Opinion

Global Linguist Solutions, LLC v. Abdulraouf Abdelmeged

  • 913 F.3d 921
Court
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
Filed
Jan 16, 2019
Status
Published
Nature of suit
Agency
Cited by
8 cases
Authority
More cited than 63.3%

“Although other evidence in the record might adequately support a different conclusion, that evidence does not negate or nullify the substantial evidence supporting the ALJ’s conclusion.”

How later courts described this case

  • “Although other evidence in the record might adequately support a different conclusion, that evidence does not negate or nullify the substantial evidence supporting the ALJ’s conclusion.”
  • reaching result partly to avoid an unnecessary circuit split
  • “[W]e so hold to avoid an unnecessary circuit split.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GLOBAL LINGUIST SOLUTIONS, LLC; No. 17-72516

ZURICH AMERICAN INSURANCE

COMPANY, BRB No.

Petitioners, 17-0001

v.

OPINION

ABDULRAOUF ABDELMEGED; U.S.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR,

Respondents.

On Petition for Review of an Order of the

Benefits Review Board

Argued and Submitted December 20, 2018

San Francisco, California

Filed January 16, 2019

Before: Ronald M. Gould and Marsha S. Berzon, Circuit

Judges, and Rosemary Márquez, * District Judge.

Opinion by Judge Gould

*

The Honorable Rosemary Márquez, United States District Judge

for the District of Arizona, sitting by designation.

2 GLOBAL LINGUIST SOLUTIONS V. ABDELMEGED

SUMMARY **

Defense Base Act

The panel denied a petition for review brought by an

employer, and its insurer, challenging a decision by the

Benefits Review Board concluding that a linguist who

supported the military in Iraq was entitled to workers’

compensation under the Defense Base Act.

The panel held that petitions for review of compensation

orders arising under the Defense Base Act should be filed in

the circuit where the relevant district director is located. See

42 U.S.C. § 1653(b); 20 C.F.R. § 702.105.

The panel held that substantial evidence supported the

administrative law judge’s determination that beginning in

November 2009, the claimant met both the “medical” and

the “economic” aspect of “disability” as defined by the

statute. The panel also held that the ALJ applied the correct

legal standard when considering the evidence in this case.

The panel concluded that the ALJ correctly concluded that

the claimant met his burden to show that he was disabled.

**

This summary constitutes no part of the opinion of the court. It

has been prepared by court staff for the convenience of the reader.

GLOBAL LINGUIST SOLUTIONS V. ABDELMEGED 3

COUNSEL

Kelly F. Walsh (argued), Brown Sims, New Orleans,

Louisiana, for Petitioners.

Lara D. Merrigan (argued), Merrigan Legal, San Rafael,

California; John S. Evangelisti, Denver, Colorado; for

Respondent.

OPINION

GOULD, Circuit Judge:

Petitioner Global Linguist Solutions employed

Respondent Abdulraouf Abdelmeged as a linguist in Iraq,

supporting the American military, for two years. Almost

two years after he returned, Abdelmeged filed a workers’

compensation claim under the Defense Base Act, 42 U.S.C.

§ 1651, alleging among other things that PTSD caused by

his work in Iraq rendered him incapable of earning his

former wages. After two separate hearings before an

Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”), the Benefits Review

Board agreed that Abdelmeged could not work because of

his psychiatric condition that developed from or was

aggravated by employment in Iraq, and concluded that

Abdelmeged was entitled to compensation from the date he

returned from Iraq. Global Linguist Solutions and its

insurer, Zurich American Insurance Company, petitioned for

review. We deny the petition.

1. In Pearce v. Director, Office of Workers’

Compensation Programs, 603 F.2d 763 (9th Cir. 1979), we

determined that petitions for review of compensation orders

arising under the Defense Base Act are to be filed directly in

4 GLOBAL LINGUIST SOLUTIONS V. ABDELMEGED

the Court of Appeals. Id. at 765–71; see also Serv. Emps.

Int’l Union v. v. Dir., Office of Workers’ Comp. Programs,

595 F.3d 447, 452 (2d Cir. 2010) (noting circuit split as to

whether petitions seeking review under the Defense Base

Act should be filed initially in district courts or circuit

courts).

But we have not previously firmly resolved whether

petitions for review of compensation orders arising under the

Defense Base Act should be filed in the circuit where the

relevant district director is located, or in the circuit where the

ALJ’s office is located. See 33 U.S.C. § 921(c); 42 U.S.C.

§ 1653(b); Pearce, 603 F.2d at 765–71; Hice v. Dir., Office

of Workers’ Comp. Programs, U.S. Dep’t of Labor, 156 F.3d

214, 215−16 (D.C. Cir. 1998). Despite a dictum in Pearce

to the contrary, 1 we now hold that the location of the district

director should control.

The text of 42 U.S.C. § 1653(b) is quite clear: judicial

proceedings should occur in the location of “the office of the

1

Pearce held that petitions for review of workers’ compensation

orders under the Defense Base Act should be filed in the circuit courts,

rather than the district courts. In discussing its reasoning, it noted that:

We do not think that the substitution of an

administrative law judge for the deputy commissioner,

when there is a hearing, makes any difference. The

[provision] should now be treated as reading “wherein

is located the office of the deputy commissioner or the

administrative law judge whose compensation order is

involved.”

603 F.2d at 770−71. But the order at issue in Pearce was an order of a

deputy commissioner, and not an administrative law judge. Thus, that

statement was a non-binding dictum. See Miranda B v. Kitzhaber,

328 F.3d 1181, 1186 (9th Cir. 2003).

GLOBAL LINGUIST SOLUTIONS V. ABDELMEGED 5

deputy commissioner”—an alternative title for a district

director, 20 C.F.R. § 702.105—“whose compensation

order” is at issue. 42 U.S.C. § 1653(b); see also Hice,

156 F.3d at 215–16. This rule is also practical. The district

directors maintain primary responsibility for workers’

compensation claims and are assigned to claims based on

where the claimant lives. ALJs, by contrast, are assigned

randomly and may travel across the country from other

office locations for hearings, as occurred in this case.

Finally, we so hold to avoid an unnecessary circuit split. The

only other circuit to have squarely addressed this

discrepancy likewise held that appeals should be filed in the

location of the district director. Hice, 156 F.3d at 215−16.

2. Substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s

determination that beginning in November 2009,

Abdelmeged met both the “medical” and the “economic”

aspect of “disability” as defined by the statute. See

33 U.S.C. § 902(10); Stevens v. Dir., Office Workers’ Comp.

Programs, 909 F.2d 1256, 1258–59 (9th Cir. 1990), as

amended (Aug. 7, 1990). That evidence includes

Abdelmeged’s credible testimony, the opinion of his treating

psychiatrist, and his demonstrated inability to earn his

former wages upon his return from Iraq. Although other

evidence in the record might adequately support a different

conclusion, that evidence does not negate or nullify the

substantial evidence supporting the ALJ’s conclusion. See

Gen. Constr. Co. v. Castro, 401 F.3d 963, 965 (9th Cir.

2005).

The ALJ reasonably relied on the opinion of the treating

psychiatrist, Dr. Pock. Dr. Pock was qualified to express an

opinion about how Abdelmeged’s condition affected him in

the past; Dr. Pock’s opinion was supported by

Abdelmeged’s credible testimony. And the evidence that

6 GLOBAL LINGUIST SOLUTIONS V. ABDELMEGED

Dr. Pock did not consider, including Abdelmeged’s previous

medical records and request for unemployment benefits, did

not necessarily conflict with Dr. Pock’s opinion.

The ALJ applied the correct legal standard when

considering the evidence in this case. See Dir., Office of

Workers’ Comp. Programs, Dep’t of Labor v. Greenwich

Collieries, 512 U.S. 267, 276 (1994). For the reasons

discussed above, substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s

finding that the evidence weighed in Abdelmeged’s favor.

We hold that the ALJ correctly concluded that Abdelmeged

met his burden to show that he was disabled.

PETITION FOR REVIEW DENIED.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.