroll malfunction” in

2005, reflect that the Township was aware to some extent that it was required to treat

the Township Contribution as part of Retirees’ contributions to the Pension Fund

and their salary for calculating their pension benefits.

The Township’s 2008 Ordinance does not alter our analysis. In the 2008

Ordinance, the Township defined monthly average salary/compensation as:

(a)(1) Compensation means the compensation to be used in determining

the monthly final average salary shall be the same compensation used

by the Social Security Administration in its computation of the

Medicare portion of the Social Security Tax, plus elective

contributions, for the applicable period. . . . Elective contributions are

amounts excludable from the employee’s gross income contributed to

the employer, at the employee’s election:

- A cafeteria plan . . .

- A deferred compensation plan (excludable under [Internal

Revenue Code] [S]ection 457).

...

(a)(3) Compensation – Notwithstanding the provisions of Section

1.3(a)(1), any employer contribution to a deferred compensation

plan shall be excluded from the participant’s compensation.

(Stipulation of Facts ¶ 64; R.R. at 170a-71a (emphasis added).) This definition

supports our conclusion that salary, generally, is the compensation on which social

security taxes are payable, which includes the Township Contribution. The

Township could not relieve itself from its preexisting obligation to Retirees by

17

expressly excluding the Township Contribution through the passage of the 2008

Ordinance.

Therefore, although the Township’s past practice has been to exclude the

Township Contribution from salary, the Township expanded the definition of salary

through agreement via the Pension Fund ordinance and Deferred Compensation

Plan’s governing documents, which are consistent with the Fiscal Code. Through

the Pension Fund ordinance, the Township agreed to include as salary compensation

on which social security taxes are payable, and it further agreed through its

establishment of the Deferred Compensation Plan under Section 8.2(e)(5) of the

Fiscal Code to treat “[a]ny income deferred” as regular compensation for

computing pension benefits. 72 P.S. § 4521.2(e)(5) (emphasis added). The

Township’s obligation to include the Township Contribution as salary is statutory

and contractual, and its past practice to the contrary does not excuse its duty to do

so for Retirees. Therefore, the trial court erred by concluding otherwise.

Our analysis of this issue is not complete, however, because the Township

asserts that, even if the Court agrees with Retirees, the Court cannot order Township

to include the Township Contribution as salary because this would be a pension plan

modification necessitating an Act 205 actuarial study. We disagree. There is no

modification where an arbitrator or court orders a municipality to administer its

pension plan in a manner that is consistent with the text of the pension plan. See,

e.g., City of Wilkes-Barre v. Wilkes-Barre Police Benevolent Ass’n (Pa. Cmwlth.,

No. 1145 C.D. 2017, filed June 4, 2018), slip op. at 17 (Wilkes-Barre Police),11 (an

arbitration award ordering a municipality to do something that was “merely

11

Wilkes-Barre Police, an unreported opinion, is cited for its persuasive value in

accordance with Section 414(a) of the Commonwealth Court’s Internal Operating Procedures. 210

Pa. Code § 69.414(a).

18

consistent with the City’s written policy,” “was not a modification to the [pension]

plan that required an Act 205 study”); City of Wilkes-Barre v. Wilkes-Barre City

Fire Fighters Local Union No. 104 (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1575 C.D. 2017, filed Oct.

11, 2018), slip op. at 12. Because the Township has been required by the Pension

Fund ordinance, the Deferred Compensation Plan governing documents, and the

Fiscal Code to include the Township Contribution, it is not a modification of the

Pension Fund to order the Township to comply with these provisions. Instead, it is

requiring the Township to do that which is “merely consistent with the [Township’s]

written policy.” Wilkes-Barre Police, slip op. at 17.

For these reasons, we conclude that the Township should have included the

Township Contribution as salary when it calculated the amounts Retirees had to pay

into the Pension Fund and when it calculated the pension benefits for Retirees. As

both parties agree, the Township Contribution was not included in the past when

calculating Retirees’ contributions to the Pension Fund. Accordingly, the

appropriate contributions to the Pension Fund based on the inclusion of the

Township Contribution in Retirees’ salaries has not been made.

b. Whether Retirees’ claims are barred by the statute of limitations.

The Township argues, as an alternative basis upon which to affirm the trial

court, that even if the Township Contribution should have been included as salary,

Retirees’ claims are barred at least in part by the statute of limitations. See Kutnyak

v. Dep’t of Corr., 748 A.2d 1275, 1279 n.9 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2000) (stating that this

Court “may affirm on other grounds where grounds for affirmance exist”). The

Township contends that the 30-day statute of limitations applies, as Retirees are

challenging the adoption of the 2008 Ordinance that excluded the Township

19

Contribution from the definition of compensation in the Pension Fund. Section

5571.1(b)(1) of the Judicial Code, 42 Pa. C.S. § 5571.1(b)(1).12 Alternatively, the

Township contends that Retirees’ Complaint is barred by the two-year statute of

limitations, as it is an action against a “government unit for the nonpayment of

money.” Section 5524(6) of the Judicial Code, 42 Pa. C.S. § 5524(6).13 In that case,

the Township asserts, the statute of limitations began to run in 1998 when the

Township released its 1997 Act 205 actuarial study, a document to which Retirees

had access and which provided notice that the Township Contribution was not

included as salary.

Retirees did not file a reply brief to address the Township’s statute of

limitations arguments, but they did address this issue in a reply brief before the trial

court. Retirees asserted that Section 5571.1 of the Judicial Code is inapplicable, as

some Retirees were no longer employed by the Township at the time the 2008

Ordinance was passed; thus, the 2008 Ordinance would not apply to them. Because

they filed a declaratory judgment action, Retirees contended their claims are

governed by a four-year statute of limitations. Retirees also asserted that the

continuing violations doctrine applied because the exclusion of the Township

Contribution from Retirees’ salary was a continuing practice for which the Court

should grant relief that would otherwise be time-barred. Retirees disagreed that

publicly available actuarial studies provided notice tolling the statute of limitations,

12

Section 5571.1(b)(1) provides “[a]ny appeal raising questions relating to an alleged

defect in statutory procedure shall be brought within 30 days of the intended effective date of the

ordinance.” 42 Pa. C.S. § 5571.1(b)(1).

13

Section 5524(6) provides that “[a]n action against any officer of any government unit for

the nonpayment of money or the nondelivery of property collected upon on execution or otherwise

in his possession,” “must be commenced within two years.” 42 Pa. C.S. § 5524(6).

20

as Retirees had no reason to be on notice that the Township was not following the

Pension Fund provisions and the Fiscal Code.

Although the Township argues that Retirees’ claims are subject to a 30-day or

2-year statute of limitations pursuant to, respectively, Sections 5571.1(b)(1) and

5524(6) of the Judicial Code, 42 Pa. C.S. §§ 5571.1(b)(1), 5524(6), we disagree.

Retirees’ Complaint does not allege any defect in procedure or enactment of the

2008 Ordinance. In their Complaint, Retirees assert only that the Township cannot

retroactively apply the 2008 Ordinance to them. Therefore, the 30-day statute of

limitations under Section 5571.1(b)(1) does not apply. Section 5524(6), a two-year

statute of limitations, also does not apply because Retirees did not file a complaint

for the nonpayment of money by a government officer, but rather sought a

declaration based upon the Township’s statutory and contractual duties.

Retirees filed their Complaint as an action for declaratory judgment, seeking,

among other things, an order declaring that the Township was unable to exclude the

Township Contribution as salary. Their Complaint can also be viewed as a contract

action because pension benefits are viewed as contractual rights that participating

members may enforce through actions brought under a theory of breach of contract,

Borough of Nanty Glo v. Fatula, 826 A.2d 58, 63-64 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003), and the

Complaint challenges the Township’s breach of its obligations under the Pension

Fund and the Deferred Compensation Plan governing documents. Both declaratory

judgment and contract actions are subject to a four-year statute of limitations.

Section 5525(a) of the Judicial Code, 42 Pa. C.S. § 5525(a); Green v. Pa. Prop. &

Cas. Ins. Guaranty Ass’n, 158 A.3d 653, 659 (Pa. Super. 2017) (citing Selective Way

Ins., Co. v. Hosp. Grp. Servs., Inc., 119 A.3d 1035, 1046 (Pa. Super. 2015) (en banc))

(holding that declaratory judgment actions relating to rights and duties under a

21

contract are subject to a four-year statute of limitations).14 Thus, whether viewed as

a declaratory judgment action or a contract action, Retirees’ Complaint is subject to

a four-year statute of limitations.

A statute of limitations begins to run when an action accrues and an action

accrues “when an actual controversy exists[, which is] where a case presents clearly

antagonistic positions or claims indicating imminent and inevitable litigation.”

Green, 158 A.3d at 660. However, under the discovery rule, the statute of limitations

may not begin to run until “the complaining party knows or reasonably should know

that he has been injured and that his injury has been caused by another party’s

conduct.” Crouse v. Cyclops Indus., 745 A.2d 606, 611 (Pa. 2000). Questions

regarding when a party’s injury and its cause are discovered or discoverable are

questions of fact, which an appellate court cannot decide. Id. at 612-13.

Here, the stipulations of fact entered into by the parties are insufficient to

determine when Retirees’ cause of action accrued or if the statute of limitations was

tolled. The stipulations of fact do not indicate when Retirees realized or should have

realized that the Township Contribution was not included in salary or when the

actual controversy existed. It is, therefore, unclear when the statute of limitations

began to run for each Retiree. Accordingly, we remand to the trial court for further

proceedings to develop facts to resolve the outstanding issues regarding the

application of the four-year statute of limitations to each Retiree’s claim.

c. Whether either party is entitled to counsel fees.

Finally, both parties assert that they are entitled to counsel fees. Retirees

argue that the Township has exhibited obdurate conduct that warrants counsel fees.

14

Although not binding on this Court, Superior Court decisions can be considered for their

persuasive value. A.S. v. Pa. State Police, 87 A.3d 914, 919 n.9 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2014).

22

In Retirees’ view, the Township blatantly disregarded the Fiscal Code and Pension

Fund ordinance, persisting in this conduct even after it acknowledged its

wrongdoing. Specifically, Retirees rely upon the memorandum sent by the then-

Township manager in response to the draft 1997 Act 205 actuarial study in which

the Township manager stated that the Township Contribution should not be included

as compensation.

The Township asserts that Retirees are not entitled to attorneys’ fees because

they have not stated a claim with factual evidence illustrating obdurate or vexatious

conduct throughout the litigation. Rather, the Township argues, Retirees have

engaged in vexatious conduct by “commenc[ing] a time-barred action to pursue

relief that they were never promised and never expected.” (The Township’s Br. at

59.) The Township contends that Retirees ignored the Township’s past practice,

which was acknowledged in the publicly available actuarial studies, and proceeded

to pursue this action relying upon a misrepresentation of case law, the Fiscal Code,

and Act 600. By asserting that the Township engaged in vexatious conduct without

providing evidence of such, the Township argues, Retirees have engaged in their

own vexatious conduct entitling it to attorneys’ fees.

Section 2503(7) of the Judicial Code provides that a party is entitled to

reasonable counsel fees “as a sanction against another participant for dilatory,

obdurate or vexatious conduct during the pendency of a matter.” 42 Pa. C.S.

§ 2503(7) (emphasis added). This Court has determined that a party acts vexatiously

when instituting suit “without sufficient grounds and serving only to cause

annoyance.” Springfield Twp., Bucks Cty. Bd. of Supervisors v. Gonzales, 632 A.2d

1353, 1356 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1993). Dilatory conduct exists where “the record

demonstrates that counsel displayed a lack of diligence that delayed proceedings

23

unnecessarily and caused additional legal work.” In re Estate of Burger, 852 A.2d

385, 391 (Pa. Super. 2004). Finally, obdurate conduct exists when a party is

“stubbornly persistent in wrongdoing.” Id. at 392 (citation omitted).

Retirees assert that the Township engaged in obdurate or vexatious conduct

because it knew since 1997 that the Township Contribution was not included in

salary, but it did not officially amend the definition of compensation until 2008. This

does not constitute vexatious conduct during the pendency of the matter but

relates to the Township’s actions prior to when Retirees filed suit. Further, Retirees

have not supported its request for counsel fees with any evidence that the Township

engaged in dilatory, obdurate, or vexatious conduct by persisting in wrongdoing or

lack of diligence resulting in delay. Nor has the Township met its burden of proof

on its request for counsel fees, as it points to no evidence to support its position that

Retirees lacked sufficient grounds for filing suit, acted with delay, or persisted in

wrongdoing during the course of the litigation. Therefore, neither party is entitled

to counsel fees.

IV. Conclusion

The Township was obligated by agreement under the Pension Fund ordinance,

the Deferred Compensation Plan, and the Fiscal Code to include the Township

Contribution as salary, regardless of the Township’s past practice otherwise.

Therefore, we reverse the trial court’s Order denying Retirees’ claims. Because the

Retirees’ claims are governed by a four-year statute of limitations, additional

evidence is required to determine when the claims accrued and to determine if any

claims are time-barred. Moreover, because the Township Contribution was not

included as salary for calculating Retirees’ contributions to the Pension Fund,

24

additional evidence is also required to determine what contributions to the Pension

Fund are owed in light of the foregoing opinion for any claims that are not time-

barred. We, therefore, remand to the trial court for further proceedings. Finally,

neither party has established that they are entitled to counsel fees.

_____________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

25

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Bernard A. D’Amour, William C. :

Boegly, Francis M. Higgins, Joseph :

Arrell, William Albany, George :

Clement, Henry Hasson, James Herzog, :

William Raquet and John Sheehan, :

Appellants :

:

v. : No. 957 C.D. 2018

:

Lower Merion Township and :

Board of Commissioners of :

The Township of Lower Merion and :

Board of Trustees of The Township of :

Lower Merion Police Pension Fund :

ORDER

NOW, August 30, 2019, the Order of the Court of Common Pleas of

Montgomery County is REVERSED and this matter is REMANDED for further

proceedings in accordance with the foregoing opinion.

Jurisdiction relinquished.

_____________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.