Opinion

Northeastern Eye Institute v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review

  • 176 A.3d 455
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Dec 27, 2017
Status
Published
Author
Cosgrove
On the bench
Anne, Brobson, Cosgrove, Covey, Honorable, Joseph, Kevin
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 62.4%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Northeastern Eye Institute, :

Petitioner :

:

v. :

:

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, : No. 1368 C.D. 2016

Respondent : Submitted: January 6, 2017

BEFORE: HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

HONORABLE JOSEPH M. COSGROVE, Judge

OPINION

BY JUDGE COSGROVE FILED: December 27, 2017

Northeastern Eye Institute (Employer) petitions for review of the July

14, 2016 Order of the Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board),

reversing the Decision of the Referee which denied unemployment compensation

(UC) benefits to Ann M. Ritterbeck (Claimant). The Board concluded Claimant was

not barred from receiving UC benefits by Section 402(b) of the Unemployment

Compensation Law (UC Law), 1 because she established a necessitous and

compelling reason for voluntarily terminating her employment. Upon review, we

vacate the order of the Board and remand for further proceedings consistent with this

opinion.

1

Section 402(b) of the UC Law provides that an employee shall be ineligible for

compensation for any week “[i]n which his unemployment is due to voluntarily leaving work

without cause of a necessitous and compelling nature.” Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex.

Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, 43 P.S. § 802(b).

Claimant worked as a licensed practical nurse for Employer from

August 26, 2013 to January 15, 2016. When Claimant was initially hired, her work

schedule was Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and Employer

employed three nurses. However, due to nurses leaving, Claimant was required to

take on a heavier workload, to work mandatory overtime nearly every day, and to be

on-call every weekend. On Wednesdays, Claimant would work at the hospital from

7:00 a.m. to as late as 11:00 p.m. Claimant consistently complained to Employer

about the increased workload and accompanying stress. Employer, however, offered

no accommodation. In November or December of 2015 Claimant requested to

reduce her work schedule to three days per week, but Employer refused. Because

of the excessive hours, Claimant voluntarily terminated her employment with

Employer on January 15, 2016. Thereafter, Claimant filed for UC Benefits.

(Board’s Order, 4/15/16, at 1-2.)

The Department of Labor and Industry (Department) denied Claimant’s

request for benefits pursuant to Section 402(b) of the Law. Claimant appealed. A

hearing on Claimant’s appeal was held on February 29, 2016, at which Employer

failed to appear. The Referee affirmed the determination of the Department,

reasoning that Claimant did not have a necessitous and compelling reason to

voluntarily leave her job, concluding “the referee does not fathom why the claimant

would work under such alleged intolerable conditions for over [a] period in excess

of one year.” (Referee’s Decision, 3/4/16, at 2.) Claimant appealed the Referee’s

decision to the Board.

On April 15, 2016 the Board issued an Order reversing the Referee’s

Decision and granting Claimant UC benefits. In so doing, the Board found that

Claimant had a necessitous and compelling reason for voluntarily leaving her

2

employment, and therefore was not ineligible for benefits under Section 402(b) of

the UC Law. Specifically, the Board found Claimant testified credibly that her

working conditions substantially and unilaterally changed from the original terms,

that Claimant was working overtime nearly every day with excessive hours on

surgery days, and was expected to be on-call every weekend, and that she did not

accept the change in working conditions, requested help to no avail, requested a

reduction in working days which Employer denied, and made a reasonable effort to

preserve her employment. (Board’s Order at 1-2.)

Employer requested reconsideration, alleging it had not received the

notice of hearing for the February 29, 2016 hearing. The Board granted

reconsideration and vacated its previous action. Another hearing was held before a

Referee.

At this second hearing, it was noted that the notice of hearing entered

into the record at the February 29, 2016 hearing bears Employer’s correct name,

although it is missing a “T,” correct address, and “Date Mailed 2/12/16” in the upper

right corner. (See Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 90.) The Board ultimately held

Employer did not credibly overcome the presumption of receipt of the notice and did

not establish proper cause for its nonappearance at the first hearing.2 Specifically,

the Board found the notice was mailed to Employer’s correct address, and was not

returned as undeliverable and, therefore, Employer did not credibly overcome the

presumption of receipt or establish proper cause for its nonappearance at the first

hearing. As such, the Board did not consider additional testimony from the second

2

“If any party duly notified of the date, hour and place for a hearing fails to appear without

proper cause, the hearing may be held in his absence.” 34 Pa. Code § 101.51. The regulations

define notice as the mailing of any notice to the parties at their last known address. 34 Pa. Code §

101.53.

3

hearing. The Board accordingly reinstated its April 15, 2016 Order granting

Claimant benefits as the Decision of the Board. (Board’s Order, 7/18/2016, at 1.)

On appeal,3 Employer raises four issues: 1) The Board committed an

error of law in finding the notice of hearing was presumably received, 2) Employer’s

due process rights were violated when it was denied the right to question the UC

staff regarding the mailing of the notice of hearing, 3) the Board committed an error

of law in finding Employer had not credibly overcome the presumption of receipt,

and therefore did not establish proper cause for its nonappearance at the first hearing,

and 4) the Board arbitrarily and capriciously disregarded the findings of the Referee.

(Employer’s Brief at 4.)

DISCUSSION

Employer first argues the evidence of record does not support the

Board’s application of the mailbox rule, and therefore its finding that the February

12, 2016 notice of hearing was presumptively received was made in error.

(Employer’s Brief at 18.) This Court has previously stated,

[t]he [mailbox] rule applies only when there is evidence that the

item was mailed. It is true that evidence of actual mailing is not

required. Instead, ‘when a letter has been written and signed in

the usual course of business and placed in the regular place of

mailing, evidence of the custom of the establishment as to the

mailing of such letters is receivable as evidence that it was duly

mailed.’

3

On appeal, “[o]ur scope of review is limited to determining whether constitutional rights

were violated, [whether] an error of law was committed or whether necessary findings of fact are

supported by substantial competent evidence.” Fugh v. Unemployment Compensation Board of

Review, 153 A.3d 1169, 1172 n.4 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2017).

4

Sheehan v. Workmens’ Compensation Review Board (Supermarkets Gen.), 600 A.2d

633, 636 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1991) (citing Department. of Transportation v. Brayman

Construction Corp., 513 A.2d 562, 566 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1986) (citations omitted)

(emphasis in original)).

Employer alleges that, because Employer’s proper name is misspelled

on the February 12, 2016 notice of hearing, the notice was therefore not properly

addressed for purposes of the mailbox rule. (Employer’s Brief at 21-22.) Employer

further argues that, because the Referee testified he does not mail out notices of

hearings himself, there is no evidence of record or testimony demonstrating the

notice of hearing was signed in the regular course of business and placed in the

regular place of mail.

We note that the Referee’s decision and the Department’s notice of

determination both misspell Employer’s name in the same manner as the February

29, 2016 hearing notice. (R.R. at 15, 19.) Employer testified to receiving “every

other piece of mail specifically related to this matter” as well as all previous mail

from the Board without issue. (R.R. at 87-88.) Employer’s argument relative to the

misspelling thus fails.

Nevertheless, as Employer points out, there is no evidence of record or

testimony demonstrating the notice of hearing was signed in the regular course of

business and placed in the regular place of mail. In Douglas v. Unemployment

Compensation Review Board, 151 A.3d 1188, 1192 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2016), this Court

addressed a similar situation. In that case, the Board determined that the claimant

failed to appeal in a timely manner since her appeal was filed nineteen days after the

mailing of the relevant Notice of Determination. Accordingly, the Board applied the

mailbox rule and its presumption that the claimant had received the Notice.

5

However, in order for the mailbox rule to apply, this Court noted “that there must be

some evidence … that the [N]otice was mailed. … Until there is proof that a letter

was mailed, there can be no presumption that it was received.” Id. at 1192 (internal

citations omitted). In Douglas, this principle was applied regarding dismissal of a

claimant’s case. We note presently that it is equally as applicable when the

aggrieved is the employer. The implications of dismissal or negative action against

a party in the face of claims that something which has bearing on critical filing times

was “presumptively” received is too potent to not require underlying proof to support

the presumption. As the Board failed to apply the principles outlined in Douglas, it

erred.

For the foregoing reasons, we vacate the order of the Board. Given its

present posture, we remand this case to the Board for a hearing on the mailbox rule

pursuant to Douglas.4

___________________________

JOSEPH M. COSGROVE, Judge

Given our disposition of Employer’s first issue, we need not address Employer’s

4

remaining arguments raised on appeal.

6

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Northeastern Eye Institute, :

Petitioner :

:

v. :

:

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, : No. 1368 C.D. 2016

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 27th day of December, 2017, the order of the

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review is vacated. We remand for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion. Jurisdiction is relinquished.

___________________________

JOSEPH M. COSGROVE, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.