Opinion

Frankiewicz v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (Kinder Morgan, Inc.)

  • 177 A.3d 991
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Nov 14, 2017
Status
Published
Author
Wojcik
On the bench
Simpson, Júdge, Wojcik, Leadbetter
Cited by
18 cases
Authority
More cited than 74.8%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Kenneth Frankiewicz, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 20 C.D. 2017

: Submitted: September 1, 2017

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Kinder Morgan, Inc.), :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE ROBERT SIMPSON, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION

BY JUDGE WOJCIK FILED: November 14, 2017

Kenneth Frankiewicz (Claimant) petitions for review from an order of

the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) that affirmed a Workers’

Compensation Judge’s (WCJ) decision denying Claimant’s Petition for Workers’

Compensation Benefits (Claim Petition), Petition to Review Medical Treatment

and/or Billing (Review Medical Petition), Petition to Review Compensation

Benefits (Review Petition), and Petition for Penalties (Penalty Petition) filed against

Kinder Morgan, Inc. (Employer). Claimant contends that the WCJ erred by

improperly applying the mental-mental standard, as opposed to the physical-mental

standard, to his mental disability claim. Discerning no error, we affirm.

I. Background

On May 23, 2012, Claimant filed a Claim Petition alleging that he

sustained an injury on April 20, 2012, in the nature of dizziness, headaches,

shortness of breath, and a sinus infection from exposure to a diesel leak from a

nearby Hess facility, while in the course and scope of his employment as a chemical

operator with Employer. Certified Record (C.R.) at 9. A year later, Claimant filed

a Penalty Petition and Review Medical Petition alleging Employer violated the

Workers’ Compensation Act (Act)1 by not paying for his emergency room treatment

on the date of the injury and by not issuing a denial until six months after the incident.

Claimant also filed a Review Petition alleging an incorrect description of his injury

and a worsening of his condition. Specifically, Claimant claimed he suffered cellulitis

caused by staphylococcus and/or streptococcus (blood infection). C.R. at 86.

Employer filed timely answers denying the material allegations in the petitions. The

petitions were consolidated and assigned to a WCJ, who held hearings. WCJ’s

Opinion, 10/2/15, Finding of Fact (F.F.) No. 5.

In support of his petitions, Claimant testified that, on Friday, April 20,

2012, he was working on a loading dock on the Delaware River in Philadelphia

where he perceived an odor of fuel all day. He also noticed fuel floating on the water

from a discharge of diesel fuel from a plant a mile away. He experienced headache,

nausea, violent vomiting, choking, a runny nose and watery eyes. He also developed

symptoms of sweating and shaking, throat pain and abdominal pain. He was taken

to Hahnemann University Hospital’s emergency room and was discharged three-

and-one half hours later and advised to visit his family doctor if he did not feel better.

Claimant did not work the following day, but he returned to work on Sunday. On

1

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§ 1 - 1041.4, 2501-2708.

2

Monday, Claimant went to his family doctor, who did not prescribe medication or

refer him to another doctor. A week later, Claimant got a sinus infection. His doctor

recommended over-the-counter sinus medicine (Claritin). Claimant believes that his

sinus problems were caused by the April 20, 2012 work incident. Claimant also

testified that since the incident, he has experienced digestive issues, including

vomiting and acid reflux, for which he takes medicine, as well as breathing

problems, chest pains, and fatigue. Although Claimant continued to work after the

incident, he started to wear a respirator, rubber suit and hardhat with a shield as

protection. Claimant testified that he experiences panic attacks, anxiety, and

depression, as well as problems with his wife and parenting, which he attributed to

the work incident. He takes Lorazepam for his nerves, an inhaler for his breathing

problems, Hydrocodone for his neck pain, medication for nausea, medication for

stomach and esophageal corrosion, as well as Cialis or Viagra. Reproduced Record

(R.R.) at 52a. Claimant stopped working on September 15, 2012. However, he

testified his symptoms have not improved. He is still dealing with sinus issues, sore

throat, occasional nausea, and labored breathing if he climbs stairs. In November

2014, Claimant developed a serious blood infection, which hospitalized him for

eight days. F.F. Nos. 4, 10b, 16-18.

Both parties submitted expert medical evidence. Claimant presented

the deposition testimony of his family physician, Theodore Porter, D.O. Dr. Porter

diagnosed Claimant with insomnia, sinusitis, esophageal/gastric erosion, headaches,

dysphagia, shortness of breath, thoracic compression, neurasthenia, erectile

dysfunction, back pain, bilateral shoulder strain, vomiting, pancreatitis, pulmonary

insufficiency, and possible sleep apnea. Dr. Porter attributed these issues to the

exposure of fuel vapors over his 15-year career with Employer and Claimant’s

3

history. He also diagnosed Claimant with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD),

pulmonary problems, and sleep issues and related them to his employment with

Employer. He opined that Claimant is not able to return to work. F.F. Nos. 13, 14.

Claimant also submitted the deposition testimony of Brian Raditz,

Ed.D., an unlicensed psychologist and doctor of education, who diagnosed Claimant

with pain disorder and attendant anxiety, depression, irritability, and sleep difficulty.

Dr. Raditz testified Claimant’s psychological condition is disabling and is a direct

result of the April 20, 2012 work incident. F.F. No. 15.

Claimant also offered the deposition of Frank Spisak, a pump operator

for Employer, who confirmed the fuel leak and described the length and strength of

the fumes. He also observed Claimant’s decline in health following the incident.

F.F. No. 19. Finally, Claimant’s wife testified regarding the changes she observed

in her husband following the incident. F.F. No. 20.

Employer presented the deposition testimony of John Cohn, M.D., who

is board certified in internal medicine, in pulmonary medicine, and in allergy and

immunology. After examining Claimant and reviewing his records, he could not

identify a work-related condition. Dr. Cohn could not identify Claimant as being

disabled as a result of his exposure from the April 20, 2012 incident, nor could he

identify any specific medical treatment that was required as a result of his exposure.

He testified that Dr. Porter’s list of ailments was so long that it was difficult to tell

which ones were keeping him from working. Dr. Cohn opined that Claimant seemed

to be having complaints in excess of what could be objectively demonstrated. F.F.

No. 11.

Employer also presented the deposition testimony of Wolfram Rieger,

M.D., a board certified psychiatrist, who examined Claimant and took a history from

4

him. He opined that Claimant did not have a psychiatric disorder related to any

work-related incident. Rather, he concluded that Claimant is suffering from pre-

existing depression that was not aggravated by the work incident. F.F. No. 12.

Given the complexity of Claimant’s health issues, the WCJ appointed

an independent medical examiner, Michael Greenberg, M.D., at the Bureau of

Workers’ Compensation’s expense to examine Claimant and issue an impartial

report. Dr. Greenberg is the Chief of the Division of Medical Toxicology at Drexel

University within the Department of Emergency Medicine and is board-certified in

Occupational/Environmental Medicine and Medical Toxicology and in Emergency

Medicine. Dr. Greenberg examined Claimant and his medical records and issued a

32-page report. His comprehensive evaluation of Claimant was normal. Claimant’s

complaints were consistent with anxiety and depression in the context of symptom

magnification as well as insomnia and somatic complaints. However, Dr. Greenberg

opined that there was no evidence of: (1) acute or chronic toxic exposure syndrome;

(2) toxicological illness or injury; (3) reactive airways dysfunction syndrome

(RADS); or (4) acute or chronic pharyngitis. He described Claimant’s alleged

exposure as “extremely brief, if not fleeting.” F.F. No. 10(g). He opined there was

no evidence of a completed exposure pathway. The perception of odor did not

constitute an effective or valid exposure pathway. “There was no evidence of an

exposure source for any specific chemical or chemicals, there was no evidence of a

medically important exposure or medically important dose, and there was no

documentation of a relevant or recognized medical adverse outcome.” F.F. No.

10(h). In essence, he found no evidence of any injury or illness as a result of the

April 20, 2012 incident. According to Dr. Greenberg, the most likely diagnosis for

5

all of Claimant’s symptoms was anxiety/depression in the context of symptom

magnification and obstructive sleep apnea. F.F. Nos. 8-10.

The WCJ found the opinions of Dr. Greenberg and Dr. Cohn to be more

credible than the opinions of Dr. Porter. F.F. No. 21. He also found the testimony

of Dr. Rieger more credible than that of Dr. Raditz. F.F. No. 24. The WCJ credited

Claimant’s testimony. F.F. No. 23. The WCJ detailed his reasons for making his

credibility determinations. F.F. Nos. 21, 23, 24.

The WCJ opined that the determination of whether exposure to a diesel

oil spill caused Claimant’s symptoms and diagnoses was not obvious; Claimant

needed to prove causation by expert medical evidence. The WCJ found that

Claimant did not meet his burden. Relying predominantly on the report and medical

opinions of Dr. Greenberg, the WCJ found that the medical evidence does not

support a finding that Claimant’s exposure to diesel fumes was the cause of his

symptoms or the reason for his disability on September 15, 2012. In short, the WCJ

found that Claimant did not suffer a physical work injury as a result of his exposure

to diesel fumes on April 20, 2012. F.F. Nos. 21-23.

Significantly, however, the WCJ found that Claimant appeared to have

suffered a psychological injury from the incident. F.F. No. 24. “Almost every

doctor, including Dr. Greenberg[,] believes Claimant is suffering from a

psychological injury.” Id. But, because Claimant did not prove that his physical

symptoms were caused by the work incident, the WCJ did not apply the physical-

mental standard. Rather, the WCJ applied the mental-mental standard to his claim,

which requires a claimant to prove abnormal working conditions. The WCJ found

that Claimant did not meet his burden of proving an abnormal working condition to

support his alleged psychiatric disability. Although the diesel spill was an unusual

6

event, there was no evidence presented that this was an abnormal working condition

for a chemical operator such as Claimant. Ultimately, the WCJ concluded that

Claimant did not sustain a work-related injury due to an exposure to diesel fumes on

April 20, 2012. F.F. No. 24. Thus, the WCJ denied each of Claimant’s petitions.

WCJ’s Opinion, Conclusions of Law, Nos. 2-4.

From this decision, Claimant appealed to the Board, which affirmed.

Claimant now petitions this Court for review.2

II. Issue

On appeal, Claimant argues that the WCJ and the Board erroneously

applied the “mental-mental” or “abnormal working conditions” standard to this

matter as opposed to the “physical-mental” standard. Under the physical-mental

standard, a claimant must prove a triggering work-related physical stimulus caused

his mental injury. Claimant contends he met this burden by showing that his

exposure to the diesel spill at work caused a physical injury, including headache,

nausea, and vomiting, which necessitated immediate medical treatment. This

physical injury was the triggering stimulus that caused his mental disability. Almost

all of the medical experts agreed that Claimant has suffered a psychiatric injury as a

result of the work incident. Claimant asserts that reversal is warranted because the

WCJ denied his Claim Petition based solely on the lack of “abnormal working

conditions.”

III. Discussion

2

Our review is limited to determining whether the WCJ’s findings of fact were supported

by substantial evidence, whether an error of law was committed or whether constitutional rights

were violated. Department of Transportation v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Clippinger), 38 A.3d 1037, 1042 n.3 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2011).

7

With respect to a claim petition, the claimant bears the initial burden of

proving that his injury arose in the course of employment and was related thereto.

Wachs v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (American Office Systems), 884

A.2d 858, 862 (Pa. 2005) (citing Krawchuk v. Philadelphia Electric Co., 439 A.2d

627, 630 (Pa. 1981)). Generally, if there is no obvious relationship between the

disability and the work-related cause, unequivocal medical testimony is required to

meet this burden of proof. Fotta v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (U.S.

Steel), 626 A.2d 1144, 1146 (Pa. 1993); Lewis v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal

Board, 498 A.2d 800, 802 (Pa. 1985). The medical witness must testify that, in his

or her professional opinion, the injury came from the work incident. Lewis, 498

A.2d at 802.

Mental injuries fall into three categories: “[(1)] mental-mental,

whereby a mental or psychic condition is caused by a psychic stimulus; [(2)] mental-

physical, whereby a psychic injury manifests itself in some physical form; and [(3)]

physical-mental, whereby a physical injury results in psychic distress.” Payes v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Pennsylvania State Police), 79 A.3d 543,

550 (Pa. 2013); accord Ryan v. [Workmen’s] Compensation Appeal Board

(Community Health Services), 707 A.2d 1130, 1133–34 (Pa. 1998); Murphy v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Ace Check Cashing Inc.), 110 A.3d 227,

234 (Pa. Cmwlth.) (en banc), appeal denied, 126 A.3d 1286 (Pa. 2015).

If a claimant’s mental disability was caused by a psychological

stimulus, the mental-mental standard applies. Payes, 79 A.3d at 550; Murphy, 110

A.3d at 235. To prevail under the mental-mental standard, a claimant must prove

abnormal working conditions. Payes, 79 A.3d at 550.

8

Where, as here, a claimant asserts a claim under the physical-mental

standard, the claimant must establish that the mental injury resulted from “a

triggering physical stimulus” and arose during the course of employment. Murphy,

110 A.3d at 234 (citing Bartholetti v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (School

District of Philadelphia), 927 A.2d 743, 746 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2007)). Our case law has

interpreted the term “physical stimulus” to mean “a physical injury that requires

medical treatment, even if that physical injury is not disabling under the [Act].”

Murphy, 110 A.3d at 234; accord Ryan, 707 A.2d at 1131; Anderson v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Washington Greene Alternative), 862 A.2d 678, 685

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2004); Pittsburgh Board of Education v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Schulz), 840 A.2d 1078, 1081 (Pa. Cmwlth.), appeal denied, 857

A.2d 681 (Pa. 2004); Donovan v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Academy

Medical Realty), 739 A.2d 1156, 1161 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1999). “Additionally, the

mental injury must be related to the physical stimulus.” Murphy, 110 A.3d at 234.

In other words, a claimant must prove that a physical work injury

requiring medical treatment caused a psychological injury. Murphy, 110 A.3d at

234. However, “[a] claimant need not prove that he or she suffered a physical

disability that caused a mental disability for which he or she may receive benefits.

Nor must a claimant show that the physical injury continues during the life of the

[mental] disability.” Id. (quoting Donovan, 739 A.2d at 1161 (emphasis omitted)).

Although the physical injury itself is not required to be disabling under the Act, its

presence or lack thereof, and its relationship to the mental injury, is determinative to

whether the physical-mental standard applies. Murphy, 110 A.3d at 237. Unlike

under the mental-mental standard, under the physical-mental standard, a claimant is

not required to show abnormal working conditions. See Murphy, 110 A.3d at 238;

9

Anderson, 862 A.2d at 683. The following cases illustrate how the courts have

applied the physical-mental standard.

In Anderson, the physical stimulus was insufficient to support the

application of the physical-mental standard. There, the claimant worked in a group

home for mentally and physically challenged young adults and filed a claim petition

alleging that she sustained a work-related mental injury as a result of, inter alia, a

client “pulling at [her] hair and pulling at [her] blouse.” Anderson, 862 A.2d at 681.

The claimant argued that the physical-mental standard applied. On appeal, we

disagreed. “[A]lthough there was some physical contact between [the c]laimant and

her clients during the incidents . . . , she did not suffer any physical injury that

required medical treatment.” Id. at 685. Accordingly, this Court concluded that the

matter was “more properly analyzed under the mental/mental standard.” Id. We

affirmed the denial of benefits because the claimant’s exposure to combative

behavior from mentally challenged clients did not constitute an abnormal working

condition. Id. at 686.

In Ryan, the physical-mental standard did not apply because the

physical stimulus did not cause the mental injury. There, the claimant was involved

in a work-related automobile accident in which she sustained physical injuries that

were accepted by her employer. More than a year after the accident, the claimant

learned that the other driver, who had sustained severe injuries, filed a lawsuit

against her. Ryan, 707 A.2d at 1132. Thereafter, the claimant began experiencing

depression; she stopped working; and, she filed a petition for review to expand her

accepted work-related physical injuries from the accident to include a work-related

mental disability. Id. Our Supreme Court concluded that the claimant’s mental

injury was not caused by the work-related physical stimulus -- the accident -- but by

10

a psychological stimulus -- the lawsuit. Id. at 1134-35. Consequently, the physical-

mental standard did not apply. Id. at 1135.

Conversely, in Donovan, the physical-mental standard did apply.

There, the claimant, a janitor whose job duties did not include emptying medical

waste, sustained a mental injury after being pricked twice in the hand by improperly

disposed hypodermic needles in one of the medical offices that he cleaned.

Donovan, 739 A.2d at 1159. The claimant received medical treatment in the form

of blood work and booster shots. Id. The claimant became anxious and fearful of

working in that particular office, and he experienced panic attacks, nausea, and

nightmares, which caused him to seek psychiatric treatment. Id. The claimant filed

a claim petition alleging he was disabled as a result of his mental injuries. Id.

Applying the physical-mental standard, we determined that claimant established a

compensable mental injury because “[t]he WCJ accepted as fact . . . that [the

c]laimant had twice injured himself on hypodermic needles at work to the extent that

he sought treatment.” Id. His treatment included blood work and booster shots due

to the concern regarding the transmission of disease from the used hypodermic

needles. Id. And, “[the c]laimant’s psychological illness was based directly on these

physical injuries.” Id.

Similarly, in Schulz, the claimant was hit on the head with a heavy

object while performing his teaching duties, which caused his head to swell. The

claimant sought treatment at a hospital, and he later developed a mental injury as a

result of the physical injury. The WCJ awarded benefits under the physical-mental

standard, and the Board affirmed. Schulz, 840 A.2d at 1079-80. On appeal to this

Court, the employer argued that the physical-mental standard was not applicable

because the triggering physical event was de minimis and the claimant was not

11

injured. Id. at 1081. We rejected the argument because the claimant was injured.

Claimant was hit on the head; the side of his head swelled; and, he sought treatment

for that injury at the hospital. Id. Thus, we concluded that the physical-mental

standard was applicable under these circumstances and affirmed the award of

benefits under this standard. Id.

Again, in Bartholetti, the physical-mental standard applied. There, the

claimant, an elementary school teacher, intervened in an altercation between two

students, was punched in the shoulder, and bitten on the arm. Bartholetti, 927 A.2d

at 744. The claimant immediately went to the hospital, where a doctor confirmed

she sustained a bite to her arm. Id. Blood tests were required to determine whether

the claimant had contracted HIV or hepatitis. Id. The claimant attempted to return

to work the next day, but was unable to work more than half a day, and she sought

psychological treatment. Id. at 744. The claimant suffered from crying spells,

anxiety, and depression, and experienced “flashbacks of the student fight she

intervened in and in which a student bit her on the arm” and was “frightened to return

to her school to work.” Id. at 744-45. We concluded that substantial evidence

supported the WCJ’s finding that the claimant suffered a disabling mental injury “as

a result of the physical injury she suffered at work” in the nature of a bite to her arm,

and that “her disability was caused by a work injury.” Id. at 747.

More recently, in Murphy, we applied the above analysis to a case in

which the claimant asserted application of the physical-mental standard for her

mental injury, which she sustained as a result of an armed robbery. The claimant

worked as a general manager for a check cashing business when the store was robbed

at gunpoint. The claimant alleged that she sustained a work-related mental PTSD

injury. The claimant asserted that the physical-mental standard applied because she

12

sustained physical bruising to her wrists and ankles from being “hog-tied” during

the robbery. Murphy, 110 A.3d at 238. The claimant testified that she went to the

hospital for treatment because she “started getting chest pains and couldn’t breathe

or speak” and because “[s]he ha[d] high blood pressure.” Id. She did not receive

any treatment at the hospital other than oxygen and medication to calm her down.

The WCJ categorized her physical injuries as “slight” and did not apply the physical-

mental standard. Id. at 232. Instead, the WCJ applied the mental-mental standard

and denied benefits. Id. at 233. On appeal, we concluded that slight bruising that

requires no medical treatment is not the type of physical injury contemplated by

Ryan, Donovan, Schulz, and Bartholetti. Id. at 238. Rather, it was more akin to the

allegations that were found to be insufficient in Anderson. Id. Moreover, we opined

that the claimant’s PTSD was not the result of her physical injury or stimulus, i.e.,

the slight bruising to her wrists and ankles, but to the entire experience of the armed

robbery itself. Id. Thus, we held that the physical-mental standard did not apply

and the claimant was required to prove abnormal working conditions under the

mental-mental standard. Id.

Applying the foregoing analysis here, Claimant did not establish that

his mental injury resulted from a work-related, triggering physical stimulus. First,

although Claimant experienced some symptoms immediately following his

exposure, these symptoms were insufficient to support an application of the

physical-mental standard. Similar to the bruise in Murphy or the physical contact in

Anderson, the symptoms he experienced on the day of the incident were transient

and quickly resolved.

More particularly, on the day of the incident, Claimant experienced

vomiting, choking, runny nose, watery eyes, “sweating and shaking,” throat pain,

13

abdominal pain and headache and received medical treatment for his symptoms

following his exposure to work-related diesel fumes. However, his symptoms were

transient and resolved before his discharge from the emergency room. R.R. at 177a-

183a, 224a. According to the emergency room physician and nursing notes, there

were no other pertinent positives on the review of Claimant’s systems; his

examinations and vital signs were normal. R.R. at 224a; see also R.R. 177a-192a.

Indeed, the notes indicate that Claimant’s head, face and eye exams were normal;

conjunctivae was normal; neck, chest and axilla examinations were normal;

cardiovascular examination was normal; respiratory examination was normal with

no respiratory distress, normal symmetrical respirations, and normal clear breath

sounds; abdominal examination was normal; neurologic examination was normal;

and psychiatric examination was normal. R.R. at 224a; 182a-191a. His pulmonary

results showed that Claimant had dyspnea/shortness of breath and cough while

exercising, but not during rest. R.R. at 182a; 226a. The emergency room treated

him with one liter of normal saline administered intravenously, 650 mg of Tylenol

administered orally, and two doses of 4 mg of Ondansetron (an anti-nausea

medication) administered intravenously. R.R. at 178a; 226a. His symptoms rapidly

improved while in the emergency room, such that by the time of his discharge he

was symptom-free. R.R. at 177a; 226a. His headache and nausea had resolved.

R.R. at 177a; 226a. Claimant returned to work and continued to work that summer.

R.R. at 218a.

Second, although Claimant reported a host of other, more persistent

ailments following the incident, Claimant did not prove that they were work-related.

Although Dr. Porter attributed Claimant’s numerous physical symptoms and

conditions to the work-related exposure, the WCJ rejected this evidence upon

14

finding that Dr. Porter did not offer a credible basis to support his opinion. F.F. No.

21. The WCJ relied instead upon the opinions of Drs. Greenberg and Cohn. F.F.

No. 21.

Dr. Greenberg found no evidence of a causal relationship between the

inhalation of fuel fumes on April 20, 2012, and any of Claimant’s reported

symptoms. Dr. Greenberg testified that it was “unlikely that he actually suffered any

exposure at all. Rather, it is probable he merely perceived odors related to the

chemical spill that occurred at a site distant from the site where he was working on

the date at issue.” C.R. at 1031. He explained that the presence of symptoms

following a potential for exposure did not prove that any toxicant caused the

symptoms. Id. Dr. Greenberg believed that the most likely diagnosis for Claimant’s

symptoms was anxiety/depression syndrome in the context of symptom

magnification and pre-existing obstructive sleep apnea. R.R. at 228a; C.R. at 1035.

In addition, Dr. Cohn could not identify a work-related injury or

condition because of any inhalation exposure. R.R. at 210a. Although Claimant

went to the emergency room following the exposure, there were no objective

findings of difficulty beyond nausea and headache; his symptoms resolved by the

time he left the hospital. C.R. at 923-924. Dr. Cohn could not identify any specific

medical treatment that was required as a result of the fuel exposure. R.R. at 211a.

According to Dr. Cohn, Claimant did not require any medical treatment as the

medical records established a mild, transient problem of nausea and dizziness

possibly from fuel exposure. C.R. at 923-924. Based on the credited evidence, the

WCJ found that Claimant did not prove that his exposure to the diesel fuel spill on

April 20, 2012, caused any of his physical symptoms. F.F. Nos. 22, 23.

15

Moreover, even assuming that Claimant met his burden of proving a

work-related physical injury, Claimant did not prove that his physical injury was the

cause of his mental injury. See Murphy. Like the PTSD in Murphy, Claimant’s

mental injury appears related to the experience of the fuel exposure itself, not to any

physical injury allegedly suffered because of that exposure. See Murphy.

Consequently, the WCJ did not err in concluding that the physical-mental standard

did not apply.3 As a result, we are constrained to conclude that WCJ did not err in

denying his Claim Petition.

Accordingly, we affirm.

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

3

In the absence of a physical triggering stimulus, the WCJ properly determined that

Claimant was required to prove an abnormal working condition under the mental-mental standard.

However, Claimant did not meet his burden under this standard. Claimant does not challenge the

absence of an abnormal working condition on appeal.

16

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Kenneth Frankiewicz, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 20 C.D. 2017

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Kinder Morgan, Inc.), :

:

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 14th day of November, 2017, the order of the Workers'

Compensation Appeal Board, dated December 13, 2016, is AFFIRMED.

__________________________________

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.