Opinion

Robert A. Hanks v. First American Title Insurance Company

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
May 16, 2018
Status
Published
On the bench
Chief Judge D. Michael Swinery
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 4.4%

The opinion

05/16/2018

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT NASHVILLE

January 9, 2018 Session

ROBERT A. HANKS, ET AL. v. FIRST AMERICAN TITLE

INSURANCE CO.

Appeal from the Chancery Court for Sumner County

No. 2015-CV-42 Louis W. Oliver, III, Chancellor

No. M2017-00560-COA-R3-CV

Robert A. Hanks and Lee E. Hanks (“Plaintiffs”) sued First American Title Insurance Co.

(“First American”) for breach of contract with regard to an owner’s title insurance policy

(“Title Policy”). First American filed a motion for summary judgment. After a hearing,

the Chancery Court for Sumner County (“the Trial Court”) granted summary judgment to

First American after finding and holding, inter alia, that the Title Policy excluded any

claim pursuant to either federal bankruptcy code or Tennessee law for an alleged

fraudulent conveyance, fraudulent transfer, or preferential transfer. Plaintiffs appeal the

grant of summary judgment to this Court. We find and hold that First American made a

properly supported motion for summary judgment demonstrating that Plaintiffs’ evidence

is insufficient to establish an essential element of their claim and that Plaintiffs failed to

demonstrate that there are genuine disputed issues of material fact with regard to the

claims for fraudulent conveyance or fraudulent transfer. We further find and hold that

the claim for post-petition transfer is not excluded from coverage pursuant to exclusion 4

of the Title Policy, and, therefore, summary judgment on the post-petition claim was

improper. We, therefore, affirm the grant of summary judgment, in part, and reverse it,

in part, and remand this case to the Trial Court for further proceedings consistent with

this Opinion.

Tenn. R. App. P. 3 Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Chancery Court

Affirmed, in part; Reversed, in part; Case Remanded

D. MICHAEL SWINEY, C.J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which RICHARD H.

DINKINS and W. NEAL MCBRAYER, JJ., joined.

E. Covington Johnston, Jr., Franklin, Tennessee, for the appellants, Robert A. Hanks and

Lee E. Hanks.

Reba Brown and Brad W. Craig, Nashville, Tennessee, for the appellee, First American

Title Insurance Co.

OPINION

Background

Plaintiffs own real property located on Valley Brook Drive in Sumner County,

Tennessee (“the Property”), which they purchased by Warranty Deed from Charles R.

Dennie and Joanne R. Dennie (“the Dennies”) on October 11, 2013. Charles Dennie is

the son of Plaintiff Lee E. Hanks and the step-son of Plaintiff Robert Hanks. The

Dennies had filed a Chapter 7 bankruptcy petition on October 10, 2013, the day before

the transfer of the Property. The bankruptcy petition listed the Property as one of the

Dennies’ assets. At the closing on the Property, the Dennies executed an affidavit as to

liens and encumbrances stating that no proceedings in bankruptcy or receivership had

been instituted against them.

In connection with the closing on the Property, Plaintiffs executed a note and deed

of trust in the amount of $153,000 payable to CMG Mortgage, Inc. Plaintiffs also

purchased the Title Policy from First American. In pertinent part, the Title Policy

provides:

EXCLUSIONS FROM COVERAGE

The following matters are expressly excluded from the coverage of this

policy, and the Company will not pay loss or damage, costs, attorneys’ fees,

or expenses that arise by reason of:

***

3. Defects, liens, encumbrances, adverse claims, or other matters

(a) created, suffered, assumed, or agreed to by the Insured Claimant;

(b) not Known to the Company, not recorded in the Public Records at Date

of Policy, but Known to the Insured Claimant and not disclosed in writing

to the Company by the Insured Claimant prior to the date the Insured

Claimant became an insured under this policy.

(c) resulting in no loss or damage to the Insured Claimant;

(d) attaching or created subsequent to Date of Policy (however, this does

not modify or limit the coverage provided under Covered Risk 9 and 10); or

2

(e) resulting in loss or damage that would not have been sustained if the

Insured Claimant had paid value for the Title.

4. Any claim, by reason of the operation of federal bankruptcy, state

insolvency, or similar creditors’ rights laws, that the transaction vesting the

Title as shown in Schedule A, is

(a) a fraudulent conveyance or fraudulent transfer; or

(b) a preferential transfer for any reason not stated in Covered Risk 9 of this

policy.

The bankruptcy trustee (“Bankruptcy Trustee”) filed a complaint on December 9,

2013 in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Middle District of Tennessee seeking

to void the transfer of the Property alleging that the transfer was a fraudulent transfer

under state law, a fraudulent transfer pursuant to the bankruptcy code, and an invalid

post-petition transfer under federal law. In pertinent part, the complaint filed by the

Bankruptcy Trustee specifically alleged:

22. The Trustee, on behalf of the bankruptcy estate of the [Dennies]

and on behalf the [sic] [Dennies’] unsecured creditors, is entitled to avoid,

and recover back, all such fraudulent transfers, pursuant to, among other

things, Tennessee’s law against fraudulent conveyances, T.C.A. § 66-3-

101, et seq., and Tennessee’s codification of the Uniform Fraudulent

Transfers Act, T.C.A. § 66-3-301, et seq., which include strong-arm

provisions afforded to the Trustee pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 544(b).

***

27. The Trustee is entitled to avoid, and recover back, on behalf of

the [Dennies’] bankruptcy estate, all such fraudulent transfers, pursuant to,

among other things, the United States Bankruptcy Code’s Section

prohibiting fraudulent transfers, 11 U.S.C. § 548.

***

33. Trustee is entitled to avoid, and recover back, all such invalid

post-petition transfers pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 549. Pursuant to 11 U.S.C.

§§ 550 and 551, [the Trustee] is entitled to recover back the avoided

property or the value thereof, and such avoidances are recovered for the

benefit of the estate.

3

Plaintiffs notified First American of the claim. First American investigated and

determined that Plaintiffs were related to the Dennies, that Plaintiffs agreed to purchase

the Property for $170,000, that CMG Mortgage Inc., in anticipation of closing, had

obtained an appraisal valuing the Property at $260,000, that at closing two mortgages

totaling approximately $132,500 were paid off, that the Dennies had received

approximately $29,515 in cash at closing, that the Dennies had filed for bankruptcy the

day before closing, and that the Dennies had executed the affidavit as to liens and

encumbrances at closing.

First American refused Plaintiffs’ claim. Plaintiffs paid $65,000 to the

Bankruptcy Trustee to clear title to the Property and extinguish claims and liens, and an

agreed order of voluntary dismissal was entered in the bankruptcy case. Plaintiffs sued

First American for breach of contract.

First American filed a motion for summary judgment alleging that Plaintiffs could

not prove breach of contract as their claim was excluded under the Title Policy. Plaintiffs

opposed the motion for summary judgment and filed the affidavits of Plaintiffs. In their

affidavits, Plaintiffs each asserted that they paid $170,000 for the Property, that they had

no knowledge of the bankruptcy at the time of the closing on the Property, that prior to

the closing they had advanced approximately $35,000 to the Dennies to improve the

Property, that the appraised value of the Property on March 1, 2013 was $148,500, and

that they had obtained a mortgage on the Property in the approximate amount of

$150,000. Plaintiffs’ affidavits assert that a copy of the March 2013 appraisal is attached

to the affidavits, but the appraisal is not included in the record on appeal. Plaintiffs also

filed the affidavits of the Dennies in which the Dennies asserted similar facts to those

asserted in Plaintiffs’ affidavits and also asserted that the value of the Property was listed

as $163,000 in the bankruptcy petition and that they had not informed Plaintiffs about the

bankruptcy prior to the closing on the Property.

After a hearing, the Trial Court granted First American summary judgment after

finding and holding, inter alia, that pursuant to exclusion number 4 the clear language of

the Title Policy excludes ‘any claim’ brought under the federal bankruptcy code or

Tennessee state law alleging a fraudulent conveyance, a fraudulent transfer, or a

preferential transfer, and that this is so despite the fact that Plaintiffs dispute that the

transfer was fraudulent and assert that the claim was settled without admission of

liability.

Plaintiffs filed a motion to alter or amend alleging that the Trial Court erred

because the transfer was not on its face a fraudulent conveyance and also alleging that the

third claim in the complaint filed by the Bankruptcy Trustee was for an invalid post-

petition transfer, which Plaintiffs allege is not excluded from coverage under the Title

4

Policy. First American responded to the motion to alter or amend asserting that

Plaintiffs’ motion to alter or amend was merely another attempt to argue their same point

and that the third claim in the complaint filed by the Bankruptcy Trustee is excluded

under exclusion number 3 in the Title Policy. The Trial Court denied the motion to alter

or amend after finding that the third claim also was excluded under exclusion number 4

of the Title Policy. Plaintiffs appeal to this Court.

Discussion

Plaintiffs raise one issue on appeal: whether the Trial Court erred in granting First

American’s motion for summary judgment. First American raises an additional issue

regarding whether the Trial Court erred in finding that exclusions 3(a) and 3(e) did not

apply to Plaintiffs’ claims.1

As our Supreme Court has instructed:

Summary judgment is appropriate when “the pleadings, depositions,

answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact

and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.”

Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.04. We review a trial court’s ruling on a motion for

summary judgment de novo, without a presumption of correctness. Bain v.

Wells, 936 S.W.2d 618, 622 (Tenn. 1997); see also Abshure v. Methodist

Healthcare–Memphis Hosp., 325 S.W.3d 98, 103 (Tenn. 2010). In doing

so, we make a fresh determination of whether the requirements of Rule 56

of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure have been satisfied. Estate of

Brown, 402 S.W.3d 193, 198 (Tenn. 2013) (citing Hughes v. New Life Dev.

Corp., 387 S.W.3d 453, 471 (Tenn. 2012)).

***

1

In its brief on appeal, First American argues that the Trial Court ruled upon this issue and cites to the

transcript of the hearing on the motion to alter or amend in support of this assertion. As our Supreme

Court has stated: “the court speaks through its order, not through the transcript.” In re Adoption of

E.N.R., 42 S.W.3d 26, 31 (Tenn. 2001). In its order granting summary judgment, the Trial Court made no

determination as to whether exclusions 3(a) or 3(e) of the Title Policy applied, but rather based its

decision to grant summary judgment solely upon exclusion 4. In its order denying Plaintiffs’ motion to

alter or amend, the Trial Court found that the Bankruptcy Trustee’s claim for relief for an invalid post-

petition transfer also was excluded under exclusion 4 of the Title Policy and did not address exclusions

3(a) or 3 (e). As the Trial Court did not address the issue of whether exclusions 3(a) or 3(e) applied, the

issue is not properly before this Court.

5

[I]n Tennessee, as in the federal system, when the moving party does not

bear the burden of proof at trial, the moving party may satisfy its burden of

production either (1) by affirmatively negating an essential element of the

nonmoving party’s claim or (2) by demonstrating that the nonmoving

party’s evidence at the summary judgment stage is insufficient to establish

the nonmoving party’s claim or defense. We reiterate that a moving party

seeking summary judgment by attacking the nonmoving party’s evidence

must do more than make a conclusory assertion that summary judgment is

appropriate on this basis. Rather, Tennessee Rule 56.03 requires the

moving party to support its motion with “a separate concise statement of

material facts as to which the moving party contends there is no genuine

issue for trial.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.03. “Each fact is to be set forth in a

separate, numbered paragraph and supported by a specific citation to the

record.” Id. When such a motion is made, any party opposing summary

judgment must file a response to each fact set forth by the movant in the

manner provided in Tennessee Rule 56.03. “[W]hen a motion for summary

judgment is made [and] . . . supported as provided in [Tennessee Rule 56],”

to survive summary judgment, the nonmoving party “may not rest upon the

mere allegations or denials of [its] pleading,” but must respond, and by

affidavits or one of the other means provided in Tennessee Rule 56, “set

forth specific facts” at the summary judgment stage “showing that there is a

genuine issue for trial.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.06. The nonmoving party

“must do more than simply show that there is some metaphysical doubt as

to the material facts.” Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., 475 U.S. at 586, 106 S.

Ct. 1348. The nonmoving party must demonstrate the existence of specific

facts in the record which could lead a rational trier of fact to find in favor of

the nonmoving party. If a summary judgment motion is filed before

adequate time for discovery has been provided, the nonmoving party may

seek a continuance to engage in additional discovery as provided in

Tennessee Rule 56.07. However, after adequate time for discovery has

been provided, summary judgment should be granted if the nonmoving

party’s evidence at the summary judgment stage is insufficient to establish

the existence of a genuine issue of material fact for trial. Tenn. R. Civ. P.

56.04, 56.06. The focus is on the evidence the nonmoving party comes

forward with at the summary judgment stage, not on hypothetical evidence

that theoretically could be adduced, despite the passage of discovery

deadlines, at a future trial.

Rye v. Women’s Care Cntr. of Memphis, MPLLC, 477 S.W.3d 235, 250, 264-65 (Tenn.

2015).

6

In addressing the issue raised, we will consider first the claims made by the

Bankruptcy Trustee of fraudulent transfer pursuant to federal bankruptcy and Tennessee

state law. Then we will discuss the claim made by the Bankruptcy Trustee with regard to

post-petition tranfer.

In their brief on appeal, Plaintiffs argue that exclusion number 4 of the Title Policy

is not applicable because the Bankruptcy Trustee would not be able to prove that the

transfer of the Property to Plaintiffs was a fraudulent conveyance or a preferential

transfer. Plaintiffs have missed the point.

The Trial Court construed the plain and unambiguous language contained in

exclusion 4 of the Title Policy and found and held, inter alia:

The Exclusions From Coverage in the instant Owners Policy clearly

exclude (in paragraph numbered 4.) coverage for “ANY CLAIM” made and

does not separate valid or invalid, disputed or undisputed, claim but “ANY

CLAIM”. The language is unambigusous and clear that the Defendant

First American Title Insurance Company would not have to defend a claim

brought under the Federal Bankruptcy Code or Tennessee State law which

alleged a fraudulent conveyance, a fraudulent transfer or a preferential

transfer.

We interpret contracts of insurance using the same principles of construction as

are used for interpreting any other contracts. Swanson v. Mid-South Title Ins. Corp., 692

S.W.2d 415, 419 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1985). As this Court explained in Quebecor Printing

Corp. v. L & B Mfg. Co.:

In resolving a dispute concerning contract interpretation, our task is to

ascertain the intention of the parties based upon the usual, natural, and

ordinary meaning of the contract language. Planters Gin Co. v. Fed.

Compress & Warehouse Co., Inc., 78 S.W.3d 885, 889–90 (Tenn.

2002)(citing Guiliano v. Cleo, Inc., 995 S.W.2d 88, 95 (Tenn. 1999)). A

determination of the intention of the parties “is generally treated as a

question of law because the words of the contract are definite and

undisputed, and in deciding the legal effect of the words, there is no

genuine factual issue left for a jury to decide.” Planters Gin Co., 78

S.W.3d at 890 (citing 5 Joseph M. Perillo, Corbin on Contracts, § 24.30

(rev. ed. 1998)); Doe v. HCA Health Servs. of Tenn., Inc., 46 S.W.3d 191,

196 (Tenn. 2001)). The central tenet of contract construction is that the

intent of the contracting parties at the time of executing the agreement

7

should govern. Planters Gin Co., 78 S.W.3d at 890. The parties’ intent is

presumed to be that specifically expressed in the body of the contract. “In

other words, the object to be attained in construing a contract is to ascertain

the meaning and intent of the parties as expressed in the language used and

to give effect to such intent if it does not conflict with any rule of law, good

morals, or public policy.” Id. (quoting 17 Am.Jur.2d, Contracts, § 245).

This Court’s initial task in construing the [contract] at issue, as was

the Trial Court’s, is to determine whether the language of the contract is

ambiguous. Planters Gin Co., 78 S.W.3d at 890. If the language is clear

and unambiguous, the literal meaning of the language controls the outcome

of the dispute. Id. A contract is ambiguous only when its meaning is

uncertain and may fairly be understood in more than one way. Id.

(emphasis added). If the contract is found to be ambiguous, we then apply

established rules of construction to determine the intent of the parties. Id.

Only if ambiguity remains after applying the pertinent rules of construction

does the legal meaning of the contract become a question of fact. Id.

***

It is not the role of this Court “to make a different contract than that

executed by the parties.” Posner v. Posner, No. 02A01-9710-CV-00249,

1997 WL 796216, at *2–3, 1997 Tenn. App. LEXIS 930, at *6 (Tenn. Ct.

App. Dec. 30, 1997), no appl. perm. appeal filed. See also, e.g., Central

Drug Store v. Adams, 184 Tenn. 541, 201 S.W.2d 682 (1947). “In the

absence of fraud or mistake, a contract must be interpreted and enforced as

written even though it contains terms which may be thought to be harsh or

unjust.” Tenpenny v. Tenpenny, No. 01-A-01-9406-CV-00296, 1995 WL

70571, at *6, 1995 Tenn. App. LEXIS 105, at *15 (Tenn. Ct. App. Feb. 22,

1995), appl. perm. appeal denied July 3, 1995.

Quebecor Printing Corp. v. L & B Mfg. Co., 209 S.W.3d 565, 578–81 (Tenn. Ct. App.

2006). This Court further has noted:

“Like other policies of insurance, title policies are liberally construed

against the insurer and in favor of the insured.” Walker Rogge, Inc. v.

Chelsea Title & Guaranty Co., 116 N.J. 517, 529, 562 A.2d 208 (1989).

“Notwithstanding that principle of construction, courts should not write for

the insured a better policy of insurance than the one purchased.” Id. (citing

Last v. West Am. Ins. Co., 139 N.J.Super. 456, 460, 354 A.2d 364

(App.Div.1976)).

8

The Peoples Bank v. Troutman, No. E2014-01150-COA-R3-CV, 2015 WL 4511540, at

*7 (Tenn. Ct. App. July 27, 2015), Rule 11 appl. perm. appeal denied Nov. 24, 2015

(quoting Wolf v. Clack, No. E2009–01126–COA–R3–CV, 2009 WL 5173715 at *4–5

(Tenn. Ct. App. Dec. 30, 2009), no appl. perm. appeal filed (other internal citations

omitted)).

Plaintiffs argue in their brief on appeal that the Bankruptcy Trustee would be

unable to prove that the transfer of the Property was fraudulent or preferential. Whether

this assertion is true or not, however, is immaterial to the issue now before us. The clear

and unambiguous language of exclusion 4 of the Title Policy specifically excludes: “Any

claim, by reason of the operation of federal bankruptcy, state insolvency, or similar

creditors’ rights laws, that the transaction vesting the Title . . . is . . . a fraudulent

conveyance or fraudulent transfer; or . . . a preferential transfer . . . .” The Title Policy

states “Any claim . . . .” The language could not be clearer. It does not state any ‘valid

claim,’ any ‘proven claim,’ any ‘undisputed claim,’ or other similar qualifying language.

Rather, exclusion 4 of the Title Policy clearly and unambiguously excludes “Any claim . .

.,” and the Bankruptcy Trustee filed a claim alleging that the transfer of the Property was

a fraudulent transfer or preferential transfer under both federal and Tennessee state law.

As the Bankruptcy Trustee made a claim of fraudulent or preferential transfer

under federal law and Tennessee state law, and the Title Policy clearly and

unambiguously provides an exception for any such claim, First American demonstrated

that Plaintiffs would be unable to prove breach of contract. The burden then shifted to

Plaintiffs to show that there are genuine disputed issues of material fact.

In their response to the motion for summary judgment and the accompanying

affidavits, Plaintiffs showed that there are disputed issues of fact with regard to whether

Plaintiffs had knowledge of the bankruptcy prior to the transfer of the Property and

whether Plaintiffs paid full value for the Property. These disputed issues, however, do

not address exclusion 4 of the Title Policy, which as discussed above, excludes: “Any

claim, by reason of the operation of federal bankruptcy, state insolvency, or similar

creditors’ rights laws, that the transaction vesting the Title . . . is . . . a fraudulent

conveyance or fraudulent transfer; or . . . a preferential transfer . . . .” Plaintiffs failed to

show that there are any genuine disputed issues of material fact with regard to First

American’s motion based upon exclusion 4 of the Title Policy with regard to the claims

for fraudulent transfer “by reason of the operation of federal bankruptcy, state insolvency,

or similar creditors’ rights laws . . . .” As First American made a properly supported

motion for summary judgment negating an essential element of Plaintiffs’ claim and

Plaintiffs failed to show any genuine disputed issues of material fact, we find no error in

9

the Trial Court’s grant of summary judgment to First American with regard to the

Bankruptcy Trustee’s claims of fraudulent transfer.

With regard to the Bankruptcy Trustee’s claim regarding a post-petition transfer,

however, the analysis differs. Specifically, the Bankruptcy Trustee made a claim to

recover back for an “invalid post-petition transfer[] pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 549.” The

Bankruptcy Trustee did not allege a violation of Tennessee state law with regard to this

specific claim. Plaintiffs argue that post-petition transfers are not fraudulent transfers

pursuant to federal bankruptcy code, and therefore, that the claim for the post-petition

transfer is not excluded by exclusion 4 in the Title Policy.

In pertinent part, the bankruptcy code provides that fraudulent transfers and

obligations are ones “made or incurred on or within 2 years before the date of the filing

of the petition . . . .” 11 U.S.C.A. § 548 (2005). Obviously, the post-petition transfer of

the Property, however, did not occur on or before the date the Dennies filed the petition

for bankruptcy. As such, the claim made by the Bankruptcy Trustee regarding the post-

petition transfer is not a claim of a fraudulent conveyance or fraudulent transfer under the

federal bankruptcy code and does not fall within the ambit of exclusion 4 of the Title

Policy. As the claim for post-petition transfer was not excluded pursuant to exclusion 4

of the Title Policy, summary judgment on this basis with regard to this claim was

improper.

As discussed above, there are genuine disputed issues of material fact with regard

to whether Plaintiffs knew about the bankruptcy prior to the transfer of the Property and

whether Plaintiffs paid adequate value for the Property. To paraphrase Senator Howard

Baker in the Senate Watergate hearings: “What did the Plaintiffs know and when did they

know it?” Development of these issues could result in the claim for post-petition transfer

being excluded pursuant to exclusion 3 of the Title Policy. Such disputed issues,

however, preclude a grant of summary judgment on this issue at this time. Furthermore,

as noted above, specifically in footnote 1, the Trial Court did not address whether the

claim for post-petition transfer was excluded under exclusion 3 of the Title Policy.

We affirm the grant of summary judgment with regard to the claims for fraudulent

transfer as First American made a properly supported motion for summary judgment

negating an essential element of Plaintiffs’ claim with regard to these claims and there are

no genuine disputed issues of material fact. We reverse the grant of summary judgment

with regard to the claim for post-petition transfer as this claim is not excluded pursuant to

exclusion 4 of the Title Policy, and there are genuine disputed issues of material fact with

regard to this claim as relevant to exclusion 3 of the Title Policy.

10

Conclusion

The judgment of the Trial Court granting summary judgment to First American is

affirmed, in part, and reversed, in part, and this cause is remanded to the Trial Court for

further proceedings consistent with this Opinion and for collection of the costs below.

The costs on appeal are assessed one-half against the appellants, Robert A. Hanks and

Lee E. Hanks, and their surety; and one-half against the appellee, First American Title

Insurance Co.

_________________________________

D. MICHAEL SWINEY, CHIEF JUDGE

11

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.