Opinion

J.E. Karwatski v. UCBR

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Dec 28, 2017
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Cohn Jubelirer, J.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 4.1%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Jessica Ellen Karwatski, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 2110 C.D. 2016

: Submitted: September 15, 2017

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE JAMES GARDNER COLINS, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION BY

JUDGE COHN JUBELIRER FILED: December 28, 2017

Petitioner Jessica Ellen Karwatski (Claimant), pro se, petitions for review of

an Order of the Unemployment Compensation (UC) Board of Review (Board) dated

November 23, 2016, which affirmed the Decision of the Referee who found

Claimant was discharged for willful misconduct and was therefore ineligible for UC

benefits pursuant to Section 402(e) of the UC Law (Law).1 Also, before the Court

is the Board’s Motion to Quash Claimant’s Petition for Review (Motion) as

1

Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex. Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, 43 P.S.

§ 802(e). Section 402(e) provides that an employee is ineligible for UC benefits if “h[er]

unemployment is due to h[er] discharge or temporary suspension from work for willful misconduct

connected with h[er] work.” Id.

untimely. After careful review, we deny the Board’s Motion but must affirm the

Board’s Order.

The Board’s findings are as follows. Claimant worked as a full-time customer

service representative for Vertex US Holdings (Employer) from October 19, 2015,

to June 7, 2016, at a rate of pay of $10 per hour. Employer has a policy that prohibits

call avoidance, which includes placing a call back into the queue at the end of one’s

shift. At the time of her hire, Claimant went through a 60-day training in regard to

handling telephone calls and the call avoidance policy. Claimant was warned that

continued call avoidance would result in discipline up to and including termination.

On May 23, 2016, Claimant answered a call but then transferred the call back

into the queue because it was her quitting time. On May 28, 2016, Employer

discovered that Claimant transferred a call back into the queue without properly

handling the call. An investigation of the matter was performed, during which

Claimant’s supervisor reviewed audio and video of the call and spoke with Claimant.

As a result of the investigation, Claimant was terminated on June 7, 2016, for call

avoidance in violation of Employer’s policy.

Following her termination, Claimant applied for UC benefits. On July 29,

2016, the Erie UC Service Center found that although Claimant was discharged for

unsatisfactory work, she performed her work to the best of her ability and therefore

was not ineligible for benefits. On August 15, 2016, Employer filed a timely appeal.

At a September 1, 2016 hearing before the Referee, Claimant did not appear, but two

witnesses for the Employer did. Employer’s witnesses testified that Employer had

a call avoidance policy of which Claimant was aware and that Claimant violated the

policy. The witnesses further testified that violation of the policy could result in

2

termination and that Claimant was terminated solely as a result of the violation of

the call avoidance policy.

On September 6, 2016, the Referee reversed the UC Service Center’s Notice

of Determination and concluded that Claimant was ineligible for benefits under

Section 402(e) of the Law. The Referee explained that Section 402(e) of the Law

states that an employee shall be ineligible for UC benefits for any week in which the

unemployment is due to discharge resulting from willful misconduct. (Referee

Decision at 2.) The Referee stated, “The Pennsylvania Courts have consistently held

that the deliberate violation of an employer’s policies or rules will generally

constitute willful misconduct in connection with the work, provided the employer

provides competent evidence to establish the existence of its policy and the fact of

its violation.” (Id.) The Referee concluded that the testimony of Employer’s

witnesses met this burden of proving that Claimant’s conduct qualified as willful

misconduct under the Law and that there was no evidence of record to show

Claimant had good cause for violating Employer’s policy. (Id. at 3.)

Claimant appealed this Decision to the Board, asserting that she did not

receive notice of the hearing until it had already taken place because she was unable

to receive her mail in a timely fashion due to being homeless. On October 11, 2016,

the Board remanded the case for an additional hearing before the Referee for the

purpose of receiving testimony and evidence on Claimant’s reason for her non-

appearance at the first hearing and on the merits. Claimant appeared at the remand

hearing and testified regarding her reason for missing the initial hearing and her

3

termination.2 During the hearing, the Referee explained to Claimant that the Notice

of Hearing, dated August 22, 2016, explicitly instructed, “If you are prevented from

attending the scheduled hearing because of a compelling reason you may request to

have the hearing re-opened.” (Hr’g Tr. at 9, R. Item 21.) The Referee further

explained that Claimant could have faxed or emailed her request and that he would

have likely rescheduled the hearing. (Id.) Claimant stated she must not have seen

this information despite being instructed by a secretary at the Greensburg Referee

Office to read all of the documents she received in the mail for instructions on what

to do if she missed the hearing. (Id. at 7-9.)

Following the remand hearing, the Board issued an Order on November 23,

2016, affirming the Referee’s Decision. Specifically, the Board discredited

Claimant’s testimony that she did not receive notice of the hearing until the day after

the original hearing and discredited Claimant’s testimony that her mother

intentionally withheld Claimant’s mail. Thus, the Board found Claimant did not

have proper cause for missing the first hearing. Because of the Board’s decision not

to credit Claimant’s reason for missing the initial hearing, the Board did not address

Claimant’s testimony at the remand hearing concerning the merits of her appeal.

The Board then adopted and incorporated the Referee’s findings and conclusions as

2

Claimant testified before the Referee that she did not receive the Notice of Hearing until

the day after it took place. Upon applying for UC benefits, Claimant provided her mother’s address

as her mailing address because she was homeless. Claimant testified she was in a dispute with her

mother during August 2016, and her mother purposely withheld Claimant’s mail until September

2, 2016. Turning to her termination, Claimant explained that she transferred the call back into the

queue because she was very ill and needed to use the restroom, not because it was the end of her

shift. Claimant also explained she spoke to her supervisor about the incident the next morning and

was told it was fine.

4

its own and found the Referee’s determination was proper under the Law. (Board

Order, R. Item 14.)

On December 5, 2016, Claimant filed a written communication with this

Court, indicating her intention to appeal the Board’s Order. Because this

communication did not comply with the requirements for a petition for review, 3 in

accordance with Section 211 of this Court’s Internal Operating Procedures, 210 Pa.

Code § 69.211,4 this Court advised Claimant on December 6, 2016, that she was

required to file a perfected petition for review within 30 days, or by January 5, 2017,

and then her filing date of December 5, 2016, would be preserved. The notice to

Claimant also explained that if the petition for review was not received within 30

days of the notice, this Court would take no further action in the matter. The Court

received a faxed version of Claimant’s Petition for Review (Petition) on January 6,

2017.

3

The requirements for a petition for review are set forth in Pennsylvania Rule of Appellate

Procedure 1513, Pa. R.A.P. 1513.

4

Section 211 states:

When the chief clerk receives a written communication that evidences an intention

to appeal an adjudication of a state administrative agency but does not conform to

the rules for an appellate petition for review, the chief clerk shall time-stamp the

written communication with the date of receipt. The chief clerk shall advise the

party by letter (1) of the procedures necessary to perfect the appeal and (2) that the

date of receipt of the communication will be preserved as the date of filing of the

appeal if that party files a fully conforming petition for review within 30 days of

the date of the chief clerk’s letter. If the party fails to file a fully conforming petition

for review within that period, the chief clerk shall advise the party by letter that the

court will take no further action in the matter.

210 Pa. Code § 69.211.

5

By Order dated January 23, 2017, this Court sua sponte raised the timeliness

of Claimant’s Petition and directed the parties to address the appealability of the

underlying order in their principal briefs on the merits. On February 1, 2017, the

Board filed its Motion.5 Claimant filed an Answer to the Board’s Motion on

February 21, 2017, arguing that she did, in fact, mail the Petition on December 16,

2016, as evidenced by the fact that the Office of the Attorney General received its

copy. This Court indicated by Order dated February 28, 2017, that the Motion would

be decided with the merits of the Petition.

Thus, for disposition before this Court are both Claimant’s Petition and the

Board’s Motion. Before reaching the merits of Claimant’s Petition, we must first

consider the Board’s Motion. According to the Board, the Court instructed Claimant

that a perfected petition for review was required to be filed within 30 days of the

mailing date of the notice, December 6, 2016, or else this Court would take no further

action in this matter. Yet, Claimant did not file her Petition until January 6, 2017,

which was 31 days after the mailing date of the notice. As a result, the Board argues

Claimant’s Petition is untimely.

In her Answer to the Board’s Motion, Claimant asks this Court to consider her

Petition, which she asserts she timely mailed on December 16, 2016. She points to

the Office of the Attorney General receiving its copy of her Petition as evidence of

her timely mailing. Claimant also indicated in her Answer to the Board’s Motion

5

The Board’s Motion alternatively requested that this Court amend the interlocutory order

to state its “opinion that such order involves a controlling question of law as to which there is

substantial ground for difference of opinion and that an immediate appeal from the order may

materially advance the ultimate termination of the matter.” (Board’s Motion ¶ 15.) If this Court

denied both, the Board further requested an additional 30 days from the date of the Order in which

to file the certified record. The February 28, 2017 Order granted the Board an additional 30 days

to certify the record.

6

that she called the Court between December 19, 2016, and January 5, 2017, asking

whether her Petition was received and was advised that it was not. Finally, after

speaking to Court personnel on January 6, 2017, Claimant faxed her Petition to the

Court one day late. (Claimant’s Answer to Board’s Motion at 1.) Because Claimant

asks this Court to consider her Petition based upon these facts, we consider her

Answer to the Board’s Motion as a request for nunc pro tunc relief.

Limited circumstances exist in which an untimely appeal may be considered.

Hessou v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 942 A.2d 194, 198 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2008). Allowable exceptions include cases involving fraud, or a breakdown in the

administrative process, or when there is a “non-negligent failure to file a timely

appeal which was corrected within a very short time, during which any prejudice to

the other side of the controversy would necessarily be minimal.” Bass v.

Commonwealth, 401 A.2d 1133, 1135-36 (Pa. 1979). It is under this third exception

– non-negligent conduct – that Claimant demonstrates that she is entitled to nunc

pro tunc relief.

Nunc pro tunc relief is generally reserved for only those “unique and

compelling cases in which the appellant has clearly established that she attempted to

file an appeal, but unforeseeable and unavoidable events precluded her from actually

doing so.” Criss v. Wise, 781 A.2d 1156, 1160 (Pa. 2001). As stated above,

Claimant maintains she mailed her Petition on December 16, 2016, well before the

January 5, 2017 deadline. As evidence, she states that the Office of Attorney General

received its copy of her Petition. While Claimant does not point to any evidence to

support this statement, we note that the cover sheet to the certified record submitted

by the Board does include a copy of a Petition for Review, which, importantly, is

time-stamped as “Received DEC 21 2016 Office of Chief Counsel UCBR Division.”

7

Thus, there is documentary evidence to support the claim that Claimant timely

mailed the Petition and the Board timely received it.

In addition, Claimant asserts that she called the Court between December 19,

2016, and January 5, 2017, to inquire whether the Petition was received. While not

direct evidence of mailing, this Court recognizes that Claimant would not likely have

called the Court during this time period to see if the Court received her Petition if

she had not mailed it.

For whatever reason, the Petition was not received by the Court until Claimant

faxed it on January 6, 2017. While the Pennsylvania Supreme Court held in Criss

that delays in mail are both foreseeable and avoidable and thus are not a non-

negligent circumstance, in that case, the notice of appeal was mailed just six days

before the filing deadline. Here, Claimant mailed her Petition on December 16,

2016, which was well before the January 5, 2017 deadline. We cannot say that

mailing her Petition nearly three weeks before it is due is negligent or that Claimant

should have foreseen it would not arrive in time.

Claimant also meets the second and third elements of nunc pro tunc relief.

Immediately upon learning that the Petition was not received, she faxed the Petition

at the Court’s direction one day late. The Board does not allege any prejudice as a

result, nor could it, considering it received a copy of Claimant’s Petition on

December 21, 2016.

Because Claimant has demonstrated that she is entitled to nunc pro tunc relief,

we deny the Board’s Motion and turn to the merits of Claimant’s appeal.6 Claimant

6

“Our review of the Board’s decision is limited to determining whether an error of law

was committed, constitutional rights were violated, or necessary findings of fact were supported

by substantial evidence.” Doyle v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 58 A.3d 1288, 1291 n.2

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2013) (citation omitted).

8

first argues the Board erred by finding she signed a warning because she had never

been accused of call avoidance prior to this incident. Claimant, however,

mischaracterizes the Referee’s findings that were adopted by the Board. The

Referee and the Board found that Employer provided Claimant with warning of the

call avoidance policy during her training, not that she was given a formal warning

about her conduct that she was asked to sign. (Referee Decision, Findings of Fact

¶¶ 3-6; Board Order.) However, Employer’s witness also testified during the remand

hearing before the Referee that in addition to the warnings about call avoidance

during training, Claimant was also warned that call avoidance was unacceptable

through conversations in regard to her performance. Substantial evidence supports

the finding that Claimant was provided with warning of the call avoidance policy.

Claimant’s second argument is that the Board erred by concluding Employer’s

Call Aide Protocols and Procedures stated that customer service representatives

could not use the restroom in a case of an emergency if they got another employee

to assist their clients. Claimant misunderstands the Board’s finding. The Board

adopted the Referee’s finding that Claimant transferred the call back into the queue

because her shift was over. We understand that Claimant testified at the remand

hearing that she transferred the call back into the queue because she was very ill and

needed to use the restroom, not because it was the end of her shift. Claimant also

explained she spoke to her supervisor about the incident the next morning and was

told it was fine. However, because the Board discredited Claimant’s explanation for

missing the first hearing, it did not consider or address the testimony she presented

on the merits at the remand hearing. This Court has previously ruled, “in an

unemployment compensation case, the Board is the ultimate factfinder and is

empowered to make credibility determinations. In making those determinations, the

9

Board may accept or reject the testimony of any witness in whole or in part.”

McCarthy v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 829 A.2d 1266, 1269-70 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2003) (citation omitted).

This Court is therefore bound by the Board’s findings of fact and its

determination of Claimant’s credibility regarding her explanation for missing the

first hearing. Because it did not credit her reasons for missing the hearing, the Board

did not consider her testimony at the remand hearing about why she transferred the

call. Thus, the only testimony before the Board was the testimony of Employer’s

witnesses at the initial hearing. Based on the testimony before the Board, there was

substantial, non-contradicted evidence presented at the initial hearing to support the

finding that Employer terminated Claimant for willful misconduct in that she

violated the call avoidance rule because it was her quitting time.

For the reasons set forth above, we deny the Board’s Motion but affirm its

Order.

_____________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

10

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Jessica Ellen Karwatski, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 2110 C.D. 2016

:

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

Respondent :

ORDER

NOW, December 28, 2017, the November 23, 2016 Order of the

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board), entered in the above-

captioned matter, is AFFIRMED, and the Board’s Motion to Quash Petitioner’s

Petition for Review is DENIED.

_____________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.