Opinion

Smith v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (Supervalu Holdings PA, LLC)

  • 177 A.3d 394
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Jan 5, 2018
Status
Published
On the bench
Leavitt, Jubelirer, Simpson, Brobson, McCullough, Wojcik, Cosgrove
Cited by
8 cases
Authority
More cited than 4.1%

first citing A & J Builders, Inc. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Verdi), 78 A.3d 1233 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2013); and then citing Furnari v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Temple Inland), 90 A.3d 53 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2014)

How later courts described this case

  • first citing A & J Builders, Inc. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Verdi), 78 A.3d 1233 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2013); and then citing Furnari v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Temple Inland), 90 A.3d 53 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2014)

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Dennis Smith, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 796 C.D. 2016

: Argued: September 13, 2017

Workers' Compensation Appeal :

Board (Supervalu Holdings PA, LLC), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE ROBERT SIMPSON, Judge

HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE JOSEPH M. COSGROVE, Judge1

OPINION

BY JUDGE SIMPSON FILED: January 5, 2018

Dennis Smith (Claimant) petitions for review of an order of the

Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (Board) that affirmed an order of a Workers'

Compensation Judge (WCJ) granting a modification petition filed by Claimant’s

employer, Supervalu Holdings PA, LLC (Employer). Based upon a labor market

survey showing five available positions within Claimant’s medical restrictions with

an average pay of $400.56 per week, the WCJ modified Claimant’s weekly benefits

to the rate of $394.63. Claimant contends the Board erred in finding substantial

evidence for the WCJ’s modification of his benefits, and that the Board further erred

in concluding that the WCJ properly applied the principles established by the

Supreme Court in Phoenixville Hospital v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board

1

This decision was reached before the conclusion of Judge Cosgrove’s service with this

Court on December 31, 2017.

(Shoap), 81 A.3d 830 (Pa. 2013). Upon review, we affirm as modified by this

opinion.

I. Background

In February 2011, Claimant sustained a work injury to his head and

neck when a case of store products, weighing approximately eight or nine pounds,

fell from a shelf above him and struck his head. A temporary notice of compensation

payable, which later converted to a notice of compensation payable (NCP),

described the accepted injuries as a cervical strain/sprain. Pursuant to the NCP,

Claimant began receiving benefits at the rate of $661.67 per week based upon an

average weekly wage (AWW) of $992.50.

In November 2013, Employer filed a modification petition seeking to

modify Claimant’s benefits as of April 28, 2013. Employer’s petition further alleged

Claimant had an earning power of $440.00 per week, which would reduce

Claimant’s weekly benefit to $368.33. Claimant filed an answer denying the

material allegations of Employer’s modification petition. Employer also requested

a supersedeas, which the WCJ denied.

In addition, in March 2014 Employer filed a suspension petition

alleging Claimant was offered a medical procedure highly likely to cure his disability

and return him to gainful employment. Although the procedure had a low potential

risk, Claimant nevertheless refused the procedure. Claimant filed a timely answer

denying Employer’s material allegations. Employer again requested a supersedeas,

which the WCJ denied.

2

During the WCJ’s proceedings, Employer presented deposition

testimony from Dr. Jeffrey A. Baum (Employer’s Physician), a physician board

certified in orthopedic surgery. Employer’s Physician first treated Claimant for a

work injury in July 2008 which resulted in numbness, tingling and pain in his upper

left extremity. In December 2008, Employer’s Physician performed a two-level

cervical discectomy and fusion. Claimant did well following the surgery and

returned to his forklift driver position. In April 2010, Employer’s Physician

discharged Claimant from his care.

In June 2011, following his second work injury in February 2011,

Claimant returned to Employer’s Physician’s care. Claimant provided a history of

his new work injury and reported symptoms of pain and spasm in his neck.

Employer’s Physician continued to see Claimant over the next several months,

during which time Claimant underwent physical therapy. Claimant continued to

report some spasm in his neck, especially if he would repetitively extend his neck

backward.

In June 2012, Claimant returned to Employer’s Physician’s office and

saw his partner, Dr. Smith (Partner Physician). At that time, Claimant had more pain

and spasm in his neck. Claimant underwent a three-dimensional CT scan, which

revealed that his earlier bone graft did not completely fuse the vertebral bodies.

Partner Physician advised Claimant of the failure of the fusion and informed him

that the standard treatment for a failed anterior fusion is to do a posterior segmental

fusion. Employer’s Physician testified that studies indicated an 80% chance that the

proposed surgery would resolve Claimant’s symptoms. Further, although

3

Employer's Physician could not guarantee that Claimant could return to the pre-

injury job following the proposed surgery, the doctor testified Claimant would be

capable of performing some type of employment with restrictions.

Employer’s Physician further testified that in late May or early June of

2013, he was provided with job analyses for the following positions: dispatcher for

the American Automobile Association (AAA); dispatcher with Vector Security;

dispatcher with St. Moritz Security Services, Inc.; and, security guard with Am-

Guard Security, Inc.

Employer also submitted deposition testimony from a vocational

rehabilitation counselor, Nikki Davies (Vocational Counselor). She testified that the

Department of Labor and Industry approved her to conduct interviews and assess

earning power under the Workers' Compensation Act2 (Act). Vocational Counselor

first reviewed information provided by Employer’s Physician regarding Claimant’s

restrictions. Claimant could not lift over 25 pounds with no repetitive overhead

lifting and no repetitive neck extensions.

During an interview, Claimant provided Vocational Counselor with a

history of his work injury and his employment. Prior to working for Employer,

Claimant worked as a lot attendant for Kenny Ross Chevrolet. Utilizing Claimant’s

work history, educational background and work restrictions, Vocational Counselor

performed a transferable skills analysis.

2

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§1-1041.4, 2501-2708.

4

Based upon her transferable skills analysis and her interview with

Claimant, Vocational Counselor identified five open and available positions within

Claimant’s vocational and medical restrictions, and which were located within

Claimant’s geographic area. These positions included dispatcher at AAA; alarm

dispatcher operator at Vector Security; dispatcher at St. Moritz Security Services,

Inc.; and, two security guard positions with Am Guard Security, Inc.

Vocational Counselor further testified that the weekly pay for the five

positions ranged from $360.00 to $440.00 per week. This would equate to an AWW

of $400.56.

Before the WCJ, Claimant testified he worked for Employer for 27

years at different positions including forklift operator and loader. Claimant

sustained his first work injury in 2008 and began treating with Employer’s

Physician, who performed cervical fusion surgery and placed hardware in

Claimant’s neck. Following surgery, Claimant returned to work as a lift operator.

After being bumped for seniority reasons, Claimant began working at

the selector position, where he sustained a work injury in February 2011. Claimant

was helping a lift operator put cases on overhead shelves when a case slipped and

hit him in the head. Following the incident, Employer’s Physician removed him

from work and prescribed therapy.

In September 2011, Claimant returned to light duty work in the dairy

warehouse. He worked in that position until May or June 2012. During that time,

5

he continued to experience pain and spasms in his neck. Employer’s Physician

removed him from work in June 2012. Diagnostic studies revealed a non-union of

the grafts in his cervical spine. Employer’s Physician discussed possible surgery to

address the non-union of the grafts. However, Claimant continued, Employer’s

Physician informed him that fixing the non-union would not make him any better.

Further, Claimant testified Employer’s Physician never told him there would be an

80% chance that he would have a pretty good resolution of his symptoms. Thus,

Claimant testified he was afraid to undergo the proposed surgery, which would not

enable him to return to his pre-injury job.

Claimant also testified about meeting with Vocational Counselor and

applying for the five positions she identified as being available for him. Claimant

submitted a resume online to St. Moritz Security Services for the dispatcher position.

However, St. Moritz never contacted him or offered him employment. Claimant

further testified he never worked as a dispatcher.

Claimant also submitted an application to Vector Security for the alarm

dispatch position. However, Vector Security never contacted him or offered him

employment. Claimant testified the position required moderate to advanced

keyboarding skills, which he did not have.

Claimant also contacted AAA about the dispatcher job and spoke to Liz

Jackson in Human Resources. Jackson instructed Claimant to submit a resume,

which he did. However, AAA never contacted him or offered him employment.

6

In addition, Claimant contacted Am-Guard about the two security guard

positions. Claimant spoke with a gentleman who instructed him to go to the Career

Link Center in Youngwood and complete an application. Claimant completed the

applications and was interviewed for the positions. However, Claimant received no

further contact from Am-Guard, and Am-Guard never offered him employment.

Claimant further testified he applied for numerous other positions on

his own. However, nobody interviewed him or offered him employment.

Ultimately, the WCJ accepted Vocational Counselor’s testimony as

credible and persuasive. WCJ’s Op., 12/29/14, Finding of Fact (F.F.) No. 11.

Although Claimant testified he applied for each of the five positions and was not

hired, the WCJ found “there is nothing in the record to indicate that the five job

positions were not open and available at the time of his application process, nor is

there any evidence in the record to indicate that they were already filled, and did not

exist.” Id. Consequently, based on Vocational Counselor’s testimony that the five

positions equated to an AWW of $400.56, the WCJ reduced Claimant’s AWW as

follows: $992.50 - $400.56 = 591.94 x 66 2/3% = $394.63 weekly benefit rate,

effective April 28, 2013. Id.

In addition, the WCJ found, based on Employer’s Physician’s

testimony, that the proposed posterior segmental fusion surgery would not decrease

Claimant’s disability or restore any of his earning power. F.F. No. 12. Therefore,

the WCJ determined Claimant’s reluctance to undergo the posterior segmental

fusion did not amount to a refusal of reasonable medical treatment. Id.

7

Consequently, the WCJ denied Employer’s suspension petition.

However, the WCJ granted Employer’s modification petition and modified

Claimant’s weekly benefit rate to $394.63, effective April 28, 2013.

Both parties appealed to the Board, which affirmed the WCJ’s decision.

In affirming the WCJ’s grant of Employer’s modification petition, the Board rejected

Claimant’s arguments that the positions were not within his vocational capabilities

and geographic area. To that end, the Board noted Vocational Counselor’s testimony

that the five positions fell within Claimant’s transferable skills analysis. Bd. Op.,

4/19/16, at 10. The Board further observed that Vocational Counselor testified that

for someone living where Claimant did in Lowber, Pennsylvania, Westmoreland

County and Allegheny County would be considered normal geographic areas for

finding employment. Id. at 11. In particular, Vocational Counselor testified that

each of the five identified positions were located within the normal geographical

range for someone where Claimant lived to find employment. Id.

The Board also rejected Claimant’s arguments that the positions must

be open and available, and that the WCJ shifted the burden to Claimant to prove that

the positions were not available, thereby improperly applying Phoenixville.

Section 306(b)(2) of the Act,3 which discusses how a partially disabled

claimant’s “earning power” shall be determined, states: “Disability partial in

character shall apply if the employe is able to perform his previous work or can,

3

Added by the Act of June 24, 1996, P.L. 350, as amended.

8

considering the employe’s residual productive skill, education, age and work

experience, engage in any other kind of substantial gainful employment which exists

in the usual employment area in which the employe lives within this

Commonwealth.” 77 P.S. §512(2) (emphasis added). The Board recognized that

the Supreme Court interpreted the phrase “substantial gainful employment which

exists” to mean the “existence of meaningful employment opportunities, and not the

simple identification of jobs found in want ads or employment listings.”

Phoenixville, 81 A.3d at 842-43. Further, to establish earning capacity, the

legislature intended that the employer must prove “the existence of open jobs that

the claimant is capable of filling, not simply the existence of jobs that are already

filled ….” Id. at 843. In short, the jobs identified must “be those jobs that are

actually open and potentially available, not simply jobs that are already filled with

existing employees.” Id. (emphasis added)

Here, the Board reasoned Employer bore the burden to establish only

that the positions identified in the labor market survey were open and actually

available to Claimant at the time the survey was conducted. Bd. Op. at 12 (citing

Rebeor v. Workers' Comp. Appeal Bd. (Eckerd), 976 A.2d 655 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2009)).

In the present case, Vocational Counselor testified these positions were open at the

time of her survey. The Board also noted that Claimant applied for these positions,

which apparently remained open, and that there was “no indication that any evidence

was presented that the positions were not open as of the time [Vocational Counselor]

conducted her survey.” Bd. Op. at 13 (emphasis added).

9

Nevertheless, the Board noted that the Supreme Court’s decision in

Phoenixville provides a claimant with the opportunity to present evidence that he

applied for the indicated positions, but that none were open. The Board then

observed that the WCJ found there was nothing in the record to indicate the five

positions were not open and available at the time of Claimant’s application. Bd. Op.

at 14. To that end, the Board stated: “Claimant was given the opportunity to present

evidence that he called or applied for the positions but none were open or available

to him for employment; however, the WCJ found no evidence to support Claimant’s

contention that none were open or available. As such, the WCJ did not transfer the

burden to Claimant to prove the positions were not open and we see no error.” Id.

(emphasis added). Therefore, the Board affirmed the WCJ’s grant of Employer’s

modification petition.

In addition, the Board denied Employer’s suspension petition. As

noted, the Board determined the proposed posterior segmental fusion surgery would

not decrease Claimant’s disability or restore any of his earning power. Therefore,

the WCJ determined Claimant did not refuse reasonable medical treatment. Id.

Having denied the parties’ appeals, the Board affirmed the WCJ’s

order. Claimant petitions for review.4

II. Discussion

4

Our review is limited to determining whether the WCJ’s findings of fact were supported

by substantial evidence, whether an error of law was committed or whether constitutional rights

were violated. Phoenixville Hosp. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Shoap), 81 A.3d 830 (Pa.

2013).

10

A. Substantial Evidence

1. Argument

Claimant first contends the Board erred in determining that substantial

evidence of record supports the WCJ’s decision modifying his benefits. In

particular, Claimant asserts the Board erred in concluding that Vocational Counselor

identified five open and available positions through her transferable skills analysis.

In support of his position, Claimant cites Vocational Counselor’s testimony on cross-

examination that none of the five identified positions were located through

Claimant’s transferable skills analysis, and that Claimant never worked in customer

service, as a security guard, or as a dispatcher. See Dep. of Nikki Davies, 3/12/14,

at 36-38; R.R. at 36a-38a. Thus, Claimant argues, Vocational Counselor improperly

and illogically concluded that the five identified jobs fell within Claimant’s

vocational capabilities.

In sum, Claimant asserts, the WCJ’s decision to modify his benefits,

based entirely on a finding that Vocational Counselor located the five identified

positions using her transferable skills analysis, is not supported by substantial

evidence. Moreover, Claimant argues, the WCJ’s modification of Claimant’s

benefits is not supported by any evidence in the record.

Claimant further contends the WCJ erred by failing to consider that in

addition to the five positions identified by Vocational Counselor, Claimant applied

for jobs with 16 different employers and could not obtain any interviews or offers of

employment. Claimant asserts this evidence is directly relevant to a determination

of his earning power.

11

2. Analysis

In response to Claimant’s argument, Employer asserts Vocational

Counselor’s testimony, viewed in its entirety, provides substantial evidence for the

WCJ’s modification of Claimant’s benefits. To the extent Vocational Counselor

opined that Claimant could perform the duties of all five positons, we agree.

As Claimant asserts, Vocational Counselor testified on direct

examination that the different types of employment options located through the

transferable skills analysis included such positions as lot attendant; mail clerk; route

delivery clerk; and, stuffer. Davies Dep. at 12; R.R. at 12a. However, Vocational

Counselor further testified these positions were “just an example.” Id. Further,

when asked if those four occupations were the only occupations Claimant was

capable of performing, Vocational Counselor testified:

No. There were many more that came out of the

transferable skills analysis. I was only giving a limited

view on my report of what positions were located in the

transferable skills analysis, but there are many entry level

positions that would be looked into during the labor

market survey for the earning power assessment that

would provide on the job training for a person to perform

a position.

Davies Dep. at 13; R.R. at 13a (emphasis added).

Specifically, regarding the five identified positions, Vocational

Counselor testified that each of the five positions required only a high school

diploma and that each employer was willing to train an employee as to all necessary

12

job skills. See Davies Dep. at 17-26; R.R. at 17a-26a. Although Claimant never

performed these positions, the WCJ credited Vocational Counselor’s testimony that

they were entry level positions with on-the-job training and therefore fell within

Claimant’s vocational abilities. F.F. No. 9.

In addition, we reject Claimant’s contention that the WCJ failed to

consider that he also applied for jobs on his own and was unable to obtain any

interviews or offers of employment. The WCJ noted this fact in Finding of Fact No.

10, thus indicating he considered it. However, the WCJ credited Vocational

Counselor’s testimony that the five identified positions in her labor market survey

fell within Claimant’s physical, medical and vocational abilities. F.F. No. 11.

In workers’ compensation cases, the WCJ is the ultimate fact-finder and

therefore has exclusive province over questions of credibility and evidentiary

weight. A & J Builders, Inc. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Verdi), 78 A.3d 1233

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2013). The WCJ may accept or reject the testimony of any witness in

whole or in part. Id. Further, it is irrelevant whether the record contains evidence

to support findings other than those made by the WCJ; our critical inquiry is whether

there is evidence to support the findings the WCJ actually made. Furnari v. Workers’

Comp. Appeal Bd. (Temple Inland), 90 A.3d 53 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2014). Here, the

WCJ’s credibility findings are supported by the record.

B. Phoenixville

1. Argument

13

Claimant also contends the WCJ, in determining the five identified

positions were actually open and available, erred in failing to apply the principles

established by the Supreme Court in Phoenixville. In particular, with respect to the

term “substantial gainful employment which exits,” the Court stated:

[I]n order for the term ‘substantial gainful employment

which exists’ to be meaningful within the context of the

Act, it must encompass more than the mere existence of

jobs compatible with a claimant’s restrictions that happen

to be open at the time they are discovered by the

employer’s expert witness, as the Commonwealth Court

held in this case. The statutory concept of ‘substantial

gainful employment which exists’ would be meaningless

with respect to a claimant’s actual medical and vocational

circumstances unless the jobs identified by the employer’s

expert witness, which are used as proof of earning power

under Section 306(b), remain open until such time as the

claimant is afforded a reasonable opportunity to apply for

them. Otherwise, the legislatively selected terms ‘earning

power,’ ‘substantial gainful employment’ and ‘exists,’

would become mockeries of their commonly understood

meanings. See 1 Pa. C.S. §1903(a) (‘Words and phrases

shall be construed to … their common and approved

usage’).

Phoenixville, 81 A.3d at 845 (emphasis by underline added).

Here, Claimant asserts, Vocational Counselor had no idea whether any

of the five identified positions were open and available beyond the date she contacted

the prospective employers. Further, although given the opportunity, Employer

presented no evidence that would have established the five positions were still open

and available when Claimant made his applications.

14

Claimant also contends the WCJ improperly shifted the burden of proof

to Claimant by concluding in Finding of Fact No. 11 that although Claimant was not

hired for any of the five positions, there was nothing in the record to show that those

positions were not open and available at the time of Claimant’s application.

In addition, Claimant asserts the Board determined, as the WCJ found,

“Claimant was interviewed for some of the positions, indicating such positions were

clearly open.” Bd. Op. at 13-14. Therefore, Claimant argues, the Board erroneously

confirmed the WCJ’s determination that all five of the positions were open and

available at the time Claimant applied for them.

Summarizing, Claimant argues Employer presented no evidence that

the five identified positions were open and available beyond the date Vocational

Counselor contacted the prospective employers. Consequently, neither the WCJ nor

the Board had any evidence to support their conclusions that these five positions

were still open and available at the time Claimant completed his applications.

Therefore, Claimant argues Employer could not establish he had a reasonable

opportunity to apply for these positions as required by Phoenixville.

2. Analysis

a. Recent Cases

In Phoenixville, the Court addressed the modification of workers’

compensation benefits generally, and the process of proving residual earning power

of a partially disabled claimant through a labor market survey and expert testimony

in particular. The Court noted that “an employer is required to establish the

existence of substantial gainful employment that is compatible with the claimant’s

15

residual productive skills, education, age, and work experience ….” Phoenixville,

81 A.3d at 844 (emphasis added).

In addition, the Court held that if the statutory phrase “substantial

gainful employment which exists,” is to be meaningful within the context of the

goals of the Act, the phrase “must encompass more than the mere existence of jobs

compatible with a claimant’s restrictions that happen to be open at the time they are

discovered by the employer’s expert witness ….” Id. at 845. The Court held that

“the jobs identified by the employer’s expert witness, which are used as the

employer’s proof of earning power … [should] remain open until such time as the

claimant is afforded a reasonable opportunity to apply for them.” Id. (emphasis

added).

To fill the gap of information about the continued availability of jobs

after the time they were discovered by the employer’s expert witness, the Court in

Phoenixville held that a claimant must be given the opportunity “to submit evidence

regarding her or his experience in pursuing the jobs identified” in a labor market

survey. Id. The Court, however, did not state it was the claimant’s burden to do so.

More recently, in Valenta v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Abington Manor Nursing Home and Rehab and Liberty Insurance Co.), ___ A.3d.

___ (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1302 C.D. 2016, filed December 7, 2017), this Court followed

our Supreme Court’s lead in Phoenixville. As in Phoenixville, the employer’s expert

witness did not offer testimony that the identified jobs remained available beyond

the date identified in the labor market survey. The claimant, however, testified that

16

she applied for some of the identified jobs, but she was not offered any.

Nevertheless, the claimant’s testimony, including her testimony that during her

attempts to apply for identified positions she was either turned down, told the

position was unavailable, or unable to reach the contact person, was not accepted by

the fact-finder.

The Valenta Court expanded on the burden of proof. As part of an

extended discussion on burden of proof, this Court ultimately stated that “while [the

employer] maintains an ongoing burden to show that the jobs [identified in a labor

market survey] remained open and available, under Phoenixville, a claimant can

present evidence to the contrary.” Valenta, ___ A.3d at ___ (Slip Op. at 20)

(emphasis added). The Court held that if a claimant offers evidence about her

experience in pursuing the jobs identified in a labor market survey, the evidence can

be considered against her in the overall evaluation of the availability of the jobs.

b. What Must Be Proven

The Supreme Court in Phoenixville, and this Court in Valenta, made

clear that there must be proof that jobs identified by an employer’s expert witness as

proof of earning power must remain open until such time as a claimant is afforded a

reasonable opportunity to apply for them. Based on Phoenixville and Valenta, we

hold that a modification of benefits based on proof of earning power associated with

specific positions cannot be granted without evidence in the record that the specific

positions remain open until such time as a claimant is afforded a reasonable

opportunity to apply for them. In the absence of such evidence, earning power

17

associated with specific positions cannot be used in the calculation of earning power

under Section 306(b).

c. Which Party Bears the Burden of Proof

Based on our recent decision in Valenta, we hold that an employer

bears the burden of proving all facts entitling it to a modification of benefits,

including the continued availability of jobs identified as proof of earning power.

However, if a claimant offers evidence about her experience in pursuing the jobs

identified in a labor market survey, that evidence can be considered on the issue.

d. Proof in This Case

Here, the Board, citing Rebeor, which predates the Supreme Court’s

decision in Phoenixville, reasoned that Employer bore the burden to establish “only

that the positions identified in the labor market survey were open and actually

available to Claimant at the time the survey was conducted.” Bd. Op. at 12

(emphasis added). The Board then noted that Vocational Counselor credibly

testified these positions were open at the time of her survey. Id. Based on our

analysis above, this proof, by itself, is inadequate on the issue of whether identified

positions remained open and available for a sufficient period.

However, as the Board stated, the WCJ found Claimant immediately

applied for the positions and that they were still open. Bd. Op. at 13. In particular,

the Board reasoned, “Claimant was interviewed for some of the positions, indicating

such positions were clearly open.” Id. at 13-14. Nonetheless, the Board affirmed

18

the WCJ’s determination that all five jobs were open because the WCJ found no

evidence to support Claimant’s contention that all five were not open.

We question whether merely mailing an application or making an

online application to a prospective employer constitutes substantial evidence that the

position in question remains open and available at the time of the application. Such

evidence, by itself, is so ambiguous and so suggestive of different inferences as to

amount to speculation on this point. If there is additional circumstantial evidence

about a job application, however, such evidence may support a finding that the

position is open and available. So, testimony of an in-person application during

which information is exchanged, evidence of follow-up communications between a

claimant and a prospective employer which prompt acts or inaction by a claimant,

or evidence relating to an interview, may be a sufficient basis for a finding.

We agree with the Board that evidence that the Claimant here was

interviewed for some identified positions constitutes substantial evidence that those

positions remained open and available. In the absence of additional circumstantial

evidence beyond mere applications, however, we respectfully disagree that there is

substantial evidence to support a finding that all the other jobs were open and

available. Moreover, we disagree with the reasoning of the WCJ and the Board that

it was Claimant’s burden to prove that all five jobs were not open. As we recently

clarified in Valenta, the employer bears the burden of proving all facts entitling it to

a modification of benefits, including the continued availability of jobs identified as

proof of earning power.

19

Consequently, we note the Board’s observation that Claimant only

received an interview for the two security guard positions with Am-Guard.

Therefore, we are constrained to hold that only these two positions remained open

and available under Phoenixville. Because Employer established the existence of

two open and available jobs within Claimant’s vocational, physical and medical

restrictions, Employer is entitled to a modification of benefits based on those two

positions. As such, rather than averaging the weekly rate of the five positions

identified in the labor market survey, as the WCJ did in Finding of Fact No. 11,

Employer is entitled to a modification of benefits based on the average weekly rate

of the two security guard positions. In Finding of Fact No. 9, the WCJ found that

one of the security guard positions paid $9.00 per hour for a 40-hour work week

($360 per week) and the other paid $10.30 per hour for a 40-hour work week ($412

per week). Collectively, these positions averaged $386 per week.

Applying the formula used by the WCJ in Finding of Fact No. 11:

($992.50 AWW - $386 x. 66 2/3% = $404.30 weekly benefit rate), we recalculate

the WCJ’s modification of Claimant’s weekly benefit rate from $396.63 to $404.30

effective April 28, 2013. See 42 Pa. C.S. §706 (an appellate court may affirm,

modify, vacate, set aside or reverse any order brought before it for review).

III. Conclusion

For the above reasons, we affirm the order of the Board with the

modification of Claimant’s weekly benefit rate from $396.63 to $404.30 retroactive

to April 28, 2013.

20

ROBERT SIMPSON, Judge

Judge Brobson concurs in the result only.

21

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Dennis Smith, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 796 C.D. 2016

:

Workers' Compensation Appeal :

Board (Supervalu Holdings PA, LLC), :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 5th day of January, 2018, for the reasons stated in the

foregoing opinion, the order of the Workers' Compensation Appeal Board is

AFFIRMED with the modification that Petitioner’s weekly workers’ compensation

benefit rate is modified from $396.63 to $404.30, retroactive to April 28, 2013.

ROBERT SIMPSON, Judge

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Dennis Smith, :

Petitioner :

: No. 796 C.D. 2016

v. :

: Argued: September 13, 2017

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Supervalu Holdings PA, LLC), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE ROBERT SIMPSON, Judge

HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE JOSEPH M. COSGROVE, Judge

CONCURRING OPINION

BY JUDGE McCULLOUGH FILED: January 5, 2018

I concur in the result reached by the Majority. However, I write

separately to address the Majority’s discussion of this Court’s holding in Valenta v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Abington Manor Nursing Home and Rehab

and Liberty Insurance Co.), ___ A.3d ___ (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1302 C.D. 2017, filed

December 7, 2017) and the burden in these cases.

Contrary to the Majority, we did not hold in Valenta that “if a claimant

offers evidence about her experience in pursuing the jobs identified in a labor market

survey, the evidence can be considered against her in the overall evaluation of the

availability of the jobs.” ___ A.3d at ___ (Slip op. at 17.) Rather, we merely held

that, under Phoenixville Hospital v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Shoap),

81 A.3d 830 (Pa. 2013), a claimant must be permitted the opportunity to present

evidence regarding his/her experience in applying for jobs identified by an employer

as being open and available. Further, in describing the burden in Valenta, we held

that “Employer maintains an ongoing burden to show that the jobs remained open

and available,” and the claimant “can present evidence to the contrary.” ___ A.3d

at ___ (Slip op. at 20.) I am concerned that the present Majority opinion may be

construed as shifting the burden to the claimant to establish that any identified jobs

are not open and available, an outcome which is not directed by either Valenta or

Phoenixville Hospital.

________________________________

PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

President Judge Leavitt joins this opinion.

PAM - 2

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Dennis Smith, :

Petitioner :

:

v. :

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Supervalu Holdings PA, LLC), : No. 796 C.D. 2016

Respondent : Submitted: September 13, 2017

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORBLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE ROBERT SIMPSON, Judge

HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE JOSEPH M. COSGROVE, Judge

DISSENTING OPINION

BY JUDGE COSGROVE FILED: January 5, 2018

I agree with the concurring opinion of Judge McCullough noting that

the Majority misreads this Court's opinion in Valenta v. Workers' Compensation

Appeal Board (Abington Manor Nursing Home and Rehab and Liberty Insurance

Co.), __ A.3d __ (Pa. Cmwlth. No. 1302 C.D. 2017, filed December 7, 2017).

Contrary to the Majority's suggestion, Valenta does not allow a claimant's evidence

as to his/her experience in pursuing jobs identified in the labor market survey "to be

considered against [him/her] in the overall evaluation of the availability of … jobs."

(_ A.3d at _, slip op. at 17). Such is a clear misread of Valenta and more importantly,

a misapplication of Phoenixville Hospital v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Shoap), 81 A.3d 830 (Pa. 2013). In that case, the Supreme Court made clear that it

was the employer which bore the burden of establishing that “the jobs identified by

the employer’s expert witness that the claimant is ‘capable of performing’ must thus

be those jobs that are actually open and potentially available….” Id. at 843

(emphasis added). The way the Majority applies this principle turns it on its head

and allows a mechanism designed to protect the claimant to become a force against

him or her. This cannot be what the Supreme Court meant.

However, I cannot agree with the concurring opinion's acceptance of

the result reached by the Majority. The mistaken interpretation of both Phoenixville

Hospital and Valenta so taints that result that I can do nothing other than dissent.

___________________________

JOSEPH M. COSGROVE, Judge

JMC-2

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.